User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 318 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 318

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    My **** what's with all this hate? "Saints Row 2" is a superb game, the granny of GTA. Same gameplay, but better resolution and textures. What more would you ask for a gangster game?
  2. Dec 29, 2010
    0
    Terrible driving views, it is way too jerky when cornering. I got this because I love the GTA, Mafia and Godfather stuff but this is awful. Weapon selection works by holding a key and pushing the mouse in a certain direction but getting those at 45 degrees can be a pain, but you can use the scroll wheel. I manage to solve some of the technical problems but still get a 50/50 chance of it crashing on startup. Terrible port to PC, might be better on a console but this has totally put me off wasting any more money on this series. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    Terrible port. Shamefully terrible port. Volition employed the mentally-inept CD Projekt to port this to PC, who are known for their terrible experience when it comes to the PC (see The Witcher).
    It runs like crap and plays like crap. The controls are pretty poor for a PC game, and the handling when driving is a complete monstrosity. Multiplayer is a complete and utter joke.

    If you want
    to enjoy this game, get it on a -- bleugh -- console. It's a fun game, it's just that CD Projekt completely ruined it, and Volition abandoned it. I refuse to purchase games from either developer from now on. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This game is what GTA: IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and gets around town. Pierce, a thug who whines about your music selection, loves opera, and is comic relief. The rival gangs are also quite memorable, from the hardcore tattooed Brotherhood, the voodoo practicing Sons of Jamaica, to the Japanese gang, the Ronin, ran by the pansy and spoiled son of a hardcore mobster. I do find it's rating to be completely undeserving, for it really is so much more fun than GTA. The only reason I can see why it doesn't have a higher rating, is because too many people have a boner for GTA and constantly, and unfairly, compare the two. The two games, while about open city crime, as two different philosophies. In GTA, its more "realistic" and "gritty", while SR2 is more about doing whatever the heck you want and not have some damn cousin calling you every 5mins. So I would recommend that Saints Row isnâ Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    2
    As everyone else has stated, this game and the people who made it, have rightly deserved the worst PC port to date, for ever, in history! Absolutely unplayable on a modern-day, gaming PC and lack of PC support, including 2 patches which fixed/solved almost nothing and no DLC (should be free if ever released but I doubt it as the people who made the PC version completely abandoned it immediately after creation and once they realized it was beyond fixing and provided no extra help to any of us). I decline to buy Saints Row 3 even if it is a little better as PC gamers were stabbed in the back severely this time and shows how much they cared. A game should have bugs, yes and some can't be patched but when a game cannot be played on a majority of systems without being stable, constant crashing, freezing and errors as well as lag it should be noted that this game is infamously world-wide known now as the most bug-ridden and infested game on the planet. Not even RPG's that weren't even patched have the same amount of problems. At least they're playable and the customer deserves a refund or at least an offer to fix/patch the game if it is beyond unplayable. The customer is always right and should be treated to a game which they can simultaneously enjoy and be able to play or get to the main menu at least... but don't worry if you buy it on the console you will get full support + DLC - which you have to pay for. So stay clear of this game if you only have a PC or don't even buy it if u have a console and show your support that games that are multi-platform should be treated with equal consideration and care on all platforms regardless of sales or liking. The 1st and 3rd Saints Rows are not bad but I haven't got the first, skipped it but now won't even try it regardless after playing 2 and all the hype, sure it was good for console just not at all cared for on PC or optimized well and shows how all the complaints were true. There are fan-made mods and the biggest one 'Gentlemen of the Row' fixes up some problems but still remains 80 % unplayable and I can only start a new game and then it starts freezing up, once past the 1st mission and on the mission screen or just at random. It also adds dlc for free by fans who care and extra additions. Some have reported its more playable but the majority of us are stuck between 60-90 % unplayable. Yes, Saints Row 3 does have DLC for the PC but for people who bought this game retail or on Steam should have them all free after what we were subjected to going through and trying to play this game to the end and stuck with the worst port ever. So, yes, buy it on Steam if you do intend to self-torture yourself as it's got the latest patch which no other medium through which you purchase online or retail has and makes the game at least another 20 % playable. There are 100's of fixes for the PC - I've tried them all, the but at least the game didn't promise to be something and then complete failure for the PC crowd especially with dedicated servers *cough cough * - CoD. I didn't have high expectations and when the few minutes it actually did work and I could play some random, yet quirky gameplay I enjoyed it a little, little enough to show pity for a 2/10 rating. Be warned it's a bad game and quite a gamble - it won't even start up on most PC's but if you get it and it works on your PC - you are gifted and enjoy the minutes you can have playing it 'cos that's going to be rare. But hey, at the end of the day, look foward to Saints Row 3 that proves to be actually listening to us and improving - much needed and vast upon this, to the extent where it could become beyond playable and at least fun for a 7/10 or more rating. Looking foward to it and it could prove to be different and at least promising this time. Hopefully... that's all a PC Gamer can do, is to hope, in this day-and-age. 'Nuff said. 2/10... Expand
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    2
    This game is a technical mess. You could even go as far as calling it broken. Add that the game feels like a lazy port at best. I mean some parts of the game doesn't even function properly on keyboard and mouse. It feels like absolutely no effort has been but in the port and quite frankly its embarrassing. And even if i ignore all those problems the game still manages to disappoint. The driving is ,bad which is unforgivable in a sandbox game such as this. The action feels dated and more similar to GTA: San Andreas than any newer sandbox games. It short it feels static, non-responsive and the AI is a mess that cant aim for **** I wont criticize the story too much since i didnt come to far into the game, but what i saw didn't impress me. No this game feels dated and unfinished even if you ignore all the the other problems which you clearly shouldn't, I heard that this game was supposed to be really good on consoles but sadly i haven't seen anything even resembling that when playing this game on pc. Stay away from this one. Expand
  7. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    This game is absolutely brilliant. No, seriously, I mean it. Its gameplay is awesomeness itself. OK, it's a pure console port and navigating the menus is a bother (Ctrl and shift for left and right in the menus? What?), and it is a single-threaded program, meaning that all your cores are unused by this game, save one, which in turn means that it will run relatively poorly for a game that is now 7 years old. The graphics were great for that era, but they definitely look dated in 2012. No matter! The gameplay! It's simply brilliant! 9/10. Expand
  8. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    People are saying this game needs a super computer to play. Luckily, I must have a computer super enough, because this runs very nicely with all settings at max. Loads of vehicles, plenty of customization, plenty of missions. I think it's unfair to rate it bad because your pc isn't good enough, it isn't the games problem. For the £5 I paid this game is epic.
  9. Feb 16, 2012
    2
    For the record, I give saints row 3 a high 8 out of 10. I think it's a fantastic game. On the other hand, I hate playing saints row 2 with a passion. It's sickly. It does not feel like I am playing a game. Remember big rigs, how you laugh at how something feels unatural - or you boot up some nintendo 64 game that nobody has heard of for good reason. Those games feel better mechanically (maybe not big rigs, I might have taken that too far) superior to this game. It also looks.... Sickly. And I don't actually use the word sickly that often in reviews. It's specific to this game. So you are expecting a 0 right? Sigh.. I guess not. Look... Saints row 3 would have never been what it is without saints row 2. Also, saints row 2 has some killer features. It had an inspiring co-op mode. Few games actually features that many open world moving parts when this was released. It kind of innovated. And the game is large. Large with content that is creative. Poorly controlling in most cases - but creative, and diverse. This game has a LOT of content. And when you actually dig into the story missions, there are some truly creative moments. However for me personally, none of this was worth the consistent pain of playing this. I also lower the score for the pc version. Nomatter what system you have (I personally have a 5.8ghz corei7 260 with a 6990), it will stutter to some extent. It's the least optimized game I have ever seen in my life. Bar none. -- To sum it up, saints row 2 has a 9 of potential, and a 0 of execution. It has a 9 of some side content, and a 0 for a lot of other side content, it has a 0 for graphics, and it makes me feel physically ill. I want to give it a 0 with everything I have. However this content, presented better, would possibly lead to a 9/10 game. So I'll give it a 1 for the sole purpose of 'what it could have been'. Expand
  10. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    i would write alot more but if i did it would take you 3 days to finish reading it so AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  11. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    can some one help my?
    I try to play the game but i get stuck. it doesnt start up. when i click it to play it doesnt work .
    it has been correctly downloaded
  12. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    I really wanted to like this game but theres not much going for it, feels like a GTA clone from the GTA san andreas era only with worse graphics, poor controls, unrealistic levels and boring storyline, if your thinking of buying this.......do not bother.
  13. May 7, 2012
    1
    Just a ghetto version of GTA, but far less interesting or enjoyable. Stupid story line, and highly unbelievable even for a video game. Obviously a console port, and the **** controls to match. Wasn't even worth the $5. Motorcycle riding was cool tho, so it gets a 1 for that.
  14. May 20, 2012
    9
    This game deserves much better. While it is not a great game in terms of graphics, its fantastic story and bad ass moments keep me feelings great. even though there is one very big difficulty spike in the game, overall combat is balanced. This game does not sacrifice game play and story for **** and sex jokes. Buy this instead. You wont regret it.
  15. Aug 14, 2012
    7
    Terrible port of a fantastic game. You have to install the Gentlemen of the Row mod to fix up all the problems of this buggy mess. (Don't worry, the mod can be configured to be just like the vanilla game, without any useless modifications done by overenthusiastic modders.) Otherwise the story is great, the city feels great, the activities and the customization are fun.
  16. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE HATERS, the game is awesome, fun, intresting, FREE and overall for 14.99 it's a must own game, buy it, NOW.
  17. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    I had this game for about 18 months and barely just got around to playing it. What a mistake. This game is so much fun! There is so much crazy **** to do. It's like playing Grand Theft Auto, but with coop! Grab a friend, your favorite alcoholic beverage, and go have a blast with all the unique missions.
  18. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    While the writing in Saints Row 2 may not be as compelling as GTA IV, and its visuals not as polished, the game does offer some redeeming gameplay mechanics, such as the ability to use random pedestrians as meat shields and throw them into oncoming traffic. Most of the missions are a lot of fun. I must admit though that the "boss battles" are ridiculously easily. And there are a lot of fun things to do around Stilwater which help boost your Respect rating to unlock more missions and progress the story even further. Customization could offer a lot more -- and this is what surprised me the most -- because there is more stuff to buy (mainly clothes) in a game like GTA: San Andreas than there is in Saints Row 2. Not a big fan of the music in this game either. The game has been patched and that supposedly fixed a lot of the bugs that people were complaining about as well as adding 16:9 resolution support. As far as PC optimization goes, Saints Row 2 was no doubt built to be played on consoles, but for its low price on Steam, it's practically as steal. Expand
  19. May 23, 2012
    7
    This game is like non-serious Grand Theft Auto. Gangstas, black people, pimps, hos, flat jokes, absurd weapons, more black people, nice cars. Every black stereotype presents in this game, excluding watermelons and chicken wings. But the PC port is bad - game runs fast-forward, so you must use speed-hack to control speed, keyboard controls is awful (glad I have a 360 controller), it can crash after cut-scene, leaving you unsaved and outraged. But I love it, it's the type of a game I was searching for a long time Expand
  20. Feb 11, 2012
    6
    The game was okay. I like the fact that you get to build the gang up, as in Saints Row Three you're in more of a futuristic world that pisses you off. It's a pretty bad port, as the driving is terrible and the glitches and bugs are horrendous. I only have 2.3 hours of playtime, and I don't plan on increasing the number.
  21. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    It is hard to rate this game since it is more console oriented, and the PC version is very poorly optimized. The graphics is kind of average and the frame rate is very low and very inconsistent. However, the game itself is really fun. The mission is very exciting, the story is very well delivered, the city is designed beautifully and it feels that I am the owner of the city, and I can't live without being in that city. To some extend, it is much better than Saints Row the Third. Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Usually I do not play these kinds of video games since i'm often interested in a good story, however I picked this up really cheap and thought to myself, "Hmm, why not play something different" so I fired it up and found it to be an overall enjoyable experience. First of all, the story, its a very over the top and fun story throughout, with varied missions which take you to different styled environments and give you a plethora of different "Toys" to play with over the course of the twenty six hours I enjoyed this game. Doing each kind of mission against the main three opposing gangs was very enjoyable and gave each gang their own personality which made me enjoy the game further. The vehicles are pretty good, with different styles and such which were very fun to drive around the big sandbox city, the radio was also great too with a fantastic choice of songs to listen to as you go along on missions or just exploring. This game didn't score perfect with me for two reasons, despite being over the required specs it sometimes didn't run as well as I would have liked, mainly when it came to driving, which didn't bother me much unless it caused me trouble when I was on a mission, the second reason is really just how boring some of the side missions were, which were the easiest way to continue with story missions due to the reputation metre which in the end just felt like a chore to see more of the story. Overall, this game deserves an eight, because I had a lot of fun while playing the hilarious story and really didn't want it to end as soon as it did, however for the 26 hours of gameplay I can say my money was well invested and is a game i'd reccomend to anyone who enjoys playing a fun game, or just these sort of crime games in general. Expand
  23. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    this game is like kinda forgotten since gta 4 came around. but its much more player friendly in letting you create a person and create your own crew, etc. it is really underrated, i dont understand it. great graphics, gameplay is terrific and music is solid. its more open than GTA, and more custom creation. story is about you, breaking out of a coma and reuniting with some old members from your crew back in the 1st game. which, i have never played but it doesn't really matter as the overall story, doesn't tie in too much with it. overall, a great game that should get more recognition than its getting. Expand
  24. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    Saints Row 2 is a gritty third person sandbox style adventure which plunks the player into the seedy gang life of a generic urban landscape. The game begins with the player breaking out of prison and beginning a non-linear journey to rebuild his gang to its former glory. The massive environment, over the top ridiculous characters, free form quests, and support for online coop play are clearly this titleâ Expand
  25. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    Saints Row 2 deserves far better treatment than this badly optimised POS console port. Almost unplayable in places, suffers from awful vehicle controls (mouse/keyboard), Windows prefetching issues, and infuriating AI, however its countless technical issues can't disguise a brilliant game that has just about everything.
  26. May 11, 2013
    9
    I absolutely adore this game, and it will forever be a classic to me. There is just something really special about the atmoshere of the game. The music especially, made you feel like you're in a carefree world. I loved the 80s radio station.

    However, it's a really bad console port, so I'll have to dock points on that. I ran it fine on my XP installation with a 3.2 GHz clock rate. Years
    later, I tried it with my 7 installation overclocked processor and it was really buggy. Expand
  27. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    This game is a master piece! there are tons of activities in this game, the world feels alive and you can actually spend hours just roaming knowing and seeing the city or just looking for the massive amount of easter eggs, i loved every aspect of this game and i would dare to say overall is a better game than GTA4.
  28. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    I'll give the game itself an 8.5, but the port knocks it down to a 6. It's not a very good PC port. The worst flaw is that it's unplayable on Windows 7 unmodded. Runs about twice as fast as it's supposed to. Fortunately, I was able to find a mod (Saints Row Powertools) that fixes this issue.
  29. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    A sandbox game full of wacky companions, ridiculous storylines, and tons of missions. SR2 has much better world design and customization than 3; however, after beating the formulaic missions there isn't much to do besides activities. The only collectables are CDs to make custom playlists (most of the music sucks) and your territory control is completed passively while doing missions. Probably the strongest point of SR2 is the cutscenes with their amusing character facial expressions, good camera work, and funny dialog. If you are looking for a less serious sandbox game then SR2 & 3 are both good options. Overall I think SR3 is better but they both have their fair share of issues. You will most likely have trouble getting this working because it is such a poor port. It has a lot of graphical, sound, and stability issues so be prepared to dig around for mods & fixes. Expand
  30. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Negatives first - the port is one of the worst I've ever encountered. Yet with the right set of mods and fiddling it quickly becomes an enjoyable and addictive game. Technical issues aside it easily tops SR3 with more variations, more locations and going easy on the over the top feeling.
  31. Jun 21, 2014
    5
    Not a bad entry in to this genre, fans of the open world mission style crime game will no doubt enjoy but a dodgy PC port as well as an average story hold it back.
  32. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    !WARNING THIS REVIEW ISN'T FOR KIDS IT HAS SOME SWEARS!
    Saints Row 2 is a hillarious game the story is so awesome,i really missed this game.This title is my favorite Saints Row title.
  33. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    There is such a thing as gameplay being too fast paced. The human brain can't react quick enough to the speed that this game moves at. Horrible PC port too.
  34. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    This, ladies and gentlemen, is the flagship of the Saints Row series. The perfect gangster feel in Saints Row 2 makes you wonder why the developers went from an over the top, brutal, crazy and dark gangster game to Saints Row.... 3. The homies are amazing NPC friends. Pierce and Shaundi are great. The missions involve bringing the other gangs (a government-gang included) to their knees. The co-op rocks! What can be better than you and your friend jumping around in low gravity throwing C-4 at people in the mall, and then riding the ATV's around? Although you will get frustrated at stupid moments, like when two Brotherhood trucks run you over at the same time, you will have an amazing experience playing this game. Expand
  35. Aug 13, 2013
    8
    Yeah, granted, there are some bugs and glitches, and one crash too. But a quick Google search and I've found the solution to ALL of the problems I've encountered, this game is worth a 9, but the technical setbacks I've encountered have made me put in an 8.
    I actually didn't mind the driving or shooting mechanics, they were fine, even good. I did experience a speedbug (win7 users beware),
    but I downloaded a patch from a famous modder (google it, you'll find it) and was right back on track.
    Game's story and gameplay are epic, but I was most drawn to the characters, they truly made me play- I cared about them and wanted to see where they'd end up. About 26 hours of gameplay for me.
    Overall? Recommended, it's not perfect, but it's definitely fun!
    Expand
  36. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    It's a morality free GTA. The PC version is a bit buggy and has some issues but the whole thing is so much fun that any problems I had with it are nullified when I remember that there are side missions that you drive a flaming go-cart and another when you go around in a septic tank and spray poo at houses. It seems almost like a GTA San Andreas 2. It's on the same level as that. Just trust me when I say this is an amazing game. Expand
  37. Aug 22, 2013
    4
    I'm able to play the first level but after when I am allowed to drive this game lags stutters a lot. Only the on foot sections are smooth. This is surprising as my HD7770 can run most games on high/maximum settings. This is a worse port than GTAIV. The shooting is fun, but it is a disappointment I cannot play further due to the slowdown. Do not buy this game on PC.
  38. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    Build your gangsta reputation while you become Stillwater’s crime lord, the city is fun to explore and you will find lots of surprises and stuff to do everywhere. Yes, it’s buggy sometimes, and even though it gets frustrating at some points, for the most part you will have a blast if you like sandbox crime games like GTA. Vehicles are fun (from bikes to boats and aircraft) and there are stores where you can dress your character (highly customizable since the moment you create them) the way you want with clothing and jewelry (tattoos included). You can buy houses, stores and buildings (you make profit) then decorate them. If you have a 360 controller it will feel so natural. A fun and very enjoyable game that will awake the gangsta in you, I love being a Saint! ^.^ Expand
  39. Aug 11, 2014
    5
    This is the worst Console to PC port ever. The fps is very bad, you need a PC from 2014 to run this game without any kind of lag even though this was released in 2009. The driving is just horrendous. Controls overall are **** Graphics are not that good too. There were some goods things though. The customization is awesome, missions can be fun and free roam is awesome. Sometimes this game CAN be fun but you really have to overcome all of its flaws to enjoy anything in this game. Simply put, it's not worth getting this game on PC just get it on a PS3 or Xbox 360 Expand
  40. Oct 15, 2013
    5
    A couple years ago I played this game at a friends house on the PS3, so when I got this game on sale I was pretty excited to re-visit the experience I had when playing on the PS3.

    Bottom line is that this a TERRIBLE ported game. The graphics are terrible, even on the HIGHEST settings, the car mechanics are lazy and stupid, and when driving around a corner or just going straight,
    decently fast the frame rate goes extremely low for some reason even though my computer can run tons of other games that have better graphics on HIGH, this is an utter disappointment.

    Not to mention having to get enough respect to play a mission is beyond annoying, I spent 30-an hour usually just to get enough respect to play a 15 minute mission which drives me INSANE.

    In the end, even though the missions are fun and challenging it doesn't make up for many of the technical glitches, random frame rate drops, car mechanics and annoying respect.

    Would get this game when is on a big sale but otherwise I would buy this on a console, or just get Saints row 3 or 4.
    Expand
  41. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    Это просто прекрасная, яркая и необычная игра, гораздо лучше всех игр из серии GTA.
    Кроч., стоит попробовать.
  42. Feb 9, 2014
    6
    I really like this game, but it honestly could be better. The controls are pretty good, the graphics aren't though. They are almost like the sims 2 graphics where you don't have too much detail to anything. The storyline is also pretty weak not much to it to say it's good. If you free play this game, you can find total enjoyment toward that. Otherwise if you want a good storyline and graphic and whatever else good things gamers find in games, this game lacks in all of them. (if that made any sense) I wouldn't say I regretted buying this game at all because it's good entertainment, just not a Grammy winning game or anything. Expand
  43. Aug 15, 2014
    4
    Este juego me decepciono. He visto a críticos que suelo escuchar casi siempre pero este juego me parece aburrido. Las animaciones son simplemente HORRIBLES en todo el mal sentido de la palabra. Las animaciones de GTAIII son mejores, y ese juego es del 2001 pero este es del 2009 8 años después y de echo son PEORES, no me jodan. Las animaciones son aburridas y los gráficos tampoco ayudan, son muy mediocres. Esta combinación hace que todos en el juego se vuelvan robots o muñecos con forma humana. Ni mi personaje principal me parece humano, el único que se ve humano es Carlos, pero... Al final no me gusto, las animaciones lo hacen in-jugable para mi. Le doy un 04/10 muy mediocre. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  2. This game is little more than a lowbrow, yet humorous, thug-life simulator.
  3. A real challenge to... you know, that other sandbox game... Saints Row 2 expands on the original with a dizzying level of complexity. Stilwater is back and bigger than ever - there's so much to see and do you'll be entertained for hours.