Sang-Froid: Tales of Werewolves Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Written in collaboration with best-selling Quebec author Bryan Perro (Amos Daragon and Wariwulf), Sang-Froid: A tale of werewolves transports players into the 19th century, to a Canada of legend populated with will-o'-the-wisps, Windigos and werewolves, in which two feuding brothers willWritten in collaboration with best-selling Quebec author Bryan Perro (Amos Daragon and Wariwulf), Sang-Froid: A tale of werewolves transports players into the 19th century, to a Canada of legend populated with will-o'-the-wisps, Windigos and werewolves, in which two feuding brothers will have to put aside their differences to save their sister, who is pursued by the Devil himself. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    100
    Something as imaginatively conceived and cunningly executed as Song-froid needs a longer lifespan than its 20 calendar days. Games this good don’t come around often enough, and this one could probably only come from a group of independent and inexperienced developers who don’t know enough to know that what they’re doing is, well, kind of unprecedented.
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    90
    This is a rare game that feels like it was made because its creators simply had to execute on the idea, even if that meant they had to teach themselves how to do it. With that kind of foundation, it's more than worth the effort of teaching yourself how to play it properly.
  3. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    Sang-Froid is a tower defense and action game fun mix that will suck you in. Its always the same setting won't annoy you until you hit the very ending. However, thanks to its constant additions of new traps and creatures, the game stays entertaining till the end where you get roughly after six or seven hours.
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    75
    The mechanics will keep you hooked with a fresh mix of strategic planning and real time action. Unfortunately the presentation can’t keep up.
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    75
    Sang-Froid has its share of flaws, most of which are typical for indie games, but it is easy to overlook them – after all, not every ‘tower defense’ offers an original concept, cool gameplay mechanics, and a captivating story.
  6. CD-Action
    Aug 2, 2013
    75
    Despite the simplicity of the combat system it’s hard to quit this game. [CD-Action 09/2013, p.71]
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    70
    It's difficult to grade games that are as good, as they are bad (and vice versa). You need to consider how certain good and bad parts are important to you. In that case Sang-Froid looks better, than you might think. You need to keep a blind eye for the graphics, some unfortunate mechanics and take long breaks between sessions - then the game can be pleasant. Of course it's still not a AAA game, but it should provide some satisfaction.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Unique game! I couldn't stop playing til I finished it. Highly recommend especially for the price. Cant wait til next tomb and lookingUnique game! I couldn't stop playing til I finished it. Highly recommend especially for the price. Cant wait til next tomb and looking forward to dev's other projects as well. Easy paced and excellent tutorials. Even if you dont really like the supernatural elements like I do...this game is just pure fun. Music and artwork alone would have sold it for me...as they both are just awesome! Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Game is amazing, go buy it now, not much else to say!

    Amazing music, good gameplay, some great ideas, good atmosphere and it is a hell of
    Game is amazing, go buy it now, not much else to say!

    Amazing music, good gameplay, some great ideas, good atmosphere and it is a hell of alot of fun to play. Yet another great indie game for PC, if you own a gaming PC and enjoy defense games or strategy games like Xcom, check this out!

    Oh yeah, it is also hilarious and is canadian, check it out!
    Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best takes on Canadian Quebecois folklore intertwined into a RTS setting. Didn't know what to expect from this game but I'mOne of the best takes on Canadian Quebecois folklore intertwined into a RTS setting. Didn't know what to expect from this game but I'm impressed, especially by the storyline Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    This is an excelent game for its price, is a new way of playing tower defense, you build your defenses and supplies on the day and control aThis is an excelent game for its price, is a new way of playing tower defense, you build your defenses and supplies on the day and control a character in the night where you defend your base. The graphics are nice for being cartoony,very fun gameplay, if you play on hard its very challenging which is something I always like in a game, good music, an ok story. It cloud get a 10 if it improved a little in some areas. This game brings a new experience with an idea not tried before and for only 15$ its much better than all of those 40$ first person shooter,unoriginal story and gameplay games, you should buy sang froid if you want to try a fun game with a different style. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    Folktales twist what is familiar into something beautiful & mysterious, a fantastic story that characterizes a place better than reality. ThisFolktales twist what is familiar into something beautiful & mysterious, a fantastic story that characterizes a place better than reality. This game is a Canadian folktale. It is a tale of the snowy frontier and the brave lumberjacks who lived there, where the Christian god and native spirits coexist, and the Devil's minions are fought off with cunning, traps, and whiskey. Like the best folk tales, it covers familiar ground, yet is unusual enough to stay lodged in your mind.

    It plays like the love child of Orcs Must Die! and Rainbow Six, combining third-person defense with a Planning Phase. Although it looks like a tower defense game at first, it doesn't play like one; it's more methodical, cautious, toning down both the enemies and your own abilities. Each wave only has 4-10 enemies, but just one of them can threaten you in a straight-up fight and each of your traps only works once. You can't set new traps between waves, either; instead, you view your enemies' numbers and paths during the day, concoct a plan, and set up your traps before night falls. You do not funnel dozens of enemies into a growing Corridor of Death, you carefully lay out bait over spike traps to kill 3 of the incoming werewolves and rely on your rifle & axe to kill the last one.

    Personal combat cycles between attacking and recovering: your 1850s rifle takes several seconds to reload after each shot and your melee attacks drain your Stamina bar until you take a breather. There's a Fear Factor that makes enemies hesitate before attacking you, giving you time to reload your rifle or recover your Stamina, but I found the best strategy was to make sure they were nearly dead before they reached me. I spent about 60% of my time in the Planning Phase, double-checking my trap placement and making sure I had some spare holy bullets & drink in case it fell apart. Sometimes they chewed through bait faster than I expected, or I'd miss a shot with a ballista, or they caught a whiff of my scent in the wind and beelined towards me, and I had to retreat to an emergency bonfire to keep them at bay while I picked them off one-by-one. Slowly reloading a rifle while two werewolves circled my bonfire was a slow-burn tension I don't experience often in games.

    The game's story has the same pacing. It plays out like a folktale, not an action film. Over several weeks in December, two feuding brothers try to work out their relationship and protect their younger sister, who prophesizes the Invisible Beast will run rampant on Christmas Eve unless they stop him. The Devil wants to kidnap her, but here he acts more like the Trickster of myth than the final boss of a game, sending his minions after them and turning the townsfolk against them. Even the final boss feels subdued compared to other, more frantic games: you've gathered everything you need to defeat him, and now you just have to hunt him down in the dark woods, man-vs-beast, as heavy chanting punctuates the inevitability of it.

    The folk music really sells the game's setting. They licensed several tunes from Canadian folk bands, providing haunting chants & violin pieces for the slower parts of the game and Irish jigs for the fights. It sounds like something you'd hear in a logging town pub on a cold wintry night, and is perfect for fighting werewolves deep in the Canadian wilderness. The graphics are a bit crude & cartoony, but they fit well enough with the folktale style that I didn't mind them. There were even a few times I just stopped to look at the moon rising over the dark forest.

    My biggest gripe about the game is that the controls occasionally feel sticky & clumsy. Sometimes it took multiple attempts to drag inventory around during Planning, or I would focus attacks on the wrong beast during the night. It was a bit frustrating at times, but I never lost a fight due to it, and with the game's emphasis on planning instead of action, it didn't come up often.

    It certainly shouldn't stop you from trying this game. It's a defense game that emphasizes planning & care and gives it the feel of a frontier folktale. I've grown bored of tower defense games, but I'd love to see where they take these mechanics, and the continuing tale of the O'Carroll brothers, next.

    Sang-Froid can be bought on Steam for $15. It took me 7 hours to complete the game on Normal difficulty.
    Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    7
    I love the premise and the story as well as the setting. It is very original in many ways but the combat is a bit awkward and the nights thatI love the premise and the story as well as the setting. It is very original in many ways but the combat is a bit awkward and the nights that you have to survive are not well balanced. Some nights you blow throw with ease while others rely on luck to survive rather than strategy. But I really think they have something here although it is under developed and under executed but is also something that could easily be expanded and improved with a bit more balancing and better execution. The voice acting is one major down fall of the game but its also not the worst. Collapse
  7. Aug 23, 2013
    2
    Trash, complete and utter trash. The game starts off easy, then around level 6 (or whatever level ziplines are introduced) it gets impossible.Trash, complete and utter trash. The game starts off easy, then around level 6 (or whatever level ziplines are introduced) it gets impossible. Literally impossible. I'm a huge fan of hard games, but this game is so stupidly hard it's frustrating. I havn't seen this bad of a job at voice acting since my childhood school play. The gameplay is as repetitive as can be, and the graphics aren't even unique. Go buy something else, not this garbage. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings