• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 318 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 takes the series to new heights with brand new features including 3-D graphics, giving players complete control of views around the park, and a front seat to the action with a new Coaster Cam feature that allows players to ride the roller coasters. RollerCoaster TycoonRollerCoaster Tycoon 3 takes the series to new heights with brand new features including 3-D graphics, giving players complete control of views around the park, and a front seat to the action with a new Coaster Cam feature that allows players to ride the roller coasters. RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 also features new gameplay elements that fans have been asking for - including diversity of guests, added group behavior and improved guest AI - and many other new features which build upon the fun and addictive nature of the original game. [Atari] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. This game is all about customization. You get everything you need to create a park right out of the box, but you can design your own scenarios, park guests, fireworks shows, and buildings. Incredibly, none of this is particularly challenging to figure out as long as you put five to ten minutes into tinkering, with the only exception being the fireworks creator.
  2. One of the best new features is a thrilling coaster cam whose name is a bit misleading since you can get a first-person view for nearly any ride or attraction. [Feb 2005, p.65]
  3. There hasn't been high-level management game with this level of wit, style and vision since the dear departed Mucky Foot's "Startopia." This is as good as its genre gets, and deserves recognition.
  4. Don’t be fooled by the bright, cartoony exterior – RCT3 offers a detailed and sometimes complex package.
  5. Yes, it's stupendously attractive. Yes it helps draw you into the theme parks that you create. No, the development of this 3D engine seems to have brought its own problems in the shape of quite a few bugs still easy to spot in the final full retail game.
  6. It's the most polished version of the game so far, and those who've never made a small child puke before will be in store for hours of fun. But the new interface with its streamlined minimalism hides a baffling array of build options, and is not the best for the newbie. [PC Zone]
  7. And, despite the face of an excited, yelling teenager on the front cover of the box, we weren't screaming over this one.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51
  1. LukeK.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    It is the greatest game ever!!!!!!! The only thing I dont like about it is that you can not drop people into the water.
  2. MarcelB
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Now really this is the best game ever... so addictive and so fun. I played this for 5 years and i didnt get bored. Now i stopped because i Now really this is the best game ever... so addictive and so fun. I played this for 5 years and i didnt get bored. Now i stopped because i fucking lost the CD. The best part is trying to make the most brutal rides where you die (but you need cheats for that) that you go to unlimeted hight and drop down to an unlimited deepness... I wish i could still play and i think im going to get this for cristmas. Expand
  3. GabeW.
    Nov 5, 2004
    10
    Best game of the series so far - Game of the Year!
  4. JohnT.
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    This game is awesome, but it has a few flaws. Main point was the 3d card u hafta buy with it. It costs about 200$, so u end up spendin a hell This game is awesome, but it has a few flaws. Main point was the 3d card u hafta buy with it. It costs about 200$, so u end up spendin a hell of alot of money juss for a game. The graphics r awesome but a couple of bugs. Riding the rides are pretty kewl. Besides the chip and the bugs, overall good game. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    I have put a serious amount of time in both this game and RCT2. I can firmly say that both games are tremendously fun and addicting, but II have put a serious amount of time in both this game and RCT2. I can firmly say that both games are tremendously fun and addicting, but I think they could have taken 3 even further. RC3 has updated graphics, but it would have been amazing to see a more "serious" and "realistic" look rather than the "cartoonish" environment. I do thoroughly enjoy the "on ride" first person camera view, it makes you able to experience your park first hand. The rides overall are pretty cool but again I would have liked to see a more realistic detail. What RC3 did get right was the mechanics. They are terrific, taking ideas from RC2 and making them even better. Budgeting is as fun and challenging as ever, and some scenarios worth exploring. I do enjoy RC3, there is also loads of content available online including fully made parks. I do have a little more love overall for RC2, only due to the originality and extreme customization and modding. I would absolutely love to see another Rollercoaster Tycoon, they are truly fun and addicting, and better yet if it had a more "serious" and "realistic" design it could be my favorite game ever. Expand
  6. May 7, 2011
    7
    RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 certainly gives the series a boost, but that excitement is shut down by far too many bugs. Pros: A lot of new features,RollerCoaster Tycoon 3 certainly gives the series a boost, but that excitement is shut down by far too many bugs. Pros: A lot of new features, such as sandbox mode; excellent graphics; ride your rides; funny characters; still addictive as ever. Cons: Too many bugs and epically long loading screens. Expand
  7. GregM.
    Dec 5, 2004
    0
    This is bullsh!t. I wasted $40.00 on this game to only find out that you need a nVidia or ATI 3D game card....Why was that not listed on the This is bullsh!t. I wasted $40.00 on this game to only find out that you need a nVidia or ATI 3D game card....Why was that not listed on the system requirements on the INTERNET??? I knew when Atari bought this franchise that would be the end of this game. This version will never have the soul like the first 2 did, because they weren't worried about making the most state of the art game, which required HARDWARE that 85% of the country DOES NOT HAVE!! Expand

See all 51 User Reviews