Rocksmith 2014 Edition Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    100
    What you get out of Rocksmith 2014 depends heavily on how you treat it. It's important to realise that it is not a complete learning program but rather the ultimate practice tool and is best used to supplement other learning avenues, be they YouTube videos, books, or classes with a tutor.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    95
    By itself, as just a game for someone that has no interest in learning guitar, it’s probably no more or less engaging than past rhythm games, but for those who dream of shredding, I can’t think of a better starting point.
  3. PC Gamer
    Dec 5, 2013
    91
    Rocksmith 2014 is not just a fun game for guitar players, but the best way to learn how to play guitar or improve your technique. [Jan 2014, p.68]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a fretboard virgin or a would be virtuoso, Rocksmith 2014 deserves a place in your daily practice routine.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    88
    At its core, Rocksmith is a franchise that is very much geared toward weaning players off plastic guitars and on to ones made of wood and metal. Rocksmith 2014 is an excellent evolution on that set of ideals.
  6. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2013
    84
    Rocksmith doesn't make learning the guitar easier. It does, however, make it more fun. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A few technical problems mar what is otherwise a mix between a fantastic rhythm-action game and a fantastic method of learning an instrument.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original,Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original, though they added some new minigames, a few more options for learning songs, missions, and a cool feature called 'Session Mode' where you can select any instruments to include in your band and while you play along, the AI instruments play along with you depending on your tempo, rhythm and tone. It has a decent setlist at the moment, but I'm sure it'll get even better with more DLC to come on the way. 10/10 Collapse
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    I've been playing guitar off and on for about 7 years and I really like that I can just work my way through songs. It's makes it me want toI've been playing guitar off and on for about 7 years and I really like that I can just work my way through songs. It's makes it me want to take more time away from whatever else I have to do to get back into music.
    The game works well through steam, and the uplay setup isn't too cumbersome. Haven't had any issues with lag or setup as reported in some reviews and I have not played the original.
    It did annoy me that the strings are reversed in contrast to regular tab layout, but that can be changed in settings, and I highly recommend that. Also I don't really care for the guitarcade things, but the tracklist is excellent.
    Session mode is an absolute blast as well.
    Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    As an amateur guitar player myself, I am truly amazed at this piece of software. Things that are usually a pain in the ass to practice likeAs an amateur guitar player myself, I am truly amazed at this piece of software. Things that are usually a pain in the ass to practice like scales and riffs are made really fun here! Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    I agree with most reviews, Rocksmith 2014 does improve a lot. It's now even more an educational game instead of just a guitar hero clone.I agree with most reviews, Rocksmith 2014 does improve a lot. It's now even more an educational game instead of just a guitar hero clone.

    But sadly with Rocksmith 2014 I need to mention one negative point. Which is the music selection. Yes, this is very subjectively but for me there are only like 5 out of 50+ Songs I really enjoy to play. The last Rocksmith had, at least for me, a better more joyful song list to play.

    My advice: look the song list up and decide for yourself if those 50+ songs are worth the money.
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    I own the rocksmith original game and not satisfied 100% upon that game, now rocksmith 2014 was come out and i have been bought and triedI own the rocksmith original game and not satisfied 100% upon that game, now rocksmith 2014 was come out and i have been bought and tried already. Trust me its really powerful and i tell that it is the most powerful guitar game in the world. I have satisfied 100%. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    6
    Without a doubt, Rocksmith 2014 is a good software to practice the guitar in a fun and addictive way. Plus the lessons dispense all theWithout a doubt, Rocksmith 2014 is a good software to practice the guitar in a fun and addictive way. Plus the lessons dispense all the theoretical basics needed for beginer.

    But the poor sound captation qualitiy and the too permissive system made the experience respectively frustrating and superficial.

    Frustrating when you try hard to play a riff as perfect as possible and you got it half wrong cause the game don't capture your palm muted chord, and finally forced you to play clear chords to be sure not to fail.

    Superficial when you realize it's not able to distinguish any nuance, and when playing notes out of time is not sanctioned (as opposed to GH or Rockband). As a result, if you want 100% accuracy on a song, it's quite easy: just play all notes clear (no muting nor ghost notes) using tremolo picking method from beginning to end.

    So, a good game to practice with fun, and learn some songs quickly. But a wrong choice to really learn to play the guitar and practice seriously and rigorously.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    Game ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my supportGame ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my support requests. Most expensive 20 minutes of gameplay I have ever paid for in my life. Will never buy another UBI soft product again. Steam needs to warn users if they are buying something with multiple layers of buggy copy protection included. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews