Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 80
    While it doesn't innovate in any one particular area, it keeps the action fresh by giving the player a ton of flexibility.
  2. Rogue Trooper is at times a very exciting and enjoyable shooter, which makes it all the more disappointing that it's over so soon.
  3. For a budget title, things could certainly be a whole lot worse. It’s worth a rental at the least, and if you can find some online play then you might just want to consider purchasing it. It’s fun, challenging, captivating, diverse – and cheap.
  4. 50
    The levels are sparse and yawn inducing, and the storyline just isn't that attention-grabbing.
  5. The voice acting is great, the innovative game-play mechanics are a breath of fresh air, and the developers really did a great job of creating a wartime battlefield atmosphere.
  6. 60
    All told, unless you've got a special place in your heart for this white-eyed, blue-skinned, four-in-one sci-fi warrior, you'll come away with an experience you'll likely forget within a few days -- and a newfound appreciation for the better shooters.
  7. Rogue Trooper may not be cutting edge, but as a simple, straightforward shooter, it’s more than capable of delivering a quick action fix.
  8. This thirdperson actioner spikes the familiar with flavour, and a tired but reliable vocabulary of wall-hugs, circle-strafe, grenade lobs and headshots with an invigorating Nu-Earth twang. [June 2006, p.94]
  9. There is something oddly reassuring about a game that keeps its horizons narrow to get the job done well... A fun, smart and refreshingly uncomplicated experience. [June 2006, p.112]
  10. The graphics are functional when it comes to the large playing areas but exemplary when it comes to the rather bone-crunching despatching of the opposition.
  11. It's amazing when you sit down with a game that you had the lowest of expectations for, only to find an incredibly well put together experience.
  12. Elements such as stealth and stealth kills, blind firing, and the employment of cover in firefights add little to Trooper's mystique; they won't be used much as they slow down the pace to an almost unbearable crawl. [May 2006, p.53]
  13. While simplistic controls and assisted aiming reveal Rogue Trooper's console origins, its core gameplay will still appeal to PC shooter fans, especially those who dig multiplayer(death-match and co-op, yay!). [July 2006, p.55]
  14. It may however be frustrating for some to play the game, which seems to be predictable and far too quick.
  15. A strong sense of style that stays close to the source material, Rogue Trooper isn't just one for the fans however; an intensive and sometimes intelligent shooter, Rogue Trooper is certainly one that could interest you if you're looking for a shooter that's a little bit different to the usual.
  16. Everything about Rogue Trooper screams "competent," which doesn't amount to memorable or particularly inspired. [Sept. 2006, p.76]
  17. One of the most refreshing things about Rogue is how powerful you feel, and how well equipped you are. [June 2006, p.66]
  18. An excellent, fast paced shooter but because it launched so late in the life of the current-gen consoles, it is more likely that gamers will pick up a new 360 game or save for future PS3/Wii fare.
  19. Interaction can feel clumsy at times, and some levels suffer from stifling, linear design, but if you're a graphic novel or action game fan, you could do worse. [June 2006, p.85]
  20. Rogue Trooper doesn't approach the inventiveness of a great budget TPS like last year's "Raze's Hell," but it's priced to move.
  21. 80
    A blast to play and certainly more appealing than the typical third person shooter.
  22. Finally though, kudos to the scriptwriters and actors for providing a stream of banter that never once made me want to pull my jaw off and mash my teeth against my forehead. Something so rare, I added two to the score.
  23. Where Rogue Trooper rescues itself from mediocrity, however, is in the way it utilises Gunnar, Helm and Bagman. They all perk up with humorous quips and helpful advice, while the futuristic gadgetry is inventive.
  24. Feels more like basic training than hard-core warfare.
  25. It’s a third-person shooter with smooth, detailed graphics, and a learning curve set so beautifully that even non- shooter fans should love it.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. BugStomper
    Feb 28, 2009
    9
    Even though I'm a huge fan of the comics I gave Rogue Trooper a miss when it was first released on PC due to some rather average reviews Even though I'm a huge fan of the comics I gave Rogue Trooper a miss when it was first released on PC due to some rather average reviews it received. Picking this up on budget last week (it's Feb 2009 as I type this) I realised that I'd made a huge mistake! Yes it's showing its age now even when ramped up to the max with lots of AA and AF, but Rogue Trooper is one of the most fun games I've played in years. It just oozes playability! Rogue Trooper is a real no-nonsense shooter with plenty of options on how to approach the game and nothing (yes nothing!) but really nicely designed levels. The biochip banter made me contantly smile as it's so well realised from the comics. I laughed out loud when I'd placed gunner on his own and he was cheerily gunning Norts down whilst I was creeping about stealthily knifing my way through the rest. As a 3rd person game I experienced no problems with the camera at all and Rogue fades in and out so you can always see what you're doing no bother. Yes it contains an on rails section but you know what, it was bl**dy good fun and I say that as someone who normally hates on rails sections with a passion! Finally onto the music. I play games with my Sony MDR V6 headphones on and the film style soundtrack is incredible! Seriously the detail and atmosphere that provides the game with was just jaw dropping. All in all it's just one incredibly fun game that you'll find yourself replaying time and time again trying to beat it in different ways. Full Review »
  2. MarkJ.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    I was very impressed bye this, it is by far the best thierd personshooter on the market today.
  3. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    This game brings a lot of interesting ideas and mechanics to the 3rd person shooting genre, but other than that, it's basically a mediocreThis game brings a lot of interesting ideas and mechanics to the 3rd person shooting genre, but other than that, it's basically a mediocre shooter. While the new mechanics make it fun the first time through, I never had the patience to sit through the game again. The story is not bad, though. Full Review »