Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    100
    What you get out of Rocksmith 2014 depends heavily on how you treat it. It's important to realise that it is not a complete learning program but rather the ultimate practice tool and is best used to supplement other learning avenues, be they YouTube videos, books, or classes with a tutor.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    95
    By itself, as just a game for someone that has no interest in learning guitar, it’s probably no more or less engaging than past rhythm games, but for those who dream of shredding, I can’t think of a better starting point.
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    91
    Rocksmith 2014 is not just a fun game for guitar players, but the best way to learn how to play guitar or improve your technique. [Jan 2014, p.68]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a fretboard virgin or a would be virtuoso, Rocksmith 2014 deserves a place in your daily practice routine.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    88
    At its core, Rocksmith is a franchise that is very much geared toward weaning players off plastic guitars and on to ones made of wood and metal. Rocksmith 2014 is an excellent evolution on that set of ideals.
  6. Dec 25, 2013
    84
    Rocksmith doesn't make learning the guitar easier. It does, however, make it more fun. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A few technical problems mar what is otherwise a mix between a fantastic rhythm-action game and a fantastic method of learning an instrument.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 6 out of 29
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original, though they added some new minigames, a few more options for learning songs, missions, and a cool feature called 'Session Mode' where you can select any instruments to include in your band and while you play along, the AI instruments play along with you depending on your tempo, rhythm and tone. It has a decent setlist at the moment, but I'm sure it'll get even better with more DLC to come on the way. 10/10 Collapse
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    For a guitar trainer that doesn't tell you what notes you are playing or guide which fingers to use Rocksmith 2014 is an awesome learning tool. It simply throws you in the deep end and makes you play. Then it slowly raises the temperature on you by adding hundreds of lessons at you filling in the details of how to play guitar. It works because it is immensely fun and satisfying. You will improve each day you play, and in time you will become very comfortable and confident with finding your way around a guitar. This is education as much as it is entertainment. It scores 500/10 from me because it is NOT a game and it is the rare entertainment product for a computer that offers a FRUITFUL way to spend your time!

    Orctowngrot.
    Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I have to give this a solid 10++. and for many reasons... first and foremost YOU WILL LEARN GUITAR. and in less than I year I went from clueless to playing in garage band. and it was 100% Rocksmith that got me there. I also send my daughter to private lessons and can tell you that she may know more about the theory and reading music but Rocksmith keeps her interested as a side practice after she finished her formal lesson homework... it helps her greatly with coordination and being able to quickly change chord positions. And while I plan to continue lessons for a while more for her. I have spend nearly $2000 in private lessons and when you compare that expense to a $59 Rocksmith how do you give this any less then 9 stars? Learning guitar takes years and THOUSANDS of hours of practice... people that don't think this delivers are just not willing to invest the time and work hard for it. And here's the deal, they took the first version and made improvements based on player feedback, what more can you ask for, and for only $10 they let you transfer your music with upgraded features in each song. you get 50+ songs per game and they have somewhere around 200 songs in total you can get and they now committed to weekly content updates.

    Also the requirements on the PC are pretty light, if you have having issues or performance problems, you must have a really old crappy virus infected PC... I have a 5 year old Lenovo laptop that runs this game perfectly with zero lag.

    Finally, you can't call this a game.. it's an educational/training software program... they could have just as easily charged $499 and sold it in Guitar Center and it would have flow off the shelf.
    Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    A great improvement on the original with faster UI and now you can sort your song list by title, tuning, difficulty etc. The new session mode is ok but I'm not to keen on it and prefer loading up Guitar Rig and backing tracks on that. It does cover quite a lot more than the original including palm mutes, pinch harmonics and goes into a greater depth. For the one that says that their CD key was banned all they had to do was contact Ubisoft support with proof of purchase and they would have been given a new one, it's apparently happened to a few or maybe they were sharing their key with somebody else. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    Having issues feeling my fingers and raising my arms after playing 5 straight hours of this game. If you need motivation, this game will provide it. Makes things fun and interesting, I even enjoying doing beginner lessons that are far below my playing ability. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    I own the rocksmith original game and not satisfied 100% upon that game, now rocksmith 2014 was come out and i have been bought and tried already. Trust me its really powerful and i tell that it is the most powerful guitar game in the world. I have satisfied 100%. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    Game ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my support requests. Most expensive 20 minutes of gameplay I have ever paid for in my life. Will never buy another UBI soft product again. Steam needs to warn users if they are buying something with multiple layers of buggy copy protection included. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews