Sanctum 2 PC

Sanctum 2 Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 366 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Sanctum 2 players assume the role of one of four elite soldiers, each with their own unique abilities and weapons whose mission is to protect the Cores from hordes of mysterious alien creatures on the human colony planet, LOEK III. Melding the best elements of the tower defense andIn Sanctum 2 players assume the role of one of four elite soldiers, each with their own unique abilities and weapons whose mission is to protect the Cores from hordes of mysterious alien creatures on the human colony planet, LOEK III. Melding the best elements of the tower defense and first-person genres, players are challenged to protect the Cores. In each scenario, players must set up defensive towers to take out waves of attacking enemies and ensure victory. However, Sanctum 2 is not just a game where players sit back and watch the action unfold. Instead they jump into the fray head-on in FPS mode to light up the opposition with a wide array of weapons, some of which you've never seen before in an FPS game. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. May 14, 2013
    90
    While Sanctum 2 is still a tough game, it’s tough in smart substantive ways that add up. Opting for this instead of the punitive approach that Sanctum was built on has made for a far superior product in the form of Sanctum 2.
  2. May 16, 2013
    85
    Planning gets you ahead, but making choices in the heat of the moment is just as important. This dichotomy makes Sanctum 2 some of the most fun I've had with a tower defense game in a long time.
  3. May 23, 2013
    83
    Sanctum 2 remains a refreshing hybrid of two genres, tower defense and FPS. The result is a unique game experience.
  4. May 15, 2013
    80
    Sanctum 2 is a good blending of two very different genres. Just keep in mind that you need a great passion for challenges and strategy to enjoy it at its fullest.
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    76
    Sanctum 2 surpasses the original game in practically everything, and, despite a few design flaws, is very addictive.
  6. May 28, 2013
    75
    Sanctum 2 at the very least improves on every aspect of its clunky predecessor, offering smoother and more enjoyable gameplay and living up to the great promise offered by the premise.
  7. Jul 9, 2013
    60
    Sanctum 2 is a jack of some trades, and while it doesn't master them it makes them a lot of fun.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 99
  2. Negative: 37 out of 99
  1. Sno
    Jun 27, 2013
    10
    A fantastic tower defence fps game. Hours of fun, well designed maps and an interesting story make for an awesome game. Almost everythingA fantastic tower defence fps game. Hours of fun, well designed maps and an interesting story make for an awesome game. Almost everything that was wrong with the first Sanctum has been fixed in this version. Great job coffee stain studios! Expand
  2. May 18, 2013
    10
    Fun to play, addicting and fresh; FP TD with the cheesiness to make it fun, but not overloaded on it. great game! didn't play the first oneFun to play, addicting and fresh; FP TD with the cheesiness to make it fun, but not overloaded on it. great game! didn't play the first one but this game sure made my day. Also cheep too!! 8) Expand
  3. May 16, 2013
    10
    sanctum 2 is like a chilled out steely dan song, seemingly shallow, but accessible, at first but dig deep into it and you find all sortssanctum 2 is like a chilled out steely dan song, seemingly shallow, but accessible, at first but dig deep into it and you find all sorts intricacies, grooves, earworms and love Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    Sanctum 2 is an all-round fun FPS and tower defense game, with difficult enemy encounters and dazzling game-play, even if a little lacking.Sanctum 2 is an all-round fun FPS and tower defense game, with difficult enemy encounters and dazzling game-play, even if a little lacking.
    7/10 - Ben Hazelden
    Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2014
    5
    As a game, it does alright. As a sequel to Sanctum, it leaves much to be desired. I really enjoyed Sanctum for what it was, it definitelyAs a game, it does alright. As a sequel to Sanctum, it leaves much to be desired. I really enjoyed Sanctum for what it was, it definitely wasn't perfect but it was good and had lot's of potential. Really the game isn't bad, it's just not good. If you can pick it up on sale 50% off I'd say grab it, otherwise just pass on this one. As consumers, we vote with money and we shouldn't support developers that add new features at the expense of removing old GOOD features without good reason. Expand
  6. May 15, 2013
    2
    It's essentially Call of Duty: Sanctum Mod, with little resemblance at all to the first game. The gunplay is stiff and unsatisfying, mazeIt's essentially Call of Duty: Sanctum Mod, with little resemblance at all to the first game. The gunplay is stiff and unsatisfying, maze and tower placement is clunky and stagnant, and you will spend your entire time just running from spawn point to spawn point to spawn point in claustrophobic maps. I'm not a graphics person, but the game aesthetically took a dive as well.

    -No weapon upgrades (Perk system instead)
    -Ridiculously slow reload times (they prompt you to "Switch weapons!")
    -You have to run to the core to collect your resources in between rounds, which are limited.
    -Only one person in coop can place towers.

    It feels like a bad version of Halo with some perfunctory tower defenses. Buy Super Sanctum TD instead.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    Having bought this game on a 85% off sale on steam in January, and now another 90% off sale today, is a clear sign of how bad this sequelHaving bought this game on a 85% off sale on steam in January, and now another 90% off sale today, is a clear sign of how bad this sequel really is. I have not played this game once I had read the reviews, that's how bad it was. And now I think I'll only play it if I'm really bored out of my mind. What was brandished as a TD/FPS hybrid game, is now really just a FPS game with a few drones. There is no passive strategy, just mindless shooting at hordes. If you wanted something like that, you might as well play left 4 dead 2. A TD game *must* incorporate passive strategy at its core or else it's not. I was not entirely pleased with Sanctum 1 to begin with seeing how much they valued the FPS aspect, Sanctum 2 just confirms my displeasure.

    I orginally stayed away from titles like Orcs Must Die because I really do prefer cleaner and sleeker graphics, but if there's nothing else out there that resembles a decent TD or TD/FPS, they may as well take my business, too.
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews