Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rusty Hearts is a fast paced, action-based MORPG featuring anime-inspired visuals and effects.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    90
    It's a great game that is a lot of fun to play -- that's not "great for a free to play game," but simply "great."
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    88
    Rusty Hearts surprised me. It has a good game play mechanic, fantastic atmosphere and art style, and some really good multiplayer modes. What is so surprising to me is not how good the game is, but rather that nothing is being charged for it.
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    75
    Rusty Hearts is a funny game with a great gothic atmosphere. If you like online roleplaying games with a bit of additional hack and slash action, then it's what you may have looked for. It is definitely a good game, not only between the freemium ones.
  4. 74
    If you hate MMOs that give your character a backstory, lack a good experience outside of the dungeons, or let you get away with too much button mashing, Rusty Hearts isn't for you. If you relish the thought of slicing through supernatural enemies without paying for it, though, this might be your cup of tea.
  5. Oct 9, 2011
    70
    My advice to gamers who find Rusty Hearts intriguing is to go ahead and play - after all, it's free - but I would suggest that you not give your money to Perfect World for the little extras until they offer some sort of technical support in return.
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    70
    Rusty Hearts can be worth your time, even if you are not a fan of the genre.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    There are games out there that cost $60 that aren't nearly as polished, deep, and generally fun as this game, with the difference being that Rusty Hearts is totally free. The cel-shaded art style, funny writing, and MMO aspects is something totally new and fresh in the world of F2P games. The gameplay and combat is super fast and fluid, and it's not your typical slow-grindy MMO. The writing and dialogue outshines any other free to play game out there right now. I definitely recommend checking the game out, at the very least because it's free and there is nothing to lose. Give it a try! Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    This is a very good game. I spent 12 hours on this game. The upbeat music is very nice. And the bosses. The bosses on extreme. Very odd. On hard its a bit easy. Very nice graphics. Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    I love this game. Amazing graphics, amazing anime(ish) music, a good plot BUT the major con is the repetitive gameplay. It can get annoying. I'm currently level 18 and its all hack and slash, maybe they can get new features? But for a free to play MMORPG, it's definitely aced it.

    Oh registration is laggy and bug infested. Login is horrendous and installation was a nightmare
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2011
    7
    I didn't like this game on first impressions, because the UI blows. I had some real buggy behavior sending messages to people, the keyboard controls are kind of sucky, and in general the UI lacks polish. A friend of mine suggested I use an Xbox 360 gamepad instead, which does work better. The first level is also pretty dull just because the enemies really don't fight back. But it grew on me pretty quickly once I got farther into it. There's actually a pretty fun beat em up here, with a fair bit to do. I haven't found any particular need to spend real money on anything yet, though the outfits seem pretty popular on other players. Worth a look, provided you go in prepared for a learning curve on the UI. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2011
    7
    It starts off very promising showing the game's 4 characters all in a cutscene. Whilst you can only choose between 4 character [designs] (3 at the time of writing), it allows them to be fleshed out with individual traits and it creates a relationship between the characters. It's more an RPG played online than a real MMORPG in this regard. Where the game shines is the combat, it's fast paced and there are a lot of combinations to make. There isn't much strategy to the combat though, just figuring out the fastest way to clear a room while taking as few hits as possible. That said, with the skill upgrade system and there being two types of weapons available for each character (one fast low damage one, and a slow heavy damage one) you can play whichever way suits you the most.

    The voice acting is pretty bad, and while the text is thought out and matches each character's personality, it's usually very cliche. Another issue with the game is the dungeon system and the repetitiveness of quests. There is no real sense of exploration, merely selecting a path through a set dungeon area in which you need to clear the areas leading up to the boss area. Every play through the same monsters appear in the same rooms (per difficulty level) making it even more predictable. The quests themselves usually feature the standard MMO quests: get x item, clear dungeon x within 10min, or taking less hits than 20 hits and such. They also keep coming, and the vast amount of text you get run over with makes you want to use the skip button (a redeeming feature, for sure). I enjoyed this game for a decent while, but then I very quickly lost my interest because there wasn't much to do beyond the set routine. As more dungeons become available you unlock more of the same types of quests and the amount you have to read to actually get a sense of story is too overwhelming to be interesting to you. This mainly because it just feels like more of the same. It's free to play though, and you're not forced to make micro-transactions to really get anywhere in the game. The store mainly features perks to add to your game experience, but not skills or weapons available to you. If it was a game one had to pay for, I'd probably give it a 6/10, but because it's f2p I'm giving it a 7.
    Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2012
    5
    Rusty Hearts seemed a pretty good idea for a MMORPG. It started off good but quickly went downhill. I did enjoy it at first but quickly lost interest with its repetitive game play I myself love MMORPG's but I just couldn't get my head around Rusty Hearts. The lack of character customization really lets it down, you can't change anything about your character. Also this means you see characters exactly like you all time which isn't great. It did seem pretty buggy and it didn't really bring anything new to world of MMORPG's. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    0
    One of the worst MMOs in history. Lucky it is free to play because you would regret spending 1 cent on this game. I can't believe steam is pushing this game, looks bad for them. It is more repetitive than any game you will ever play. You run the same dungeon over and over at different difficultly levels. It is very easy even on very hard. Stay away. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews