Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1014 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Years after taking Stilwater for their own, the Third Street Saints have evolved from street gang to household brand name, with Saints sneakers, Saints energy drinks and Johnny Gat bobble head dolls all available at a store near you. The Saints are kings of Stilwater, but their celebrity status has not gone unnoticed. The Syndicate, a legendary criminal fraternity with pawns in play all over the globe, has turned its eye on the Saints and demands tribute. Refusing to kneel to the Syndicate, you take the fight to a new city, playing out the most outlandish gameplay scenarios ever seen. Strap it on. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    93
    Saints Row The Third surprised the heck out of me. The GTA comparisons are inevitable, but they are vastly different games. While both hold a mirror up to reality, the reflections are vastly different. As absurd as GTA gets, it still keeps one foot firmly planted in reality. Saints Row has taken a flying leap off the roof of reality, howling the F-bomb while chugging a licensed energy drink all the way down… and I wouldn't have it any other way.
  2. Nov 28, 2011
    90
    Some teething issues aside, Saints Row: The Third offers up an expertly mixed concoction of hilarity and stupidity that's arrived just in time for the silly season.
  3. Jan 18, 2012
    90
    This game is magic. Occasionally offensive and funny magic, but magic nonetheless.
  4. Nov 21, 2011
    85
    Saints Row: The Third gives the people what they want and drops us into an open world adult theme park where we can treat ourselves to delightful acts of bloodshed and perversion. It doesn't take itself too seriously and only asks that you don't, either.
  5. Dec 2, 2011
    85
    Fantastic missions, outrageous weapons, and awesome vehicles make the open-world mayhem of Saints Row: The Third an absolute blast.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    83
    It's mad. In fact, it barely makes any sense at all. But for all its wonky bits, there's an odd charm to Volition's decision to leave nothing on the drawing board. It's not the largest sandbox, but it is packed full of brilliant toys. Saints Row: The Third's commitment to unrestricted, ridiculous fun is unflinching, and the product is a city full of glorious slapstick debauchery.
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    70
    Volition wrote a more or less coherent story, squeezed 101% out of the "sandbox minigame compilation" concept, improved the physics engine, and finally made a decent PC version, but the end result feels too derivative and forced. The surprisingly short single-player campaign (15 hours if you're not trying to comb an entire map) doesn't help.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 272
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Masterpiece!This Is A Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Saints Row: The Third is generally a great game, there are some missions that seem too repetitive but that did not stop me from having a fantastic time with my friends on CO-OP or by myself. The only problem I have with Saints Row: The Third is the DLCs. They should have already included these DLCs for the game free of charge. There is no way I will pay for a DLC, considering the price. Honestly, it's an amazing game and there is almost endless fun to be had! I'd recommend it. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year, GTA on steroids. This game is explosive, fun, and takes gaming to a level we have never seen before. This game is the bad boy of the gaming industry. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Game: Saints Row The Third Genre: Action Developer: THQ Volition System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 93/100 Value Score: 9.3/10 • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 10/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 10/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Fun and Addictive open world atmosphere
    +A lot of great weapons and attacks to use
    +Very colorful game
    +A lot of humorous moments
    +Storyline is quite well made
    +Multiplayer Co-Op Campaign is well made
    +Additional play modes are a nice addition aside from the main gameplay

    Cons
    -Unable to use custom tracks compared to GTA
    -Not as much mods as you would expect in a PC game
    Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Really fun game.
    Dumbed down version of SR1 and SR2, but still fun to play.
    Lots of comparisons to previous games and to GTA IV, but having
    played all of them,
    it deserves a place on its own.
    mainstream campaign missions too short.
    Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2012
    7
    I'll say it now. I took issue with saints row 2. Even excluding the pc version which I would objectively give a 1/10 due to being flatout broken. It never managed to be fun for me. And yeah, in this specific case it was a the sum of it's negative parts. The gunplay never felt good, the driving felt wrong somehow, the minigames, while creative felt like some poor budget game. The aesthetics where so bad they where flatout broken, nothing was lit, everything was sickening. Under all these elements that I hated about saints row 2, was some potential. It has a **** of side content, most of which was insane. And it has some great storyline missions. Saints row 3 reduces side content, one of the major draws of the average original. So does that make it worse then? Not at ALL. The game looks great, runs great, feels like a game, instead of cardboard boxes moving around. Now while the actual content is less diverse, and this is about 1/3rd the size and diversity of saints row 2 - it's a FAR better game. Mechanics, the feel of controls, all these things do matter. The presentation matters. And while I would certainly prefer saints row 3 to have the content of saints row 2 - I actually completed saints row 3. Whereas I feel phisically ill every time I play 2. These little details add up. It's also got more of a tone than saints row 2. It's own sense of style that separates it from everything else. It does insanity better, it takes that extra step towards being it's own entity. In the end, I think saints row 3 is a fantastic game that is too short. Whereas saints row 2 is a absolutely terrible game that is very long. Hopefully saints row 4 can have a lot of content, while keeping the style and feel of 3. That would be a 9/10 right there. Expand
  7. May 4, 2012
    0
    The game is pretty good, GTA has better chars and story, however the buggy escort missions ruin the game. They need to clean up the AI in this game, all 3 have had the same problem and it makes the game flawed. Expand

See all 272 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.