Rocksmith 2014 Edition Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    100
    What you get out of Rocksmith 2014 depends heavily on how you treat it. It's important to realise that it is not a complete learning program but rather the ultimate practice tool and is best used to supplement other learning avenues, be they YouTube videos, books, or classes with a tutor.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    95
    By itself, as just a game for someone that has no interest in learning guitar, it’s probably no more or less engaging than past rhythm games, but for those who dream of shredding, I can’t think of a better starting point.
  3. PC Gamer
    Dec 5, 2013
    91
    Rocksmith 2014 is not just a fun game for guitar players, but the best way to learn how to play guitar or improve your technique. [Jan 2014, p.68]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a fretboard virgin or a would be virtuoso, Rocksmith 2014 deserves a place in your daily practice routine.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    88
    At its core, Rocksmith is a franchise that is very much geared toward weaning players off plastic guitars and on to ones made of wood and metal. Rocksmith 2014 is an excellent evolution on that set of ideals.
  6. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2013
    84
    Rocksmith doesn't make learning the guitar easier. It does, however, make it more fun. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A few technical problems mar what is otherwise a mix between a fantastic rhythm-action game and a fantastic method of learning an instrument.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original,Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original, though they added some new minigames, a few more options for learning songs, missions, and a cool feature called 'Session Mode' where you can select any instruments to include in your band and while you play along, the AI instruments play along with you depending on your tempo, rhythm and tone. It has a decent setlist at the moment, but I'm sure it'll get even better with more DLC to come on the way. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    I've been playing guitar off and on for about 7 years and I really like that I can just work my way through songs. It's makes it me want toI've been playing guitar off and on for about 7 years and I really like that I can just work my way through songs. It's makes it me want to take more time away from whatever else I have to do to get back into music.
    The game works well through steam, and the uplay setup isn't too cumbersome. Haven't had any issues with lag or setup as reported in some reviews and I have not played the original.
    It did annoy me that the strings are reversed in contrast to regular tab layout, but that can be changed in settings, and I highly recommend that. Also I don't really care for the guitarcade things, but the tracklist is excellent.
    Session mode is an absolute blast as well.
    Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    As an amateur guitar player myself, I am truly amazed at this piece of software. Things that are usually a pain in the ass to practice likeAs an amateur guitar player myself, I am truly amazed at this piece of software. Things that are usually a pain in the ass to practice like scales and riffs are made really fun here! Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    A great improvement on the original with faster UI and now you can sort your song list by title, tuning, difficulty etc. The new session modeA great improvement on the original with faster UI and now you can sort your song list by title, tuning, difficulty etc. The new session mode is ok but I'm not to keen on it and prefer loading up Guitar Rig and backing tracks on that. It does cover quite a lot more than the original including palm mutes, pinch harmonics and goes into a greater depth. For the one that says that their CD key was banned all they had to do was contact Ubisoft support with proof of purchase and they would have been given a new one, it's apparently happened to a few or maybe they were sharing their key with somebody else. Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    An excellent learning and practice tool for playing guitar. Whether you are a complete beginner or an experience player like myself this gameAn excellent learning and practice tool for playing guitar. Whether you are a complete beginner or an experience player like myself this game is really enjoyable and helps you learn and improve your guitar skills in a fun way.

    Rocksmith 2014 is completely different than the first Rocksmith game and is much, much better. Ubisoft have improved the game in many aspects including a new jam mode where you can play with a virtual band. There is a wide variety of songs to play with many more being released as DLC.

    I've noticed significantly less input lag compared to the last Rocksmith game however chord detection is still a bit of an issue in Rocksmith 2014
    Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2016
    6
    It's a good software to practice NOT to learn. The software don't catch all the sounds or chords that you make, for example when I'm playingIt's a good software to practice NOT to learn. The software don't catch all the sounds or chords that you make, for example when I'm playing Losing My Religion from R.E.M. there is a chord G that never catch me.
    The game has too poor songs, and if you want more songs to play you has to pay it (as always ubisoft). And I get surprise there are not Metallica's songs or Tool's song or any good band with blowing solos
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    Game ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my supportGame ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my support requests. Most expensive 20 minutes of gameplay I have ever paid for in my life. Will never buy another UBI soft product again. Steam needs to warn users if they are buying something with multiple layers of buggy copy protection included. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews