Rush Bros Image
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rush Bros. is a unique platforming game which uses your MP3 collection as an integral part of the overall experience. Your music directly influence how the levels move, look, and feel. The entire world revolves around your music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. 80
    Rush Bros. came out of nowhere, but is a very polished game worthy of any gamer’s time.
  2. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    Of course, with some better platforming and tighter controls, Rush Bros would be much more recommendable. But for what it is, a nine dollar indie game that provides some laughs, a few thrills, and some absolutely gorgeous art, it’s at least worth a look.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    60
    The core game itself and the platforming is still respectable enough to warrant a check though.
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    50
    It does show a couple original ideas, but they’re never fully executed, and it’s full of small, annoying bugs that sour the experience.
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    50
    Rush Bros. is a game with many good ideas. If only they'd been executed properly.
  6. Jul 24, 2013
    40
    Rush Bros has some good ideas behind it, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired; for a game that claims to be a blend of two genres, there’s surprisingly little content from either.
  7. Jul 3, 2013
    30
    Rush Bros. just isn't fun. The platforming is bland and uninspired, the multiplayer feels more like simultaneous single player, and the rhythm-based elements are almost an afterthought. Though the idea of a platformer that runs on custom soundtracks is a grand one, the execution here is extremely disappointing.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Only for the hard-core at heart. With a game that derives most of its design inspiration from Kaizo Mario and "I wanna be the guy" it's no surprise it's going to be hard. Problem is people are hitting that wall and suddenly they get scared. Rush Bros. is designed to help alleviate this problem by allowing two players to play side-by-side via split-screen play- a feature which is enabled for ONLINE play as well (Quite rarely is this kind of thing seen). The reasoning behind this is to that players can cooperate AND/OR compete at the same time! Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    I just bought this game during the steam autumn sale for a couple of dollars, and I am not dissapointed! This game does platforming extremely well, and is also very unforgiving (often resorting to cheap tricks within the level design, but one could see it as cheap or clever). Playing competitively online really brings out the best of this game, as playing singleplayer really seems pointless (you start the game with every level unlocked, so you don't have any motive to keep playing levels). Overall though, the game is worth a look if you enjoy platforming/racing games! Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    Overall, I believe the game was fun for me due to the fact that I played it with a friend.
    There are two maps or so in there which force you
    to start from the very beginning when you die and the maps were punishing causing us to take more than 17 minutes of retries in order to get past them.
    I believe that they can definitely improve on a little bit of everything. Sometimes the jumping felt a little frustrating and not smooth enough, wish the music was a bit more interactive (overall, it wasn't too noticeable, perhaps this was due to me shouting at my deaths because i was racing with a friend). Definitely needs a tiny bit more variety. And doesn't respond very well to your music, it would be nice if they had a sort of allowing you to send files within the lobby so that you didn't have to waste time outside the game sending each other music files in order to play the same song.
    Overall, I would not classify myself as a platform gamer, I almost hate the genre, but by the game having multiplayer with a friend it made the whole game a lot more fun for me since i especially like coop games.
    Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    Rush Bros has an interesting concept of platform meets rhythm game meets racing. But the delivery falls flat. While the visuals and soundtrack are very good, the gameplay was lacking flow. The main hook of traps moving to the beat of the music was barely noticeable and although you can add your own music it didn't necessarily make the game harder or easier. I wish the game had more time for better level design, tighter controls, and better implementation of the traps-move-to the-beat concept. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    6
    Despite being downright frustrating at times, Rush Bros. is a fun little game that you may enjoy for a few hours at the most, before switching back to superior platformers. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    6
    This isn't exactly terrible, but it doesn't come with as much as was let on in the trailers on Steam. The pacing seems very slow, levels designs are a bit confusing, and the overall feel is not what one would expect. Granted, it is an interesting idea, but it really just needs some more work. Would I recommend you buy it? Not really, but with a bit more work, the game could be better. Expand
  7. AWG
    Sep 14, 2013
    5
    Useless and unfunny, Rush Bros fails to entertain the player. Collapse