Scrapland PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. What’s great about Scrapland is this robot society. The graphics take most advantage of this with unique imagery and high levels of detail. The audio also is impressive as the voice acting in particular gives these robots personality.
  2. Scrapland creates a stunning new world, a setting of unique architecture and character design and hopefully marks the birth of a new franchise.
  3. The main advantage that Scrapland possesses is that it comes with a fully featured multiplayer portion straight out of the box.
  4. While Scrapland is not without faults, namely the repetitive missions, the game is recommendable thanks to its charming nature, technical dominance.
  5. The bright, solid graphics pushed me to keep playing just to see new locations and by then I was immersed in the game's conspiracy. You couldn't do much better amidst this season's adventure PC games.
  6. 83
    The flag hunt and deathmatch modes are present in multiplayer, in addition to team deathmatch and CTF, and you'll get to play them in areas taken from the game, which is cool, but I would have liked to have seen more variety and lateral flexibility in the single-player.
  7. It’s no GTA but it’s a nice change. If you’re really itching for a good sci-fi game with a good sense of humor, then look no further.
  8. Computer Gaming World
    80
    The original art design and wide array of funny and original characters keep the experience fresh and engaging. [Holiday 2004, p.88]
  9. GMR Magazine
    80
    Scapland's gorgeous set pieces and unique take on "Grand Theft Auto's" open-ended gameplay makes it one of PC gaming's best-kept secrets. [Jan 2005, p.104]
  10. It's worth checking out for the PC gamers looking for a bit of a twist to their third person action gaming, but it isn't the sleeper hit of 2005 that I was hoping, certainly not the "free world" game it was touted to be.
  11. Scrapland has just enough going for it to make it enjoyable to play through while you experience the whimsy and inherent goofiness of its quirky and unique world. It's the intangibles that ultimately save Scrapland from the junk heap.
  12. It presents players with a unique twist to the sub-genre as well as a highly imaginative and beautifully designed game world that will let you lose yourself in all the unique characters and environments as well as the often humorous dialogue.
  13. The game certainly does have hiccups here and there and once you get inside the buildings it is obvious the developers went a little too far in making them too big.
  14. If only there was more to do, more variety and more choice, we may well have had a bona fide classic on our hands. As it stands, Scrapland is like a supermodel with a venereal disease - drop-dead gorgeous, and you can still have some fun with it, but you'll ultimately be deprived of the money shot. [PC Zone]
  15. A gripping story, brutal violence at times (well, machine violence), superb graphics, and clever adult humor are all things this game shares with "Alice." Repetitive flying and ship battles with too few on-foot missions add negatively to the game.
  16. Play Magazine
    75
    Scrapland is a pretty shocking effort from a small developer, in terms of ambition and production quality. [Dec 2004, p.86]
  17. A game that tries many things in a small space.
  18. Few games hit the shelves with as much panache and style, and as an entertaining romp through an original world it excels.
  19. I was honestly expecting a really neat experience out of Scrapland, but the tedium and ultimate lack of innovation just left me flustered.
  20. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    Stylistically, Scrapland looks amazing. The characters have a cartoon-y, "Futurama" groove going, and the city itself is the kind of visionary, noirish setting Ridley Scott might have used in "Blade Runner" if he hadn't been so in love with rain and grime. [Feb 2005, p.67]
  21. Too many repetitive missions and clunky AI limit the overall experience for the player though. Scrapland’s concept is unique enough and there are enough quirks in the game to keep most players occupied.
  22. The lack of variation with the missions, and with very few things we haven’t seen before, Scrapland tries admirably, but fails just short of the mark of being fully recommendable.
  23. There is a slightness about Scrapland that actually appeals in this day and age.
  24. It’s sort of like saying you loved a really bad movie (like "Plan 9 From Outer Space") or saying you really hated a great movie (like "Gone With The Wind").
  25. It is worth your time and money, as it offers gamers an experience never played before, even with the subtle similarities to "GTA". In the end, this is no "GTA," good or bad, this is Scrapland and in a league all by itself.
  26. PC Gamer
    66
    Tries to be two games in one, and ends up doing neither terribly well. [Jan 2005, p.80]
  27. But it definitely falls short of its potential, skimping on voice talent, mission variance and structure, and that principal fusion that makes the whole game feel like one big ball of fun.
  28. Pelit (Finland)
    66
    Wonderful in presentation, original in style. Sadly, the action (outdoor fighting) sucks and ruins what otherwise would have been a good game. [Feb. 05]
  29. There's no heart in the design. It's a beautiful world with enjoyable characters and it's engaging for a while, but it runs out of ideas way too soon to be any lasting fun. [Jan 2005, p.89]
  30. All of the mechanics for a great game are there, yet the more intangible aspects of great game making seem to have been overlooked entirely.
  31. Game Informer
    60
    I really have a hard time deciding what I hate more about this game: Is it the horribly grating characters and voices, the lame setting, or the incredibly sticky flight controls? [Dec 2004, p.188]
  32. 60
    Without more variety in the missions, consistency and depth to the characters, and a purpose to the expansive and pretty scenery, there are far better games to pick from this year.
  33. 60
    As cool as the visuals can be, they're ultimately like a flashy paintjob on a car without much under the hood. The amount of unimaginative busywork and lame repetition in this game is really unfortunate.
  34. 60
    It's a serviceable game, but it doesn't excel in any regard.
  35. 60
    But it's a very linear tale, which typically seems to require D-Tritus to explore gigantic areas in search of a single person to talk to. Each area is often extremely large.
  36. AceGamez
    50
    You'd think that nowadays when games companies have to compete with more and more high-end products, that developers would try and at least make their game worthy of the entry fee.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Very solid game. I have played this on old systems and new systems and it always looks good. Stunning map-design as well as ship/characterVery solid game. I have played this on old systems and new systems and it always looks good. Stunning map-design as well as ship/character models. The mini-games may annoy some but they make you appreciate the top-shelf arcade racing and combat. The most thrilling hover-sled combat ever done in games. Turbo- boosts, boost-pads and tractor-beams make for chaotic 'bouy-races' and if that doesn't work...try your cannons. Good story mixed with wild free-play...just make your own fun. Awesome visuals with excellent race-elements. Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2012
    9
    Really great game with pretty good story behind it. I still remember the time I played it for the first time and I plan to come back and playReally great game with pretty good story behind it. I still remember the time I played it for the first time and I plan to come back and play it again anytime soon! Full Review »
  3. BenH.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    At first i thought.. hmm this feels pretty crusty. But then i gave it an extra hour minutes to get used to it... and i was hooked. What a great game.!