Saints Row: The Third PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1243 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Having played Saints Row IV before this, I was pleasantly surprised that The Third is similar in its approach to an open-world game. My expectations were quite low; I thought it would be another low-budget GTA clone with nothing interesting to contribute and its entire appeal would be riding on a few gags here and there. It's great to see that Volition have understood exactly what a GTAHaving played Saints Row IV before this, I was pleasantly surprised that The Third is similar in its approach to an open-world game. My expectations were quite low; I thought it would be another low-budget GTA clone with nothing interesting to contribute and its entire appeal would be riding on a few gags here and there. It's great to see that Volition have understood exactly what a GTA clone SHOULD BE, and in every way Saints Row The Third is a superior game to GTA IV - especially on PC. The gameplay is solid, with responsive controls and simple but effective combat. It plays like a third-person shooter but doesn't feel clunky like GTA IV, and is clearly designed for mouse and keyboard. The rest of the game's mechanics are equally impressive; including the driving and RPG elements. Everything is intuitive and there is a lot to do compared to GTA IV. You can take over the city by doing the side activities, buying property and businesses, taking out opposing gangs etc. just like in 3rd-generation GTAs. Unlike GTA however, you can fully customise everything, including your character's appearance, strength, skills, clothes, weapons, vehicles and your gang. I don't think the "menu stuff" could be improved in any way. Everything is self explanatory, and it's definitely a complete package. Indeed, it's baffling how much better this game is compared to GTA IV in terms of quality, especially when considering that GTA IV is (supposedly) a $100 million game. The graphics are stunning; I have never seen a better use of DirectX 11 features in any other open world game. Lighting is unquestionably a visual treet, with shadows, colours, draw distance and ambient occlusion all being top-notch without requiring a super-computer to process it all. Even in times where there are lots of enemies and explosions on screen there's no noticeable framerate hit. What makes it impressive isn't that it's a triple-A title and a well-obtimized game though. It's that Volition were creative with the characters, level design and story. It's not a particularly long game - perhaps the same length, maybe even shorter than GTA IV. However, the amount of content and variety is infinitely greater than GTA IV. The game pokes fun at previous GTA games such as III, Vice City, San Andreas and a host of references to other games such as Gears of War and Team Fortress 2. It's not as over-the-top or comical as Saints Row IV, but achieves a nice balance between a traditional style of sandbox game and also having its own unique identity. The mission "http://deckers.die" is a perfect example of Saints Row's ingeneuity. But there are also plenty of classic levels stolen from the better GTA games, and made more action-packed, comical and fun. The soundtrack of the game is good too, and doesn't feel out of place. In summary, Saints Row The Third is a must-play for fans of sandbox games. It's not as radical as Saints Row IV, but it is perhaps the best a traditional GTA clone can get without becoming totally unrealistic. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    8
    So amazingly off the wall and entertaining, SR3 is pretty much GTA + Timesplitters. All sorts of realistic and absurd weapons round out a healthy 20+ weapon arsenal, ranging from laser rifles to miniguns to an RC gun that lets you take control of any vehicle remotely. A wide array of side missions and activities keep you busy along with an assassination/car theft check list andSo amazingly off the wall and entertaining, SR3 is pretty much GTA + Timesplitters. All sorts of realistic and absurd weapons round out a healthy 20+ weapon arsenal, ranging from laser rifles to miniguns to an RC gun that lets you take control of any vehicle remotely. A wide array of side missions and activities keep you busy along with an assassination/car theft check list and "challenges" (like in-game achievements). You can totally remake your character anytime you want, save custom outfits from hundreds of pieces of clothing, add spoilers and rims to your car colleciton, and create a ninja gangster army; The customization options are colorful and plentiful. There is a long main storyline here but it is not padded by artificial barriers of entry this time unlike most games in this genre so it can be burned through if that's your goal. SR3 is not GOTY and has it's shortcomings but they can be overlooked because of the non-stop action and laughs it provides. Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    Saints Row moves away from its roots as a GTA clone and moves into entirely different territory; relinquishes drama for fun resulting in an exhilarating, OTT caricature filled with jokes, one-liners and a huge does of self parody.
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Game: Saints Row The Third
    Genre: Action
    Developer: THQ Volition System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 93/100 Value Score: 9.3/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 10/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 7/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 10/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Fun and Addictive open world atmosphere +A lot of great weapons and attacks to use
    Game: Saints Row The Third
    Genre: Action
    Developer: THQ Volition
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 93/100
    Value Score: 9.3/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Fun and Addictive open world atmosphere
    +A lot of great weapons and attacks to use
    +Very colorful game
    +A lot of humorous moments
    +Storyline is quite well made
    +Multiplayer Co-Op Campaign is well made
    +Additional play modes are a nice addition aside from the main gameplay

    Cons
    -Unable to use custom tracks compared to GTA
    -Not as much mods as you would expect in a PC game
    Expand
  5. May 14, 2015
    8
    Even though a parody on the genre, Saints Row III is a solid and fun to play game. The style is that of the GTA, but the pace is much more speedy. The storyline is simply hilarious - just start the game, and watch the first trailer. At places i had to stop playing i laughed so hard! I only wish the story was a little longer - if you just cover the main plot line, you will finish theEven though a parody on the genre, Saints Row III is a solid and fun to play game. The style is that of the GTA, but the pace is much more speedy. The storyline is simply hilarious - just start the game, and watch the first trailer. At places i had to stop playing i laughed so hard! I only wish the story was a little longer - if you just cover the main plot line, you will finish the game within i'd say 10-14 hours. Saints Row, however, offers many "side-missions" which progress in level as you go through the game, which echo the overall mood of the game in their fun and hilarity! Awesome game! Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2016
    9
    This game. This ♥♥♥♥ing game right here? This is what Sandbox games should be. This is the game that takes that dumb ♥♥♥♥ people do and makes it your objective. As the world's most psycopathic gangster, it's within your power to kill zombies, beat up gimps with a giant horse ♥♥♥♥♥, throw farts in jars, shove a grenade into a mutant strongman's mouth, run over furries, get into a luchaThis game. This ♥♥♥♥ing game right here? This is what Sandbox games should be. This is the game that takes that dumb ♥♥♥♥ people do and makes it your objective. As the world's most psycopathic gangster, it's within your power to kill zombies, beat up gimps with a giant horse ♥♥♥♥♥, throw farts in jars, shove a grenade into a mutant strongman's mouth, run over furries, get into a lucha match with chainsaws, throw yourself into traffic to collect insurance money, set damn near everything on fire, get a truck stuck in a drawbridge, face off against a gigantic helicarrier and transport a cargo container full of ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥s by helicopter over hostile territory. And that's really just a small fraction of the insane, ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥, incredibly fun ♥♥♥♥ you'll do in this game. Grand Theft Auto can take it's depressing, drawn-out campaign and shove it. No Roman, I won't ♥♥♥♥ing go bowling with you. You know why? Because I'M IN SAINTS ROW, TRICK! Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    I'll start saying I'm not a fan of the Saints Row series, but I've played the second game for about 15-20 hours, and for what I've noticed this game is always compared to the previous one for being "poor and lacking" than the previous game. My answer: yes. And no. I don't like comparing games, even within the franchises, but I can tell for sure that, even though this game is lacking, it'sI'll start saying I'm not a fan of the Saints Row series, but I've played the second game for about 15-20 hours, and for what I've noticed this game is always compared to the previous one for being "poor and lacking" than the previous game. My answer: yes. And no. I don't like comparing games, even within the franchises, but I can tell for sure that, even though this game is lacking, it's still a LOT of fun. Ok, the main story is worse than the previous one, the story is linear and the death of one of the iconic character really was a bad idea, but I also play for the gameplay, and in that regard it didn't really disappoint me (at least not completely). For example, the sidemissions now are much more required to play because they give you also territory, giving you a good reason to complete them, without mentioning that it's just one single mission (instead of 6 all together), on a certain difficulty, giving you a certain amount of respect and money. Speaking of which, the respect system is now much more open, working like an RPG and not as a simple meter: while I know respect was used to do missions and etc, in here respect is for unlocking skills, abilities, weapon specific perks, and so on: that really makes you play even more the side missions, and you'll need a lot of money to unlock them all, and even though some might not like this system, the point is that this system gives you more reasons to play sidemissions and get money (while in the previous, sidemissions gave you yes money, respect, but also specific bonus, now unlocked with money). The vehicles are also very fun to use, especially the plane, and I like the variety of cars you can have, and surprinsingly, customize (I could customize even a cleaning vehicle...that was so unexpected). And the garage, while in here I use it a lot, in the previous I hardly did, because the vehicle used was "consumed", and basically you had to take another in order to use it again, or bring it back to the garage for using it again...so it was useless. And one last thing: the customization is both improved and downgraded, but In general the customization was much more fun to do here than the previous, spending tons of money just to make my avatar look like a complete retard. Or badass. However, these were the good points, and there are plenty bad points too. Together with the bad story, the missions in it for example are sometimes very boring and the sidemissions, while some are fun and new, many of them are actually the same from the previous game (if you never played the previous ones, you might not even notice it). The cellphone, in addition, makes things too easy, especially when you get the next mission in any moment: it's a nice addition, it kills the dead times between travels, you can call your members anytime and even call your gang to bring vehicles, but it feels very cheap sometimes and, strangely, you can't accept all sidemissions on it (only hitman and car steal), and that could have been useful. A lot. I'm probably skipping some major and minor flaws , but that's because this game was a lot of fun that I didn't even care, and I'm actually making a lot of effort to bring up some real problems: probably this game is the worse of the series and that I can't probably argue, but as a game itself it's extremely fun to play and, again, it's what a game should do in the first place, and if you love absurd actions, over-the-top shooting and crazy moments, you're in for a good moment of insanity, laughs, and pure non-sense! Expand
  8. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    i never played a saints row game before but this one is just amazing amazing gameplay music and soundtracks lots and lots of funny moments there is nothing bad i can say about this game i enjoyed every bit of it
  9. Aug 21, 2015
    9
    this game gives good feeling of shooting and hitting sense. this game is a well-made open world game. it's cool more than GTA series. it's crazy storyline is not good so so.
  10. May 13, 2012
    9
    This was my first saints row game, and unfortunately; I expected somewhat of a gta when I bought it. Once you get over the fact it doesn't come close to gta in terms of realness, graphics, you'll start to just mess around, laugh, and have fun while playing this game. The storyline was actually pretty catching, and the missions although ridiculous; was mostly lol moments. Dont expect gta,This was my first saints row game, and unfortunately; I expected somewhat of a gta when I bought it. Once you get over the fact it doesn't come close to gta in terms of realness, graphics, you'll start to just mess around, laugh, and have fun while playing this game. The storyline was actually pretty catching, and the missions although ridiculous; was mostly lol moments. Dont expect gta, and dont take this game seriously; and you'll love this game. Expand
  11. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    I played this on PC and damn the visuals are amazing. I found the character models not to be as nice as the environments however. The game and story is simply fun and made me want to plow through the game in only 4 days. It's also an amazing game in co-op with friends.
  12. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    I have had more game play out of this than almost any other console port. With the exception of Oblivion which has seen 100s of hours. This game is great fun. A few situations actually had me laughing out loud and its nice to see a game can have a more adult theme in it without politicians having an anuerysm and using the issue of computer game violence to cover up whatever else theyI have had more game play out of this than almost any other console port. With the exception of Oblivion which has seen 100s of hours. This game is great fun. A few situations actually had me laughing out loud and its nice to see a game can have a more adult theme in it without politicians having an anuerysm and using the issue of computer game violence to cover up whatever else they happen to be robbing us of or destroying at the time. The field of view doesnt feel as limited as most console games and the gameplay really is quite open a non linear something that I thought was against the marketing principles of anything released to console in the last few years. Personally I am loving this game. My only pause for cautioun on this one would be that if you want to run it well with all the toys enabled, you do need a powerful rig. Personally I do but even so this game does not seem quite as efficient as perhaps it might be which might be down to its console roots. A great game well worth buying. Expand
  13. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Grandísimo juego,bueno voy a valorarlo: Jugabilidad: Uno de los mejores en jugabilidad,estoy metido en el juego,tiene infinitas posibilidades para hacer lo que quieras,robar coches,matar asesinos o policías,crear tu propia banda,sus colores,editar tu personaje con infinidad de posibilidades y encima puedes escuchar la música en el coche tuya propia que quieras (del juego). Tecnología:Grandísimo juego,bueno voy a valorarlo: Jugabilidad: Uno de los mejores en jugabilidad,estoy metido en el juego,tiene infinitas posibilidades para hacer lo que quieras,robar coches,matar asesinos o policías,crear tu propia banda,sus colores,editar tu personaje con infinidad de posibilidades y encima puedes escuchar la música en el coche tuya propia que quieras (del juego). Tecnología: Tiene muchísimas armas,coches,misiones variadas y un mapa extenso e increíble,te gustara mas que el 2. Gráficos: Son mucho mejores que el 2 aunque tiene algunos fallos,pero nada que estropee lo juegazo que es. Sonido: De lo mejorcito,una pena que no este en español,eso pierde mucho la verdad,no me gusta oírlo todo en otro idioma.. Innovación: Innovaron muchísimo respecto al 2 y la verdad es que no me ha decepcionado,juegazo sin duda,un IMPRESCINDIBLE para cualquier jugador que le guste pasarla haciendo el gamberro con acción,risas y diversión!! Expand
  14. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    DAMN! This game surpasses GTA by all standards. I gave GTA IV a seven, but this game is in another league. It's doesn't try to be a fancy "life simulator" like IV, you know what it tries to be? FUN! That's the whole damn essence of a video game, right?
    I enjoyed every moment and even bought EVERY PIECE of DLC. (Well, it was on sale)
    This game is quirky, funny, freedom oriented (you get
    DAMN! This game surpasses GTA by all standards. I gave GTA IV a seven, but this game is in another league. It's doesn't try to be a fancy "life simulator" like IV, you know what it tries to be? FUN! That's the whole damn essence of a video game, right?
    I enjoyed every moment and even bought EVERY PIECE of DLC. (Well, it was on sale)
    This game is quirky, funny, freedom oriented (you get to make choices) and most of all, fun.
    And you know what? Props to Deepsilver for not giving up to the console mafia, releasing it to every capable platform- unlike Rockstar, holding out on GTA V and releasing it the consoles but not to us, PC gamers of the world. Granted, it's their choice, but since I'm not getting to choose between the two games, Saints Row IV is the default winner in this battle, for me atleast.
    Expand
  15. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Saints Row 3 is a sandbox third-person shooter, in the style of GTA. However, where GTA has become more serious and realistic, Saints Row 3 is ridiculous and, at times, completely insane. Sexual content and violence is not only common in Steelport, it's completely normal. It's true that the humor is a bit juvenile, but they take it to such extremes that I couldn't help but laugh at howSaints Row 3 is a sandbox third-person shooter, in the style of GTA. However, where GTA has become more serious and realistic, Saints Row 3 is ridiculous and, at times, completely insane. Sexual content and violence is not only common in Steelport, it's completely normal. It's true that the humor is a bit juvenile, but they take it to such extremes that I couldn't help but laugh at how silly the whole thing is.

    I loved this game. I found that most of the game's mechanics were a lot of fun. There were some amazing main missions, and the side activies were enjoyable (I loved the Genki ones). One downside is that a lot of the guns suck. Instead, I used the basic pistol until the endgame for its accuracy. The controls and camera are fine. The story is stupid but it works. The varied music appeals to many tastes. There's lots of character customization, which I am grateful for.

    SR3 requires the stomach for sex and violence, but if you're okay with that, this game is really fun and can keep you busy for quite a while. It's a great co-op game. Get the DLC if the price drops; Genkibowl and Special Ops Vehicle Pack are my top picks.
    Expand
  16. Feb 1, 2013
    8
    ''Saints Row: The Third'' is simply a lot of fun. It's similar to GTA, but with more The story is, so I did not expect, well told, despite the crazy gameplay. There are many side missions that can be extended by DLCs. The characters are so crazy and remain long in the memory. The controll is acceptable, though sometimes inaccurate. The gameplay is just gorgeous and makes it so extremely''Saints Row: The Third'' is simply a lot of fun. It's similar to GTA, but with more The story is, so I did not expect, well told, despite the crazy gameplay. There are many side missions that can be extended by DLCs. The characters are so crazy and remain long in the memory. The controll is acceptable, though sometimes inaccurate. The gameplay is just gorgeous and makes it so extremely fun. In my opinion better than GTA! Expand
  17. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    This game absolutely blows my mind! The campaign is great, even better in co-op, there's so much to do, tonnes of DLC to play through, Wonderful customization, yet slightly unpolished, and can get repetitive. A must buy for sandboxers, however, if you like on-rails games, you will hate this.
  18. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    This is so awesome.
    It's like Volition redeemed themselves after the mess they made with SR2 for PC. I mean, SR2 was very decent if you played it console but it was a messed up port on PC.
    But SR3 is a huge improvement over the predecessor. Not only visually but also the gameplay and how well optimized this is. I also like the soundtracks in this game. The graphics are much more polished
    This is so awesome.
    It's like Volition redeemed themselves after the mess they made with SR2 for PC. I mean, SR2 was very decent if you played it console but it was a messed up port on PC.
    But SR3 is a huge improvement over the predecessor. Not only visually but also the gameplay and how well optimized this is. I also like the soundtracks in this game.

    The graphics are much more polished than SR2 and its also more colorful.
    The driving is also a big improvement in this game, it was a pain driving cars in SR2.
    I love the character customization in this game, and the fact that you can upload your model or download models made by other players.

    The whored mode is also a lot of fun. There are so many things you can do in this game, i've had a hell of a lot of fun and epic laughs. :D
    The storyline might not be the sharpest knife in the drawer, but it keeps you entertained.

    My only complaint is the day 1 DLC that should have been included in the game for free, but well. That's business. I highly recommend this, its totally worth the money and it provides hundreds of hours of fun.
    I also repeat for those doubting about the optimization. Its an excellent port and runs all maxed out.
    Expand
  19. sft
    Aug 11, 2014
    8
    Saints preserve us, this game is insane!

    SAINTS ROW THE THIRD is the most unpretentious game I’ve played to date. It aims to be a gloriously over the top thrill ride and it succeeds with great aplomb. From start to finish it’s all-out mayhem. Nowhere else do you get the opportunity to batter someone with a huge adult toy or drive around town with an angry tiger in the passenger seat.
    Saints preserve us, this game is insane!

    SAINTS ROW THE THIRD is the most unpretentious game I’ve played to date. It aims to be a gloriously over the top thrill ride and it succeeds with great aplomb. From start to finish it’s all-out mayhem. Nowhere else do you get the opportunity to batter someone with a huge adult toy or drive around town with an angry tiger in the passenger seat. Few games have actually made me laugh out loud but SRTT did. There are some truly hilarious moments and plenty of dry dialogue. The one-liners are delivered with perfection by the voice actors (I chose the English voice for the playable character – voiced by Robin Atkin Downes, I believe – and it fitted seamlessly). There have been criticisms that story missions feel more like side missions and I can understand this concern. But story is not really what this game is about. There has to be a narrative of sorts but it’s the freewheeling craziness of the gameplay that makes this game a joy. Graphically the game is pretty good without being notable. Steelport is nicely realised but some of the character models are less impressive. The soundtrack is worth a note as it includes some fantastic music from just about every genre imaginable. It may not be to everyone’s taste but if you fancy 15+ hours of riotous pandemonium (plus however many hours of coop, although I suspect it might get old quite quickly once you’ve finished the campaign and experienced all the hilarity and craziness) then you can’t go far wrong with this game.
    Expand
  20. Jan 9, 2015
    8
    This game is fun, funny and enjoyable.
    Sort of like GTA but much more fun with less frustration.
    I haven't even finished the game, on 79% completion, lvl 48 and have over 4 million in money and have nothing to spend it on. Own everything, upgraded all weapons, have a garage with heaps of fully customised cars and bikes. Bought all outfits and upgrades that are unlocked. Wish there
    This game is fun, funny and enjoyable.
    Sort of like GTA but much more fun with less frustration.

    I haven't even finished the game, on 79% completion, lvl 48 and have over 4 million in money and have nothing to spend it on.
    Own everything, upgraded all weapons, have a garage with heaps of fully customised cars and bikes. Bought all outfits and upgrades that are unlocked.

    Wish there was more stuff to buy, just doesn't seem enough.

    .
    Expand
  21. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    This game has nearly continuous laughs, with humor in the tradition of Benny Hill. Viola's costume is a particular hoot. Also, the vehicle choices and action are over the top. It took me a little while, but now I love this game. The only reasons that I did not give it a 10 are: (1) activities and missions seem disorganized, making the plot hard to follow. (2) E key is over used,This game has nearly continuous laughs, with humor in the tradition of Benny Hill. Viola's costume is a particular hoot. Also, the vehicle choices and action are over the top. It took me a little while, but now I love this game. The only reasons that I did not give it a 10 are: (1) activities and missions seem disorganized, making the plot hard to follow. (2) E key is over used, resulting in giving one command while another actually occurs. Expand
  22. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    I picked this up very cheap during a Steam Sale and couldn’t believe how much fun it was. Following my bitter disappointment with the pile of garbage that is GTA4, I figured this genre was dead, but SR3 has found a way to breathe new life into it. The GTA series is still following the exact same cookie-cutter format from GTA3 way back on the PS2, but Saints Row has found a way to rebrandI picked this up very cheap during a Steam Sale and couldn’t believe how much fun it was. Following my bitter disappointment with the pile of garbage that is GTA4, I figured this genre was dead, but SR3 has found a way to breathe new life into it. The GTA series is still following the exact same cookie-cutter format from GTA3 way back on the PS2, but Saints Row has found a way to rebrand itself into something fresh.

    While GTA is still making you comb the city for one car you might like to hang on to and can only save it by precariously parking it in parallel spaces outside your apartment, Saints Row lets you fully customize just about any car you can find with colors, wheel spikes, nitro, etc, and can also have it delivered to you in the middle of the street with a simple cell phone call. Yes, this is a feature whose time has come since now you can actually use vehicles you like on missions instead of being scared to death your tank or FBI car will get blown up or fall off a bridge if you ever take it out for a ride.

    VTOL aircraft? Jet bike? With lasers? Yep, those are there, too. Controls are very tight, even for the aircraft, the on-foot combat is far superior to what is still, over a decade later, a clunky & broken system in GTA, and the PC version has full controller support.

    An actual reason to explore the city and complete side missions & challenges? Yes, the wealth of unlockable options available, from health upgrades to infinite ammo, to extra costumes for you & your followers, there are tons.

    It’s also refreshing that Saints Row refuses to take itself too seriously. Half of a GTA game nowadays is listening to endless dialogue & cutscenes, usually with some political bunk the devs think is very profound. But I’d rather have fun and play a game instead of get propagandized to when I’m paying for the experience. Maybe that’s just me.

    If you felt the same way about GTA4 that I did but still enjoy these types of games, SR3 won’t steer you wrong. Go for it. If you’re one of the GTA zombie fanboys slavishly giving that tripe 10 out 10 reviews, then don’t worry, GTAV will be out soon enough to give you more of the same.
    Expand
  23. May 18, 2014
    8
    This game is the most hilarious game of all time. The story has absolutely no meaning, it is just WTF. The graphics are excellent, the choice of cars and weapons are very diverse, including the ability to customize each weapon and each car to perfection. In addition, weapons are totally ridiculous (like launcher sharks). In short, buy a game with his sequel !
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Oh my god, haha, where do I even start? This game is pure fun. Just fun! I love the crazy one liners, I love the ridiculous action, there's pretty much nothing I dislike about this game. More fun than anything else out on the gaming market. Buy it if you have the means, I swear you won't regret it.
  25. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    A fantastically ridiculous game! I've killed people with a bat and a fart in a jar, escorted a tiger around while he was trying to eat me, helped a pimp get his hoes back, and battled some mexican wrestlers with a blowup doll. The list of ridiculous things to do in this game goes on and on. The plot is pretty weak and and a bunch of the main missions are actually just copies of the sideA fantastically ridiculous game! I've killed people with a bat and a fart in a jar, escorted a tiger around while he was trying to eat me, helped a pimp get his hoes back, and battled some mexican wrestlers with a blowup doll. The list of ridiculous things to do in this game goes on and on. The plot is pretty weak and and a bunch of the main missions are actually just copies of the side missions, but it doesn't even matter. This is a great game to play if you’re just looking to have some fun. Expand
  26. May 29, 2012
    8
    This game is very fun. However, many complained about the game lacking any kind of plot or story and I will say this. This is not that type of game. The devs gave you enough to soak in what the game is all about. They dont spoon feed you everything about the game. This game requires imagination to truly enjoy. They give you all the toys and a elaborate city in which to do whatever youThis game is very fun. However, many complained about the game lacking any kind of plot or story and I will say this. This is not that type of game. The devs gave you enough to soak in what the game is all about. They dont spoon feed you everything about the game. This game requires imagination to truly enjoy. They give you all the toys and a elaborate city in which to do whatever you want. Unless you like games that stick you on a rail and only have you do things the developers want you to do, this game does not do that. You can complete and do anything and everything you want to when you want to. Its a sand box game as its best with a little RPG element in building and improving your character. The character customization is by far this game best feature and in 90% of other cases better then dedicated RPG games! I find it fun chasing people in my police car and crashing them. You can do anything you want in a silly funny sort of way. Besides. If you are the type that likes more content? Well Saints Row offs many DLCs. Its a very fun game, and if you see it on sale, dont hesitate to buy. Expand
  27. May 19, 2013
    8
    It's mad. In fact, it barely makes any sense at all. But for all its wonky bits, there's an odd charm to Volition's decision to leave nothing on the drawing board. It's not the largest sandbox, but it is packed full of brilliant toys. Saints Row: The Third's commitment to unrestricted, ridiculous fun is unflinching, and the product is a city full of glorious slapstick debauchery.
  28. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Genius, whatever the writers got when doing this, they need more. The humour of the game is fantastic, had me laughing now and then, the soundtrack is very pleasant, except for the credits song, but still, the game is just fantastic
  29. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    This game is not designed to be serious, thought provoking, or realistic. It is all about fast cars, humor, crudeness, shallowness, and lots of explosions. When I need mindless fun, this is my go to game. I did not notice any serious bugs, crashes or other annoyances (that I could see). I bought this game on sale with a ton of add-on's, and the price was right. I would recommend this toThis game is not designed to be serious, thought provoking, or realistic. It is all about fast cars, humor, crudeness, shallowness, and lots of explosions. When I need mindless fun, this is my go to game. I did not notice any serious bugs, crashes or other annoyances (that I could see). I bought this game on sale with a ton of add-on's, and the price was right. I would recommend this to anybody wanting to wind down and have an escape from reality for an hour or two. Buy it if you haven't already, yes, even when Saints Row IV is on the way later this year (how is that possible with THQ is in liquidation?). Expand
  30. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Simply fantastic and whacky game. If you don't mind playing a less serious sandbox game and the jokes hit your nerve you should get this ASAP. The controls are fine and this game plays perfectly fine even with keyboard and mouse.
  31. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Really fun game.
    Dumbed down version of SR1 and SR2, but still fun to play.
    Lots of comparisons to previous games and to GTA IV, but having played all of them,
    it deserves a place on its own.
    mainstream campaign missions too short.
  32. May 25, 2014
    10
    Last Played: Feb 2014
    PROS: + True single-player sandbox with minimal story to get in the way + Several fast vehicles means you aren't stuck with one "best" vehicle all the time + Blowing stuff up (which is 98% of the game) is really fun
    CONS: - Some weapons are weak and you'll never use - Some fight types are irritating (gang survival) REVIEW: Let's be absolutely clear: this game is
    Last Played: Feb 2014
    PROS: + True single-player sandbox with minimal story to get in the way + Several fast vehicles means you aren't stuck with one "best" vehicle all the time + Blowing stuff up (which is 98% of the game) is really fun
    CONS: - Some weapons are weak and you'll never use - Some fight types are irritating (gang survival)

    REVIEW: Let's be absolutely clear: this game is not trying to be GTA. It is not trying to offer a story, or multiplayer (which is tacked on if you insist on trying), or a rich cultural experience, or any other pretentious thing you can think of. It is about doing what you want when you want to. You want to throw a fart-in-a-jar at a cop? Fine. Want to run over hookers on a motorcycle? That's fine too. The only limitation is that some event types only appear after a certain "story mission" type (these actually just introduce activity types with some well-voiced but stultifyingly dumb dialogue on the side). That's it. "Finishing" the game doesn't really reward you, because the whole thing is about the activities along the way, and SR3 does this magnificently. You can collect the best vehicles from game start and it is worth grabbing a few, because several of the best cars perform similarly well. Actually, hijacking pretty much any vehicle will make for a passable getaway car (though I wouldn't recommend a garbage truck). This actually works pretty well for the game, since you can experiment with several vehicles instead of being forced into a single best car. The best thing of all, however is the destruction factor--which is good, because the activities are just different variations on blowing stuff up. I said before that the ending isn't rewarding, but you know what? It doesn't matter because the stuff you'll remember are the fireballs along the way.

    Which is not to say the game is without flaw. In contrast to the variety of functional cars, there really are "best" weapons that you'll use exclusively (unless forced by a special activity). Ultimately, this doesn't hurt the game too much, because the best weapons are so fun to use, but it is still there. You may also find that certain activity types aren't up your alley. This really shouldn't pose a problem to anyone, though-you'll only be forced to do each activity once (story) and then you can ignore them. If you find the game too easy, you can simply not buy upgrades or call in swarms of allies. This game is all about choice, and it does it oh so well.

    Just don't expect to be able to stay away for long periods your first playthrough.
    Expand
  33. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    A really good 'open-world'/sandbox type of game. Would say that this is way more superior than GTA IV on PC. At least it wasn't ported off console, and if it was, Volition did a great job in maintaining and increasing the GFX quality.
    However, being that the whole game was mostly themed 'purplish', i didn't really like the color.
    Cars and vehicles in the game was superb, same for the
    A really good 'open-world'/sandbox type of game. Would say that this is way more superior than GTA IV on PC. At least it wasn't ported off console, and if it was, Volition did a great job in maintaining and increasing the GFX quality.
    However, being that the whole game was mostly themed 'purplish', i didn't really like the color.
    Cars and vehicles in the game was superb, same for the storyline.

    In my opinion, this game is just purely made for entainment, being a eye-candy. There isn't a big relevance in the DLC, missions. And i would say that it is not recommend to purchase the DLC (only during cheap steam sales). Vehicles, clothing and any small 'tiny' stuff aren't really worth the money. Depending on how you look at microtranscations in-game items.

    Would see what and how Saints Row IV would give this August. One of the 3 open-world games that i would surely purchase this year. This, Watch Dogs as well as GTA 5 (not confirmed on PC yet, sadly).

    Definitely worth buying, but not the FULL price on Steam. Look out for sales if you haven't bought the game.

    Give this a overall rating of 8.0/10
    Expand
  34. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Very good sandbox game, I actually like it alot more then I did GTA IV. Its just more fun, sure it might not have as good of graphics but to me its just hands down more fun.

    Good gameplay, nice custimization, good soundtrack and did I mentino a very high fun factor??? Do yourself a favor and pick this game up!
  35. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    This game is just plain fun. The voice acting is the best I've come across since the original Dragon Age. The city/town you are isn't the largest in the sandbox gaming world but there's so many missions and things to do you'll be playing for quite sometime unless you are a hardcore gamer with no job or girlfriend.
  36. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Decent game. The story is quite well layed-out, and the gameplay is fun. Extraordinary levels of customization also make the game quite nice. The AI isn't the smartest out there, but it's still great fun. All things considered, a nice game.
  37. Sep 13, 2013
    9
    Nice Game This game is fun playing. I love all the action. I like the game mechanics. The car brakes and handling are good. This is game is really worth buying. It comes up with something new. Its worth every penny.
  38. May 30, 2015
    9
    This is a real fun game. I loved it. The plot isn't amazing and the graphics won't blow your mind, but there's a ton of stuff to do and it will take your mind off things cause it's really funny.
  39. May 11, 2012
    8
    an absolutely fabulous game. easily comparable to GTA and Just cause 2, and all for teh good reasons. yes there is alot of immature humour, but that is so far between. its just crazy, fun and mad. an amazing game, they felt quite short to complete, until i realised i had been on it sold for 4 days
  40. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    A very very nice game but with limited replayability. The co-op functionality is very refreshing to see in these types of games, and the inclusion of a whore mode (survival) was and added bonus, without that I may have given the game a 6. There is nothing at all wrong with the game in anyway just that its short and considering the price they've been asking for this game for a long time nowA very very nice game but with limited replayability. The co-op functionality is very refreshing to see in these types of games, and the inclusion of a whore mode (survival) was and added bonus, without that I may have given the game a 6. There is nothing at all wrong with the game in anyway just that its short and considering the price they've been asking for this game for a long time now it was not worth it to pay top dollar. Just way way to short for this kind of game. Did I mention how short the game is? Its soooo short. Screw it, im giving it a six. Expand
  41. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A quite good GTA clone ideal for people with black humor that would sometimes laugh the s**t of you .
    The game is quite violent,explosive and made me thought the reasons why this game was rated by ESRB M17
    Expand
  42. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Fun and over the top action mixed with a crazy storyline and cartoon like graphics. Count me in! However, I wasn't too thrilled to find that the game is quite short.
  43. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    This is still one of the best games. I always appreciated GTA and I loved the environment, but I'd quickly get bored. I'd run over a bunch of people, get into a chase, and turn it off. It had it's moments but the saints is just fast, action packed, and looks great. The amount of content in this game is ridiculous. It's not just one thing like weapons, or cars, it's everything. There is anThis is still one of the best games. I always appreciated GTA and I loved the environment, but I'd quickly get bored. I'd run over a bunch of people, get into a chase, and turn it off. It had it's moments but the saints is just fast, action packed, and looks great. The amount of content in this game is ridiculous. It's not just one thing like weapons, or cars, it's everything. There is an excess of so much and options right there to attempt to speed through it if you want, but you won't. You can't because, there is a ton of it. SRIV addresses the issue of getting to places faster. It's a wonderful mod, but once you complete it this is likely what you'll go back to.

    To those of you giving it negative reviews because the gore isn't realistic enough for you and you don't feel enough motivation... please seek help. I know it's not your fault as it's just nature and you are programmed that way, but seriously do us all a favor and get some type of counseling. We need to evolve as a species and your type causes us to hit the reset button on that over and over just so you can have your fun making everyone else suffer. Hopefully at some point the human race will be able to single you out and isolate you to live with each other on your own planet where you can just kill each other to your hearts content.
    Expand
  44. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    It's incredibly fun! The story missions are fun. The side missions are fun. The shooting, driving, and flying is all fun. Upgrading and customizing your character is fun. The coop is fun. The story is silly and doesn't take itself seriously. Really, this is a fun game and worth the money.
  45. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    My biggest gripe is the performance. It's so imbalanced and erratic, that I wonder why the developers even bothered pretending to brush the console port abomination Saints Row 2 under the rug! The game auto-detects to HIGH settings for my PC with lovely DX11 features turned on High with one on Medium. It still runs at between 25 frames to 50, never going below 25 luckily. As for things notMy biggest gripe is the performance. It's so imbalanced and erratic, that I wonder why the developers even bothered pretending to brush the console port abomination Saints Row 2 under the rug! The game auto-detects to HIGH settings for my PC with lovely DX11 features turned on High with one on Medium. It still runs at between 25 frames to 50, never going below 25 luckily. As for things not graphics-related... prepare to have your mind blown by over the top insanity at every turn. Solid, fun shooting. Crazy, fun characters. Insane scenarios. Geez, there is so much packed into this game! Only one word can sum it up: FUN! Expand
  46. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    It’s difficult to really explain Saints Row The Third without spoiling the story, but there really is a lot going on. It decides to go down a completely different path than Grand Theft Auto, preferring to focus on the surreal and humorous rather than telling a realistic and emotional story.

    The development team did a good job of making humour a key part of the game, from the mission
    It’s difficult to really explain Saints Row The Third without spoiling the story, but there really is a lot going on. It decides to go down a completely different path than Grand Theft Auto, preferring to focus on the surreal and humorous rather than telling a realistic and emotional story.

    The development team did a good job of making humour a key part of the game, from the mission dialogues to the sidequests and even on the street itself with pedestrian reactions.

    Missions involve clearing out the bad guys’ HQ, rescuing someone, escorting someone to a destination and a mix of these. You can also get helicopters, tanks, cycle, trucks, boats and more. You can customise a lot of these vehicles and add Nitro fuel or increase their durability.

    As you earn money, you can buy buildings around the city which contributes to your hourly revenue, you can also spend money on enhanced weapons, more clothes, extra abilities and new cribs.

    In terms of weapons you have pistols, rifles, SMGs, shotguns, rocket launchers, sniper rifles and a variety of other weapons including a Remote Control device which lets you control other vehicles and some rather powerful airborne missiles.

    Co-operative mode is fantastic and there is plenty of opportunity for antics and player-made games of all kinds. There are even unique activities that require a second player, which makes this the ideal game to play with a buddy. Definitely the best sandbox game to date!
    Expand
  47. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    An explosive mix of sandbox madness and an excellent narrative with dialogue leaves this over the top monster of a game surprisingly down to earth. The writers handled this in a top-notch fashion. If you can create a powder keg like Saints Row The Third, and make it still packed in with tongue-in-cheek dirty humor, as well as giving the characters dialogue that makes every mission such asAn explosive mix of sandbox madness and an excellent narrative with dialogue leaves this over the top monster of a game surprisingly down to earth. The writers handled this in a top-notch fashion. If you can create a powder keg like Saints Row The Third, and make it still packed in with tongue-in-cheek dirty humor, as well as giving the characters dialogue that makes every mission such as going through a cyber universe to take down a cyberlord geek who takes the form of a f***** dragon with swords as a normal day in the life of a Saint. Seriously, I want to congratulate these guys for bringing literally everything in the game to create this space of immersitivity; you feel like a bada**, you have homies that you actually care about, (or hate), and a great array customization (for an action game) that gears you up to take on any situation leaves me pleasantly surprised. So, looking for zombies to kill with a sonic blaster? Maybe riding a hoverbike through the streets searching for sex dolls? Calling your Saint army to take on a challenge, or just to piss off the law and gangs of Steelport? Either way, Saints Row: The Third delivers in the most outrageous ways possible, but it works, and that's the great thing about Volition's masterpiece...or travesty, depends on how you look at it... Expand
  48. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this game. It was entertaining from start till finish with a crap tonne of reality defying action. Not having played any of the saints games and almost all of the GTA games I can honestly say I've enjoyed saints row 3 the most.
  49. Jun 25, 2016
    8
    It's kind of strange to make an open-world game whose story & missions are shorter and more concise than its predecessor. Isn't an open-world game about having a ton of stuff to explore and do? Which to me is the conundrum of Saints Row: The Third. It's still a fun game, and recommended, but a lack of content volume (not variety) disappoints after the plethora of activities in Saints RowIt's kind of strange to make an open-world game whose story & missions are shorter and more concise than its predecessor. Isn't an open-world game about having a ton of stuff to explore and do? Which to me is the conundrum of Saints Row: The Third. It's still a fun game, and recommended, but a lack of content volume (not variety) disappoints after the plethora of activities in Saints Row 2.

    + Good gun-play, character upgrade path, weapon upgrade path.
    + Graphics are really good (DX11) if your machine is powerful enough to turn the settings up (a far render distance is pretty taxing).
    + The story is ostentatiously stupid fun - like a fantastic B-movie - if you can enjoy it for what it is, and not expect something more serious like Saints Row 2.
    + Good voice acting from everyone.
    + Some fun new activities, and most of the old activities are back: Escort, Trail-blazing, Mayhem, Hostage, and more, as well as new variants (like Tank Mayhem), or new activities entirely (Guardian Angel, Assassinations).
    + Autos are still customizeable, most of the options staying the same. The vehicles drive better than than the ones in SR2, though there are fewer varieties.
    +Tons of personal costume and character customizations.

    + / - Lots of R-rated content. Just saying. I mean, it is a Saints Row game. But when one of the available melee weapons is a giant d**k bat that is called the "Penetrator" - yeah... For maximum safety, make sure your mom (or anyone else who might object) can't walk in on you while you're playing Saints Row: The Third.

    - While the activites are fun, and there are a lot of activity icons that appear on the map, there aren't very many of them. In Sants Row 2, each activity had 6 levels to be completed. Here, there is just ONE instance of each activity at a map icon. Early in the game, completing some activities unlocks more of the same activity (at another location) at a higher difficulty, which is fine. But there is a LOT LESS content here. Got the game to 92% completion in 32.3 hours.
    - Lots of DLC. With a lot less content already, be sure to get Saints Row: The Third - The Full Package - or don't bother buying the game.
    - Crib customization is GONE. This really bummed me. Yes, there are three cribs / strongholds that can be upgraded, but the upgrades are all pre-determined, and don't change look / layout of your crib (upgrading can make the building taller, giving you a higher view, but that's about it).

    Temper your content expectations and Saints Row: The Third becomes a gleeful B-movie romp, missing the seriousness of Saints Row 2 and the all-out insanity of Saints Row IV. Heartily recommended.
    Expand
  50. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    Fun, Fun and more Fun...
    This game made exactly for games must be made for... FUN!!! Lots of Fun... :D
    Good jokes, interesting story, easy and instinctive gameplay, also beautiful and specific graphics for SRTT, can say that it's not Saints Row 2 yes, but it take its own niche and it's really fun and good game.
  51. May 27, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played, it is far less stressful then grand theft auto IV in terms of game play, I almost blew a blood vessel playing the bank robbery mission for like 2+ hours trying to beat it because of how damaging bullets are and that my retarded AI won't get out of the F---ing car when it's about to explode, causing a restart of the mission. Saints Row onThis is one of the best games I have ever played, it is far less stressful then grand theft auto IV in terms of game play, I almost blew a blood vessel playing the bank robbery mission for like 2+ hours trying to beat it because of how damaging bullets are and that my retarded AI won't get out of the F---ing car when it's about to explode, causing a restart of the mission. Saints Row on the other hand has much smarter AI and they get incapacitated first instead of dying so you get some time which can be extended with upgrades to get them back on their feet. GTA IV would have been a good game in terms of game play if it had upgrades like Saints Row because that would have made the game play a bit more enjoyable if not a bit less frustrating. Grand Theft Auto IV does have a better character development and a better open world but as you press on, it dies down to repetitive missions. Saints Row really has the unique set up for missions as many are quite different from each other and there are a lot while also containing a uniqueness to each one and the presentation is a lot better then most GTA IV missions. In conclusion, by itself it is not bigger then GTA IV but with the DLC it goes over it with quality over quantity and the game will provide a lot of laughs and a lot of memorable moments. Expand
  52. Dec 18, 2011
    9
    The game is really good, you can laugh a lot with it.The music is OK, the game play is awesome,the graphics are all very good, the one thing they should improve were the physics, really cheese...Also the story of the game is very creative (better the the SR2 story).
    Comparing the two games SR3 and SR2, its hard to tell what better so...
    If you want to buy a Saints Row game buy the third
    The game is really good, you can laugh a lot with it.The music is OK, the game play is awesome,the graphics are all very good, the one thing they should improve were the physics, really cheese...Also the story of the game is very creative (better the the SR2 story).
    Comparing the two games SR3 and SR2, its hard to tell what better so...
    If you want to buy a Saints Row game buy the third one.Everyone says that SR3 is better expect GTA Fans...
    Expand
  53. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Saints Row the third is a massive improvement over SR2 in the graphic and animation department, in regards to story and content i would say it feels half of what SR2 was, still a very very good game.
  54. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    Truly a great game ! And like others have said before me, it's a great stress reliever :) I bought this game for Pc, because i wanted to play it at 60fps, which it does on my CG8250. Great game, great fun ! Just sit back, relax, and start slapping people with your purple ..... ;-)
  55. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    The good:
    => Character is highly customizable. There are even 7 voices to choose from. Somehow SR3 made me wish that GTA would have the same degree of customizability to the main character.
    => Funny ass and out-of-this-world main storyline missions. => Lots of satisfying weapons to choose from, some are crazy as hell. => NPCs have memorable characters, dialogues, and traits. => Great
    The good:
    => Character is highly customizable. There are even 7 voices to choose from. Somehow SR3 made me wish that GTA would have the same degree of customizability to the main character.
    => Funny ass and out-of-this-world main storyline missions.
    => Lots of satisfying weapons to choose from, some are crazy as hell.
    => NPCs have memorable characters, dialogues, and traits.
    => Great music

    The Bads
    => Side-missions and mini-missions get tedious after some time, as several different types of the missions give similar objectives (i.e. destroy things with weapons & create mayhem with vehicles)
    => Action and shootings don't feel too great and there's not much variation in the enemies faced. Gets rather boring towards the end.
    => No racing.
    => Graphics look rather outdated.
    Expand
  56. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    Definitely worth your time. I spent around 40 hours just messing around and the main story isn't too bad either. Also, these people understand that crude humor doesn't have to be racist or sexist humor. The devs clearly know how to have fun and include everyone at the same time.
  57. May 19, 2015
    9
    Saints Row: The Third is hilarious. The story and the missions are crazy and over the top. The soundtracks are also great. The vehicles are great and the customization is excellent. The character customization is also great. Some of the characters are voiced by famous people like Hulk Hogan, Sasha Grey, etc. The weapon upgrade system is what I don't like. I accidentally upgraded my SMG toSaints Row: The Third is hilarious. The story and the missions are crazy and over the top. The soundtracks are also great. The vehicles are great and the customization is excellent. The character customization is also great. Some of the characters are voiced by famous people like Hulk Hogan, Sasha Grey, etc. The weapon upgrade system is what I don't like. I accidentally upgraded my SMG to shoot fire and when I shoot it at someone they caught on fire which is annoying because when you're in a hurry and run close to the enemy you shoot, you'll be caught on fire too. I wish they had some way to downgrade weapons or an option to remove the special ability for weapons. Overall Saints Row: The Third is a fun and funny game with may things to do. Expand
  58. Jun 12, 2013
    8
    This game is a very refreshing game because it combines the crazy, insane, explosive and creative killing fun that games such as Borderlands and Loadout possess. However, unlike the two previously mentioned, the difficulty curve isn't ridiculous. The first mission is very easy, and following there are many different mission "paths" that you can choose that introduce new weapons andThis game is a very refreshing game because it combines the crazy, insane, explosive and creative killing fun that games such as Borderlands and Loadout possess. However, unlike the two previously mentioned, the difficulty curve isn't ridiculous. The first mission is very easy, and following there are many different mission "paths" that you can choose that introduce new weapons and abilities that make the game different and harder. It also reminds me of Borderlands in that it is very comical, there are little extras such as squid shooters or killing game shows that are easy but entertaining. There is little story, but this isn't a game to buy for the plotline. However, two things. First, if you have an ATI GPU, just don't get it on PC. Just don't. Despite the rare ATI ads in the starting sequence, ATI drivers always crash playing this game. My friend has an ATI and has the same problem, but my other friend has a NVIDIA and has no troubles. Also, for the style of the game, the non-destructible environments and unrealistic domestic AI (brutally attacking some random person and everybody else on the street not noticing) are a little annoying. Expand
  59. May 30, 2013
    9
    Way too cool!
    Just turn your brain off and get ready to hours of nonsensical fun! The graphic is good, but could be better. Music instead is really cool! Drive a tank through the city while listening to mozart or ride a nitro-powered motorcycle with louder-than-hell metal.
    Just do not play this game if you look for realistic story. You could get reaaally disappointed.
  60. Nov 11, 2015
    8
    GTA V before it was made!
    It's fun, nasty, hard, easy, boring and all of that mixed with a great gameplay and story.
    Ohh also, death alot of death!
    8/10
  61. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    The GTA series should take pointers from this game, which is simply the fun factor. The game is so over the top and ridiculous that it is hilarious at times, and I never find video game humor to be funny. The weakness of the game comes from the graphics. They are not bad but just look pretty dated, it has the looks of a game that is 3-4 years old. The side missions are fun, some betterThe GTA series should take pointers from this game, which is simply the fun factor. The game is so over the top and ridiculous that it is hilarious at times, and I never find video game humor to be funny. The weakness of the game comes from the graphics. They are not bad but just look pretty dated, it has the looks of a game that is 3-4 years old. The side missions are fun, some better than others (the insurance fraud one is just insane). Some people may be a little turned off by the crazy amount of DLC coming out right after the release, but there is enough solid game. It does not feel like they held back anything, the DLC is just a nice option to have for future playability. Multiplayer is pretty much what you would expect, nothing much to say about it. As usuay, playing the game co-op is a great time. Overall the game is just fun and does not take itself seriously, just play it and enjoy what Saints Row the Third has to offer. Expand
  62. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    this is a craaaazy game! a great way to spend your free time! its obvious the story line is kinda stupid, its suposed to be so. its the gameplay and how craaaazy it is! the weapons are redicolius and fun to use. the co-up is also great but only with friends. the characters are some times loveable, mostly pierce, he is a bad drive still, just saying...
  63. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    It's an enjoyable game. But what it's predecessor lacked when it came to technical issues, this one lacks in the richness the second instalment offered. There is less exploring and activities disguise themselves as missions handed out by your fellow homies. That leads to having to do heli assault, drug or hoe trafficing instead of them being an option. You are force fed in order to moveIt's an enjoyable game. But what it's predecessor lacked when it came to technical issues, this one lacks in the richness the second instalment offered. There is less exploring and activities disguise themselves as missions handed out by your fellow homies. That leads to having to do heli assault, drug or hoe trafficing instead of them being an option. You are force fed in order to move the main plot forward. Expand
  64. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Saints Row: The Third can be described as the crazier GTA :P I love the gameplay, music, everything is so easily flowing. Missions are crazy, sometimes hilarious :p Some of Saints Row 3 content is delivered via (I think expensive) DLC, so it drops the score of this game. Playing of Saints Row 3 is great fun :)
  65. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    An excellent game, filled with comedy and a bit of insanity. It takes the basic format of GTA and makes it silly, but with a decent story (albeit some missions are just introductions to the various activities).
  66. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    ONE WORD: ENTERTAINMENT. This game has one simple goal: to entertain the player. It does not have to be logical or reasonable. This game has amazing graphics and sound. The story really really doesn't matter. The Writing, and the gameplay make this game the funniest game ever.
  67. Nov 28, 2015
    8
    This game was a gift from a friend, and in the beginning I played it here and there. About 8 hours of not really doing anything and just screwing around in the city while completing some missions, I found myself lost within the wonder of the city. As I bought new games I let this one sit for a while, and I start to play it again a few months later, I start doing some more of the missionsThis game was a gift from a friend, and in the beginning I played it here and there. About 8 hours of not really doing anything and just screwing around in the city while completing some missions, I found myself lost within the wonder of the city. As I bought new games I let this one sit for a while, and I start to play it again a few months later, I start doing some more of the missions and this game pulls me back into the city, pulls me back into the wonder of Saints Row: The Third. The thing I can say whole-heartedly about this game is that it has an over the top unique style to it unmatched by other sandbox games and that's what really drew me into the world.

    This game gives you a sense of freedom and the ability to be who you want to be and do what you want to do. That's a hard thing to come by with games sometimes, and for SR3 to nail it perfectly can't be ignored.

    There's so many high points to this game, the missions are always fun, the gameplay is awesome, the controls are tight. The story is well rounded, over the top, and full of what the f*ck moments that leave you scratching your head. My favorite moment being the Tron world fighting the leader of the Deckers, Matt Miller. I don't want to spoil too much because what I'm obviously saying is, "Play this game, oh my god, you need to play this game."

    Now there are some gripes I do want to point out, now towards the end of the game, there's a mission involving zombies where you have to dispose of containers. This mission to me was a pain in the a**... You have to run container to container trying to avoid the zombies, and there's hoards coming at you from every which way. So it did get annoying trying to finish that mission. My other complaint is the ending mission, going to the three locations to fight off everything thrown at you. It was a bit much even being the final mission to the game.

    I honestly the low points in Three Way can easily be overlooked by the next part in the mission which brings the great story to a close. This game should not be overlooked, it's funny, over the top, amazing and unique. If you have the extra spending money or if you're thinking about getting it during a sale, what are you waiting for? Buy this game!

    I give it an 8.5/10 :)
    Expand
  68. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Saint Row 3 is just amazing and much more as ridiculous action and a variety of ways to play it. The Volition Developer Team pushed the boundaries for this genre to a new level. Looking forward for Saint Row 4.
  69. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    A great gta style sandbox game with excellent player customization makes this game very enjoyable.

    However, when compared to SR2, the game falls flat in terms of story and content. here, the 1st 20 or so missions are just tutorials on various activities that were side quests in SR2.

    but its still worth a playthru, and SR4 is on the way!
  70. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game!
    SR 1/2 were trying to remain somewhat realistic while being insanely fun, this game is only about the fun!
    Great relaxing game where u get to blow up everything. Some stuff are missing such as racing and a few other activities I wish we would have seen here. The story doesn't make me care as much as the first games, but then again its ment to be crazy.
  71. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    very funny game, graphics are surprisingly really good you can tell they took some extra time to poilish the game i haven't come across any glitches or crashes, RPG elements are really great upgrades are available for your weapons and your character and after each mission you complete you receive money that you can spend on weapons or clothes etc... (although i just run around naked ;) )very funny game, graphics are surprisingly really good you can tell they took some extra time to poilish the game i haven't come across any glitches or crashes, RPG elements are really great upgrades are available for your weapons and your character and after each mission you complete you receive money that you can spend on weapons or clothes etc... (although i just run around naked ;) ) The customization available for your character is amazing. A overall fun and addictive game, really recommend it. Expand
  72. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This game needs to be G.O.T.Y... Don't listen to people who think this game sucks, because they are probably COD morons who got offended by Professor Genky... Epic fun, Huge storyline, Awesome laughs, and i don't want to be a spoiler so i'l end it with "etc."
  73. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    I really enjoy this game over the GTA series. SR3 has more of a FPS feel to it instead of a console feel. Its also built for the PC, unlike GTA is. I have spent alot of time in it and love every aspect of it. The ability to just sandbox it for awhile and not be bothered to much by the storyline is great. I recommend it to anyone looking to be bad for awhile.
  74. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    This game is STUPID fun if you're playing co-op with somebody you really like. I can tolerate loading screens that would normally drive me crazy and bugs galore because when the game works, it's fantastic. We turned off friendly fire damage and became engines of pure mayhem. The mini-games strike the perfect note so often, and when they become a chore, they're completely avoidable. ItThis game is STUPID fun if you're playing co-op with somebody you really like. I can tolerate loading screens that would normally drive me crazy and bugs galore because when the game works, it's fantastic. We turned off friendly fire damage and became engines of pure mayhem. The mini-games strike the perfect note so often, and when they become a chore, they're completely avoidable. It truly is completely open-- you can do just about anything you want most of the time and still get ahead in the game somehow doing it. Upgrades cost money and unlock with respect, and respect can come from anything from trick driving to drive-bys to bling and tattoos.

    The mini-games are inventive and varied, from a Japanese-style murder game show to helicopter warfare to joyriding with a tiger. Yes. A tiger. The co-operative play truly shines in each of them, we can work as a team and do a lot better for it. In so many co-op titles you're just both doing the same button-mashing, or both skulking around trying to get around your obstacles. In SR3 we end up with some pretty complex strategies on the fly that work out brilliantly to maximize our carnage, our chain bonuses, or the money we rake in with fantasy insurance fraud :D

    Normal gameplay has a lot to offer, too. When we feel like it we can be the aggressors-- hunting down and eliminating gang operations everywhere we find it. Or we can be the defenders, holing up in a downtown shop and demolishing wave after wave of attackers. The ability to revive one another to instant health just makes it a stress-free and rioutously funny experience to get blown up, minigunned, or burnt to a crisp by oncoming super-specialists. No stress, no bickering moments, to quote my character as the gas station blew up, "This is so much more relaxing than painting!" We had a crazy good time without the DLC, then decided to add it to see if it enhanced our gameplay. With or without it we've had a blast. The only complaint I really have is that the co-op mode is not synced up properly at all. At least in LAN mode, the radio stations and dialogue should sync up. Sometimes our positions aren't even synced, and we'll hit obstacles on one screen and not the other. Also we'd like to see each other in the cutscenes, we don't both have to be leader. A more integrated co-op mode would have made this game a perfect 10, enormous load times, vehicle boarding difficulties, buggy collectibles and all. Some things are just worth the hassle. I love the fact that hairstyles and clothes aren't gender-specific, so you can put a giant burly male in a cheerleader skirt and he will wear it with machismo. Some truly silly customization options are available. I'd like more control over the general build of my character but I'm impressed with the level of customization you do have. Considering the logistics, it's pretty fantastic. All in all, SR3 is what I most want out of a co-op crime spree game. It's everything I wanted GTA to be that it wasn't, and none of what bugged me so much about GTA. You don't have to be a complete a**hole to win it, though I'm sure it wouldn't hurt. Sync up the co-op and it'll be perfect, as far as I'm concerned. More. More of this, please.
    Expand
  75. Jun 13, 2013
    9
    I waited for far too long to play this, and it turns out I´ve missed so much! The better GTA in every respect more sillyness, more driving around running things over, more settings things on fire and the missions (and story) are much more explicitly stupid.
    Came to be entertained for a bit, stayed through the entire campaign and all DLC.
  76. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    This game can be define as very.. irreverent. It's just very fun to play it with some friends.

    From a technical point of view it's very good, and the gameplay mechanics are more arcade than a GTA game.

    The story is very stupid, but hey... that's the goal of the entire game.
  77. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    92% While Saints Row The Third does have it's issues in terms of bugs, it's few and far between and the smooth performance and graphical customizations available make the game accessible to a lot of gamers. The gameplay is easy to enjoy. Missions are varied and at times somewhat challenging. Graphics are very sharp and with the over the top use of vibrant colours it looks amazing and has a92% While Saints Row The Third does have it's issues in terms of bugs, it's few and far between and the smooth performance and graphical customizations available make the game accessible to a lot of gamers. The gameplay is easy to enjoy. Missions are varied and at times somewhat challenging. Graphics are very sharp and with the over the top use of vibrant colours it looks amazing and has a lot of charm. Saints Row may not be the most realistic game but it certainly is one of the most fun. For the full review please visit www.insidepcgaming.com Expand
  78. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This game is so much fun, you can do almost anything, I wont spoil, so you'll have to discover by yourself, but this game is a very good game, it can keep you playing for a long time, and the good thing is that you can customize a lot of things, like characters and cars... and then upload and share online with others too.

    The only down of the game is that it has no Multiplayer, unlike GTA
    This game is so much fun, you can do almost anything, I wont spoil, so you'll have to discover by yourself, but this game is a very good game, it can keep you playing for a long time, and the good thing is that you can customize a lot of things, like characters and cars... and then upload and share online with others too.

    The only down of the game is that it has no Multiplayer, unlike GTA IV, it has a COOP mode but it doesn't compare playing with friends Free mode around the city.

    Still, I think the coop is very good, and at least they gave a feature to play with someone else.
    Expand
  79. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    What do you get when you combine guns, free-roaming, hookers, and Belgium waffles? This game. Saints Row is absurd, twisted, and hilarious. The first few missions get you hooked onto the game play, and the rest take off from there. Although single player is a blast, Co-Op is way more entertaining and crazy. Careful though, it is easy to get burnt out from a game like this if you play itWhat do you get when you combine guns, free-roaming, hookers, and Belgium waffles? This game. Saints Row is absurd, twisted, and hilarious. The first few missions get you hooked onto the game play, and the rest take off from there. Although single player is a blast, Co-Op is way more entertaining and crazy. Careful though, it is easy to get burnt out from a game like this if you play it for too long. Expand
  80. May 1, 2014
    8
    Totally over the top and lots of fun. A well implemented weapon and ability upgrade system keeps you playing. From zombie invasion to Burt Reynolds, this game has got it all. Check your GTA egos at the door.
  81. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    I had originally played on xbox but i just got it on PC and i must say that the game graphically is way better but playing it took time to get used to and the crashes were annoying…
  82. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    To go from a completely unplayable PC game (Saints Row 2) to one of the best PC ports of the year is quite an achievement for the series and the developers.
    This game is better optimized than GTAIV and the UI/Menus are functional and well designed. It controls flawlessly with a keyboard/mouse.
    The writing is actually clever, the voice acting is great, and the gameplay mechanics are solid
    To go from a completely unplayable PC game (Saints Row 2) to one of the best PC ports of the year is quite an achievement for the series and the developers.
    This game is better optimized than GTAIV and the UI/Menus are functional and well designed. It controls flawlessly with a keyboard/mouse.
    The writing is actually clever, the voice acting is great, and the gameplay mechanics are solid and fun as hell.

    To all the people complaining about day 1 DLC:
    It costs a great deal of money to make a AAA game now days, yet taking inflation into account, we pay less for a $50 game than ever.
    You have two choices, pay $70-80 for a new release, or pay $50 for 2/3rds of the content and then pay for the rest voluntarily (after you've decided if you like the game or not).
    To me, the second option is much better, because it gives the customer choices.
    Sorry, but $50 for a full-length AAA game isn't an option anymore.
    Expand
  83. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    I didn't think I would like this game as much as I did. It is consistently wacky and inventive. In an age of games getting kicked out the door at maybe 80% complete, Saints Row: the Third is positively *polished.* Gameplay is straightforward and intuitive, yet challenging. The sense of humor is a bit sophomoric, but it stays genuinely funny enough that most players won't mind. TheI didn't think I would like this game as much as I did. It is consistently wacky and inventive. In an age of games getting kicked out the door at maybe 80% complete, Saints Row: the Third is positively *polished.* Gameplay is straightforward and intuitive, yet challenging. The sense of humor is a bit sophomoric, but it stays genuinely funny enough that most players won't mind. The humor is over-the-top in the best way: the second mission has the player jumping out of an airplane, jumping back into the same airplane and shooting up the inside, grabbing a new parachute as he/she passes and firing then jump out of the same plane--and it pretty much keeps up the pace from there. My only complaint is that some missions are just Activities with some window dressing. And that's fine for the missions that introduce said activities, less so for the missions that simply feature them. The activities themselves are great--Volition has taken the things that most people did in GTA-style games (such as seeing how back of an accident they can cause or going on a rampage with a tank) and made them legitimate gameplay mechanics. In short, the developers knew what players were going to do, and built their game around it. Most importantly, the kept the game consistently *fun.* Is this a watershed game people will be talking about 10 years from now, in the same sentences as Grand Theft Auto, Bioshock, or Call of Duty 4? Probably not. Is it a damn good time? You bet. Expand
  84. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Truly a strong competitor for GOTY. Volition does a great job of bringing you what most current free roam games forget, and that is insane fun. The PC version runs spectacularly. Co-op is a barrel of fun. This game would rate 10/10, but sadly I have to knock a point off because the first half of the story missions are mainly over-glorified activities with cutscenes with some actual levelsTruly a strong competitor for GOTY. Volition does a great job of bringing you what most current free roam games forget, and that is insane fun. The PC version runs spectacularly. Co-op is a barrel of fun. This game would rate 10/10, but sadly I have to knock a point off because the first half of the story missions are mainly over-glorified activities with cutscenes with some actual levels thrown in the mix. Still, the activities are insanely fun, especially with a friend. Once you reach the half mark of the campaign, the crazy train rolls in and it never stops. One of the best games of 2011. If you have $50-$60 to spend, I definitely recommend picking up this title.

    Also, please ignore the people complaining about the day one DLC. The idiot, orctowngrot, is complaining about a $20 DLC that is actually a pre-order for the 3 upcoming DLC mission packs coming out over the span of 2012. The pre-order actually saves you 15% off buying them separately (when they released that is). The other two day 1 DLCs are a pack of cheats (for $3) and a really awesome weapon for $2.
    Expand
  85. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    This game is so much over the top that it just can't be everyones cup of tea. I liked it a lot though and even after I finished the main story line I still come back to it every now and then just to have some fun. Yes, there are several things that I could complain about, like the way the engine handles respawning of people and vehicles or the very basic AI. But all in all this game is aThis game is so much over the top that it just can't be everyones cup of tea. I liked it a lot though and even after I finished the main story line I still come back to it every now and then just to have some fun. Yes, there are several things that I could complain about, like the way the engine handles respawning of people and vehicles or the very basic AI. But all in all this game is a very enjoyable experience and I never had the feeling of wasting my money on this title. Expand
  86. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Not much can be said about SR3 that it does not say itself. One of the major themes in the game is practically mirrored word for word from Power, a song by Kanye West; which happens to be used within the game as well.

    I joined the Saints during Saints Row 2 and immediately fell in love the game game. It was the most random, crazy, and insane fun I had, had in a game ever. Even the GTA
    Not much can be said about SR3 that it does not say itself. One of the major themes in the game is practically mirrored word for word from Power, a song by Kanye West; which happens to be used within the game as well.

    I joined the Saints during Saints Row 2 and immediately fell in love the game game. It was the most random, crazy, and insane fun I had, had in a game ever. Even the GTA series cannot compete with SR for ridiculous shenanigans.

    I have played the game for 23 hours now and have completed story with a 68% completion so there is still a lot to do. The plot line is very reminiscent of SR2 except perhaps streamlined and more focused.

    In SR2 you were just out to take Stillwater for the Saints and kill everyone else. In SR3 it is more about exacting revenge and running the gangs out of Steelport; there is not as much emphasis on the gang warfare aspect, which I am sad to see. The one thing I loved most about SR2 was the whole war going on between the Saints, Ronin, Brotherhood, and the green guys (forgot their weird ass name). However SR3 makes up for that in mounds.

    You start off the game playing as the MC along with Gat and Shaundi as you rob a bank as a publicity stunt for the Saints. It all goes sideways when the tellers pull out gun s and start shooting at you. The situation devolves even further then a massive Swat team shows up. After ripping the vult out of the building you nearly escape but are foiled.

    This is how you are introduced to the Syndicate, a shadowy organization who owned the bank you hit. A man named Loren, a Belgian, offers to buy out the saints and let you three survive; after the predictable "go f*** yourself" from the MC he tries to kill you but Gat manages to break free and a gun fight ensues.

    Oh, and I forgot to mention; we are on a plane at this point. I won't go further then that, even for a spoiler review.

    A lot of the stuff from SR2 is still present in SR3; specifically the **** The voice actor this time around almost has a Captain Price kind of deep voice so at times the VO doesn't sound that good. But it is still fairly bombastic, just like SR2's **** was.

    There are a few new activities: Professor Genki's Super Ethical Reality Climax, Tank Mayhem, Guardian Angel, and several variations on the old activities.

    My favorite has to be the PGSERC activities. They are just too crazy most of the time and it is generally easy money until you get the Hunters swarming around you; then it gets dangerous. You go around shooting mascots, evil panda signs, and Prof. Genki signs to get money. The mazes you are placed into have traps as well and there are also Brute like enemies that appear in the higher difficulties.

    Tank Mayhem is Mayhem but with a tank. The original Mayhem activity is still around. Guardian Angel is where you use a sniper scope and chopper to protect one of your homies from afar. Similar to Gunship Assaults.

    All of the original activities are present in SR3 however some are not done as activities anymore. For example Fuzz is now like Streaking was in SR2, it is not an activity but kind of like a sub-activity. You are given a list of goals to achieve in the Saints Book and from time to time the Fuzz producer calls you up and gives you a task to do so they can get footage.

    There are random sub-missions that occur in the game at random. These range from stuff like Fuzz, to territory defense. All of the sub-activities are wave based battles where you have to survive a certain number of waves to complete the task. Assassinations are still present as well.

    There are new weapons to be found as well as new vehicles but I will not do into those, not enough room to discuss them.

    Some things I hate about SR3:

    Instead of having special icons for gang notoriety like in SR2 we now have pink stars.

    Brutes can easily overwhelm you if there are two of them and keep you on the ground till you die.

    Only strongholds are customizable and there are only three of them that can only be gotten through the story missions. The old stronghold system from SR2 is gone.

    Stag tanks do too much damage with their laser cannons, even upgraded with most of the health and damage upgrades they still can kill you in a matter of seconds.

    Bike driving mechanics are too sensitive most of the time.

    Can't customize aircraft, yet.


    Things I like:

    Giant purple **** sword/club

    New awesome weapons and vehicles

    Strongholds now give you bonuses to your Rep and monetary gain
    Upgrade System Adult Swim radio channel Massive amount of references to other movies, games, and TV shows Funny as hell **** voice overs This game is as much fun, if not more, as SR2 was to play.
    Expand
  87. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    A realy fun game, best game intro in a long time, going on rampages destroying every car you see in a tank/chopper. Missions are interesting. But in the long run it gets verry repetative. I dont realy know how to formulate my feelings about this game, its great fun but not perfect.
  88. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I played all Saints Row games, now this is more awesome with the upgrades and other over-the-top actions. But due to the lack of the ability to replay missions, this game was a bit of letdown. But still this is the most fun game I ever played. Expand
  89. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    Saints Row 3 is very funny game. There's nothing fully sane in this game. There's alot of fun in SR3. You can go out and kill people with huge **** and end up killed by a futuristic jet shooting missiles and l4z0rs at you. Also you could become the ultimate pimp by stealing yourself a nice car and tuning it overly too much. Then you would head to the closest clothes shop and buy yourselfSaints Row 3 is very funny game. There's nothing fully sane in this game. There's alot of fun in SR3. You can go out and kill people with huge **** and end up killed by a futuristic jet shooting missiles and l4z0rs at you. Also you could become the ultimate pimp by stealing yourself a nice car and tuning it overly too much. Then you would head to the closest clothes shop and buy yourself pimpster clothes. There's one main "quest" which is about getting your corporation name cleaned and killing you main nemesis's. After the main line there's just these little activities to do, and of course, multiplayer. If you're looking for a way to ease your nerves and get rid of your stress, this is your game. Expand
  90. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    There's absolutely no realism at all... I love it. If you enjoy being a toilet and shooting people, you found the right game for you. Only issue is that the DLC's are a bit lacking and I'm a bit sad that the single-player and multi-player storylines aren't different, but hey, it's still an amazing game.
  91. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    This Game is better than the last one because its graphics have been improved by a lot, the story line is way better also! This game is entertaining and I've never been bored with it, I say you should buy this game and have no expectations.
  92. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    I got this game during steam sale and I love it. I played through the singleplayer campaign and it was hilarious and amazing. There's so much to do in this game. And even besides all the tasks and missions, it's fun to just do random things with all the fun weapons and vehicles you can use.
    Also the coop is awesome for doing random stuff together in the city, trying out stunts or
    I got this game during steam sale and I love it. I played through the singleplayer campaign and it was hilarious and amazing. There's so much to do in this game. And even besides all the tasks and missions, it's fun to just do random things with all the fun weapons and vehicles you can use.
    Also the coop is awesome for doing random stuff together in the city, trying out stunts or collecting things.
    Only 9 points because of a minor problem with my AMD graphics card (or the drivers) which causes the game to freeze for a half second sometimes. Nothing what makes the game unplayable though.
    Expand
  93. Dec 5, 2011
    9
    In my opinion is a great alternative to grand theft auto. The publisher is THQ, best known for the release of the Warhammer world famous title. This game is the same and better than his antagonist, not a lover of this kind of games do not like it. The story is intriguing, we are in a city where you can vie for the 4 main bands: the Saint (our bandwidth that we are the boss), theIn my opinion is a great alternative to grand theft auto. The publisher is THQ, best known for the release of the Warhammer world famous title. This game is the same and better than his antagonist, not a lover of this kind of games do not like it. The story is intriguing, we are in a city where you can vie for the 4 main bands: the Saint (our bandwidth that we are the boss), the Luchadores, the Morningstar and Deckers. The game structure is the same, we can go around the city, taking cars, motorcycles, trucks, helicopters, planes, boats and even fighter jets. Not to forget the tank. Scattered around the city there are properties that we buy, where shops supply us with arms and ammunition, buy new clothes, tattoos and body modification and processing of the cars in our garage that we can save and retrieve them when we come. The character we use is fully customizable, looking for clothes that we could also choose individual colors. Unlike grand theft auto, the story is well constructed, it is a mixture of mini-missions that have no logical thread, here each mission is the development of history itself, and therefore more intriguing and engaging. Our gang is also customizable, we can choose the type of characters that are part of it (how they dress etc..) And the vehicles they drive, even if all this you can choose from a series of predetermined characters and machines and 100% customizable, choose only the type, too bad, but still nice. The goal of the game (besides the main story) is the conquest of the city. Scattered around the map, there are, as I said, bought the property, also purchased stores, mini-games and activities to destroy rival gangs. Each one of these things we will earn a slice of territory to the complete conquest of it. Every shop and buy properties that will provide us with an income time money (you have to spend to make money) and shops, plus a discount. The graphics are not great of course, but in these types of games you know is not important graphics. Hectic and not so simple, we will face gunfire and escapes in situations where we will fight against gangs and the police but also simultaneously with the possibility of being helped by members of our gang. What, in my opinion is much more beautiful than grand theft auto, you know that eventually becomes boring and too long, and you unstitching also lots of laughter. Expand
  94. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    An adult themed game that is the best sandbox environment I have played in years. Total fun factor between mini missions and actual story line content, can't wait for the next expansion to play some more!
  95. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Crazy fun game, offers an experience I haven't had for a while with a GTA style Sandbox game......FUN! Mature topics, adult theme, crazy fun. I appreciate the wide variety of character customization, it's discouraging to see day 1 DLC.
  96. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    I hated the previous SR efforts but this game is worth buying. The combat system is now spot on with a robust weapons cache and decent enemy AI. Driving is much improved and almost up to the level of GTA4 though I've hit some glitches (eg vehicles going through guardrails and getting stuck in the pavement). Missions are fun, story is fun, love the character designs. My mainI hated the previous SR efforts but this game is worth buying. The combat system is now spot on with a robust weapons cache and decent enemy AI. Driving is much improved and almost up to the level of GTA4 though I've hit some glitches (eg vehicles going through guardrails and getting stuck in the pavement). Missions are fun, story is fun, love the character designs. My main disappointment is with the NPC civilians who are either slow to react or don't react to the mayhem around them. When hijacking a motorcycle with a passenger on back I would expect some sort of reaction but he just sits there quiet as I kamikaze into a wall. Fire a gun near a crowd and they just continue going about their conversations. Expand
  97. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    Saints Row the Third is in many ways superior to the previous titles. It is better looking, less buggy and provides a multitude of crazy things you can occupy yourself with. Solid single-player campaign with diverse missions, put down by a somewhat disappointing story. Lacking strong antagonists of Saints Row 2, the third title of the series seems as lost as it's protagonists are in theSaints Row the Third is in many ways superior to the previous titles. It is better looking, less buggy and provides a multitude of crazy things you can occupy yourself with. Solid single-player campaign with diverse missions, put down by a somewhat disappointing story. Lacking strong antagonists of Saints Row 2, the third title of the series seems as lost as it's protagonists are in the new city. The over the top antics can not hide the fact that narratively the game is rather weak. None the less, the core gameplay is superior in almost every level to the PC port of Saints Row 2. Expand
  98. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game, it was fun and the story was pretty good to. But when the story is over it's pretty boring, I wish there were more side missions and not the 15 minute activities that are the same that they put around. Regardless, great game.
  99. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    I love this stuff. Tried GTA and hate it. SR is lovely funny and all I like from a game like this. Nothing serious but good entertaining.
    Create your own #10 and drive like hell. fun, fun , fun ....
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Feb 29, 2012
    86
    The main difference between GTA and Saints Row is that, while Rockstar's infamous franchise seems to grow and mature as the years go by (like whiskey), Volition's sandbox follows the exact opposite path. Each chapter is more wacky than the last, its satirical approach uses extreme, adult- even vulgar humor and intense violence, to the point where one can only childishly giggle.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    70
    Remarkable and technically excellent urban action game comes with hilarious characters and catchy cooperative mode. Passive environment and repetitive content sunk the final verdict down. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    This game is magic. Occasionally offensive and funny magic, but magic nonetheless.