Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 47
  2. Negative: 9 out of 47
  1. However hard you may try you will not find any reason to play Sacred 3. It is completely unclear why it deserves full price, when its natural place is among the f2p mobile games. There’s nothing left in Sacred 3 that we used to love in previous installments. And there’s nothing new that could inspire our love for the Sacred 3. [Oct 2014, p.92]
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    45
    If you’re bored out of your mind and you need an RPG fast, well, then stay bored. You don’t want to be even more bored. it’s probably best to return to games like Diablo 3 and Divinity: Original Sin, both of which offer ten times the content and ten times the fun.
  3. Aug 22, 2014
    44
    There simply are not enough ways to say, "Do not buy this game". It is not worth its price tag and the dollars spent to hours of enjoyment is missing in every conceivable way. Perhaps there is a tiny niche of players who will enjoy it for a time before moving on but, as yet, they haven't materialized.
  4. Sep 14, 2014
    40
    Deeply disappointing in just about every way. [Issue#253, p.70]
  5. Aug 18, 2014
    40
    Sacred 3 is an action dynamic hack and slash brawler game that suffers from the stereotype beyond imagination, technical problems along with game backlogs, whereas offering minimal possibilities of character development.
  6. Aug 12, 2014
    40
    Sacred 3's primary primary flaw is that it's so easy to forget. It contains too little of what you look for in an action-first RPG, and distances itself it so far from its two predecessors that there is no meaningful connection left between the games besides the name and the setting. And that, as you can see from this example, doesn't mean much.
  7. Aug 5, 2014
    40
    It's hard to find any reason to place Sacred 3 above the majority of action RPGs released recently. It doesn't do anything particularly well, with every aspect having been done considerably better elsewhere. Fans of the first two games in the series will likely prefer to pretend this never happened.
  8. Aug 1, 2014
    40
    I have no doubt that some folk will dismiss Sacred 3 because it bears no resemblance to the previous core games in the series. But that’s not why it should be avoided by most. It’s simply not fun to play.
  9. Aug 1, 2014
    40
    Sacred 3 has the skeleton of a fun co-op hack 'n' slash experience, but it's marred by too much repetition, balance issues, and the worst comedy routine this side of Open Mic Night at the Middle of Nowhere Comedy Shack.
User Score
1.4

Overwhelming dislike- based on 502 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 132
  1. Aug 1, 2014
    0
    If you liked Sacred 2 and how much more fun it is than Diablo 3, don't buy this. They've dumbed down everything for console users, a completely linear game, 0 customisation, no loot, less characters, two abilities, a shield break and a standard action style attack, this game plays with a controller perfectly, giving me the feeling this game was dumbed down for the potatoes. This game doesn't even deserve to have the Sacred name. I'd vote for the Sacred 2 servers coming back on any time with expansions and patches over this complete garbage of a game. All of the official critics rating it good are out of their mind or paid off. Sorry but this franchise just dropped the ball and with the money I wasted on this I think im going to have to start up playing Sacred 2 again. If it was named a different game I would like it, but I do not consider this "Sacred 3". Same way I don't consider Final Fantasy 13 as a real Final Fantasy game. Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    0
    From good RPG to casual console slasher. Thats all. Its not even RPG anymore, no loot, no exploring. Its might be funny to play co-op with friends, but its not what we wanted from Sacred 3. Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    3
    Instead of a conventional review, I'll sum it up in a few points:

    1) This game has nothing to do with the franchise "Sacred", except in
    name. I don't know why they even decided to use the same name.
    2) It was clearly designed to be played on a joystick. Trying to play on the PC without the use of an analog joystick is an exercise in frustration. The WASD control doesn't work well at all.
    3) The game isn't so much an RPG, but more an action game with some RPG elements. A great comparison would be Dead Island: Epidemic - even though this game is far below in quality.
    4) The game is extremely linear. You advance, gets stuck in an area where you defeat a series of (repetitive) enemies, the path is cleared, you advance, and everything repeats again and again.
    5) The graphics, sounds and music are nice. But the voices are annoying.
    6) Becomes tedious. Fast.
    Full Review »