Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row IV is an open world game that continues the story of the Third Street Saints by elevating their status to the highest level - the leaders of the free world. After a catastrophic alien invasion occurs where the aliens trasnport the Saints to a bizarro-Steelport simulation, you must fight to free humanity from alien grandaddy Zinyak's mental grasp by ultiziling gargantuan superpowers. Escape the simulation that's trapped the Saints crew, or die trying. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Aug 19, 2013
    100
    The consistent thrill of Saints Row IV is how it constantly, eagerly, happily, accommodatingly asks you “Hey, how do you want to break the game now?” And for a game so colossal, so occasionally dumb, so often colossally sharks-with-laser-beams-on-their-heads-that-can-also-breathe-fire-and-fly-and-turn-invisible-and-you-can-even-ride-them dumb, what an incredibly smart thing to do with an open world, a franchise, and a story.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    98
    Volition it seems has made a new standard in over the top…no really I don’t think you understand… they went over the top before. Now they had to raise the bar in standards as well, just so they could go over the top of that.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    A combination of sublime and ridiculous, Saints Row IV is outlandish fun. [Nov 2013, p.97]
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    88
    Overall Saints Row IV is a marvellously enjoyable game, while still suffering from a few of the complaints that the series has always had. The main quests are great, and although the side missions are not painful to play, they don’t pack the same punch. If you played and enjoyed Saints Row The Third, then picking up this sequel is a must. Equally if you’re looking for a game that lets you act like a badass with special powers, this might be a better superhero game than many others that are actually billed as such.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    Saints Row IV doesn't excel in terms of gameplay, but it hits a home run in terms of fun and laughter. The plot is both absurd and beautiful and the activities are so varied that one can easily forgive its faults. If you want a sandbox and you don't take yourself too seriously, Saints Row IV is a game you don't want to miss.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    We think there's a story in there somewhere. Saints Row IV is weird. Too weird, in fact. And we love it for that exact reason.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    70
    The Saints Row saga can still be considered the most debauched franchise that lovers of free roamers could dream of. It has some good new ideas and the same shortcomings of the previous game, but it's a funny game nonetheless.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 300
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    A LOT of people will be mad at this game. It is completely different from all of the ones before it, and it really shares little with the previous games in the series. If you didn't like SR 3 due to the sci-fi and super hero aspects, you might hate this game... a lot. If you're looking for something in the realistic criminal vein (ala Grand Theft Auto), you might hate this game.

    The changes here are immense. It's like being in a mish-mash of every science fiction movie out there, with lots of elements/ideas coming straight from the Matrix.

    Before you buy, check out some of the YouTube gameplay videos and make sure you're not going to hate it. If you go into this with the wrong expectations, you're going to be very disappointed.
    Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    A pretty cool game to play whenever you are bored. The massive customization system makes the game shine. The access to zany and fun weapons and powers also contribute to its success. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    Great humor + Great storyline + All Characters - Not too cool shooting - Still the same city (Steelport) - Not cool graphics verdict
    to have fun with this game you need to turn a blind eye on a few things but it is definitely worth playing
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just to make things clear, I want to point out that I wasn't a huge fun of Saint's Row The Third, even more so, I hated it. I didn't liked what Volition did with Saint's Row franchise. Even though i didn't like previous installment of SR, I have decided to pick up this game and review it.

    I wasn't expecting gangster-type Saint's Row when I bought this but I had a big expectations from this game and I have got to say I wasn't disappointed. Firstly, you start the game as a president of the United States which is a clever idea and it got me thinking, what are they going to come up with next year, will you be playing as God? anyway let's get to the point. You start the game as a president and of course Aliens invaded the Earth and then destroyed it, yes, you read this well, Aliens have destroyed our planet, just like that. Only some gang members have survived including, Pierce, Shaundi, Johny Gat and others, so now it is your mission to get out of the simulation and defeat Zinyak( Leader of the Aliens).

    For some reason Zinyak, doesn't want to kill you, in fact he transforms you into this simulation(clear spoof of Matrix) and what is funny is the fact that he allows you to have superpowers and i have got to say superpowers are the most fun thing to have in the game. Instead of travelling by car you can just run around or fly around which is extremely convenient and fun but there are also some problems that I have with them. If you have ability to fly and super sprint through the town you won't be using cars, AT ALL which is a shame because the developers have improved vehicle customization and with your superpowers these improved aspects of customization are useless.

    Let's get to the story, I actually really liked it. It was funny, full of sexual jokes and some great references from the other Saint's Row games. Even at one point you get to visit Stillwater and fight some bosses from previous games. Although I did had some problems with side missions, some of them were ok, especially the Super Homie missions, but others were repetitive, ''go to point a, fight some aliens and then go to point B'' type of missions but I had to complete them because I really wanted to get my hands on Dubstep Gun, Black Hole Gun and other really hilarious ones. As for the story, I don't want to spoil anything but I really hated the last boss fight with Zinyak. It was cheap and frustrating, I expected something more... fun I might say but overall the story was hilarious.

    Furthermore, I did had some fun playing minigames although some of them weren't as good as other. In my opinion the best minigames are Insurance Fraud(of course) and Mech Mayhem. Text Adventures were fun as well. Other minigames were...well...acceptable.

    Lastly, Saint's Row 4 offers us a decent but hilarious story, good character customization and of course superpowers. You will definitely have a lot of fun with this game especially if you could convince your friend to play it with you. But I'm a bit sad that the car customization is pretty much useless just because your superpowers, It would be better if the developers gave you the superpowers after you finish the game or after 50% completion, but this is just my opinion. Besides, If you didn't liked the previous Saint's Row, you should really give it a try and If you are a huge fan of Saint's Row 1 and 2, you might be a bit disappointed by the lack of seriousness.
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    the idea is actually really good where you can have fun with your superpowers kicking zin's asses
    but as the game goes on it gets pretty
    repetitive and annoying
    mission like disable 3 generators used again and again
    and your superpower like super sprint can get really annoying if maxed because you're just moving too fast lol
    Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    6
    To be honest this game was ok, but i think it should have stayed as a dlc not a whole new game! This game is just saints row the third with superpowers, this means there is no need for cars because you can just fly! Its fun if you have never played a saints row game before but for people who have it just adds superpowers! Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    They should have stuck to their original idea of making it DLC for SR3. The Matrix style effects for the city get old right from the start. The city is an eyesore, and the powers are uninspired and ultimately pointless. The passive abilities render the vehicles completely pointless, and will also become an inconvenience very quickly, as some abilities will all but guarantee a raised wanted level. 9 times out of 10 you will not be able to shake your wanted level because the "cops" can reach you anywhere by spawning right beside you, even on buildings. What should've been a light parody or nod even, to the Matrix, turned out to be an exact ripoff of the movie. If the movie came out a year ago I would understand, but it came out in 1999, and been copied and parodied to absurdity long before this game came about. If it does nothing else, it makes you want to blow the dust off of your SR3 copy, and that's never a bad thing. Especially since you don't have to play the same mini game over and over to access every individual store in SR3 Expand

See all 300 User Reviews