Serious Sam 3: BFE PC

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nov 23, 2011
    78
    I can see a certain subset of nostalgic shooter fans having a total blast with Serious Sam 3, but you have to be pretty enthusiastic about old-school co-op shooting to get your $40 worth out of the game.
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    85
    Serious Sam 3: BFE is a fast-paced FPS old school, for the love of PC gamers.
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    91
    Serious Sam 3 is a game that deserves to be played, because it shows what shooters were and could have been. It shows that there's more to the genre than what AAA developers have shown us in the past decade.
  4. Nov 29, 2011
    87
    There's just something about holding the trigger and mowing down hundreds of aliens that were kind enough to walk right into the hail of bullets that puts a smile on my face. Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to ice my trigger finger.
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    85
    It's a lot of fun indeed. A lot of backbreaking, grueling, soul-destroying fun.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    75
    Serious Sam 3: BFE is designed primarily for fans and hardcore gamers, with its classic arcade gameplay. The Croteam title deserves to be remembered as one of the best examples of its kind, being tightly tied to the past.
  7. Nov 29, 2011
    75
    One of the most beloved characters of PC gaming is back: classic gameplay, hysterical shooting and strafing and crazy enemies grant a lot of fun, but after a while you'll feel the repetitiveness of the mix.
  8. Dec 28, 2011
    80
    With its awesome environments, outrageous creatures, powerful weapons, and insane level of challenging gameplay, there should be enough violent bloodletting to satiate the hardest of hardcore players.
  9. Dec 8, 2011
    85
    Except for the pieces where SS3 is like the old Serious Sam, awash in enemy hordes, this Serious Sam feels almost more like the original FPS Duke Nukem' than anything else.
  10. Dec 19, 2011
    92
    When all is said and done, Serious Sam 3 is just plain refreshing. It's nice to have a game that relies so much on flat-out enemy decimation, and which does it so well, so beautifully, and while providing at least the opportunity to share the experience with friends online.
  11. Jan 27, 2012
    91
    If you're weary of last holiday's high profile first person shooters and their endless hype, Serious Sam 3's endless enemies and endless ammo are the perfect antidote. The single player campaign is a rush that rarely lets up, and it gets awesomely insane when you play it in co-op with some friends. If you missed Sam 3 over the holidays, you owe it to yourself to pick it up now.
  12. Jan 16, 2012
    75
    Serious Same 3 shines in the co-op mode. The singleplayer gets a bit boring after a while and the competitive multiplayer doesn't stay fun for long. The co-op is where it's at, letting you play with 15 friends in a very hectic game. The gameplay is great and stays true to the older Serious Sam games. The concept still works great, just don't expect a great story.
  13. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    Serious Sam 3: BFE does one thing: lets you kill HUGE numbers of aliens at a nearly unrelenting pace. But it does that one thing well. If that sounds like a good time to you, then I recommend BFE without reservation. For everyone else, this is great throwback to the way shooters used to be that is definitely worth a look.
  14. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 13, 2012
    82
    This game is the opposite of modern FPS. Enemies attack in hordes and the levels are labyrinths. Serious Sam 3: BFE is a game from 90's made with the tools of the 21st century. [March 2012]
  15. Nov 28, 2011
    79
    A worthy successor. If you like rapid fire without tactics or much of a story, this one is for you. I found it a bit monotonous in the long run – but for a quick session of mindless fun, Serious Sam 3: BFE is perfect.
  16. Dec 5, 2011
    80
    I am extremely glad of Serious Sam 3's existence. It serves as a timely reminder of how shooters don't need to be highly restrictive rollercoasters that heavily manipulate the player in order to create intensity and epic spectacle.
  17. Dec 20, 2011
    80
    Punishing some rambunctious horde of carrion eaters was never that entertaining. Serious Sam 3 moves to battle in all his glory, even though he stumbles over a couple of unfinished details and overkill difficulty.
  18. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    90
    Pure mayhem, pure fun, pure Serious Sam, pure first-person shooting. [Jan 2012, p.66]
  19. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    You get quite a bit for the money, too, as the campaign is quite long, and the wealth of features, gameplay modes (including deathmatch-type play for those who desperately need it for some reason) and configuration options make this one of the most raw, brutal, and unapologetically fun PC FPS experiences you'll have had in quite a while.
  20. Dec 2, 2011
    80
    It seems odd to slam Serious Sam 3 for a lack of restraint, especially if you've spent space arguing that it's not as mindless as it appears. So, a piece of advice, rather: play it in spurts, play it with friends in sixteen-player co-op, and shoot many monsters.
  21. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    You will either love or hate Sam 3 based on what it does, and what it aims to do. It's a Serious Sam game, in every way, for better or worse.
  22. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    A few weaker sections do little to tarnish the fun of this old-school rooted shooter.
  23. Jan 10, 2012
    75
    Serious Sam 3 is riddled with flaws, but there is so much flying bacon that you can fill an entire meat plant. It's a decent game that could have been better.
  24. Dec 14, 2011
    90
    You get an awesome experience at an absurd value with Serious Sam 3: BFE. Not only is the campaign incredibly substantial, but it offers an experience not seen since Painkiller.
  25. Nov 28, 2011
    78
    At the end of the day, Serious Sam: BFE isn't as much of a welcome throwback to old-school gaming staples as the original title was a decade ago. But, thankfully, that doesn't mean that it's a failure or a complete waste of time.
  26. Jan 2, 2012
    75
    Serious Sam 3 might not be for everyone, but it's the type of game that made first-person shooters a genre all their own, and serious – at the risk of abusing the word – gamers should absolutely give this game, if not the whole series, a serious look.
  27. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    85
    A worthy descendant of the original Serious Sam titles, it's a FPS that deviates from the standards of today's games: its difficulty level is high, it challenges your reflexes, it's utterly addictive and it's honest, as it delivers on what it promises. [February 2012]
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 593 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 197
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    EVERY MORNING I WAKE UP AND OPEN PALM SLAM A DVD INTO THE SLOT. ITS SERIOUS SAM3 AND RIGHT THEN AND THERE I START DOING THE MOVES ALONGSIDEEVERY MORNING I WAKE UP AND OPEN PALM SLAM A DVD INTO THE SLOT. ITS SERIOUS SAM3 AND RIGHT THEN AND THERE I START DOING THE MOVES ALONGSIDE WITH THE MAIN CHARACTER, SAM. I DO EVERY MOVE AND I DO EVERY MOVE HARD. MAKIN WHOOSHING SOUNDS WHEN I SHOOT DOWN SOME MONSTER BASTARDS OR EVEN WHEN I MESS UP TECHNIQUE. NOT MANY CAN SAY THEY KILLED MENTAL'S MOST DANGEROUS ARMIES. I CAN. I SAY IT AND I SAY IT OUTLOUD EVERYDAY TO PEOPLE IN MY COLLEGE CLASS AND ALL THEY DO IS PROVE PEOPLE IN COLLEGE CLASS CAN STILL BE IMMATURE JEKRS. AND IVE LEARNED ALL THE LINES AND IVE LEARNED HOW TO MAKE MYSELF AND MY APARTMENT LESS LONELY BY SHOUTING EM ALL. 2 HOURS INCLUDING WIND DOWN EVERY MORNIng Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    It's definitely Serious Sam. I agree with Scrublord's comment. This game is just fun, and action packed to the max. If you're expecting a goodIt's definitely Serious Sam. I agree with Scrublord's comment. This game is just fun, and action packed to the max. If you're expecting a good story.... LOL It's SS. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Pure awesomeness. No need for anything else. It is one of the coolest and action pumped games of the year! If you are thinking 'should I buyPure awesomeness. No need for anything else. It is one of the coolest and action pumped games of the year! If you are thinking 'should I buy it' the answer is 'HELL YEAH!'. Full Review »