Sacred Citadel PC

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 61
  2. Negative: 23 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    More side-scrolling hack and slash? hell yea, this is is pretty fun when playing with people especially with some friends over fighting over loot. I was a kid in the 90s, growing up with tmnt in time, dbl dragon, final fight, etc so this game brings back alot of memories of a time where all you have to do was eat play and sleep.
  2. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    This is a pretty good hack&slash game. The gameplay is really simple and intuitive. It is perfect for casual gamer that want to spend some good and short time hitting some monsters. About the 4 different characters: the combos are simple to do, no matter the one that you choose. Even if the AI is questionable, it is not really a big deal since you won't one hour or one hour and half eachThis is a pretty good hack&slash game. The gameplay is really simple and intuitive. It is perfect for casual gamer that want to spend some good and short time hitting some monsters. About the 4 different characters: the combos are simple to do, no matter the one that you choose. Even if the AI is questionable, it is not really a big deal since you won't one hour or one hour and half each time you are playing. The graphics are nice and the effects are totally adapted for that kind of game. It is a really good title that you must have in your steam games. (Xbox 360 controller required to enjoy the game). Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    9
    Just finished it last night and i can say it's trully amazing i hope that Sacred 3 will this much fun to. And i was just saying i want MORE of this i see someone writing about a dlc, when it appears on steam i'm so buying it. MUSIC, ART STYLE is great to, i love how it goes during boss fights like in those old good days on ps1/ps2. Gameplay involves a bit of strategy you can block someJust finished it last night and i can say it's trully amazing i hope that Sacred 3 will this much fun to. And i was just saying i want MORE of this i see someone writing about a dlc, when it appears on steam i'm so buying it. MUSIC, ART STYLE is great to, i love how it goes during boss fights like in those old good days on ps1/ps2. Gameplay involves a bit of strategy you can block some attacks but you will need to avoid /interrupt the real powerfull attacks.
    **** THIS GAME IS GREAT, CAUSE I LIKE SAYING TO THOSE GUYS THAT DON'T LIKE IT
    Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    Un gioco per nostalgici dei picchiaduro a scorrimento. Ricorda il glorioso Gollden Axe e un po anche gli arcade da bar di D&D. Consigliato visto il prezzo basso e la possibilita' di giocare in coop con gli amici e online.
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    Very fun and addictive game. The action and combat is smooth and the gameplay is wellpaced. The UI is perfect, best played with a controller. Every character plays differently so multiple playthroughs are still fun. Well worth the cheap price!
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    As a kid I used to play games as Double Dragon on the Game Boy. For some reason this game reminds me of those sort of games.

    Sacred Citadel brings such a beat em up with simple combo's, action RPG elements such as loot (gold/weapons/armor/potions/food for health), leveling up, potions and temporary for example +6 attack, +6 defense adding christals. The game has a bit of comic book like
    As a kid I used to play games as Double Dragon on the Game Boy. For some reason this game reminds me of those sort of games.

    Sacred Citadel brings such a beat em up with simple combo's, action RPG elements such as loot (gold/weapons/armor/potions/food for health), leveling up, potions and temporary for example +6 attack, +6 defense adding christals. The game has a bit of comic book like look to it and the humor is similair to that of Overlord. The game is divided in 4 acts with each about 5 levels and keeps up a score resulting in bronze or silver or gold (there are leaderboards). You play as a warrior or ranger or seraphim mage or shaman. The basic attack is dual weapons and special/power attacks depends on which class you chose. You mostly roll away to evade attacks forwards or backwards or up or down. I did not experience problems due to lag as some mention. You have to be a bit tactical defeating the foes because either there a lot of them and/or your battling a level boss. The flying attack is used to knockdown flying opponents. You can play this game co op with max 3 players.

    If you don't mind some button bashing and simple combo's. If you like the idea of a beat em up combined with action RPG elements wrapped up in bit of comic book like graphics and Overlord humor.
    Then I would consider buying this game or play at least the demo available on the official website. This game costs 15,- and your expections should be according the price tag.
    Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Folks I would first like to point out the price of this game. Roughly about 15 dollars. Next Look at the type, it is a side-scrolling brawler. For the price and getting a few friends together you cannot go wrong with this. Four classes with 4 acts with DLC coming to improve the game. Is it a time waster, as much as probably Diablo 2 was. It was enjoyable something better came out you movedFolks I would first like to point out the price of this game. Roughly about 15 dollars. Next Look at the type, it is a side-scrolling brawler. For the price and getting a few friends together you cannot go wrong with this. Four classes with 4 acts with DLC coming to improve the game. Is it a time waster, as much as probably Diablo 2 was. It was enjoyable something better came out you moved on. But you remember it brought you joy for the 8 hours it took to beat the screaming over skype that you need your shaman friend to save their heal.

    Combat is repetitive, but it is a SIDE SCROLLING BRAWLER, they have done wonders with what they had to work with. All classes are duel wielding which is kind of strange but it works when you need it to. Bosses are sometimes too challenging and sometimes not challenging enough. But this is always fun as long as you don't just sit there pressing 1 button and forward.

    Remember those days of imaginative combos and refuse to spam the one effective combo because you know that would be boring. If your goal is always to beat a game the fastest way possible then go right ahead but if you would like to PLAY then enjoy.
    Expand
  8. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    It's a fun casual hack and slash.
    The only way to play this is with an xbox controller.
    I do understand those saying the game is bad because PC controls are broken, but i seriusly think you should not buy these type of games if it is not for playing with gamepads on your TV, It gets better with a friend in local co-op Now, the combat: it's bad. A.I aside, the strong attack combos are
    It's a fun casual hack and slash.
    The only way to play this is with an xbox controller.
    I do understand those saying the game is bad because PC controls are broken,
    but i seriusly think you should not buy these type of games if it is not for
    playing with gamepads on your TV,
    It gets better with a friend in local co-op
    Now, the combat: it's bad. A.I aside, the strong attack combos are way too slow, slower than they should
    making impossible to use a 3 combo strong attack with more than 1 enemy close to you.
    Than breaks a lot of your choices, making them ,much more smaller.
    the art style is nice
    Expand
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    57
    A pale imitation of Castle Crashers with an empty multiplayer lobby.
  2. May 14, 2013
    60
    Fine for an hour at a time, but shouldn’t be treated as anything other than a lower alternative to better games doing the same thing.
  3. May 13, 2013
    55
    The game is pleasant to look at but quickly became tedious and repetitive (even though it’s short – took me less than 4 hours to complete). There’s no challenge in it either – the enemies grow stronger, but the hero does that faster due to the character development system and new weapons. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.64]