Saints Row IV PC

Saints Row IV Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1584 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Saints Row IV is an open world game that continues the story of the Third Street Saints by elevating their status to the highest level - the leaders of the free world. After a catastrophic alien invasion occurs where the aliens trasnport the Saints to a bizarro-Steelport simulation, you mustSaints Row IV is an open world game that continues the story of the Third Street Saints by elevating their status to the highest level - the leaders of the free world. After a catastrophic alien invasion occurs where the aliens trasnport the Saints to a bizarro-Steelport simulation, you must fight to free humanity from alien grandaddy Zinyak's mental grasp by ultiziling gargantuan superpowers. Escape the simulation that's trapped the Saints crew, or die trying. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Saints Row IV - Hail to the Chief #2: Animal Protection Act
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Aug 19, 2013
    100
    The consistent thrill of Saints Row IV is how it constantly, eagerly, happily, accommodatingly asks you “Hey, how do you want to break the game now?” And for a game so colossal, so occasionally dumb, so often colossally sharks-with-laser-beams-on-their-heads-that-can-also-breathe-fire-and-fly-and-turn-invisible-and-you-can-even-ride-them dumb, what an incredibly smart thing to do with an open world, a franchise, and a story.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    98
    Volition it seems has made a new standard in over the top…no really I don’t think you understand… they went over the top before. Now they had to raise the bar in standards as well, just so they could go over the top of that.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2013
    90
    A combination of sublime and ridiculous, Saints Row IV is outlandish fun. [Nov 2013, p.97]
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    88
    Overall Saints Row IV is a marvellously enjoyable game, while still suffering from a few of the complaints that the series has always had. The main quests are great, and although the side missions are not painful to play, they don’t pack the same punch. If you played and enjoyed Saints Row The Third, then picking up this sequel is a must. Equally if you’re looking for a game that lets you act like a badass with special powers, this might be a better superhero game than many others that are actually billed as such.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    85
    Saints Row IV doesn't excel in terms of gameplay, but it hits a home run in terms of fun and laughter. The plot is both absurd and beautiful and the activities are so varied that one can easily forgive its faults. If you want a sandbox and you don't take yourself too seriously, Saints Row IV is a game you don't want to miss.
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    80
    We think there's a story in there somewhere. Saints Row IV is weird. Too weird, in fact. And we love it for that exact reason.
  7. Aug 14, 2013
    70
    The Saints Row saga can still be considered the most debauched franchise that lovers of free roamers could dream of. It has some good new ideas and the same shortcomings of the previous game, but it's a funny game nonetheless.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 334
  1. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    A LOT of people will be mad at this game. It is completely different from all of the ones before it, and it really shares little with theA LOT of people will be mad at this game. It is completely different from all of the ones before it, and it really shares little with the previous games in the series. If you didn't like SR 3 due to the sci-fi and super hero aspects, you might hate this game... a lot. If you're looking for something in the realistic criminal vein (ala Grand Theft Auto), you might hate this game.

    The changes here are immense. It's like being in a mish-mash of every science fiction movie out there, with lots of elements/ideas coming straight from the Matrix.

    Before you buy, check out some of the YouTube gameplay videos and make sure you're not going to hate it. If you go into this with the wrong expectations, you're going to be very disappointed.
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    'Saints Row IV' is basically 'Saints Row: The Third' on Steroids, which is a good thing. It still contains all of what made 'The Third''Saints Row IV' is basically 'Saints Row: The Third' on Steroids, which is a good thing. It still contains all of what made 'The Third' amazing, and multiplied it by ten. The customization, witty dialogue, unique missions, and sheer insanity.

    While some think it taking place in the same city as the previous game is a bad idea, I think it was the right idea. It gave them more time and resources to spend on other aspects of the game.

    They really nailed the effects and shaders, and used them to their advantage. Whether it's the "loading" in of the virtual world, the very subtle pixelation of random characters and objects, or the almost VHS like flicker you can notice buildings have when you look closely at them. It gives off a feeling of being in a simulated world, without shoving it in your face 24/7. Only when it is crucial to the plot will they make it completely obvious, and over the top. It's stuff like this that really makes the game feel polished.

    While many of the mission types from 'Saints Row: The Third' did get carried over into 'Saints Row IV', They also added some new, completely different missions. Especially in the main story. There were many times while playing through the main story that I had nearly forgotten that I was playing one game, and not an amalgam of three or four different games blended seamlessly together.

    I have to admit, I was a little worried that it might just turn out as an expensive, standalone DLC for the previous game. However, I loved what I saw in the trailers and liked the previous game, so I trusted them. That trust paid off. There was not a single part in the main story where I knew what was going to happen next. It was well written, unique, and enthralling. You identify with both the protagonist (your character) and the antagonist. Some parts made me mad, some made me sad. Mostly, it made me laugh.

    I would definitely recommend it to anyone that liked 'Saints Row: The Third' for its absurdity, hilarious character dialogue, ridiculous plot twists, and unique gameplay.

    I would not recommend it to anyone who is expecting it to be a serious, more realistic game, not unlike the Grand Theft Auto series. That's just not what The Third Street Saints are about.
    Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    @killingspree didn't you gave SR3 a 10 ?

    The game ist just what I expected. Chaotic, over the top and pure awesomeness. Just the game's
    @killingspree didn't you gave SR3 a 10 ?

    The game ist just what I expected. Chaotic, over the top and pure awesomeness.

    Just the game's engine could use a few updates.
    Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2015
    8
    I have finally found the time to play Saints Row 4 and I'm glad I did. Me and my friend Jay played through this game in a week and enjoyedI have finally found the time to play Saints Row 4 and I'm glad I did. Me and my friend Jay played through this game in a week and enjoyed every second of it. There are a few glitches but I can overlook them because the game is so fun and funny.
    8/10
    Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2016
    7
    To be perfectly honest this was not a game I was expecting. All I knew before lunching it was that it's not your average GTA-like game. But inTo be perfectly honest this was not a game I was expecting. All I knew before lunching it was that it's not your average GTA-like game. But in the end I must admit I enjoyed it quite a bit. In short this game feels like GTA on mods with a pretty stupid, absurd story line and weird game play.

    In the game you control the president of united states. But this guy was previously a gang member with his homies being the staff members. Planet earth gets attacked and destroyed by aliens, people get kidnapped and put into a matrix like pods aboard the alien spaceship and you get put into a computer simulation where you try to defeat the bad alien boss. This gives the ground to you having all of the absurd powers.

    Gameplay actually like GTA on mods. You can jump high, stomp, fly around, throw cars and other heavy objects, run like flash and shoot fire bullets.

    The game is not very unified and feels like a collection of mini games where you get to use your powers one way or another. There are events where you have to scale towers, other places you will race with your super speed. In other instanced you'll do some hacking, throw cars through virtual hoops and so on. On their own the modes are pretty fun to play and there is really a lot of them. If you're not looking for anything serious and just want to enjoy yourself with no thought involved - this might be the right fit. The main story missions make a bit more sense but not that much - just feel like a different mode from the rest.

    The progression and upgrade system does not feel very rewarding - though you are able to update your powers to make them more effective. Guns are strange and most of them are pretty useless. You can drive around in cars but since you're faster on foot it doesn't make any sense to do so aside from the special missions.

    The game graphics are pretty decent although constant night time feels boring after a while.

    In the end it was fun playing. A rather light game but fun nonetheless - surprisingly so to be honest.
    Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2014
    6
    When I bought this game, I didn't expect such a big plot twist.
    Seriously? From a street gang trying to get big to fighting aliens invading
    When I bought this game, I didn't expect such a big plot twist.
    Seriously? From a street gang trying to get big to fighting aliens invading Earth? I'm confused.
    This seemed like a DLC of Saints Row the Third, not an entire sequel. It's the exact same map, almost the exact same guns and the exact same cars. It's like call of duty.
    I liked the super powers, even though they were a VERY odd addition. I noticed that the superpower which allows you to run very fast is just one from the DLCs of SR3. They obviously didn't put any effort into this game. The guns are very meaty, and I like them a lot. I also enjoy the humour in the game.

    They could have done much much better. New map? New cars? New guns? So much they could have done. I'm overall disappointed.
    Expand
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    0
    Load of tripe "over the top game play" is an excuse for lazy story telling not to mention rips off better franchises and copied the matrix itLoad of tripe "over the top game play" is an excuse for lazy story telling not to mention rips off better franchises and copied the matrix it offers no originality what so ever. Expand

See all 334 User Reviews