Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rocksmith 2014 Edition lets players plug in any electric guitar or bass directly into your system and begin learning guitar with the Rocksmith Method.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    100
    What you get out of Rocksmith 2014 depends heavily on how you treat it. It's important to realise that it is not a complete learning program but rather the ultimate practice tool and is best used to supplement other learning avenues, be they YouTube videos, books, or classes with a tutor.
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    95
    By itself, as just a game for someone that has no interest in learning guitar, it’s probably no more or less engaging than past rhythm games, but for those who dream of shredding, I can’t think of a better starting point.
  3. Dec 5, 2013
    91
    Rocksmith 2014 is not just a fun game for guitar players, but the best way to learn how to play guitar or improve your technique. [Jan 2014, p.68]
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a fretboard virgin or a would be virtuoso, Rocksmith 2014 deserves a place in your daily practice routine.
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    88
    At its core, Rocksmith is a franchise that is very much geared toward weaning players off plastic guitars and on to ones made of wood and metal. Rocksmith 2014 is an excellent evolution on that set of ideals.
  6. Dec 25, 2013
    84
    Rocksmith doesn't make learning the guitar easier. It does, however, make it more fun. [Jan 2014, p.85]
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    A few technical problems mar what is otherwise a mix between a fantastic rhythm-action game and a fantastic method of learning an instrument.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Like its predecessor, it managed to keep me glued to my seat, guitar in hand, and rocking along. It's pretty much the same as the original, though they added some new minigames, a few more options for learning songs, missions, and a cool feature called 'Session Mode' where you can select any instruments to include in your band and while you play along, the AI instruments play along with you depending on your tempo, rhythm and tone. It has a decent setlist at the moment, but I'm sure it'll get even better with more DLC to come on the way. 10/10 Expand
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    When playing this game the guitar went so far up my arse i thought i could see hong kong. King kong would approve this. I had a great experience. best game ever. Also i love the added football mechanics, the ball floating into the net had superb quality. Finally all rockstars suck apart from me as i can play 2 notes in 10 seconds on a REAL guitar. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I have to give this a solid 10++. and for many reasons... first and foremost YOU WILL LEARN GUITAR. and in less than I year I went from clueless to playing in garage band. and it was 100% Rocksmith that got me there. I also send my daughter to private lessons and can tell you that she may know more about the theory and reading music but Rocksmith keeps her interested as a side practice after she finished her formal lesson homework... it helps her greatly with coordination and being able to quickly change chord positions. And while I plan to continue lessons for a while more for her. I have spend nearly $2000 in private lessons and when you compare that expense to a $59 Rocksmith how do you give this any less then 9 stars? Learning guitar takes years and THOUSANDS of hours of practice... people that don't think this delivers are just not willing to invest the time and work hard for it. And here's the deal, they took the first version and made improvements based on player feedback, what more can you ask for, and for only $10 they let you transfer your music with upgraded features in each song. you get 50+ songs per game and they have somewhere around 200 songs in total you can get and they now committed to weekly content updates.

    Also the requirements on the PC are pretty light, if you have having issues or performance problems, you must have a really old crappy virus infected PC... I have a 5 year old Lenovo laptop that runs this game perfectly with zero lag.

    Finally, you can't call this a game.. it's an educational/training software program... they could have just as easily charged $499 and sold it in Guitar Center and it would have flow off the shelf.
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    If your new to guitar and can't find or afford a teacher this is great. I am left handed, an older learner, not musically gifted and playing a restrung right handed guitar. Not many teachers wanted to touch that. So Rocksmith in either form is a decent substitute teacher. It's probably also great for those who need motivation to keep practicing.

    I started with the original Rocksmith. It was fine, but after a while it's suggested practice modes became moronic. After "level 8" I was stuck on one song on my play list, but it would recommend I practice every other song on my play list. Which kept me stuck on the same song. I could leave the suggested lessons and get the practice in other modes, but it was frustrating. Still a person who started me on guitar came by and was extremely skeptical of the game. Until he saw me practice with it. And realized the game helped me improve quite a bit from the last time he saw me play. Granted I'm still a total beginner, but the game helped me greatly improve.

    When Rocksmith 2014 came out, I gave it a try. I have to say overall it is an upgrade. Initially I was not impressed with 2014's graphics. It also seemed to be trying to force you to learn faster. Something I feared would not work with me. After I got by the initial push, it was fine though. It seems to get you to "master mode" faster and thus has you memorizing the songs much faster. Which translates to you impressing your friends by being able to play a song with your guitar when the game isn't on. Which is the whole point.

    I was not impressed with some of the "guitarcade" games 2014 had. Some are fantastic improvements of games over the initial Rocksmith. Others just feel like weaker versions. For instance I think the new Harmonics guitarcade game is a drastic improvement over the original. It actually teachers you harmonics by giving you a chance to play the notes. But I think the "starchords" is a drastic downgrade from the original "Chord of the dead" game. Starchords seems flawed. Sometimes it asks for the "EM" chord 7 thousand times and I get 80 million for a score. Most of the time it asks for chords I have never used and I get virtually no points. It also doesn't say the chord, so if you new to the chord you will probably get shot down. Most of the "guitarcade" games seem to level you up and start you off at the highest level you reached. Which can make for some very short lessons on that game.

    Another negative if you upgrade from the original Rocksmith to 2014 is that they actually charge you 10 bucks to bring your songs from the original into 2014. Both versions have decent list, but it seems like a rip off to have to pay 2x for a song list you already paid for. A person new to Rocksmith won't miss the old songs. But if your upgrading from the original to 2014 you might miss the old songs. The old songs on 2014 seem to work very well. The biggest negative is it seems 2014 seems to freeze up your xbox 360 at random times. Which requires you to start all over. This can be frustrating when your just trying to get your practice in for the day. My xbox 360 doesn't seem to freeze up like this for anything else. So it is just a part of the game until it is fixed.

    Session mode seems to just be "scale" practice to me, and the "band" doesn't seem to jam along with you. But that's probably because I'm a beginner. The more seasoned players seem to love it.

    To me there are two reasons to buy Rocksmith 2014, if you want to learn to play guitar. The first and most important is something about it seems to motivate you to play more than the original. I have never practiced for hours. But since buying 2014, I have practiced an hour a day when I first started, and now after about 2 weeks in am practicing 3 hours a day. Which should translate into improvement. The 2nd is the "Riff repeater" is vastly upgraded. You can do it at anytime, during any song. So if your stuck you just click a button and practice that part. Early on it's one downside is it seems to want to take me from 2% mastery of a part to 100%. It doesn't seem to want to accept I can only gain 50% mastery of something. It also takes a bit to get know to really control Riff Repeater. But you do greatly improve on most songs quickly when using the Riff repeater. . I practice by difficulty so I play the easier songs first. With "Blitzkrieg Bop" you will be playing master mode within 10 minutes. After a week even those with the weakest of song memories (like myself) will be playing that song solo for their friends, without using the game.

    So I give this game a 9/10. It has it's weaknesses. But as a teaching tool, it is very cheap and very effective. And you can buy new songs to keep you practicing or learning songs from your favorite bands. Which should keep you playing until the next thing comes along.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    more of a tool then a game (cliche like a f***) but am giving it 9/10 from the only reason and that reason is critical, game about guitars and no Jimmy Hendrix, W.T.F. is this seriously Collapse
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    I agree with most reviews, Rocksmith 2014 does improve a lot. It's now even more an educational game instead of just a guitar hero clone.

    But sadly with Rocksmith 2014 I need to mention one negative point. Which is the music selection. Yes, this is very subjectively but for me there are only like 5 out of 50+ Songs I really enjoy to play. The last Rocksmith had, at least for me, a better more joyful song list to play.

    My advice: look the song list up and decide for yourself if those 50+ songs are worth the money.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2014
    0
    Game ran once then said my key was already used. Was unable to return it or get it fixed. Took several days for each response to my support requests. Most expensive 20 minutes of gameplay I have ever paid for in my life. Will never buy another UBI soft product again. Steam needs to warn users if they are buying something with multiple layers of buggy copy protection included. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews