Savage 2: A Tortured Soul PC

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    88
    Savage 2 combines first/third person multiplayer action and real-time strategy and does it very well. The learning curve is quite steep, because the tutorial and the manual are lacking but that’s the only major problem with game. [Mar 2008]
  2. 83
    In combining the team-based action of games like Tribes and Battlefield with an original fantasy setting and a ground-level RTS mechanic, they've come up with something that's unlike anything else on the market right now...except the original Savage, of course.
  3. Predictably Savage 2 has its detractors as well as its supporters, but there’s no denying that there’s absolutely no other game series out there that does what it does.
  4. PC Zone UK
    82
    If you can, buy this with four friends, make a team and watch in awe as an excellent RPSRPGRTS unfolds around you. [Apr 2008, p.74]
  5. As a whole, Savage 2 follows very closely to the formula laid out by the original title. And despite the overall lack of players, those who enjoy both a challenge and strategic teamplay will find a lot to like in Savage 2.
  6. The game offers a ton of quality action for a low price.
  7. Savage 2 is a good game, fairly original, focused on team play. The organization of clans where everybody knows their role adds to the excitement.
  8. To sum things up, Savage 2 is an enjoyable experience, and even though the mix of genres brings nothing new to any of them, it is still well-implemented and fun to play.
  9. While it isn't a next-generation title, the game will provide all the exciting gameplay, depth of strategy, and replay value that gamers expect in today's multiplayer-only titles.
  10. Savage 2 is something of an anomaly in the current lineup of PC games, borrowing elements from Natural Selection, Planetside, Hellgate: London and others. Whether you’re a RTS fan, a FPS junkie, or you’re looking for the next great competitive action RPG, you’ll find something to like in Savage 2.
  11. PC Gamer
    73
    If you can get past the steep learning curve, Savage 2 can be a lot of fun, whether you want to hack and slash or work with teammates on coordinating tactics. [May 2008, p.68]
  12. PC Gamer UK
    70
    Huge, bold, but not particularly savage. [Apr 2008, p.68]
  13. 67
    Savage 2 isn't perfect -- squads are semirandomized smatterings of players unable to communicate or coordinate fluidly as of this writing, and the game can be overwhelming to new players -- but its ambition is matched only by the amount of fun you'll have playing.
  14. If anything, Savage 2 leaves us with the distinct impression that perhaps the gaming world just isn’t ready for these two popular genres to join together in holy matrimony.
  15. 60
    The glitches and lag, however, are quite annoying, and the individual aspects of the title – FPS and RTS – just don’t compare to other standalone games.
  16. Play (Poland)
    60
    The commander of the troops can enjoy this unique game much more than one of the hapless folks bleeding on the field of battle. And amongst them being a mage beats being a grunt in almost every respect. The hand to hand combat is so fast and random that it's hard to feel satisfaction even when you are winning. [March 2008]
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 51
  2. Negative: 8 out of 51
  1. Rob
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    It's exactly what I was looking as a 64 bit Linux user. The game reminds me of Rune but a lot much better. The developers went far and It's exactly what I was looking as a 64 bit Linux user. The game reminds me of Rune but a lot much better. The developers went far and beyond for the Linux user. I love the game, we just have to continue spreading the news and experience. You've raised the bar. Kudos and thanks a lot! Full Review »
  2. GPVE
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    This game has combined many elements into a great game. After playing games for so many years its nice to see something new, which i This game has combined many elements into a great game. After playing games for so many years its nice to see something new, which i haven't in a long time With the latest patches the game is getting even better. I agree the FPS hand-to-hand combat could be improved upon a bit. I am eager to see what this company does in the future Full Review »
  3. RobertH.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    What should I say? Just fantastic!

    Perfect game which brings a lot of fun! The effects and the graphis look really pretty and the sounds?
    What should I say? Just fantastic!

    Perfect game which brings a lot of fun! The effects and the graphis look really pretty and the sounds? Just amazing! There so much ways to play the game or to sikk you charachter,,,,This game just perfect....and every patch makes it just better!
    Just test the demo! You will see what I'm talking about...
    Full Review »