Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rogue Legacy is a rogue-"lite" game for PC, Mac and Linux. You'll die, but your children will avenge you. They might be genetically deficient, but that's ok. You still love your colour-blind baby. Or do you?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    100
    Roguelike games have become increasingly popular of late and it’s great to see one which rewards you for all the time spent by allowing a form of character progression. It’s mitigated to a point by having you lose all your money before entering a castle and each purchased bonus makes all the others more expensive.
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    90
    A difficult, but at the same time very rewarding rogue-like platformer. It won’t be the best choice of entertainment for the impatient or people who get easily frustrated, but if you like a challenge then you should definitely check out Rogue Legacy.
  3. Jul 30, 2013
    90
    Rogue Legacy is a true masterpiece, backed by a meticulous balancing.
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    85
    Dying, again and again, every time in an unknown world. Roguelikes are tough, but Rogue Legacy makes the journeys slightly lighter with rpg elements that make progress attainable every single run. Rogue Legacy also gets a lot of personality and humor from the addition of character specific traits, like a handicap or disability. Rogue Legacy is tough, hard and unforgiving, but still very accessible thanks to these additions. Just what this genre needed.
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    84
    While Rogue Legacy lacks the balance and crispness of Spelunky, it mostly makes up for its shortcomings with heart, imagination, and a killer compulsion loop. [Oct 2013, p.75]
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    80
    Rogue Legacy offers the silly, slapstick cruelty of the best roguelikes, but twins it with something just as appealing: a tantalising hint of control over your fate.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    70
    I just couldn’t get away from this simple platformer – it gave me a clinical just-one-more-attempt syndrome. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.69]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 123
  2. Negative: 22 out of 123
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    Expect to win the game about as frequently as in vanilla Nethack. RL offers a challenging, fun, casual (hardcore-casual, though!) experience.Expect to win the game about as frequently as in vanilla Nethack. RL offers a challenging, fun, casual (hardcore-casual, though!) experience. You can pick the game up, head off and die a few times, then set it down and go do something else the dying actually serves the game very well to break the overall game up into bite-size chunks.

    In RL, you're effectively grinding the game to get gear, stats, and abilities for the "over-game" which is the point in which you actually have a shot in Hell of getting through to the final area. There are a few glitches here and there, usually which'll kill you by, for example, having a character apparently undecided if he's on or off a ledge, so he can't jump but dying is fun.

    RL adds quite a bit of fun easter egg type content throughout the castles to ensure things are always fresh, and that you always want to explore. The best part about this content is that it's very rare. You can die 50 times and never see more than a small handful of the "fun" rooms, so the freshness of these unique rooms doesn't wear off quickly like if you were seeing repeats so often, they become "normal."

    I would say, if you like games similar to Binding of Isaac or Nethack, you'll appreciate the intentional imbalance in this game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2014
    10
    This game is cocaine. I always tell myself, just one more then im done. I'll do homework. I'll sleep. I'll eat something.
    You know what, that
    This game is cocaine. I always tell myself, just one more then im done. I'll do homework. I'll sleep. I'll eat something.
    You know what, that was a cheap death, one more. Okay, just one more.

    Sweet, just beat the game.

    Oh new game plus? maybe just one more playthrough...

    This game is incredibly addictive and challenging. I have seen people who suck terribly still trying to press through this game. Must have for anyone and everyone.
    Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    9
    Fascinating!
    Nice Graphics, good Gameplay, cool ...diseases? Really Fascinating at all!
    I will have to play this game for a long time "with
    Fascinating!
    Nice Graphics, good Gameplay, cool ...diseases? Really Fascinating at all!
    I will have to play this game for a long time "with a few issues"
    Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    8
    Easy to learn, but pleasant game. If you have 30 minutes to spend it's excellent choice. If you have 5 hours it is also excellent choice.Easy to learn, but pleasant game. If you have 30 minutes to spend it's excellent choice. If you have 5 hours it is also excellent choice.

    + addictive game play
    + easy controls
    + nice, old school music
    + rpg-like elements

    - may be boring after some time (I didn't achieve this point yet after 8h of playing)
    Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    7
    This is an alright game with a good amount of replay, but in my opinion it does fall slightly short as a rogue-like. If I'm comparing itThis is an alright game with a good amount of replay, but in my opinion it does fall slightly short as a rogue-like. If I'm comparing it against Binding of Isaac, they are somewhat similar in that they loosely follow some old-school well known games (in BoS it was Zelda, here in RL it is castlevania).

    My first complaint and complement are intertwined and it has to do with the character selection screen. You get a choice between 3 different characters, each of which has different "traits" (can be positive things like larger knockback, or negative things like hallucinating enemies that aren't really there), and each of which is a different class (if you've unlocked them). What I like about that: different traits. This is a cool concept. What I don't like about it why can't I just choose which class I want to play? If you've unlocked a class, it shouldn't be random whether or not you get to play them. This game would be infinitely more fun if I could do successive playthroughs getting better with one class at a time. The classes are so vastly different in how they're played that it makes it TONS more difficult than it needs to be to ramp up in skill, because you're constantly having to switch between classes that have completely different skill sets.

    My next complaint would be the controls. They are not atrocious but they are not great. The downward slash move is very inconsistent and random in both when it wants to hit and how high it's going to fling you after hitting. I'm fine with it being a hard move to pull off, but the difficulty of it should not be in the awful control of it, and that's what it currently is.

    On each playthrough you earn coins that you basically use to purchase "upgrades" and unlock new things such as classes, weapons, and powerups for your characters. You can also "lock" down a dungeon for the price of 75% of all gold you make, which is a cool feature. You lose all the gold you don't spend once you re-enter the dungeon on each playthrough. There is an expensive upgrade you can get which lessens how much you pay to enter the dungeon, but it is an absolute joke of an upgrade and in all honestly even fully upgraded you'd still be paying all your money back essentially.

    So this sort of leads in to my main qualm with this game. It's not really a "rogue-like" to me. The only rogue-like aspect of the game is that when you die, you're dead, and that the levels are randomly generated. One would think that's all it takes to be a rogue-like, but playing this game made me realize that's just not what makes a rogue-like a rogue-like. Rogue Legacy is a game that you basically have no chance of beating on your first play through. This is because you have no upgrades to handle anything past the first 2 "stages" of the game. You'll get to areas where enemies just 1-hit you, only because you didn't get the "stats" required to do that area.

    This to me is not a quality of a rogue-like. You basically have to play the game over and over and over again, until your stats get to a point where everything is just easy to you. Along with that, the bosses are not random, and once you kill them (there are only 4, 1 for each "stage", then some final post-game bosses) they are dead for good, and you never face them again on the "stage" on subsequent playthroughs. That is just who thought that was a good idea? The bosses aren't that great either, compared to the bosses in Binding of Isaac it's night and day in terms of how well they are designed. The bosses are a very "low" point for rogue legacy.

    Also as you advance in stages, every enemy is just a rehash of a previous one, so variety is not a strong suit of the game either.

    All in all, rogue legacy is a game that you probably won't regret purchasing, you'll get many hours of fun/frustration out of it and it is solid for the most part. It's no binding of isaac but in terms of side scroller "rogue-likes" (I use the term loosely) it's probably your best option at this point.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2013
    6
    Note: my true vote should be 6.5/10 but Metacritic doesn't permit that, so I give it a "6".

    Rogue Legacy is an addictive rogue-like game,
    Note: my true vote should be 6.5/10 but Metacritic doesn't permit that, so I give it a "6".

    Rogue Legacy is an addictive rogue-like game, but its lack of variety makes it boring quickly. The controls aren't extremely reactive and the gameplay isn't enough deep. Could have been better, but if you love the extremely hard games, you'll appreciate it. VIRTUALINN.IT
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    Such a unique game. Controls are solid, level design is great albeit difficult, and the aspect of learning from death makes it a really funSuch a unique game. Controls are solid, level design is great albeit difficult, and the aspect of learning from death makes it a really fun experience. Expand

See all 123 User Reviews

Trailers