Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Scribblenauts Unlimited features a huge side-scrolling open world where you can help the game's hero, Maxwell, solve robust puzzles and challenges
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is a bigger game than the previous. It offers more chances to put your creativity to the test and its replay value is through the roof. Granted, it doesn't offer the same type of challenge as previous version, but that also decreases the frustration that might come with said challenge. If you're looking for a game that is fun for the kids, and the adults, in the house then look no further than this.
  2. Jan 11, 2013
    89
    Fans of adventure and puzzle games seeking a gameplay experience that's both addictive and unique will find plenty to enjoy in Scribblenauts Unlimited. Those gamers looking for more of a challenge will find the game's difficulty to be disappointing.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    88
    Despite some dips in overall puzzle difficulty this time around, the game has a massive amount of content to both discover and create from scratch.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    This is still a solid puzzle game, but 5th cell smoothed out too many edges that made the other Scribblenauts so special.
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    Get comfortable and grab a dictionary: word-wizard Maxwell is out on a quest to save lives. Don’t expect an innovative sequel, Scribblenauts Unlimited is the improved version of a known concept.
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    Still you'd have to be pretty cold at heart to not give this charismatic funny vocabulary driven insanity at least a chance. Sure, most of what it does is only funny the first and maybe the second time around. And it is also true that many of the smaller challenges it pits against you aren't interesting (or challenging) at all. But there's also recurring moments of pure comedy gold, when your words prompt characters to do hilarious five-second skits or random items send the scene into a cartoonishly homicidal chain reaction.
  7. 60
    Almost a perfect tool to practice foreign language lacks the core playability – the creative solutions are not supported unfortunately. [Jan 2013]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 4 out of 30
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MuchSOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Much creativity in this game! Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Creativity at its finest!!! Although Scribblenauts gets old pretty quickly (due to the repetitive nature of the game) it’s still a veryCreativity at its finest!!! Although Scribblenauts gets old pretty quickly (due to the repetitive nature of the game) it’s still a very refreshing experience that puts you in control to tackle situations in any way you like! It really does encourage you to be silly; the main aim is to craft items with a magic notebook that makes anything you write in it appear (within moderation… of course). You then use these items to help all the troubled souls throughout the world while collecting starites to lift a curse put on your sister to save her from completely turning to stone! It’s definitely a game worth looking at; merely for being so different and its pleasant cartoony graphics! Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    Oooh this is even better than the first two titles! You can finally create words and share them with other players, and even if I think thereOooh this is even better than the first two titles! You can finally create words and share them with other players, and even if I think there are some limitation in the creation tool, this is great! I also finally started to play the stages (a thing that I didn't do much in the other titles, as I preferred to play on the main menu) and they are awesome and really fun! In this game everything can happen, even that a heart attack consists in a heart chasing a lady. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Scribblenauts Unlimited is just full of well-designed puzzles. The puzzles are not just black and white answers either. There are a largeScribblenauts Unlimited is just full of well-designed puzzles. The puzzles are not just black and white answers either. There are a large number of different objects you can use to complete the puzzles. This truly gives the players creative control on how you want to tackle specific puzzles. This game was surprisingly fun from start to finish. Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Oh my GOD this game is so fun. I've played it through and effectively beaten it as much as I planned to. (My main goal was to get all theOh my GOD this game is so fun. I've played it through and effectively beaten it as much as I planned to. (My main goal was to get all the available characters.) The game is very creative and has so much diversity in its gameplay, and lots of replayability with the numerous puzzles available to you, and even secret Starite pieces obtainable through spawning certain items.

    I spent most of my time gathering characters and doing what I needed to access the next set of areas, instead of really pursuing the main goal. That's my favorite thing about this game- if you don't feel like pursuing the main goal, you can do effectively whatever you want, and SPAWN whatever you want, too. If an item doesn't exist, don't worry- there's an item creator for you to handle that! Similarly, there's a character creator that lets you play as anyone you can think of, as long as you can figure out how to make them.

    The unlockable characters are very diverse, as well. There's an elf, a Cub Scout, a hippie, a DJ (my personal favorite), and even a ninja. They pretty much touch on anything they could think of, resulting in a big pool of different characters to pick from and get attached to. This is just a personal thing I like, but the characters also have no dialogue- leaving you with a blank slate to develop headcanons for. I figure most people would dislike that, but I enjoy it, since I find it fun to make a personality for underdeveloped or background characters.

    All in all, this game is a bucket of fun and a big pool of creativity. Granted, it does get a little repetitive after a while, but it always finds ways to keep the player engaged. So far, it's the best game in the Scribblenauts series.
    Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    7
    A solid game, but a letdown after it showed so much potential. The game starts off fantastic when your discovering all sorts of crazy ways toA solid game, but a letdown after it showed so much potential. The game starts off fantastic when your discovering all sorts of crazy ways to solve the puzzles. The first letdown is that this game is mainly comprised of puzzles that require no thought. The game becomes a slow and repetitive fairly fast because of this. For kids the game would be fantastic but anyone older this isn't great. The steam version has workshop support which is fantastic as it means copyrighted content such as characters from movies and other games can be sneaked in. The game looks great also with crisp and clear graphics, even if the animation is basic. Overall I still had fun in scribblenauts unlimited but I still feel that super scribblenauts is superior. Expand
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    0
    Una pena que no pueda dar negativos por la puta mierda de traduccion sudaca que tiene... pinches weys, aprended castellano sucios monosUna pena que no pueda dar negativos por la puta mierda de traduccion sudaca que tiene... pinches weys, aprended castellano sucios monos tercermundistas Collapse

See all 30 User Reviews