Secrets of the Ark: A Broken Sword Game Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Know in the U.S. for some reason as "Secrets of the Ark") When the forces of ancient worlds, and past forgotten myths battle against the power of old friends. When current emotions clash with past regret, and when some guys in York design cunning puzzles, write funny scripts and orchestrate the type of music to make the hair on the back of your next stand on end, it can only mean the fourth instalment of Broken Sword has been born. After reluctantly battling dragons, Mayan gods and becoming a Knight of a long lost Holy Order, unwitting hero George Stobbart settles down to a life of mundane 9-5 office work. Who would have thought that a mysterious and beautiful woman would enter his life; a woman whose sudden disappearance draws him into a desperate search for a nefarious artefact of great and terrible power. (Well apart from those guys in York, that is) Emotion, humour, time pressure and puzzling combine for the latest Broken Sword Adventure and unfortunately for George, it looks like the world needs saving one more time. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Not a perfect game. It suffers from patchy controls, dull and unremarkable locales and an ending that is a bit of a let down. But it also has some gorgeous 3D graphics, top notch voiceovers, music and dialogue, and an ultimately engrossing storyline which is well paced and will keep your interest piqued.
  2. While hardcore fans of the adventure genre may want something more challenging and less linear, casual fans or newcomers can certainly enjoy what Secrets has to offer and not be disappointed in the least.
  3. The Angel of Death manages to keep the adventure genre alive. Budget and/or time constraints show: the game is quite rough around the edges. It is also too linear although the puzzles are good and varied. Why cannot the dialogue be fast-forwarded? [Dec 2006, p.82]
  4. The puzzles will definitely make even seasoned adventure title players flex their brainpower a bit, but given that the vast majority of the puzzles make some sort of logical sense even players new to the genre should be able to think their way through to the solution with little help.
  5. I don't see anyone anticipate a co-worker saying, "man, I wish 5pm would hurry up and get here. I want to get home and play Secrets of the Ark" in the near future. But I can see the adventure fans finding something of value buried in there somewhere with Mary of Magdalene.
  6. To put it simply, The Angel of Death is an exceptional 2D point and click title masquerading as a fairly good 3D counterpart. There is simply no reason why George now resides in a new multi-dimensional world, bar entertaining its weakest element – its physical challenges.
  7. There’s a fun story to be experienced here, but it’s constantly halted by the lack of progression. Any notion of pace, suspension of disbelief or immersion is constantly shattered by obtuse puzzling, aimless wandering and wooden, static performances. [Nov 2006, p.104]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. EdlismangeD.
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    Much better than 'The Sleeping Dragon', in terms of everything really. The interface is near perfect, I can't remember any of the bugs (there were only a couple) as they were so minor and easy to work around. The plot is told well, and got me a lot more involved with the game. Although some of the puzzles seemed unnervingly hard, I never felt the urge to use a walkthrough, so the difficulty level is just right. It just seemed as though a lot of care had gone into the game, it is quite long with lots of detail and memorable characters. It is also pretty funny at times. Definatley a classic for adventure fans. There'd better be a sequel. Expand
  2. MarkL.
    Aug 29, 2006
    10
    A triumphant return for the point 'n' click genre. Broken Sword has always been unbeatable for storyline and characterization, and Angel of Death is no exception. In fact, it's more gripping and immersive than ever before. The 3D poin 'n' click engine is unlike anything I've tried before, and I think it works remarkably well. I found this the most difficult of the series so far, I expect a few people will mark it down out of frustration. But the puzzles are extremely well crafted and, for the most part, highly original. I hope we see more of George and Nico soon. Expand
  3. Mar 3, 2012
    9
    I don't know why they called this game one of the worst ever. The worst in the series, but still GREAT! The puzzles were pretty better than in BS3, and voice acting was amazing. The story was a bit forgetable, but still awesome. But the "eeeh" ending, and Anna-Marria thing etc. were a bit....bad. Still, a must-play :) :) :) Expand
  4. Sep 20, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers. Probably the most disappointed I have ever been with a game. I would rate BS1 in my all time top 5 games and it is head and shoulders above the newest installment. Most of what made BS1 great is not found in BS4. Tthere were only several brief moments in the game when I actually felt like I was playing a series that I loved every minute of previously, even BS3. The story never grabbed me and pulled me in at anytime, I didn't care about the other characters and worst of all I found the game a complete chore to play. Had this not been a Broken Sword game I would have given up on it. Collapse
  5. lelloV.
    Jan 21, 2008
    4
    Poor game-the previous title (dragon) was clearly better. The plot is incredibly dull, and the story moves at the speed of plight. The death knell for this once glorious franchise? Expand
  6. May 24, 2014
    4
    Do you like adventure games with no real ending? How about a game with plenty of pixels but most of them beige? If you also feel that walking around should be a minigame all in itself, then this is the game for you!

    On the plus side you do get to see Nico and George again, but other than that, it fails in so many ways. Graphics are mediocre. The story line premise doesn't make a lot of sense. It is clear that the game developers ran out of money or time, so they decided to ship the game with no real closure.

    Even plain walking around (which you will do PLENTY of) is painful since the camera angles change unexpectedly so you start travelling in a different direction.

    I do not recommend this game. I would put it in the same category as indiana jones and the crystal skull (the movie). Just pretend that #4 of both franchises doesn't exist.
    Expand
  7. DaveE.
    Oct 1, 2006
    0
    I'm sure many others new to the point and click style will offer the positives to this game, so as a BS veteran, I'll stick to the negatives, that for me, far outweigh any positives, and make this the worst of the point and click style BS's by some distance. Another dip into 3D and another disappointment. This game was rushed out, probably a couple of months too early. The environments are large, empty, and few in numbers. Take the Vatican, Salami Factory and Turkish hotel locations - only two mute guards at the Vatican, two men at the factory, and only a "busy" receptionist and waiter in the hotel. They've just stuck in the bare mininum to get through the game, and it looks very poor and unrealistic - adventure games released 10 years ago gave more depth than this. And the cause is probably the 3D - that aspect means the locations *have* to be bigger, and take a *lot* more work to get right in terms of content. They just haven't done it. The player rewards are woeful. Take the final scenes. Without giving away any spoilers, the ending is possibly the worst ending to any game I have ever played, and even if you fail to save the day you don't even get a cutscene showing what terrible events occur, just another 3 minute long loading screen and right back into the very last 'puzzle'. They couldn't even be bothered to put in a real enemy for you to be fighting against. The (often) lengthy conversations are poorly done - just the same frozen viewpoint of the two characters for minutes on end. Farenheit showed how a 3D game can keep lengthy conversations interesting. Revolution should stop worrying about trying to turn BS in a role playing game in 3D (which requires a ridiculous spec of graphics card - for nothing more than a Point and Click game with very average graphics that still runs slow for 90% of people!) with dodgy control, and get back to what made it so engaging in the first place - the art of storytelling and creating atmosphere. And they'll only manage that by going back to 2D. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews