User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 75
  2. Negative: 15 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Vulture
    Sep 27, 2009
    6
    Section 8 is an alright game, yet nowhere near matches the hype it generated. It looked good on paper, (Dropship Spawning, Customized Loadouts, DCM's to spice up the the Multiplayer), but when it came to actual execution, fell over somewhat. This could be the result of several things, (A campaign mode that basically consists of the tutorial and nothing else, Multiplayer that is Section 8 is an alright game, yet nowhere near matches the hype it generated. It looked good on paper, (Dropship Spawning, Customized Loadouts, DCM's to spice up the the Multiplayer), but when it came to actual execution, fell over somewhat. This could be the result of several things, (A campaign mode that basically consists of the tutorial and nothing else, Multiplayer that is single minded and repetitive, Having to wait 10 years for your entire clip to be unloaded into your enemy to get a kill, or even the incredibly thick AI) but Section 8 doesn't STAND OUT, like I thought it would. And because of this, I got bored of it in one weekend. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    I know a lot of work goes into making games but I found little in Section 8 that I liked, it has some good ideas but the execution left a lot to be desired. I got bored and irritated by the second or third mission.
  3. RobZ
    Jan 2, 2010
    1
    The burn-in spawning and the turbo running mode are pretty cool, and even the gameplay isn't too bad, so the game gets 1 point for novel (but not groundbreaking) features. Unfortunately, none of this can make up for the horrible multiplayer, the draconian DRM requirements (the game is forever tied to a single Windows Live for Games, or WLG, account), and the horrible technical The burn-in spawning and the turbo running mode are pretty cool, and even the gameplay isn't too bad, so the game gets 1 point for novel (but not groundbreaking) features. Unfortunately, none of this can make up for the horrible multiplayer, the draconian DRM requirements (the game is forever tied to a single Windows Live for Games, or WLG, account), and the horrible technical support. The multiplayer server for the PC version of Section 8 requires an unique WLG Gamertag, so you cannot set up a dedicated server without buying an extra copy of the game. Unfortunately, I didn't realize until after I had purchased this game that the community of active players is incredibly small due to all these problems. I tried signing up for the tech support forums 5 times, and although my account was created, I could not post on the forums or submit technical support requests. Section 8 could have been a great game--it had some pretty good concepts--but the implementation was all wrong. Game server companies couldn't even get Section 8 servers running until several months after the game was released, due to all the complications and horrible technical support from TimeGate Studios. Don't waste your money on Section 8--the reason there's no demo version available for PC is because nobody would have bought the full version if they had known how crippled the game was from the start. Expand
  4. May 4, 2011
    8
    In my opinion, a shooter is a shooter. The only thing new a game can bring to the table these days is story and/or graphics... or so I thought. I disagree with the bashing of this game that so many others give so easily. I for one am sick and tired of the run-of-the-mill shooters that are out there. This game contains great science-fiction scenery and equipment, unique spawning, greatIn my opinion, a shooter is a shooter. The only thing new a game can bring to the table these days is story and/or graphics... or so I thought. I disagree with the bashing of this game that so many others give so easily. I for one am sick and tired of the run-of-the-mill shooters that are out there. This game contains great science-fiction scenery and equipment, unique spawning, great visuals, and solid game play. These days the game only costs $10 brand new. How can you not justify a cost like that when much more generic shooters out there with no innovation whatsoever carry a $50-$70 price tag?? This game is balanced, unique, and rock-solid. Don't listen to the moronic CoD fan-boys out there who bash games for not being CoD. Every complaint I've ever heard about this game relates somehow back to the fact that this game doesn't work just like every other FPS. "GOOD" I say! "GREAT" even! Give me 100 more like this game before one more Call of Duty, Soldier of Fortune, Sniper Ghost Warrior, Turning Point, Turok, etc., etc., etc., Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2010
    9
    Oh but i like the way they drop tanks.IMMA FIRIN' MAH LAZORS!!!!
  6. CJK.
    Oct 2, 2009
    4
    This is game is definitely not worth the cost. It takes far too long to get a kill in multiplayer, and even if you do manage, you have to hide forever becuase you almost died as well, every fight is basically who gets the luckly last shot. The single player is extremely simple and if you die, it doesnt matter, just drop back in and keep shooting. It also doesnt help that there are about 2 This is game is definitely not worth the cost. It takes far too long to get a kill in multiplayer, and even if you do manage, you have to hide forever becuase you almost died as well, every fight is basically who gets the luckly last shot. The single player is extremely simple and if you die, it doesnt matter, just drop back in and keep shooting. It also doesnt help that there are about 2 weapons that completely dominate and any other you have to camp or rush recklessly to get a kill. Every vehicle is so slow that an one guy (infantry) can easily take it out in about 15 seconds. Some say the multiplayer is great, maybe it is to them, but I dislike it. Fights between 2 full health people can last well over the recommended 30 seconds of intensity and become very boring. But if you are into nearly dying then getting shot in the back, and never getting above a 1.2 kill to death because everyone uses the same gun so there are no advantages, then spend the money on it, I wish I hadn't. Expand
  7. Tex
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    No, it's not Tribes or Tribes 2. It's not even Tribes Vengeance *thank god*. What it is however, is the first good FPS+Z produced by an industry plagued with mediocrity. Section 8 offers several innovative ideas, coupled with some old familiar mechanics that make this industry spin. The only negative thing I can say about this game is that so few seem to play online. Since this No, it's not Tribes or Tribes 2. It's not even Tribes Vengeance *thank god*. What it is however, is the first good FPS+Z produced by an industry plagued with mediocrity. Section 8 offers several innovative ideas, coupled with some old familiar mechanics that make this industry spin. The only negative thing I can say about this game is that so few seem to play online. Since this game's primary function is fulfilled online, that's a bit of a problem. However, I have never been unable to play, there's always a few populated servers up. If you were a fan of the Tribes franchise then I would recommend this. For the people that want a quick kill game, I suggest looking elsewhere, Section 8 will be attractive to the hardcores only. Expand
  8. AlexW
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    If it wasn't for the single player being a bit boring and, nearly impossible to lose then this would be a 10. I've played games that try and involve teamwork. Aka speaking, COD 4, but in that its possible for one man to dominate for a period of time. Section 8... Near impossible to dominate, its just hard enough killing two guys by yourself, but that's where the joy of If it wasn't for the single player being a bit boring and, nearly impossible to lose then this would be a 10. I've played games that try and involve teamwork. Aka speaking, COD 4, but in that its possible for one man to dominate for a period of time. Section 8... Near impossible to dominate, its just hard enough killing two guys by yourself, but that's where the joy of teamwork comes in! Multiplayer has one but yet a very interesting game mode. Simple objective, but with the extra DCM (Direct Combat Missions) Adds in a whole new twist, you get given choices, you learn to multi task, you end up having fun! It only requires you to put a little effort in, embrace the multiplayer and just simple sit back and enjoy the game! Expand
  9. Kittens
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    Ignore the fact that the single player campaign is very shallow and uninteresting. The multiplayer in Section 8 is fantastic. I will never understand why so many people have to compare games to others when they review. If you like another game better, go play that game. Section 8 feels very solid and simple, while having a bit of complexity underneath with its soldier attribute Ignore the fact that the single player campaign is very shallow and uninteresting. The multiplayer in Section 8 is fantastic. I will never understand why so many people have to compare games to others when they review. If you like another game better, go play that game. Section 8 feels very solid and simple, while having a bit of complexity underneath with its soldier attribute customization and arsenal choices. It is really something else to be taking a strategic point for the team, and then having to choose your next objective due the three or four side missions popping up while capping. In Section 8 you will multi task, plan, and customize. This game for worth the money, in my opinion, without a doubt. 9 for the great multiplayer experience. -1 just for it's lack of interesting campaign, but the campaign is really easy even on hard, so achievement hunters will like it. Collapse
  10. AnonymousMC
    Sep 5, 2009
    8
    Multiplayer:I bought this game specifically for the multiplayer. The MP is 3/4 Battlefield 2 with the remaining parts made up of Tribes and Halo. The primary game mode is like BF's conquest although I find it much less cumbersome to capture "Control Points" than in BF2. There are 2 ground vehicles as well as a handful of stationary deployables at one's disposal that can beMultiplayer:I bought this game specifically for the multiplayer. The MP is 3/4 Battlefield 2 with the remaining parts made up of Tribes and Halo. The primary game mode is like BF's conquest although I find it much less cumbersome to capture "Control Points" than in BF2. There are 2 ground vehicles as well as a handful of stationary deployables at one's disposal that can be used for offense or defense. Unlike Battlefield 2, I liked this game because the weapons have very little spread although it does take a LOT of damage to kill someone. The trick in being successful is to get a feel for the shield penetrating range of the weapons or learn to use grenades, mortars, or detpacks to drop the shields quickly. Yes, in addition to standard health (Armor) you also have a shield that protects you from longer range shots. Because of the large amount of damage it takes to kill an opponent, this game rewards working in small squads. My three major gripes for this game are 1) Slow strafe speed 2) The game comes with a lock-on feature that works like an aimbot. It is important to note that the lock-on feature can be countered with a Sensor Blocker device. 3) It's easy to track enemy players through walls using the enemy indicator arrow. This detracts from the "cat-and-mouse" of killing opponents. I used to play some competition in other games so I'm surprised the aimbot and wallhack functions haven't put me off this game. I kept playing it and having fun and hope to get 3-6 months of enjoyment out of the game. This game is very kind to newbies, so if you normally pass because it's too hard you should give it a shot.

    Singleplayer: This game was obviously designed as a multiplayer game with a singleplayer element tacked on at the end. I did NOT buy this game for the singleplayer so I am fine with that. Some of the things like orbital spawning work well in multiplayer but don't work well in singleplayer (one vehicle escort mission in particular jumps to mind). The story and dialogue plays like it was written as high school fan fiction. The dialogue in general is just a string of military jargon that reminds me of a bad 80s Vietnam movie. The writer is straining so much to make the characters tough and hard that they forget to make them human. However, the voice actors do the best they can with the material. In short, the singleplayer is more training for the multiplayer.
    Expand
  11. JamesDimond
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    i completely agree with CJK read his report.. everything he says is true. however if your crafty about things you begin to realize you can kill a whole lot more ppl than you first thought. depending on how crafty you are and how well you build your character it is possible to go through a match coming first on kills and getting no deaths... its hard but possible... and that
  12. MartialDoctor
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    Very well done game. As others have stated, it is a similar style game as the Battlefield series. A good amount of teamwork is needed in order to truly do well although good individual players also make a difference. The added elements of not only capturing locations but also having interesting objectives to complete adds to the gameplay. Also, some interesting twists, like the ability to Very well done game. As others have stated, it is a similar style game as the Battlefield series. A good amount of teamwork is needed in order to truly do well although good individual players also make a difference. The added elements of not only capturing locations but also having interesting objectives to complete adds to the gameplay. Also, some interesting twists, like the ability to make and break locks, call in deployables, and other nice touches add to the action. TG is putting a good effort at keeping things running smoothly. I'm looking forward to future patches and am already getting my friends to get the game to join online. Expand
  13. DomO
    Oct 24, 2009
    1
    Game had promise, but TG killed it with Auto Aim, terrible damage system, crappy net code, hostile forum moderators, no patches, bugged dedicated servers, only a couple servers with players, but thats with bots. Maybe one server is populated at any given time. You can't see full servers, but they don't exist, don't be tricked. This game will bomb fast, only console kiddies play it.
  14. EhemA
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    This game is absolutely great. I've played many teamwork-based games, but many were winnable without that much teamwork needed. This however is pretty hard to do all by yourself so that's why you have to rely on teammates. Yeah, the space marine idea is way overdone, but this game is highly unique.
  15. GraniteRock
    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    This game is great fun and offers lots to do. The battlefield is busy with your main mission of capture the flags while offering a range of side missions simultaneously. The challenge to the player and squads is how to prioritize and strategize main vs. side missions. Battlefield players will feel at home and appreciate the freshness of being able to parachute in anywhere while choosing This game is great fun and offers lots to do. The battlefield is busy with your main mission of capture the flags while offering a range of side missions simultaneously. The challenge to the player and squads is how to prioritize and strategize main vs. side missions. Battlefield players will feel at home and appreciate the freshness of being able to parachute in anywhere while choosing where to place your defenses. Expand
  16. JonB
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    As others have said: This is a multiplayer game. The single player is a useless tutorial. Those that say it takes forever to kill someone, they don't know what they're doing. Each gun has a specific strength and weakness. If it takes them a whole clip to kill, then they aren't using their weapons wisely. The game gives way to many different styles and strategies. One load As others have said: This is a multiplayer game. The single player is a useless tutorial. Those that say it takes forever to kill someone, they don't know what they're doing. Each gun has a specific strength and weakness. If it takes them a whole clip to kill, then they aren't using their weapons wisely. The game gives way to many different styles and strategies. One load out may do really well one round, but the enemy can adapt and overcome with a new load out they create in the middle of the battle, on the field. DCM's (Dynamic Combat Missions) change the flow of the game and can usually only be accomplished by good team work. The dev's have struggled some, but they seem to be fairly responsive. Overall it's a very different FPS. It won't turn into the same point and shoot after a few days like the Halo's and COD's. It's different each time. Expand
  17. Bradb
    Sep 14, 2009
    5
    Overall not a bad game,but not a good one either.(I would not pay 50$ for it again) although I haven't played the multilayer, the single player campaign is interesting enough, my beefs with it are that its graphics don't allow enough customization to actually be good, and it could be SO much deeper, but instead it has only 6-ish weapons, and maybe a 6 mission campaign.
  18. MarkH
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    In as little words as possible: Though, there is no question that this game stands out by itself, this game feels like a mix of Tribes, Halo and Team Fortress. The overall feel of the game is very remenisent of Tribes/Tribes 2. Upon entering combat, the experience quickly became remenisent of Halo and Master Cheif's armour, although each players armor can be customized with different In as little words as possible: Though, there is no question that this game stands out by itself, this game feels like a mix of Tribes, Halo and Team Fortress. The overall feel of the game is very remenisent of Tribes/Tribes 2. Upon entering combat, the experience quickly became remenisent of Halo and Master Cheif's armour, although each players armor can be customized with different 'class'-based characteristics and weapon load-outs. I am very excited about this game and it's IP/future prospects. Expand
  19. RyanF
    Sep 5, 2009
    9
    the game is a great multilayer experience which is what it was intended to be. My only gripe is that it uses windows live for the PC version which took me a day of fighting with to get working. If it weren't for games for windows live then it'd probably get a 10.
  20. Natef
    Sep 6, 2009
    3
    Great game, but run by a crappy company. the game it self (i.e mechanics) are VERY nice. new idea and everything. however, the multiplayer is a JOKE. The servers are constantly Disconnecting, and the lag is unbearable.
  21. EvilToaster
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    As many have said already, this is a multiplayer game only. You might as well skip the singleplayer as you can still learn everything in multiplayer. With that in mind, this game is by far one of the best multiplayer games I've played and will surely keep me hooked for months to come. The game is entirely about teamwork. While some would say that games that revolve around teamwork As many have said already, this is a multiplayer game only. You might as well skip the singleplayer as you can still learn everything in multiplayer. With that in mind, this game is by far one of the best multiplayer games I've played and will surely keep me hooked for months to come. The game is entirely about teamwork. While some would say that games that revolve around teamwork never work out, the teamwork in Section 8 comes out organically. Everyone wants to work as a team because it's the only way to win and score points. Fighting by yourself will get you nowhere, fact. The game forces you into squads and gives you extra points and money for working with your squad. People work together in Section 8 almost all the time. There are tons of customazation options. You can choose 2 weapons, 2 tools, and 10 passive modules which work similar to CoD4's perk system, except you can choose how much of each perk you want. The balance of loadouts is usually between specialization and versatility. If you want a well rounded loudout, you would pick a variaity of weapons, tools, and modules. But if you wanted a loudout made for one thing only, like destroying tanks, you would probably pick a missile launcher, mortar, det packs, and cash all your modules in on damage. You would destroy tanks like no other for sure, but you're not as versatile as a well rounded class. There's where more teamwork comes in. If you combine your firepower with other members of your team, no one man can stop you. Everything is about teamwork, and you'll be working with your team even without realizing it sometimes. I recommend this to any fans of Battlefield games and Tribes games. Rated the high side of 8.5 Expand
  22. FrancisL
    Sep 11, 2009
    8
    The first thing I noticed was that the game had great frame rates despite the fact that I was running a 9600GT 512MB and a duo core E8600. If you have a somewhat old system, you can be sure that your system probably would be able to handle it. Gameplay-wise, Section 8 feels a lot like the Battlefield series, except that it is more fluid in that weapon loadout can be customised in-field. The first thing I noticed was that the game had great frame rates despite the fact that I was running a 9600GT 512MB and a duo core E8600. If you have a somewhat old system, you can be sure that your system probably would be able to handle it. Gameplay-wise, Section 8 feels a lot like the Battlefield series, except that it is more fluid in that weapon loadout can be customised in-field. It also operates on a squad system, but individual infantry are much tougher thanks to the Power Armour they are equipped with. (Which I highly suspect that they took the idea from Warhammer 40k). Vehicles are rare and not easy to obtain, but insane firepower can be assured once a tank is on the field. Each infantry is able to fly for a short time(4 sec+/-) due to the power armour, which introduces a third dimension into the FPS. To counter the benefits of flying, each infantry is also able to lock-on their targets for a short time. Personally I find both features to be a great addition to an otherwise boring sci-fi version of Battlefield. Perhaps it is just me, but I find that infantries are far too tough. One would think that a sniper could take out another infantry easily, long-range. But due to the nature of the power armour (equipped with a force field) it would take an entire magazine to kill someone, which I personally find quite ridiculous. Overall, I find the experience to be great for multiplayer. But the single player campaign is pretty terrible, which pulls down its ratings. Try it if you like the Battlefield series. Expand
  23. WesleyU
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I cant believe this game got 72 MC Score. However everyones point of view is valid. Apart from needing some serious grunt to play this game at full blown graphics its sensational. The sounds, the atmosphere and the fast paced action make it worth its while. I dont know why but shortly aftrer you are deployed into battle and hit the brakes the Sub Woofer makes a nice big hummm and I get a I cant believe this game got 72 MC Score. However everyones point of view is valid. Apart from needing some serious grunt to play this game at full blown graphics its sensational. The sounds, the atmosphere and the fast paced action make it worth its while. I dont know why but shortly aftrer you are deployed into battle and hit the brakes the Sub Woofer makes a nice big hummm and I get a kick out of it, sounds awesome. Sure, its a basic game when it comes down to it. But recently I played this at a LAN Party and it was the most fun we had all night. Expand
  24. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    Section 8 was a good game that had a short campaign but the Multi-player made up for it.
    Has great graphics, excellent Multi-player that highly encourages you to work together with your buddy's to achieve the objective, but the short and kinda boring single-player campaign makes this a 9 out of 10.
  25. Dec 22, 2011
    6
    A game that copy's alot from other sci-fi FPS games. It does have some interesting new elements such as being able to choose where to spawn. But in multiplayer this generally 'unfocuses' your team and since the multiplayer is team objective based this results in a sub par multiplayer experience. Graphics are pretty nice, as is sound effects. But nothing spectacular here. The single playerA game that copy's alot from other sci-fi FPS games. It does have some interesting new elements such as being able to choose where to spawn. But in multiplayer this generally 'unfocuses' your team and since the multiplayer is team objective based this results in a sub par multiplayer experience. Graphics are pretty nice, as is sound effects. But nothing spectacular here. The single player is very short and since there are no multiplayer servers bot-play is really the only thing you will be doing after the campaign. 6/10 Expand
  26. Aug 22, 2012
    4
    ONLY because it has GFWL..... It's the only way to ruin any possible game. Just add Games for Windows Live and you have a useless interface that prevents you from playing.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. This is what Battlefield 2142 should have been. [Dec 2009, p.52]
  2. Section 8 is a fairly traditional FPS, featuring a couple of interesting points (the launch phase and device management). The story mode is too short, only eight missions, while the online multiplayer mode seems to be fun, with forty players and eighteen maps. Definitely not the best FPS around.
  3. Section 8 is a fun game and immediate. Do not expect anything more. If we want to chase enemies and shoot carelessly is an excellent title for a few hours. Then the boredom and repetitiveness will force us to abandon this title.