Samurai Gunn Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Samurai Gunn is a 2-4 Player local multiplayer game. Each player is armed with a sword and gun, with only 3 bullets to a life. Both swords and bullets can be deflected with clever control and timing. Levels range from thick bamboo forests that can be hacked through, to vertically-looping cliffs and caverns which bear walls that can be sharpened to deadly points. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jan 27, 2014
    90
    Samurai Gunn is a game about little else, really: you spawn, you fight, you fall, and then you spawn again - and fall again...This is hectic and hilarious and exhausting, in other words, and it's also very clever with its focus.
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    83
    An excellent example of how games can do more with less. Its combat is deceptively simple, there are no character advantages, and the tight, dangerous environments each feel unique. However, the lack of an online multiplayer mode will likely keep it relegated to “great party game” status.
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Samurai Gunn revels in its own simplicity.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Every time I play it I feel like I've mastered a new piece of the physics engine, or a new nuance to wall-jumping. It's one of those games that keeps on giving years later due to a solid foundation, so long as you have the company to enjoy it with.
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    It’s a masterclass of design purity: every one of these elements exists for a reason, and its potential is exploited to the fullest. But Samurai Gunn’s genius lies in its dizzying speed. It condenses organic, balletic setpieces worthy of an action flick finale into mere seconds, the ground filling up with the bloodied pixel remains of the fallen.
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    80
    An exciting, kinetic single-screen multiplayer with excellent level design, but little to reward the solo player.
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    60
    If the combat system had more depth to it, Samurai Gunn would have been much more enjoyable.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    It's not possible to play this game and not like it.

    The only negative I've heard thrown around is "lack of an online multiplayer." But the
    game simply *would not work* online. Even a little bit of lag would ruin the game from the inside out. I *prefer* local multiplayer for a game like this. Teknopants has taken a somewhat controversial stance on this, for his game, consistent with his design for what the player should experience, and I support it 100%. It wasn't a decision made lightly, and there is no solution short of speeding up the internet as a whole to the point where average pings are at the level of LAN play, and are as consistent. But that rather goes without saying, doesn't it?

    So, assuming you're convinced that the local-only nature of this game is not the fault of the developer, you should be asking, "Are there any other problems, negatives or downsides?"

    No.

    F*cking buy this game, right f*cking now. It is amaze-balls. If you have at least one friend, you *will* have the time of your life cutting each others' faces off. Guaranteed.
    Collapse
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    This game is a must if you have a brother or sister. You each (and up to 4 players totally) pick a samurai armed with a katana and a 3 bullet pistol and face off in a stage using your reflexes and your super jumping ability. The match is over pretty quickly when a player reaches 10 kills with dying by traps costing him one kill, but you'll definitely want to play again immediately. The art style and the sound are both great and controls are really easy to learn. My only problem with the game is that it lacks a menu for mach preferences(like custom time limit, custom kills limit...) Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Samurai Gunn is beautiful, slick, and charming. I was astounded! This is a incredibly slick take on local co-op. We've run almost 20 hours worth of it so far at parties, and it's been a smash hit. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This game is so good that I was going to make it before I even heard of Samurai Gunn. I am in game development and had an idea to make a samurai one-hit-kill game. It's a good concept and Teknopants did a good job. It's Super Smash Brothers without the complexity or button mashing. It was released with a few bugs, but they are being patched. Now, you will notice that some people will say the lack of online multiplayer hurts the game's score, but I think this is a good thing. This incourages people to be more social in real life. Also, online multiplayer is bad for fast-paced fighting games like this, because a little bit of lag can go a long way.

    In conclusion, this game is a must buy. Well, I guess I have to make something else. Stay tuned for a game by me (Hydro Cobra).
    Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This game SHOULD be at-least an 8 or 9. However, it has been released a little bit unfinished. For that it gets a 7 (will update pending patches).

    The gameplay is fast and frenetic, and far better with friends than on your own. Learning timings and improving your skills are very satisfying. Definitely recommend this for people who like to compete with their friends as it is incredibly fun.

    Really look forward to how it changes in the coming weeks and months.
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    the game has a solid and fun combat system however for 15 dollars it should have much more then just that. aside from the visuals the gameplay never changes and is literally the same gameplay repeated with different stages without any real progression or change. The lack of online multiplayer aside, there's nothing to keep you interested in the game and it's definitely not worth 15 dollars as alot of gamers will be easily bored after an hour or two session of the game. Expand
  7. Jan 15, 2014
    0
    Way too expensive for the content it has.

    Here's a list of the stuff that should be in the game but somehow isn't:
    - replays
    - an option
    to base spawning on the proximity of the enemy, so that you won't spawn near players and be able to instakill them just because you got lucky.
    - tournament mode in which you choose how many matches you want to play and the winner will be the one who wins the most. There could be some stats shown between each match. You could choose which levels you want to play or have the game randomise them.
    - an option to play continuously, without being thrown to main menu after the match.
    - an option to choose whether I want to see the menu instantly or wait for it to fade in (the former, the effect is cool the first time but it's tedious to wait for the menu to pop up after being thrown to it after a finished match).

    I can't recommend getting the game at it's basic price. It's really fun and has a great soundtrack but at the same time it feels like an early beta at this point. Wait for a sale.
    Expand