User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 103
  2. Negative: 11 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rob
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    It's exactly what I was looking as a 64 bit Linux user. The game reminds me of Rune but a lot much better. The developers went far and beyond for the Linux user. I love the game, we just have to continue spreading the news and experience. You've raised the bar. Kudos and thanks a lot!
  2. RobertH.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    What should I say? Just fantastic!

    Perfect game which brings a lot of fun! The effects and the graphis look really pretty and the sounds? Just amazing! There so much ways to play the game or to sikk you charachter,,,,This game just perfect....and every patch makes it just better!
    Just test the demo! You will see what I'm talking about...
  3. GPVE
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    This game has combined many elements into a great game. After playing games for so many years its nice to see something new, which i haven't in a long time With the latest patches the game is getting even better. I agree the FPS hand-to-hand combat could be improved upon a bit. I am eager to see what this company does in the future
  4. TechnoArtist
    Jan 23, 2008
    8
    This game completly rocks. Its pretty much like WoW Battlegrounds without the grinding and leveling. The whole time you are participating in a RTS war from the FPS game persepective or you could be the commander and play from the RTS persepective. Its truly something original and amazing that an indie developer could come up with it. Its a new release so theres a bug here and there, but This game completly rocks. Its pretty much like WoW Battlegrounds without the grinding and leveling. The whole time you are participating in a RTS war from the FPS game persepective or you could be the commander and play from the RTS persepective. Its truly something original and amazing that an indie developer could come up with it. Its a new release so theres a bug here and there, but the team seems very adamant about fixing these. There is a 5 hour demo avalible from thier website and soon as the timer ran out I bought it and never had to leave the game! Expand
  5. SumanituW.
    Feb 13, 2008
    9
    Savage 2 is an incredibly fun teams based fps that has a few bugs that still need worked out. The development team is doing a good job of fixing bugs and the game is already well worth the 30 dollar price of admission.
  6. IgorM.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    The game is pretty amazing, the development team is very responsive to the community and take a lot of their suggestions. A lot of the forum posts are answered by one of the developers which makes this game a great indie title. The mapping and modding will be great too because first off its very simple modding since most of the stuff you edit is just xml files. Mapping is also very simple The game is pretty amazing, the development team is very responsive to the community and take a lot of their suggestions. A lot of the forum posts are answered by one of the developers which makes this game a great indie title. The mapping and modding will be great too because first off its very simple modding since most of the stuff you edit is just xml files. Mapping is also very simple but can get complex if you apply a lot of triggers. Expand
  7. STARSBarry
    Jan 13, 2008
    0
    im sorry but this game is baraily playable, being a fan of the last game i was hoping for so much, what i got was a horrible laggy unstable peace of trash on a woefull engine that eats resources likes it crysis but displays graphics akin to doom 2.5

    iv seen single man mod teams do better in 2 weeks
  8. BrandonM.
    Feb 7, 2008
    4
    The concept is interesting, but it only carries the game so far before the lack of effort on the developer shows through. A month after release, the game still only has 4 maps, 2 of them from Savage 1. Indicative of their general attitude, the developers cheat horribly in the online matches and delete forum threads discussing it when the community tries to take a stand on the issue.
  9. Maria
    Jan 21, 2010
    4
    Players who were good at Savage 1 generally don't like Savage 2. So many preordered it and got heavily disappointed. The huge amount of RPG elements added - in order to make Savage 2 more beginner friendly than Savage 1 - turned a good FPS and RTS experience into a medocre FPS, poor RTS and poor RPG experience. The game is a lot less rewarding and fun.
  10. PaulB.
    Jan 30, 2008
    6
    An ambitious attempt to provide an improved sequel to the original genre-blending game. However, it falls short in several key areas. The game is buggy and lags a bit too much - especially considering that S2 has self-published this as a digital download and should NOT have had to rush this game out the door before fixing those issues. An even more glaring sin is that you have to buy the An ambitious attempt to provide an improved sequel to the original genre-blending game. However, it falls short in several key areas. The game is buggy and lags a bit too much - especially considering that S2 has self-published this as a digital download and should NOT have had to rush this game out the door before fixing those issues. An even more glaring sin is that you have to buy the Collector's Edition to get ANY kind of manual at all - paper-bound or digital. Yes, you read that right, you won't get a manual with the game, just some crummy advice on the website and a tutorial that is broken halfway through it. Lovely. Gameplay is a bit too frenetic and the learning curve is going to scare away a LOT of players, particularly without a manual. The Commander mode, while nifty, doesn't seem particularly functional and it seems like every other second you're running into some kind of preventive rule against building anything. Probably the worst issue is that it's slippery slope gameplay, in that most of the time one team will start to get rolling and rarely will they lose once the tide is turned in their favor. So, all in all, just not quite the game that Savage fans had been hoping for. The potential for some enjoyment is there but overall, it's just not terribly exciting. Expand
  11. HansW.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    Good action, balanced ans lot of fun. its like battle grounds in wow.
  12. CarlK
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    This is a very innovative and brilliant game (it uses the an FPS world equivalent of rock/paper/scissors for melêe fighting. Which might sound boring, but is awesome and forces you out of the button mashing fest that melêe fighting usually is). While it does have a steep learning curve, it is very rewarding. An even (or close to even game) is, for me, one of the best FPS/RTS This is a very innovative and brilliant game (it uses the an FPS world equivalent of rock/paper/scissors for melêe fighting. Which might sound boring, but is awesome and forces you out of the button mashing fest that melêe fighting usually is). While it does have a steep learning curve, it is very rewarding. An even (or close to even game) is, for me, one of the best FPS/RTS experiences in a very long time. The latest patches has fixed a very large number of issues with the initial version. Heartily recommended! Expand
  13. JoeM.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    This is one of the greats folks! Savage 2 will have you addicted from the get-go! An FPS, RTS, RPG all-in one with live stats, replays, and LAN play at no monthly cost... what more could you ask for? To top it off, the staff at S2Games are actually active members of their community and are willing to do whatever it takes to make the game even better than it already is through free content This is one of the greats folks! Savage 2 will have you addicted from the get-go! An FPS, RTS, RPG all-in one with live stats, replays, and LAN play at no monthly cost... what more could you ask for? To top it off, the staff at S2Games are actually active members of their community and are willing to do whatever it takes to make the game even better than it already is through free content patches and regular bug fixes/updates. I can't wait to see what this innovative inde comes up with next. Expand
  14. MatthiasM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    Savage 2 is the game for every human beeing out there. If you wanna play some RTS, play savage2. If you wanna have a FPS or TPS, Play Savage2. You`ve got Items, Bases, Teamplay. You`ve got definitely EVERYTHING what means fun in a game nowadays. Try it out, I swear you wont regret it :)
  15. AlexO
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Your critic review is that of the first stable version, which did not have any bugs ironed out. S2 has since made numerous improvements to the game, as well as bug fixes. This is the only game on the market which offers such a unique and refined blend of action and strategy that it deserves a 10. I cannot think of a reason to give this game anything less.
  16. JakeH
    Aug 3, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing, although I've never played savage1, which is what people seem to be complaining about. I like how its PvP which is what interests me in games. You can't play pure FPS but you do have to use it, people complain that the guns do barely any damage, they dont do alot, but they could make you win by an extra swing of the sword, or claw.
  17. DarrenB.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Bit of a learning curve, but when stuff gets moving there are just so many options. Great stuff. Dont go into it thinking u can play it just like an FPS though or u will die. Alot.
  18. KP
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Finally a melee based game where you actually have to do something. Some people say it's too luck based and that the melee fighting is too fast to react effectively. But that is not completely true. When you start playing it might seem like that but with some practice you can really become better. Of course if you charge at your enemies and start clicking mouse buttons at random you Finally a melee based game where you actually have to do something. Some people say it's too luck based and that the melee fighting is too fast to react effectively. But that is not completely true. When you start playing it might seem like that but with some practice you can really become better. Of course if you charge at your enemies and start clicking mouse buttons at random you don't stand a chance, but if you don't panic and wait for your enemy to do something, you can react effectively. The fact that some players kick my ass while other players barely put up a fight proves that it's not random. Also a player who is playing for 20 minutes in a game has not a big advantage over a player that plays for 3 minutes. Some classes cost more than others, but they are not overpowering. Two Shape Shifters can bring down a Legionnaire if they use spells and teamwork. It's not just a graphic improvement of Savage 1. The units are better balanced (as I already mentioned), the melee system is vastly improved, ranged weapons have become less important (which was really annoying in Savage 1: if a group of people attacked with ranged units melee combat was impossible), thanks to the automated steam mines and mine groves you don't have to mine yourself anymore, Stamina system is better (more stamina with faster reload but attacking costs stamina too, predifined classes (some consider this bad but I think it's a good thing because a legionnaire with a markman's bow was somewhat overpowering, now you have classes made for archery, made for melee combat, etc). I guess you hate the game or you love the game (you can see it at the scores people give), but I really love it. Expand
  19. AlK.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    This is a one-of-a-kind gaming experience. S2 works hard on this game to keep the community happy. I love it.
  20. BruloG
    May 8, 2008
    5
    I expected savage2 to be Savage1 sequel without the balance/gameplay flaw and with a better engine. The truth is that Savage2 was basically remade from scratch. S2games tried to re invent the wheel on things that shouldn't had been changed. I think what have made Savage1 so fun is lost in savage2. It's terribly hard to enjoy if you ever played the first of the name because it I expected savage2 to be Savage1 sequel without the balance/gameplay flaw and with a better engine. The truth is that Savage2 was basically remade from scratch. S2games tried to re invent the wheel on things that shouldn't had been changed. I think what have made Savage1 so fun is lost in savage2. It's terribly hard to enjoy if you ever played the first of the name because it feels like a downgrade. Expand
  21. RobertH.
    Jul 6, 2008
    10
    This game combines 3 Genres on a wonderfull way! The graphic and the effects look really pretty. There a lot of different possibilitys to your charachter and let him become more individual. Games Like "Savage 2: A Tortured Soul" are maybe the last hope of new, non used game ideas for ervery gamer... Just test the game, you will see that i'm right.
  22. KenP
    Sep 18, 2008
    10
    A very entertaining game, were u will never feel bored. Constantly action! It requires some skills to have fun but dont let that get u down, after a few games ut right on the top of it ready to rumble!
  23. NickG
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    A mixture of RTS and first person shooters. With engaging melee combat and characters that have some rpg qualities as well. The only game of its kind and one of the top games of 2008. Not much marketing though.
  24. JonathanH
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    The game has been out for quite a while. Since its release S2Games has overhauled the melee system. The game has been changed in many ways, all of it for the better. Its balanced, much less buggy, a much more complete game, and the visuals have remained as stunning as ever. It has elements of RTS, MMO, and FPS, but you must keep in mind that Savage 2 is a very unique game. You cannot play The game has been out for quite a while. Since its release S2Games has overhauled the melee system. The game has been changed in many ways, all of it for the better. Its balanced, much less buggy, a much more complete game, and the visuals have remained as stunning as ever. It has elements of RTS, MMO, and FPS, but you must keep in mind that Savage 2 is a very unique game. You cannot play it as an FPS without embracing the other elements, and the induvidual attributes of it would not make a complete game. The true beauty is how they blend together into the seamless gameplay. The gameplay is skill based, very fast pace, and incredibly addictive. Oh, and did I mention the game is completely free now? Savage 2 has an incredibly great community, there are upcoming events to help newcomers, and always people ready and willing to lend a hand. The game has only been, and continues to be made better, and the community stands to reinforce that. This game is worth whatever ammount of time your going to spend on it. Expand
  25. RoryB.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    It's a very addicting, unique blend of FPS and RTS, with different roles for every play style. If you enjoyed Savage 1 you will definitely like this game. Also, the dev's are a small group with way more interaction with the community than any game I've played. They even regularly play games with everyone. If I had to say something bad, I'd say the player base is too It's a very addicting, unique blend of FPS and RTS, with different roles for every play style. If you enjoyed Savage 1 you will definitely like this game. Also, the dev's are a small group with way more interaction with the community than any game I've played. They even regularly play games with everyone. If I had to say something bad, I'd say the player base is too small at the moment, and there are a few crashes and bugs to be worked out. Other than that, it's a solid game all around, graphics, sound, gameplay, community, and it's a must have in my opinion. Expand
  26. MalikenS.
    Jan 28, 2008
    5
    Ever played Savage 1? Thats a good game. Which it only became after years of modding, and still has some (minor) problems till now. Savage 2 refuses to be a sequel, no problem. What a problem is: its like a dumbed Savage 1 with better graphics and lots of fun taken out.
  27. M.R.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    I like it. Yeah it has a few minor bugs but its true that the dev team is quick to fix problems. I find it interesting that even though there are big ads on websites like gamespot and ign. They have not reviewed it or even given much coverage. Its a quality title and the price is nice at 30 bones.
  28. RyanM.
    Jan 28, 2008
    5
    Tries to improve on Savage 1, fixes some problems, magnifies others, and ultimately falls short of its goal.
  29. TheSoldier1851
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    This Game is a great game it has a few bugs because it just came out, but the S2 Crew is working on them!!! I mean seriously theres no perfect game! It has many great Genres combined into one....hehe all of the 3 are my faves!!!!! RTS...FPS/TPS you can choose/ RPG!!! In this game normally you play as a soldier for your commander who will give you orders and buffs....Or you can choose to This Game is a great game it has a few bugs because it just came out, but the S2 Crew is working on them!!! I mean seriously theres no perfect game! It has many great Genres combined into one....hehe all of the 3 are my faves!!!!! RTS...FPS/TPS you can choose/ RPG!!! In this game normally you play as a soldier for your commander who will give you orders and buffs....Or you can choose to be the commander and lead your team and choose officers.....the RPG is in the part where you can level and you have stats and items! go over to S2games.com and try out the free 5 HOUR DEMO NOW! Expand
  30. RykerS.
    Feb 5, 2008
    3
    This game doesn't improve upon anything from the original Savage. For being a game released in 2008, the engine itself is a joke. For the most part, the game is mainly a third-person combat game because all the ranged weapons are awful, so the FPS part of it is non-existent. The RTS part is very limited, most strategies only consisting of flanking positions by building forward spawn This game doesn't improve upon anything from the original Savage. For being a game released in 2008, the engine itself is a joke. For the most part, the game is mainly a third-person combat game because all the ranged weapons are awful, so the FPS part of it is non-existent. The RTS part is very limited, most strategies only consisting of flanking positions by building forward spawn locations, but the maps are not designed to offer any creative tactics due to invisible walls/terrain which cannot be built on. The RPG part of it is also missing really. Sure, you can level up but there is no actual roleplaying involved. The game is advertised incorrectly on their site. Persistent Items do not drop in the game. The only way you can get them is by scratch-off tickets. You receive 1 ticket which gives you a random persistent item when you buy the game. In order to get more, you have to purchase the collector's edition. After that, you're screwed. No items drop in the game regardless of what the site says. There is no manual for this game and the site unit information is incorrect. For instance, some units on the pages have abilities that are not in the game. This game has several issues with stability, often causing disconnects or crashes to desktop. Also, there are several issues with binding controls which default when you restart the game. Some keys cannot be re-binded. The player base is so small, you will end up being forced to play against players on the top 20 player ladder who stack on one team, people who've been playing this game since the beta and are geared to the teeth with items. They've gone so far as to purchase multiple copies of the collector's edition just to get the right items. At any given time, there is at least 150 average players on 5 U.S. servers. Around 60 off-peak hours. This game fails in every area, is very buggy, is advertised incorrectly, and has a very small player base. Avoid this game. Expand
  31. Brandon
    Feb 9, 2008
    8
    Good but it has some issues and it needs to be streamlined for better performance. I have a very high end gaming PC and this game will lag from time to time on me which it totally shouldn't. Sometimes has a low player base, but overall an improvement over the original. Wish there was a free to play mode though so we could get more players. (I paid but others are cheap asses.
  32. Nils-M.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This game made me really addicted to it. Even if It takes some time to get used to the game, it's really worth taking the time. The game's style is very special, with its different possibilities of playing. I appeal to you to get this game, 'cause it's absolutely great.
  33. JoeyL.
    May 6, 2008
    8
    Presentation is great, the game actually looks like the same game on every graphics level; not too hard to grasp, and an easy pick-up.
  34. KevinSt
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Awesome.
  35. TomS.
    May 9, 2008
    10
    Savage 2 is simply one of the best games ever made in history, it combines first person shooter with Rpg and Rts and does it all amazingly. With the Combat System being as unique and as superior as it is and the to die for graphics it is without a doubt a 10. Teamwork is used in a unique way that is truly strategic and fast paced. Anyone who does not like this game really does not know Savage 2 is simply one of the best games ever made in history, it combines first person shooter with Rpg and Rts and does it all amazingly. With the Combat System being as unique and as superior as it is and the to die for graphics it is without a doubt a 10. Teamwork is used in a unique way that is truly strategic and fast paced. Anyone who does not like this game really does not know what they are talking about and it has never really lagged for me, downloading the new patches fixes tons of errors and glitches every time and it continues to get better and better. Savage 2 is a unique and growing game that stands among the best games ever made in history. Expand
  36. sethb
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    I think this is a great mixing of genre's. Although, it's a jack of all trades, a master of none. The FPS part is slower than many fps games and is weaker weapon wise, the rpg element is pretty strong although the customization is limited to chosing your unit, buying items, and uping 4 stats. The RTS part lacks micro for the commander as he just order's units and acts like I think this is a great mixing of genre's. Although, it's a jack of all trades, a master of none. The FPS part is slower than many fps games and is weaker weapon wise, the rpg element is pretty strong although the customization is limited to chosing your unit, buying items, and uping 4 stats. The RTS part lacks micro for the commander as he just order's units and acts like a scout/buffer. The fighting part is fast paced although rock paper scisor oriented. However these lesser parts add up to a solid whole. So it can't be compared to any one game as well it'll fall sort in that games catagory so it's in it's own field. It's a great game if you like team work. The only problem is the small community. So spread the word! Expand
  37. AmourBizarre
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    This is a really exciting game and there is no other game like this. In the first games you play, you will have not a real chance vs the more experienced players. But you get better with every game and more and more familiar with the complexity of the game mechanics and the fighting system. Playing as a "soldier" on the battlefield is totally different from playing a commander. You can This is a really exciting game and there is no other game like this. In the first games you play, you will have not a real chance vs the more experienced players. But you get better with every game and more and more familiar with the complexity of the game mechanics and the fighting system. Playing as a "soldier" on the battlefield is totally different from playing a commander. You can even be a builder (yes, these weak little busy guys, you probably know from many rts games). If the team works well together, you will have a very unique game expirience. On the other hand, this is also the only downside: if you have a bad team, especially with a commander, who dont know what do to, it can get a little bit frustrating. Cause its very hard to run around the map and try to solo everyone. Its all about the team. But this is a problem, that all team focused games (Team Fortress 2, Battlefield) have to deal with. Expand
  38. AurelianoF
    Aug 9, 2008
    3
    I can't believe i payed 20 dollars for this on Steam. I want my money back. This game is totally dissapointing. I was expecting something more like World of warcraft. But the online experience is quite frustrating. There's a huge lack of servers and those available are totally laggy. The playability is a complete pain. I don't recommend this.
  39. Sebastian
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Savage 2 is a complex game with a steep learning curve which makes improving that much more rewarding. Teamwork is at the heart of the game and there are plenty of clans to join. Look for Savage 2 - A Tortured Soul Trailer on youtube for an idea of what it's like.
  40. [ANONYMOUS]
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    One of the best - if not the best - multiplayer games out there. The reviews on this side is heavily outdated. Version 2.2 will soon be dropped which will refine the current melee. I hope there will be some "re-testing" then.
  41. PatrickP.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    This game is groundbreaking, Truly a fun game... It takes all my favorite aspects of gaming and throws it into one game... WITHOUT killing it entirely... Awesome!! A+
  42. JoshR.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible. The graphics are good for a RTS/FPS game. The lag in multiplayer is so low, its really amazing. When i join somebody's server and i have no lag it makes the game so much more fun. Also i like how the demo system works. It gives you a trial of the game, then you can just activate it really fast without hardly in work.
  43. DarrenH.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    I've played many types of games, but in every one, you always think "man if they would do this then this would be over the top.". With S2 you get MUCH of everything. FPS, RPG, RTS. And the transition between each type is fluid and smooth. It runs very, very smooth, and the graphics are great. One of the best games I've ever played. I've bought games from many of the big I've played many types of games, but in every one, you always think "man if they would do this then this would be over the top.". With S2 you get MUCH of everything. FPS, RPG, RTS. And the transition between each type is fluid and smooth. It runs very, very smooth, and the graphics are great. One of the best games I've ever played. I've bought games from many of the big game publishers, only to have them just as buggy as S2 in the beginning. So at $29.99 it's a steal. Expand
  44. jakeS
    Jun 22, 2008
    2
    This game isn't worth downloading. There are only about 50-60 people playing at any1 time and then you have to wait ages for the game to start because of the startup mode to select a commander and officers. The graphics are bellow average and thats if you can get the game to run with out crashing every 10 minutes which seems to be epidemic (The game crashes on both my laptop and This game isn't worth downloading. There are only about 50-60 people playing at any1 time and then you have to wait ages for the game to start because of the startup mode to select a commander and officers. The graphics are bellow average and thats if you can get the game to run with out crashing every 10 minutes which seems to be epidemic (The game crashes on both my laptop and desktop and my friend's pc). Don't believe the hype and stay clear of this. Expand
  45. ChrisP
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    So original and addictive, even after 6 months i can't seem to stop playing this hybrid game. It's not the game engine, the graphics or even the effects that draw you to this game, its the people and respect you earn along the way that really compels you to improve.
  46. NickV
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    This game has gotten better and better with time. The gameplay is extremely balanced now and totally enjoyable. The mixture or RTS and Melee/FPS simply is amazing. Its the closest thing to feeling like a real sword swinging warrior.
  47. Dec 19, 2011
    9
    When you are looking for a mix of RPG, action, and RTS look no further, this is the game. When such a deep detail level is put in every single gameplay element you get Savage 2, what graphics and sound fail at are totally forgives by the extremely fun multiplayer gameplay and all the updates and patches with new maps and bug fixes make the game even better. Now that the price is free (notWhen you are looking for a mix of RPG, action, and RTS look no further, this is the game. When such a deep detail level is put in every single gameplay element you get Savage 2, what graphics and sound fail at are totally forgives by the extremely fun multiplayer gameplay and all the updates and patches with new maps and bug fixes make the game even better. Now that the price is free (not counting the premium account upgrade) it's totally worth your time. I'm really waiting for Savage 3: Apocalypse Expand
  48. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    10 out of 10. This is the best game I have ever played, and I'm immensely disappointed that it wasn't more popular and that there won't be a Savage 3. Combining a both first person shooters with an RTS game like Starcraft made for the only game that I have ever seen that actually pulls in people from public matches and makes you feel like you're ACTUALLY ON A TEAM together.

    With games
    10 out of 10. This is the best game I have ever played, and I'm immensely disappointed that it wasn't more popular and that there won't be a Savage 3. Combining a both first person shooters with an RTS game like Starcraft made for the only game that I have ever seen that actually pulls in people from public matches and makes you feel like you're ACTUALLY ON A TEAM together.

    With games like Call of Duty, Team Fortress 2, and even with LoL/DoTA2 you don't feel like you're on a team when playing with random people. You're rather unco-ordinated, you honestly don't care what the rest of your teammates are doing, and you just play the game according to what you see. There's hardly any communication and forethought in the actions you take, but with this game having a commander completely draws the player into an experience that makes you *Think* about the actions you take and take it into consideration with the team.

    The mechanical gameplay of the First Person is amazing, and the hit detection is well made and well balanced. Being the commander is easily one of the best gaming experiences there is, where the units being human controlled make the experience incredibly unique as they aren't pre-programmed, and behave uniquely in ways that AI units could never come close to emulating.

    I think that it was a little before its time. If this game were to be re-relased with the current culture of gaming that we have favoring MoBA games, it would probably be one of the most popular games on the market. Add in a matchmaking system that allows you to queue as either a commander or a player, and online rankings, and this game would be the highlight of the decade.
    Expand
  49. Jun 17, 2016
    10
    This game was released too early for it's time.
    It was **** awesome!!!!
    I remember how I was on the battlefield... and then I saw loads of Behemonths from a high place. It was **** AWESOME! Our tanks shot at them, and the whole team just walking, I was in a turret. with my bow. And, some concepts like turning into a demon in a middle of a multiplayer game, it's something happening
    This game was released too early for it's time.
    It was **** awesome!!!!
    I remember how I was on the battlefield... and then I saw loads of Behemonths from a high place.
    It was **** AWESOME!
    Our tanks shot at them, and the whole team just walking, I was in a turret. with my bow.

    And, some concepts like turning into a demon in a middle of a multiplayer game, it's something happening right now in DOOM, anyway.

    It is a **** good experience.
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. While it isn't a next-generation title, the game will provide all the exciting gameplay, depth of strategy, and replay value that gamers expect in today's multiplayer-only titles.
  2. The game offers a ton of quality action for a low price.
  3. Savage 2 is something of an anomaly in the current lineup of PC games, borrowing elements from Natural Selection, Planetside, Hellgate: London and others. Whether you’re a RTS fan, a FPS junkie, or you’re looking for the next great competitive action RPG, you’ll find something to like in Savage 2.