Saints Row 2 PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 373 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 373
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SHAFT3D
    Feb 27, 2009
    10
    I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support. I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support. I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also love the fact you can customize your cars to suite you style. A feature GTA does not offer to my knowledge. And the list of side missions and diversions is huge. I have uncounted at least one new diversion every time I play. I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone that has a platform that can support it, and if you can ... get a 360 controller. Makes life in still water a breeze. Expand
  2. AshtonBarratt
    Jan 26, 2009
    8
    Very well designed game, has a good plot. Very nice gameplay, has many cars and a variety of weapons. Great game especially if you love sandbox! Definitely worth your $40 compared to $60 on the 360. I do admit, it can be quite laggy even for my 2100$ velocity with a nice gamecard, i dont know what it takes to be regular...must be an alienware...
  3. GordonMartell
    Jan 8, 2009
    9
    This game is the most fun I've ever had in a sandbox type game. It beats the hell out of GTA4 in terms of fun factor and customization. Its not perfect but defiantly worth picking up for $40. If you don't have fun playing this game, you aren't a real gamer.
  4. LeeW
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    For the select few of us with a macho computer, this game runs and plays well. The whole game is so diverse in everything you can do in Stilwater, the cinematics are brilliantly choreographed and cinematography is excellent, hilarious and sad lines are delivered by the cast flawlessly, and the gameplay is all around great. However, the optimization is poor. I can run it at a smooth 30 FPS For the select few of us with a macho computer, this game runs and plays well. The whole game is so diverse in everything you can do in Stilwater, the cinematics are brilliantly choreographed and cinematography is excellent, hilarious and sad lines are delivered by the cast flawlessly, and the gameplay is all around great. However, the optimization is poor. I can run it at a smooth 30 FPS through and through, but sometimes I get that drop. At first I was going to childishly tell off the people that couldn't play the game with its graphics engine about how they should lower the settings, but I checked the settings menu, and it turns out there weren't many to lower. There are no texture or model detail settings to change, but you can turn things like shadows and depth of field off, but my framerate still stayed at thirty when just staring down at a floor. That is, though, most likely because there would be a framerate cap added to make it stay that way. I normally hate consoles with dread, but unless you have an above-average computer, this is probably a console choice. Expand
  5. MarcosB
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    Try playing the game with an avatar that looks like you. I mean seriously, you. It will be a much more fun experience, seeing yourself pimping, shooting and busting sh*t up. Yes the graphics are sub par, but honestly, I much rather play a game where I get to see myself doing crazy stunts as opposed to a Russian immigrant, whom I cannot relate to. I have never laughed so hard while playing Try playing the game with an avatar that looks like you. I mean seriously, you. It will be a much more fun experience, seeing yourself pimping, shooting and busting sh*t up. Yes the graphics are sub par, but honestly, I much rather play a game where I get to see myself doing crazy stunts as opposed to a Russian immigrant, whom I cannot relate to. I have never laughed so hard while playing a game, it's like watching an action movie with me as the star, that is priceless. Expand
  6. JonJon
    Feb 27, 2009
    9
    A very enjoyable game. No performance issues for me, runs very well and looks pretty nice at max too. The game itself is fun to play, a little distance from the slightly grittier realism of GTA, having it's unrealistic and funny moments that give it some charm. With countless diversions and missions, I can see this game having me hooked for some time, not to mention the A very enjoyable game. No performance issues for me, runs very well and looks pretty nice at max too. The game itself is fun to play, a little distance from the slightly grittier realism of GTA, having it's unrealistic and funny moments that give it some charm. With countless diversions and missions, I can see this game having me hooked for some time, not to mention the customisation, which is a fantastic feature. I also own GTA, and SR2 may not be as polished or have so much attention to detail, but it is more like the old GTA's in that is is pure fun. Expand
  7. Lennart
    Apr 15, 2009
    9
    Compared to the greatest Enemie GTA 4 you need to say, the graphic isn't as good. But its playable! The few bugs this game got so many bad votes from don't disturb the gameplay a bit, you can play for hours, without technical errors, like in GTA. The storyline is after all not new, but always thrilling and definately more interresting than the boring imigration drama, gta 4 came Compared to the greatest Enemie GTA 4 you need to say, the graphic isn't as good. But its playable! The few bugs this game got so many bad votes from don't disturb the gameplay a bit, you can play for hours, without technical errors, like in GTA. The storyline is after all not new, but always thrilling and definately more interresting than the boring imigration drama, gta 4 came up with. Important charakters are few, but well balanced and individual. Great + for the very individual charakter-editing options right from the beginning. You don't just get a charakter u have to live with, you create him/her right from the beginning. And the minigames.. when did you last time find a game where it always gets better? Taking part in a "bad cops" episode, showing what the viewers wanna see, spraying the rich-peoples phallus-symbols with sh*t, a Crash-Dome, fight clubs, after all its a lot of fun. Even if its not as unfair Hyped as GTA 4, which is still more a open Beta, than a playable game. Expand
  8. HugoK
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    While suffering from some framerate droppings here and there, no matter how you look at it, it's still the most hilarious sandbox games in existance (with the only possible exception of Garry's Mod). Co-op mayhem in an insane city? Yes please.
  9. christopherc
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    vehicle customization is great purchasing and customizing your crib mini games flight control there is really so much to this game and the graphics are pretty good for all the detail displayed in the game.About 40 % complete and so far its been great!!! o ya and playing co-op is just a plus to the game :)
  10. lorenzol
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    not as good lookin as gta 4. but alot more fun and alot more things to do than in gta 4 must own really fun!
  11. Chirs
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    One of the funnest games ive ever played. This is what GTA IV would be if they hadnt decided to go so serious. Its like San Andres except with much more to do and much more fun
  12. BalleticMuse
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this game. It's quirky and lighthearted and has a ton of fun content of mini games and contests.
  13. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    This game is absolutely brilliant. No, seriously, I mean it. Its gameplay is awesomeness itself. OK, it's a pure console port and navigating the menus is a bother (Ctrl and shift for left and right in the menus? What?), and it is a single-threaded program, meaning that all your cores are unused by this game, save one, which in turn means that it will run relatively poorly for a game thatThis game is absolutely brilliant. No, seriously, I mean it. Its gameplay is awesomeness itself. OK, it's a pure console port and navigating the menus is a bother (Ctrl and shift for left and right in the menus? What?), and it is a single-threaded program, meaning that all your cores are unused by this game, save one, which in turn means that it will run relatively poorly for a game that is now 7 years old. The graphics were great for that era, but they definitely look dated in 2012. No matter! The gameplay! It's simply brilliant! 9/10. Expand
  14. May 20, 2012
    9
    This game deserves much better. While it is not a great game in terms of graphics, its fantastic story and bad ass moments keep me feelings great. even though there is one very big difficulty spike in the game, overall combat is balanced. This game does not sacrifice game play and story for **** and sex jokes. Buy this instead. You wont regret it.
  15. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE HATERS, the game is awesome, fun, intresting, FREE and overall for 14.99 it's a must own game, buy it, NOW.
  16. KyleW.
    Jan 12, 2009
    9
    Saints Row 2 can be best described as a game that knows its copying another game but also knows that it
  17. dq
    Jan 7, 2009
    10
    Its funny to most people cry they need a super cpu to run it. Just read back of box or web site, not fault but your own deal with it. This game rocks i give it a 10 because you can do so much on the game and coop is blast :)
  18. CD
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    I have both GTA IV and SR2, and they're both good games. However, SR2 is a good game to screw around in. The only thing that's wrong with this game is that, occasionally (after about 45 minutes), the game will freeze for a quarter second or so. That and, on the PC version, the graphics sometimes get all buggy. But that's more of my graphics card over heating, which I have both GTA IV and SR2, and they're both good games. However, SR2 is a good game to screw around in. The only thing that's wrong with this game is that, occasionally (after about 45 minutes), the game will freeze for a quarter second or so. That and, on the PC version, the graphics sometimes get all buggy. But that's more of my graphics card over heating, which doesn't have anything to do with the game. Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    My **** what's with all this hate? "Saints Row 2" is a superb game, the granny of GTA. Same gameplay, but better resolution and textures. What more would you ask for a gangster game?
  20. SkylerW
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    Best game I played in 2008. A real open sandbox that remembers what fun is. The story while not exactly portraying great complexity none the less makes me actually have some care and attachment to those involved in it far more than any recent RPGs managed. A thoroughly great sequel to a solidly decent game.
  21. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This game is what GTA: IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and gets aroundThis game is what GTA: IV would be, if it wasn't so serious. Customization is through the roof, and one of the best I have ever seen in a game. The quests, while at times somewhat frustrating, are fun and humorous. The sidekicks in the game are funny and memorable. Gat, a psychotic killer who constantly cracks jokes. Shaundi, a pothead who constantly steals Pierce's thunder and gets around town. Pierce, a thug who whines about your music selection, loves opera, and is comic relief. The rival gangs are also quite memorable, from the hardcore tattooed Brotherhood, the voodoo practicing Sons of Jamaica, to the Japanese gang, the Ronin, ran by the pansy and spoiled son of a hardcore mobster. I do find it's rating to be completely undeserving, for it really is so much more fun than GTA. The only reason I can see why it doesn't have a higher rating, is because too many people have a boner for GTA and constantly, and unfairly, compare the two. The two games, while about open city crime, as two different philosophies. In GTA, its more "realistic" and "gritty", while SR2 is more about doing whatever the heck you want and not have some damn cousin calling you every 5mins. So I would recommend that Saints Row isnâ Expand
  22. TobyM.
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Great fun game and luckily i am one of those who have a suport computer hence can limit lag, if you can afford a computer to play this then you can surely afford money and time to have senceless fun on this game. Trust me I've still not found a game where it's possible to be turned into a fat migit, pimp slap someone 200metres into the air, over a bridge and then that person Great fun game and luckily i am one of those who have a suport computer hence can limit lag, if you can afford a computer to play this then you can surely afford money and time to have senceless fun on this game. Trust me I've still not found a game where it's possible to be turned into a fat migit, pimp slap someone 200metres into the air, over a bridge and then that person (who is naked) crash straight nuts first onto a trafficlight AND survive! What could be more fun? Expand
  23. LukaszW.
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    The game features an excellent sandbox city, tons of activities, and a fun if cheesy storyline. Perhaps the greatest feature is that your character is just your run of the mill sociopath and the game doesnt waste time developing your characters motivations, etc. The only thing keeping it from a score of 10 are the framerate hitches pre-patch, and the pedestrian/vehicle spawning which The game features an excellent sandbox city, tons of activities, and a fun if cheesy storyline. Perhaps the greatest feature is that your character is just your run of the mill sociopath and the game doesnt waste time developing your characters motivations, etc. The only thing keeping it from a score of 10 are the framerate hitches pre-patch, and the pedestrian/vehicle spawning which sometimes makes people and cars disappear if you glance away. Expand
  24. boogoo
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I think the game deserves more credit than its getting. I had the most fun I've had with a game in years. Excellent story line, great game play, not overly American gangstery if you use the British voice. To me it takes all the great things about Vice city and improves the graphics, storyline and game play. In terms of technical issues I had none. In terms of being a bad port of a I think the game deserves more credit than its getting. I had the most fun I've had with a game in years. Excellent story line, great game play, not overly American gangstery if you use the British voice. To me it takes all the great things about Vice city and improves the graphics, storyline and game play. In terms of technical issues I had none. In terms of being a bad port of a console game, I only found that the need to tap the driving controls was a pain because it was design for thumb stick controls not keyboard but that was about it. The game is great fun and was well worth the $70 AUD I paid. I'm by no means saying its the perfect game but it provides alot of fun and got me hooked playing it because the quality of the storyline was so good. But I highly recommend this game. Expand
  25. Mwargh!
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    The port suffers, but on my quite outdated computer, I could get a very solid framerate when not inside buildings. Comparing to GTA4, it looked and ran a whole lot better at higher resolution. But what actually gives it the score isn't how it's better than GTA4 in those aspects, it's how it simply is pure fun. I've played it far beyond the time it takes to finish the The port suffers, but on my quite outdated computer, I could get a very solid framerate when not inside buildings. Comparing to GTA4, it looked and ran a whole lot better at higher resolution. But what actually gives it the score isn't how it's better than GTA4 in those aspects, it's how it simply is pure fun. I've played it far beyond the time it takes to finish the main missions, actually, I've yet to finish the main story. There's so much to do that's fun beyond the missions, just running around with a weapon in the city and messing with the people is something I have yet to get bored of even though the large amount of hours spent on it. The co-op mode is also awesomely fun, if you find the right person to play with, chaos can easily ensue. The mini-games are made so they don't feel like mini-games and feels just a natural part of what you do.and most of them are entertaining. The character creation is fun that I also managed to spend multiple hours on, the amount of choices are huge, and you can if you're willing to spend time on it, get quite good likenesses. There is just as much clothes to choose between. But, the cartoony style and humorous approach the game was made with didn't get a good reception from many GTA4 fans, and they call it ugly. The amount of graphical features in Saints Row 2 surprised me when I compared visuals between it and GTA4, especially when my framerate was so much better in Saints Row. There are lightsources almost everywhere you go, you don't go unshaded, and ambient occlusion covers the rest. That with the multiple shadows cast makes Saints Row look fresh from almost every angle. The only reason I can't give Saints Row 2 a 10 is because of technical issues, it is still not a good port, and due to how some of the faster cars are handled with steering. Driving isn't always fun in Saints Row 2. A very strong 9/10, even though it's a bad port :) Expand
  26. RobMink
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    Great game on the 360, as long as the PC port is free of bugs I cannot ercommend this game enough. For me it was much more enjoyable than another crime simulator released this year. The online co-op is very entertaining, it is fully integrated into the story missions. More to do and more fun to be had in Stillwater than in Liberty City.
  27. Joe
    Feb 12, 2009
    8
    It's nothing exceptional, but it's a very fun game all around.

    I have had absolutely no trouble running it at 75FPS, so I'm sure if you have the hardware, you'll enjoy it immensely. Definitely err on the side of over the minimum, however.

    My one issue is the lack of WS resolutions, but it's not a big deal.
  28. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    can some one help my?
    I try to play the game but i get stuck. it doesnt start up. when i click it to play it doesnt work .
    it has been correctly downloaded
  29. JohnC
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Fun game to hope into, decent graphics altough it does get choppy while driving sometimes, funny characters, okay story, fun mini game events, plenty of weapons and vehicles, and gang territories is fun. The only thing that keeps it from killing GTA is the story though you just dont feel as attached to the characters as you do in GTA and its alot shorter Ive just about beat all of the Fun game to hope into, decent graphics altough it does get choppy while driving sometimes, funny characters, okay story, fun mini game events, plenty of weapons and vehicles, and gang territories is fun. The only thing that keeps it from killing GTA is the story though you just dont feel as attached to the characters as you do in GTA and its alot shorter Ive just about beat all of the main story and bought and customized all the cribs in 19 hours while im only about 15% through GTA IV and ive played about 25 hours. Expand
  30. BenA.
    Jan 27, 2009
    9
    I am a game reviewer with the online organization Digital-Vice and my most recent assignment was to review Saints Row 2 for the computer, I had played the original and enjoyed it, trying to look beyond the stereotype that it is "just another GTA clone" and find the true meaning of the game. Since the release of the original back in 2006, I have been patiently awaiting the release of the I am a game reviewer with the online organization Digital-Vice and my most recent assignment was to review Saints Row 2 for the computer, I had played the original and enjoyed it, trying to look beyond the stereotype that it is "just another GTA clone" and find the true meaning of the game. Since the release of the original back in 2006, I have been patiently awaiting the release of the sequel, and finally that day came, when I was able to pick up my copy of Saint's Row 2. Needless to say, but said anyway, I was extremely excited to play this game, and the guys over at Volition didn't disappoint. I found the depth of Saint's Row 2 to be more than that of GTA IV, even though both share the sandbox gamestyle and some, if not most, of the same features. But one thing I found that Saint's Row 2 had that GTA IV didn't, was a story-line that was actually interesting. Instead of being a weepy depressed Eastern European with a brother who doesn't when to leave you alone, you are a badass character of your own creation who has made his way up through the Gang ranks and lost it all, only to come back with a vengeance. Another feature that I enjoyed was the return of the gang war feature, something that both the original Saint's Row employed as well as GTA:San Andreas. The return of a couple old faces was quite a nice suprise, because if there's one thing I hate its a sequel that isn't actually a sequel. The arcade feel to Saint's Row 2 was a nice comparison to the more (and sometimes too much) realistic feel of GTA IV, at least in terms of game physics, running over innocent civilians sends them flying into other objects, which gives me that warm sociopathic fuzzy feeling inside. Of course, Saint's Row 2 had its downsides, for example, I may not have the greatest computer ever, I don't have a terrible one either, but during certain visual events: driving, explosions, massive gunfights, my framerate would drop immensely and almost render the game unplayable, even on the lowest possible visual settings. Another disappointment I found was the briefness of the storyline, sure, a game isn't supposed to take forever to play (ie Oblivion) but I was able to complete Saint's Row 2 in under 30 hours, even with all the running around I did in order to gain respect to unlock new missions. There were also a fair amount of glitches in Saint's Row 2, but nothing a patch...or two...or more, won't fix. Yes, sometimes cars and people would vanish out of thin air, and occasionally I would be set on fire and not be able to put myself out, doesn't everyone know stop drop and roll? And what was with random people falling from the sky? I wasn't sure if that was a bit of humor that was tossed into the mix, or if it was a glitch that just happened to be funny. But all that aside, be objective when you play Saint's Row 2, it IS different from GTA IV, and all it takes is one run through of the game to figure that out. I give Saint's Row 2 a 9/10. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 80
    On the surface, Saints Row is an easy game to hate. Actually, I have a feeling that a lot of players and reviewers will write this game off for the sheer stupidity at play at all times. But to do so would be a big disservice to a game that tries hard to do a lot of things and show you a good time. Did we have a good time? Definitely.
  2. This game is little more than a lowbrow, yet humorous, thug-life simulator.
  3. A real challenge to... you know, that other sandbox game... Saints Row 2 expands on the original with a dizzying level of complexity. Stilwater is back and bigger than ever - there's so much to see and do you'll be entertained for hours.