Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    90
    If you enjoyed the puzzle nature of Portal and the action of Shadow Complex, there is no reason why you shouldn't play Rochard. Even if you didn't particularly like those games, I feel that you should give it a shot. Not only is Rochard fun to play, it is incredibly well built and glistens with polish.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    90
    Even if there was only one out of ten indie games like Rochard, then an indie scene would still have its meaning. After all, it is a good thing that mainstream has lost its interest in platform genre. Because of that we may now play games by people with their clear minds and their baskets of ideas.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    89
    When it comes right down to it Rochard is a fully enjoyable action game with plenty of puzzles to work through. While not overly challenging, though some took me a few second to figure out just what to do, I can tell you I missed the three hour speed run achievement by several hours, but considering all the hidden health and weapons upgrades as well as trophies that's one achievement that will have to come later.
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    85
    It's certainly not a game without its issues, but it's still a great title, and at $10, it's also a total steal.
  5. Jan 29, 2012
    82
    Rochard is just four or five hours long, but it has boatloads of charm and a surprising amount of character. [Feb 2012, p.99]
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    82
    Rochard is a good side-scrolling adventure game with inventive puzzles and fun visual style.
  7. 80
    Combine smart puzzles with adequate amounts of action and you get Rochard – great platform game appealing to all sorts of players. [Jan 2012]
  8. Dec 27, 2011
    80
    A healthy compromise between forcing you to think and mindless shooting. Unfortunately it takes only 4-5 hours to finish Rochard and there's no replay value here. [January 2012, p.56]
  9. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    We liked this game a lot. It is not going to break any new ground in the genre but it is a very well designed game that is challenging and rewarding to play. Well worth getting from Steam and great value at less than $10.
  10. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    It's pretty much paint by numbers style of game, it does not grab you by the throat or anything but it is so darn well fun.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    The art style and concept of John Rochard is very interesting, and the story, while a little bland, will keep you going to the end. Give it a shot. There's some fun to be had.
  12. 78
    A solid suggestion if you are looking for a pleasant, polished puzzler/platform game. It will not thrill you, it does not invent the wheel, but it displays some clever ideas that are correctly executed, humor and, additionally, its low price is another incentive for its purchase. [March 2012]
  13. Dec 24, 2011
    75
    A good platform game which should be especially liked by children. The gameplay mixes puzzles with moderate amount of action. [January 2012, p.82]
  14. Dec 12, 2011
    75
    There's a lot of fun to be had here, sadly it's not going to last enough time.
  15. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    Rochard is a short but good game. If you like to crack your brain a few times and also shoot bad guys, Rochard is a good option!
  16. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    As a whole, Rochard is a mixed bag. If the story wasn't so prominent and terrible, if the characters weren't so unlikable, this could have been an amazing little experience. As it stands, it remains a mediocre representation of what could have been.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    What an incredible experience! Rochard is a puzzle platformer that sucked me in for many hours. I was playing this at 5am and then by the timeWhat an incredible experience! Rochard is a puzzle platformer that sucked me in for many hours. I was playing this at 5am and then by the time I realised what I'm doing, it's after 10am! Played for a bit more in the evening and finished the game. This is simply one of the amazing games I've ever played. Wonderful puzzles, not to easy, not too hard, easy controls (I used a wireless xbox360 controller on my PC) and fun. Greatly recommend this to anyone who wants a puzzle platformer. Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    A decent little platformer. The gameplay actually reminds me a lot of Trine although the setting couldn't be more different. It has a goodA decent little platformer. The gameplay actually reminds me a lot of Trine although the setting couldn't be more different. It has a good story and some great voice acting. The length of the game is a bit short but in line with the price so you still get good value out of the game. Unlike another reviewer my chief complaint is the control system. Sometimes you have to perform actions with 3-4 keys at the same time and it gets too be a bit much on a keyboard. I tried playing it with an XBOX 360 controller and found the pre-configured settings to be extremely clumsy and the accuracy was a bit sloppy. The latest patch allows you to reconfigure controller settings so that helps a bit. Full Review »
  3. low
    Dec 15, 2011
    10
    do not begin to play this game, it's addict !
    A great platform game, the gravity concept is perfect, animations, soundtrack, a good job.
    I
    do not begin to play this game, it's addict !
    A great platform game, the gravity concept is perfect, animations, soundtrack, a good job.
    I like the styled game, colors, design, all are good in this Rochard game.
    I hope they'll make a new game based on this concept, and... soon !
    Full Review »