Saints Row 2 PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. This is a title that could have been unforgettable if it would have achieved more solid values in its irregular sections and specially in its technical side. Despite these flaws Saints Row 2 is still a very funny game with great highlights inside, but its console counterparts are more recommendable than this clumsy PC port.
  2. This game is little more than a lowbrow, yet humorous, thug-life simulator.
  3. Game Informer
    88
    While – both graphically and in gameplay – Saints Row feels behind the standards set by GTA IV, it has an ace up its sleeve in the online arena: true online co-op. And it works. [Dec 2008, p.105]
  4. A real challenge to... you know, that other sandbox game... Saints Row 2 expands on the original with a dizzying level of complexity. Stilwater is back and bigger than ever - there's so much to see and do you'll be entertained for hours.
  5. Though Saints Row 2 profits from its easy and humorous atmosphere, those can’t make up for its technical weaknesses. Especially the empty-headed AI and the indefensible hardware needs grind my gears. As a PC gamer I am at least completely happy with the wonderful multiplayer co-op mode which keeps up the multiplayer rating.
  6. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  7. PC Format
    86
    Like GTA used to be before it got all serious. This isn't just a sandbox, it's a brilliant, personalised playground of fun. [Mar 2009, p.92]
  8. PC Gamer
    75
    Though not particularly memorable, Saints Row 2's huge volume of quests and goofy side missions make it one of the better open-world crime games available, but the PC port's technical scars drag it down. [Mar 2009, p.70]
  9. PC Gamer UK
    87
    The sick filth you've been looking for. [Mar 2009, p.64]
  10. Play (Poland)
    80
    The ruthless butchers of Stillwater are back to redefine evil in games. This gangster sim is as vile as possible, and I don't mean the way the game is made... perhaps with the exception of graphics. It's something for everyone who tried everything in games. Turns out there's a thing or two left. The atmosphere is great, a bit weird, a bit clownish - but the Liberty City remains far above. [Mar 2009]
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 396 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 106
  2. Negative: 29 out of 106
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    My **** what's with all this hate? "Saints Row 2" is a superb game, the granny of GTA. Same gameplay, but better resolution and textures. WhatMy **** what's with all this hate? "Saints Row 2" is a superb game, the granny of GTA. Same gameplay, but better resolution and textures. What more would you ask for a gangster game? Full Review »
  2. SHAFT3D
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support. I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also love the fact you can customize your cars to suite you style. A feature GTA does not offer to my knowledge. And the list of side missions and diversions is huge. I have uncounted at least one new diversion every time I play. I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone that has a platform that can support it, and if you can ... get a 360 controller. Makes life in still water a breeze. Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    Terrible port of a fantastic game. You have to install the Gentlemen of the Row mod to fix up all the problems of this buggy mess. (Don'tTerrible port of a fantastic game. You have to install the Gentlemen of the Row mod to fix up all the problems of this buggy mess. (Don't worry, the mod can be configured to be just like the vanilla game, without any useless modifications done by overenthusiastic modders.) Otherwise the story is great, the city feels great, the activities and the customization are fun. Full Review »