Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Roam the dense foliage of Sherwood Forest and come face to face with royal trouble as you fight for the common man in Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood. Take on the role of the legendary nobleman, Robin Hood, and join forces with Little John and his Merrymen as the battle for control of theRoam the dense foliage of Sherwood Forest and come face to face with royal trouble as you fight for the common man in Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood. Take on the role of the legendary nobleman, Robin Hood, and join forces with Little John and his Merrymen as the battle for control of the King's throne ensues. A fascinating universe with strong-willed, powerful characters, Robin Hood: The Legend of Sherwood, takes you on a voyage through medieval Sherwood with a fistful of arrows and a heart full of courage. [Strategy First] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 90
    Few strategy games this year have offered so much in the way of enjoyable story and gameplay.
  2. The game has it all: the lush surroundings will create a perfect atmosphere of medieval England, and together with the well animated characters they will make you feel a part of Robin Hood's adventures.
  3. 87
    It combines clever missions, interesting character abilities, and a smidgen of resource management into an absorbing game that fans of the strategy will be playing for quite some time.
  4. 82
    New features such as resource management and the non-linear mission path [are] great additions to the genre.
  5. Computer Gaming World
    80
    It's the perfect setting for the players' own stories of daring rescues, bold ambushes, and swashbuckling high adventure. [Mar 2003, p.88]
  6. While Robin Hood isn’t a bad game, it doesn’t match up very well with "Desperados" or the "Commandos" games, and it seems curiously flat and unimaginative, especially after the slick, over-the-top feel to "Desperados."
  7. It’s missing some key things like full 3D support for the maps and a more intuitive control interface that will prevent it from being well loved by most gamers.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. IoniZ.
    Apr 1, 2003
    10
    It's just great.
  2. Oct 2, 2015
    10
    One of the best games out my childhood. This game is so much fun!! Why won't they make games like this anymore. I also liked the firstOne of the best games out my childhood. This game is so much fun!! Why won't they make games like this anymore. I also liked the first desperados from Spellbound, also a really good game. If you like Commandos then you like this game! Expand
  3. DannyN.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Brilliance comes in many forms. I wasn't aware that it can come in a video game. I am now, however. Sure, there were a few bugs. But a Brilliance comes in many forms. I wasn't aware that it can come in a video game. I am now, however. Sure, there were a few bugs. But a game made with THIS level of thought and creativity must be tried out... I highly recommend it. Expand
  4. Jul 1, 2016
    9
    I recently picked this game up on a steam sale for dirt cheap and it holds up as well today as it did then. If you have played CommandoesI recently picked this game up on a steam sale for dirt cheap and it holds up as well today as it did then. If you have played Commandoes before this game is very similar if not a bit more accessible. Robin Hood Legend of Sherwood presents an incredible level of freedom in how you choose to approach a given mission.

    Its controlled with simple point and click and you draw lines or circles to control your character's attacks. Its very simple and intuitive. It presents different characters that you can use to help accomplish your objectives each with their own skill set. Friar tuck can throw bee hives or put down flasks to get guards drunk. Little John can tie enemy soldiers up that have been knocked out and carry them to hide them. Robin Hood as you might expect has a bow that can activate traps, etc. He also can throw coins at the more simple minded guards to get them to fight with one another.

    Each map is incredibly detailed with the later ones that take place in castles being incredibly vast.

    I have read that there may be some compatibility issues so check to see if your current system or graphics card is supported. Its still a great game worth checking out and can be found cheap.
    Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2011
    9
    Fresh, engaging game with great graphics, entertaining storyline and good gameplay. Played this for hours and hours on end. Definitely wouldFresh, engaging game with great graphics, entertaining storyline and good gameplay. Played this for hours and hours on end. Definitely would recommend the game, despite the fact that it's almost 10 years old now - it's still beautiful and fun to play! Expand
  6. Jok`RdeMo
    Feb 27, 2003
    7
    Game is good, but Desperados was better. And if you have played Desperados then U will see that Robin is just a copy to take your money with Game is good, but Desperados was better. And if you have played Desperados then U will see that Robin is just a copy to take your money with the same game. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2014
    0
    Just bought this game at bargain bin of 2,49 euro. Lucky I did because framerate is utterly utterly terrible. Under 12 fps on my high endJust bought this game at bargain bin of 2,49 euro. Lucky I did because framerate is utterly utterly terrible. Under 12 fps on my high end gaming rig, and no, my graphics card gtx690 is NOT one of the graphic cards listed as not supported. Since I can't play the game at this rate I wouldn't know anything of how the game actually plays. A pitty but I will have to give it a 0. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews