Rome: Total War PC

Rome: Total War Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1088 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rome: Total War is the next generation in epic strategy gaming from the critically acclaimed and award winning Total War brand. The aim of the game is to conquer, rule and manipulate the Roman Empire with the ultimate goal of being declared as the "Imperator" of Rome. Set in a time when theRome: Total War is the next generation in epic strategy gaming from the critically acclaimed and award winning Total War brand. The aim of the game is to conquer, rule and manipulate the Roman Empire with the ultimate goal of being declared as the "Imperator" of Rome. Set in a time when the mighty Roman Empire emerged to conquer the known world against powerful enemies; when gladiators fought to a bloody death in the Coliseum; when Spartacus defied the might of the empire; when Hannibal led his invincible army and his war elephants across the Alps to strike fear into the very heart of Rome itself; and when Julius Caesar finally smashed the Barbarian Gauls. This was a time of brutal confrontation between civilisation and barbarism, and of civil war as the ancient world's only superpower turned on itself. A completely new Total War engine uses innovative technology and groundbreaking design to bring the world of ancient Rome to life to deliver the biggest and most cinematic battles ever seen in a videogame. So the battles in Rome: Total War maintain the epic scale that fans of Total War are used to, but now use high-detailed 3D polygonal troops and allows huge cities to be displayed on the battlefields. The result is truly spectacular. [Activision] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 58
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 58
  3. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. A sumptuously detailed and totally engrossing RTS title that can even hook those who normally aren't fans of RTS titles.
  2. Without a doubt one of the best strategy games I’ve played. Activision has successfully combined full RTS and turn based genres in one game while maintaining the balance between them, putting any serious strategy fan to the test.
  3. It's huge, thrilling, epic stuff. Give yourself unto Caesar. [PC Gamer UK]
  4. A constantly impressive element is the rousing speech your general hollers before a battle.
  5. The tactical battles are better than ever thanks to an improved engine and significantly smarter enemy AI. You can now take up to 400 units into battle, leading to some impressive large-scale scraps.
  6. In any real-time strategy game you'll fight desperate battles against hopeless odds, but here, thanks to the strategy side, you know the precise cost of loss will be. It's a magical, beautiful synergy and there's nothing quite like it in the entire gaming lexicon.
  7. Game Informer
    78
    As it stands, Rome: Total War is merely a good empire simulation with a minor real-time strategy diversion built in. [Nov 2004, p.165]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 180
  1. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. One of the greatest strategy games every created. The soundtrack? Spectacular. Graphics? Still detailed and awe inspiring toA masterpiece. One of the greatest strategy games every created. The soundtrack? Spectacular. Graphics? Still detailed and awe inspiring to this day. Gameplay? Nearly flawless. The replay-ability in this game will guarantee that you are occupied for many hours fighting battles and expanding your empire. This game got everything right, as it's one of the best in the entire Total War series (with maybe the exception of Shogun 2. That game was incredible). Please do yourself a favor, pick this game up and give it a try. You will not regret it. Expand
  2. PatrickT
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    One of the greatest Strategy games of all time
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time what is saying allot this is the game that got me into R.T.S. after i exterminated my first village iThis is my favorite game of all time what is saying allot this is the game that got me into R.T.S. after i exterminated my first village i never looked back ive dumped so many ours into this game its amazingly ridicules how fun and addictive it is. I highly recommend using the mod darthmod for making every battle an epic fight AND LEAVE NO ONE ALIVE. This is the perfect game to bring out everyone's inner world conquer and this is the best game in the series even if your not an R.T.S. fan this is the place to start after you've watch the millions of levy's you've drafted fight and die for you from Greece to Egypt there no turning back Expand
  4. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    The words 'epic' and 'legendary' only start to describe Rome Total War. The game is trully the greatest i have played and the shining best inThe words 'epic' and 'legendary' only start to describe Rome Total War. The game is trully the greatest i have played and the shining best in the revolutionary Total War series. Rome Total War comes with online battles, custom battles, campaigns and historical battles. Rome total war covers such a grand scale of history. There are tons of factions to play as such as the Romans (that consist of the Julii, Scipii and the Brutii and the Senate) Gauls, Britons, Parthians, Macedonians, Egyptians, Scythians, Thracians, Dacians, Germans and so forth . RTW has never failed to bore me and i have been playing it for at least 4 or 5 years now. The game is excellent for strategists, those who love ancient history and who adore turn based campaigns. The soundtrack for RTW is also brilliant. 10/10 without any doubt. Expand
  5. Chimp
    Aug 24, 2004
    10
    I was a huge fan of shogun and medieval, but this game is simply out of this world, and redefines strategy. For the first time in any I was a huge fan of shogun and medieval, but this game is simply out of this world, and redefines strategy. For the first time in any strategy game, the way units fight looks PERFECT. Elaphants charge through units and literally THROW them with their tusks, and the units go flying. its not like medieval or shogun where they all stood there and had a general attack animation while the game calculated stats and units suddenly fell over and died. The best part is, it runs at 70+ FPS on my computer, which for some reason was running slow with MEDIEVAL TW! I mean, perfect! i can play call of duty and UT and stuff, but this game never slowed down for one second on very high settings and everything, and it zoomed across the map without a hiccup. I only have enough money for one game this fall, and instead of half life 2, this is gonna be it. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    An awesome game, well deserving of all critical acclaim. Still a joy to play years after it's initial release! It's easy to get past the nowAn awesome game, well deserving of all critical acclaim. Still a joy to play years after it's initial release! It's easy to get past the now lacklustre graphics when the gameplay is as deep as it is. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2013
    0
    Bad, bad, bad. The AI is absolutely atrocious. Every fraction has the same basic units with only a few unique ones. A lot of bugs too. UnitsBad, bad, bad. The AI is absolutely atrocious. Every fraction has the same basic units with only a few unique ones. A lot of bugs too. Units refuse to use siege towers and get stuck at the bottom. Multiplayer is full of corner camping idiots. Graphics and animations were for the time awful. There is zero atmosphere. The first Medieval: Total War is way better, and it was released in 2002! Expand

See all 180 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.