Sacrifice Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sacrifice provides a truly fresh approach in the 3-D RTS genre, allowing players to act as both commander and combatant over huge, real-time, generated landscapes in single or multiplayer modes. Wizards will not be disappointed as Sacrifice serves up over 50 spells and creatures. [Interplay]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. If William Blake made a videogame, it would be this. If that isn't a recommendation, nothing is.
  2. You find a spectacularly violent and wonderfully thrilling adventure composed of epic, earth-shattering battles between deities' champions, fought in a dreamlike landscape as weird and varied as it is beautiful.
  3. No matter how smooth, pretty or great sounding a game is, if it ain't got that swing it ain't got a thing. Sacrifice has swing, oh lordy, it has swing.
  4. The best fully 3D real-time strategy yet. [Feb 2001, p.58]
  5. Despite a few minor control problems that crop up during battles, Sacrifice emerges unscathed with graphics, sound, gameplay and artificial intelligence that are all of extremely high caliber.
  6. The few weaknesses come from repetitive gameplay in the single-player game, simplistic tactics that often boil down to "get 'em," and steep system requirements.
  7. The camera view is frustrating, the controls are frustrating, the AI is frustrating, the resource system is frustrating, the missions are frustrating, and above all the fact that this game isn't half as good as we were all hoping it would be is very, very frustrating.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. [Anonymous]
    Feb 3, 2005
    10
    The last truly innovative game I have played. An all-time favorite with great production values and gameplay.
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    An excellent game with lots of innovative ideas. Great story, and a very nice touch with reloading "this is not what actually happened". TheAn excellent game with lots of innovative ideas. Great story, and a very nice touch with reloading "this is not what actually happened". The artwork was amazing for the time. Really one of the best games ever, and surely one of the best in the RTS genre. Expand
  3. AttilaB
    Aug 21, 2009
    10
    Possibly the best rts I have ever played. For its age this game is still awesome. Camera view is perfect. The controls are perfect the AI is Possibly the best rts I have ever played. For its age this game is still awesome. Camera view is perfect. The controls are perfect the AI is perfect, the resource system is perfect, the missions are F***ing awesome and the story is engaging. I must have replayed and beat this game over 15 over in the past 5 years. Expand
  4. StevenS.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    I really enjoy the level editor, because you're free to use all characters and graphics... Only it was hard to find the right triggers, I really enjoy the level editor, because you're free to use all characters and graphics... Only it was hard to find the right triggers, but I figured it all out... Expand
  5. JanosV.
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    This game is absolutely fantastic. The single player campaign great but you can also enjoy a skirmish by choosing local game in the This game is absolutely fantastic. The single player campaign great but you can also enjoy a skirmish by choosing local game in the multi-player menu. Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    Truly unique strategy game with it's alternative approach, beautiful visuals, amazing soundtrack, different gods and excellent story and voiceTruly unique strategy game with it's alternative approach, beautiful visuals, amazing soundtrack, different gods and excellent story and voice acting. 9/10 Expand
  7. AnonymousMC
    Oct 9, 2009
    5
    Pain in the a$$ to play. Hard to figure out what's going on. The game itself is impressive and the graphics are nice, but thePain in the a$$ to play. Hard to figure out what's going on. The game itself is impressive and the graphics are nice, but the implementation and controls can leave you befuddled and frustrated. I never want to hear the words "your creatures are dying" ever again. Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.