User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 82
  2. Negative: 20 out of 82

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2011
    0
    A fairly shameful display if you ask me. I spent thirty minutes flying around the map wondering what was going on. I should've learned from the shoddy demo that it wasn't worth my money. Refund?
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    2
    I saw an ad for this so thought I'd download the Sengoku demo as its out this week. I spent my lunchtime trying to play it but had absolutely no idea what I had to do. There was a loads of text to read which is fine I guess, but no instructions so I ended up just randomly clicking on things. Couldn't work out who I was! The Japan map looked quite nice but there wasn't much happening. A tutorial would have been much more useful I think but I just couldn't get into it like Civ 4 and The Sims. I was just hoping to play with some ninjas! Oh well. Maybe if they release an easier demo or something Ill give it another go. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    Once again, paradox interactive shows it's fans the true meaning of not providing a decent manual to enjoy their products. This time out, the Interface is slightly improved but poorly optimised for resolutions above the norm. The game in itself, requires the player to have a working knowledge of previous paradox games, namely Crusader Kings and EUII: Rome. Like most Strategy Titles from Paradox, this latest offering offers little, it's Crusader Kings set in Japan. After playing their titles for over a decade, one starts to wonder if this little company that could, offer something new other than re-skinned offerings. Sengoku is perhaps the least buggy release ever released by Paradox. No game breaking bugs, no mysterious crashes to desktop and no nagging lag after playing it for a couple of hours. Hallmarks of every Paradox title till this one. The game in itself is fun, if you enjoy managing data and nurturing numbers. Sadly Paradox still doesn't get 'it' that the reason why many table top gamers have migrated to the digital age is to not have to 'roll' the dice, crunch the numbers and look up statistical tables. If you enjoy paint dry by nippon 3-in-1, this game is for you,. While the gameplay is quite deep and the learning curve steep from a lack of proper documentation, the game is overall 'quite fun' for 'strategy' gamers who enjoy running Excel together with their gameplay.

    For fans of the strategy genre, there's better fare out there.

    For Paradox Fanbois, there's nothing new here, so stop coming here and try to artificially push the ratings up. It's not that great a game.

    The only ground breaking thing that Paradox did was to release a game that did not crash on day one.
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    1
    The shame of some game developers knows no boundaries these days... Look at Paradox, for instance. They actually invite their FANBOY zealots to come here and vote for their 'favorite game' in order to RIG THE SCORE.

    This is CORRUPTION at its best. Have a look at their forums and see for yourself how pathetic those people are:
    http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/showthread.php?560220-Sengoku-on-Metacritic Quoting one of their developers, who created that thread: "Based on a few negative ratings, we have a rather bad score on Metacritic that doesn't seem to reflect the general opinion of the game. If you like Sengoku, please show your support by registering your rating here". Shame on you! I have no more words to spend on this mediocrity of a game. This is one for the garbage bin, period. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2011
    1
    Don't bother with this game, and by all means ignore the 10s that you see here on metacritic. It's only the fanboys/paradox people trying to push the score up. At least they didnt get my money...â
  6. Sep 19, 2011
    2
    In a nutshell: A glorified game of Risk. The Fanboys come here, at the request of the developers, to push the score up but this game just doesnt cut it. If you want a real strategy game, look elsewhere and dump this poor excuse of a game in the gutter, where it belongs. And Paradox, stop telling your Fanbois to come here and give it a high score. It's really pathetic to see such an insecure company...either make better games or live with the deserved low score. Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    4
    If you have never played another Paradox title before you should avoid this game. Go for EU3, Victoria 2 or HoI3. All three of them are cheaper and better. No tutorial and no manual for a game like this is ridiculous. The interface needs some major work. Apart from that the mechanics seem solid but wholly unremarkable and lack true innovation that sets it apart. After a few patches the game could potentially become good enough to be worth its money. Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2011
    0
    Spent YEARS playing EU2, spent MONTHS playing Vicci (ONE), spent WEEKS playing Crusader Kings, spent minutes playing this pile of junk. Please Paradox. DO NOT RELEASE THE SAME GAME OVER AND OVER AGAIN. â
  9. Mar 22, 2012
    1
    Hey Look! Shogun 2: Total War! I think I will just go play that instead.... I tried the demo and it wasn't to my taste. I was hoping for something with a bit more action, and all I got was lots of adjusting spreadsheets. But some people will like this style of "intense strategy", so try the demo you've got nothing to lose.
  10. Apr 12, 2013
    1
    this is horrible game no actual interface no tutorial no idea what to do from moment u start a game...
    i bought this on steam and wasted 20 dollars literally
    indi games are much better than this non sense
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    3
    I would have expected more from a paradox game. It's very poor. It seems like it's half finished, missing a lot of content. I don't believe it's hard to play having played a lot of other paradox games, but having no experience at all then I can appreciate it might be confusing. I think the reviews are pretty accurate and there's not much to say except don't bother, it's not worth it.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    60
    An unconventional trip to feudal Japan brings a lot of interesting principles that support political frolics to a great extent. However, this game is struck down by plenty of unfinished things, simplifications and limitations at the end of the day. It might still win your heart and let you enjoy it for long hours, but you have to be prepared to narrow your very own eyes.
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    71
    The simple building system is very slow and expensive, often taking years, and enemy ninjas can destroy guilds or religious locations with ease. [Holiday 2011, p.77]
  3. Oct 31, 2011
    50
    A poor interface and repetitive, hard-to-follow action unfortunately limit Sengoku's already niche appeal. [Dec 2011, p.64]