Scribblenauts Unlimited Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Scribblenauts Unlimited features a huge side-scrolling open world where you can help the game's hero, Maxwell, solve robust puzzles and challenges
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a bigger game than the previous. It offers more chances to put your creativity to the test and its replay value is through the roof. Granted, it doesn't offer the same type of challenge as previous version, but that also decreases the frustration that might come with said challenge. If you're looking for a game that is fun for the kids, and the adults, in the house then look no further than this.
  2. Jan 11, 2013
    89
    Fans of adventure and puzzle games seeking a gameplay experience that's both addictive and unique will find plenty to enjoy in Scribblenauts Unlimited. Those gamers looking for more of a challenge will find the game's difficulty to be disappointing.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    88
    Despite some dips in overall puzzle difficulty this time around, the game has a massive amount of content to both discover and create from scratch.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    This is still a solid puzzle game, but 5th cell smoothed out too many edges that made the other Scribblenauts so special.
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Get comfortable and grab a dictionary: word-wizard Maxwell is out on a quest to save lives. Don’t expect an innovative sequel, Scribblenauts Unlimited is the improved version of a known concept.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    Still you'd have to be pretty cold at heart to not give this charismatic funny vocabulary driven insanity at least a chance. Sure, most of what it does is only funny the first and maybe the second time around. And it is also true that many of the smaller challenges it pits against you aren't interesting (or challenging) at all. But there's also recurring moments of pure comedy gold, when your words prompt characters to do hilarious five-second skits or random items send the scene into a cartoonishly homicidal chain reaction.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 4, 2013
    60
    Almost a perfect tool to practice foreign language lacks the core playability – the creative solutions are not supported unfortunately. [Jan 2013]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MuchSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Much creativity in this game! Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    What can I say, it's Scribblenauts! It's a wacky and imaginative series and this game is no exception. It uses the classic ScribblenautsWhat can I say, it's Scribblenauts! It's a wacky and imaginative series and this game is no exception. It uses the classic Scribblenauts formula of typing in words to create objects to solve problems. Simple concept, yet certain problems can be challenging to solve. Creative and fun! 9/10 Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Oooh this is even better than the first two titles! You can finally create words and share them with other players, and even if I think thereOooh this is even better than the first two titles! You can finally create words and share them with other players, and even if I think there are some limitation in the creation tool, this is great! I also finally started to play the stages (a thing that I didn't do much in the other titles, as I preferred to play on the main menu) and they are awesome and really fun! In this game everything can happen, even that a heart attack consists in a heart chasing a lady. Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    The amount of work that has been put into this game must be incredible. Really challenging idea of a game for the developers. Unexpectedly funThe amount of work that has been put into this game must be incredible. Really challenging idea of a game for the developers. Unexpectedly fun to play and humorous. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    8
    I suggest everyone at least tries it, especially if you have a good imagination. You can create almost anything. Cons: restricted creation dueI suggest everyone at least tries it, especially if you have a good imagination. You can create almost anything. Cons: restricted creation due to this being a game for every age; bad optimisation; very confusing and limited new word editor; few puzzles can give you a headache because they don't work how you want them to. Expand
  6. May 12, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    1
    This game sucks. A lot. Really, the problem is that it is barely a game at all. It is more of a sandbox type deal, where you can write in aThis game sucks. A lot. Really, the problem is that it is barely a game at all. It is more of a sandbox type deal, where you can write in a wide variety (though the dictionary does have very definite limits) of words and get random stuff.

    The problem is that the game never challenges you to do anything creative or clever with it at all. Almost all the puzzles are incredibly simplistic, to the point where you can solve them with a single word 90%+ of the time, and the rest are merely "Give me 3 of X", where X is some category of things. OH BOY.

    Most of the puzzles can be solved in under 30 seconds, and many can be solved in 3.

    Is it fun? No, not really. And while the ability to create anything SEEMS fun, in the end it actually gets boring pretty quickly, which sucks what is the point of being able to create everything when you don't really need to, and can solve a shocking large number of puzzles just with "fire"? That's not fun. Being creative tends to take longer and not give different results, and the whole thing just isn't that exciting.

    There are a few cute moments here and there, and a few things I thought were funny, but... mostly? It was just boring and empty as an experience.
    Expand

See all 29 User Reviews