Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    100
    Play Sequence well and you'll fall into Zen bliss, forgetting all your problems and applauding yourself after every victory. Fumble and you'll swear in grunts, hating yourself until you get it right. Perseverance is hard, but worthwhile.
  2. Jan 6, 2012
    81
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Feb 7, 2012
    79
    Overall, I was mildly entertained by Sequence, with its good points making up for the repetition, and leaving a bit little left over. Sequence only costs $5 (from Steam or Xbox Live), and it might take you up to 15 hours to complete, so along with it being odd and unique, it's also a pretty good deal. So if you have dexterous fingers and a weekend that you don't know what to do with, then there are certainly worse ways that you could spend your time.
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    72
    It's a fun game with some great mechanics and intriguing ideas going for it. If there was reduced experience gambling, less incessant grinding and a few additional songs, it could have been a far superior game.
  5. 70
    If you are not afraid of rhythmic games Sequence should definitely find the way to your screen. You get interesting musical title spiced with RPG elements. [Jan 2012]
  6. Nov 3, 2011
    65
    Sequence is sort of like serving someone a ham sandwich on a silver tray with all sorts of accoutrements. It's nice that it's a silver tray and not a paper plate, but I'm still eating a ham sandwich here.
  7. Nov 22, 2011
    50
    Sequence is a disappointment--a game with some good ideas that fails to build on its initially impressive showing.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Dec 27, 2011
    2
    I like indie games. You don't need a huge budget to make a great game. This isn't a great game. With bland gameplay that lost its novelty about a decade ago and a snark-soaked story that sounds like it was written by someone still in puberty, the game's only saving grace are the solid RPG elements, and those aren't enough to salvage this shipwreck. I give it one point for the art, and another because one of the many eye-rollingly immature comments in the game's opening did make me chuckle. Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    A great title for its $5 price if you're up for a complex rhythm game mashed up with some extremely light RPG mechanics. The core of the game is essentially a Stepmania clone (i.e., Dance Dance Revolution with the arrow keys). However, sequence makes things more complicated by giving you three screens to cycle between. The red screen is the DEFEND screen, and all beats you miss on this screen are taken as damage. The green screen is the CAST screen, which only throws beats at you when you attempt to cast a spell or effect via hotkeys on the numpad. Missing beats on the CAST screen causes your spell to automatically fail. The blue screen is a MANA recovery screen. There is no penalty for missing beats, but every beat hit recovers a small amount of mana. The action is complex, as you have to punch the arrows to the beat, cycle between the three screens, and cast spells all at once, which gives you quite a lot to watch. The only things I can say to watch out for with this game is that, firstly depending on your monitor, you may have to manually calibrate lag, and while the game makes adjusting the offset extremely easy, it does not provide a very good means of testing your offset compared to other popular rhythm games. As a result, it can take some trial and error to work out lag issues. Secondly, although this is not a complaint per se, I would caution any prospective buyers that the RPG elements in the game are extremely light. There is no exploration, there are three monsters to fight per floor, and you simply choose the monster as you would a song in Stepmania or DDR. You replay the monsters (i.e., songs) for experience or item drops that give you attack or defense perks, and there are some synthesis/item creation mechanics, but this is a rhythm game with some RPG stuff tacked on, not the other way around. Finally, the game has a sense of humor that some people are going to appreciate for its silliness and some people are going to find just dumb. For me, the humor has been hit or miss, floating at about the 50/50 mark. All in all, though, the game is great for a light and breezy casual game that's easy to jump in and out of, especially considering its low asking price. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    For a $5 game I had never heard of before it popped up on Steam, I must admit I am quite impressed. The game-play is okay, it is your typical "DDR on the PC" sort of game, however, if you play on normal or below I have never really felt any urgency to Defend or really even Heal myself (though on a boss fight or two there were times this wasn't true). But the game-play, I feel, isn't where this game shines. The music is catchy and full of silly names. I found myself drifting off to sleep one night and I couldn't get the blasted tune of one song out of my mind! And also: this game is fully voice acted. It's not the greatest voice acting, but it is certainly not the worst. As well, the whole cast of characters are full of internet life, with many "sub culture" jokes finding their way into the game. This and the voice acting really breathe life into Sequence, and that's what I think makes this game worth it. Full Review »