Rochard PC

Rochard Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Recoil Games, Rochard is a fun and original space adventure game that features a resourceful hero, ominous villains, rugged machinery, big explosions, even bigger stunts and sharp oneliners. The game tests players' coordination and wits as they use gravity to their advantage,Developed by Recoil Games, Rochard is a fun and original space adventure game that features a resourceful hero, ominous villains, rugged machinery, big explosions, even bigger stunts and sharp oneliners. The game tests players' coordination and wits as they use gravity to their advantage, changing it at will to solve environmental puzzles and advance through each level. By using the upgradable G-Lifter, the main tool of the game, players can lift and maneuver heavy objects around the environment, and can eventually swing, jump and propel themselves huge distances throughout each level. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    90
    If you enjoyed the puzzle nature of Portal and the action of Shadow Complex, there is no reason why you shouldn't play Rochard. Even if you didn't particularly like those games, I feel that you should give it a shot. Not only is Rochard fun to play, it is incredibly well built and glistens with polish.
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    89
    When it comes right down to it Rochard is a fully enjoyable action game with plenty of puzzles to work through. While not overly challenging, though some took me a few second to figure out just what to do, I can tell you I missed the three hour speed run achievement by several hours, but considering all the hidden health and weapons upgrades as well as trophies that's one achievement that will have to come later.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    Jan 29, 2012
    82
    Rochard is just four or five hours long, but it has boatloads of charm and a surprising amount of character. [Feb 2012, p.99]
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    The art style and concept of John Rochard is very interesting, and the story, while a little bland, will keep you going to the end. Give it a shot. There's some fun to be had.
  5. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    We liked this game a lot. It is not going to break any new ground in the genre but it is a very well designed game that is challenging and rewarding to play. Well worth getting from Steam and great value at less than $10.
  6. PC Games (Russia)
    Dec 24, 2011
    75
    A good platform game which should be especially liked by children. The gameplay mixes puzzles with moderate amount of action. [January 2012, p.82]
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    70
    As a whole, Rochard is a mixed bag. If the story wasn't so prominent and terrible, if the characters weren't so unlikable, this could have been an amazing little experience. As it stands, it remains a mediocre representation of what could have been.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I bought this game on sale from Steam and I was not disappointed at all. It a puzzle game with a twist of action. I liked the platform basedI bought this game on sale from Steam and I was not disappointed at all. It a puzzle game with a twist of action. I liked the platform based gaming yet having the feel of 3D. It is very polished and fun to play. It is available as a part of Humble Indie Bundle till end of Sep 2012, for those who are interested. http://www.humblebundle.com/ Expand
  2. wrh
    Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best platformer I've played in a long time! The main theme is that you have to use your 'gun' and your other controls in order to manipulateBest platformer I've played in a long time! The main theme is that you have to use your 'gun' and your other controls in order to manipulate your environment so as to solve puzzles, fight enemies, and so on. The controls are sophisticated and very intuitive, I haven't encountered any bugs, and the game is altogether a great pleasure. NB: I recommend using a Gampad (which Rochard supports out-of-the-box). Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    What an incredible experience! Rochard is a puzzle platformer that sucked me in for many hours. I was playing this at 5am and then by the timeWhat an incredible experience! Rochard is a puzzle platformer that sucked me in for many hours. I was playing this at 5am and then by the time I realised what I'm doing, it's after 10am! Played for a bit more in the evening and finished the game. This is simply one of the amazing games I've ever played. Wonderful puzzles, not to easy, not too hard, easy controls (I used a wireless xbox360 controller on my PC) and fun. Greatly recommend this to anyone who wants a puzzle platformer. Collapse
  4. Feb 7, 2012
    9
    A treat for lovers of platform shooters, Rochard is a brilliant and exciting adventure game. Rochard offers some really vibrant environmentsA treat for lovers of platform shooters, Rochard is a brilliant and exciting adventure game. Rochard offers some really vibrant environments that enhance the story. And speaking of story - Rochard has got a good one that never seemed silly or ridiculous. The voice over work is excellent and the dialogue (yes - dialogue in a platform game) is spot-on funny. The tools used will obviously remind players of the grav gun from Portal but that's a good thing. The lasers and explosives are a great addition to the grav gun which gives Rochard a real clean and effective way of dealing with enemies. The only negatives I have overall are that the game is a bit easy. The puzzles aren't as challenging as you'd think but they are fun. There's not much incentive to replay after it's been completed but for less than $10 it's well worth playing through just the one time. The finale is too easy for an endgame as well. All in all, Rochard is a great looking game; an exciting playthrough and terrific sci-fi adventure! Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    2/15/2012: This game is pretty damn good. It has so much going for it- great music, entertaining physics puzzles, fun combat, endearing2/15/2012: This game is pretty damn good. It has so much going for it- great music, entertaining physics puzzles, fun combat, endearing characters and that same space-trucker atmosphere which made me love Starcraft's Terrans. Rochard represents everything that was great about the 2D gaming days, a classic platformer with a whole lot of style. The game does an excellent job of balancing forethought and reaction, letting you common sense your way through puzzles without wondering whether you need to burn a rope or something. The fact that Rochard himself is voiced by the incomparable Jon St. John (the voice of Duke Nukem) and that there's an amazing theme song in Poets of the Fall's "Grinder's Blues" just sweetens the whole deal. Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The great game that stands out with it's unique combination of puzzles, gravitation and enemy shooting. The story is not so deep-minded, as a game itself is short, so don't expect much of it, but gameplay will pull you in. Graphics are really nice to the eye, good animation, effects, good color mix, which suits the game story. To solve puzzles you will need to use your gravity tool all the way, thought every chapters differs with variety of puzzles and difficulty of them. But they are not that hard, when you get used to gravity tool and box moving, but they are entertaining anyway. There is only one boss fight in end game, but that is explained by the shortness of game, also voice acting of some background characters could be better. Music is average. But that are some small drawbacks of the game, so you should get it anyway, even if you are not fan of side-scrolling games, you won't be disappointed! Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    An hour into the game, I still haven't encountered a puzzle that took me more than 5 seconds to solve, so I quit out of boredom. While IAn hour into the game, I still haven't encountered a puzzle that took me more than 5 seconds to solve, so I quit out of boredom. While I enjoyed the voice acting and the nostalgic platform-game atmosphere, I found the puzzles simply not challenging enough, and in this genre that is what ultimately matters. I would recommend this game for kids, though. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings