Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 514 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Croteam's Serious Sam 3: BFE is a glorious throwback to the golden age of first-person shooters where men were men, cover was for amateurs and pulling the trigger made things go boom.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    92
    When all is said and done, Serious Sam 3 is just plain refreshing. It's nice to have a game that relies so much on flat-out enemy decimation, and which does it so well, so beautifully, and while providing at least the opportunity to share the experience with friends online.
  2. 85
    A worthy descendant of the original Serious Sam titles, it's a FPS that deviates from the standards of today's games: its difficulty level is high, it challenges your reflexes, it's utterly addictive and it's honest, as it delivers on what it promises. [February 2012]
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    80
    Punishing some rambunctious horde of carrion eaters was never that entertaining. Serious Sam 3 moves to battle in all his glory, even though he stumbles over a couple of unfinished details and overkill difficulty.
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    75
    Serious Sam 3: BFE is designed primarily for fans and hardcore gamers, with its classic arcade gameplay. The Croteam title deserves to be remembered as one of the best examples of its kind, being tightly tied to the past.
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    70
    Serious Sam 3 convinced me that somewhere along the way FPS genre lost something but on the other hand the game's old school vibe might become tiring if you overdose it. [January 2012, p.54]
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    68
    After a less than awe-inspiring beginning Serious Sam 3 slowly gathers speed and delivers in its second half the fast-paced fun of shooting things the predecessors introduced. But even in its best moments the game never brings anything new to the table and the few innovations there are like the melee combat are poorly implemented. Furthermore Serious Sam 3 lacks the frivolity of the former games, often taking itself, ironically, too serious.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 193
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    EVERY MORNING I WAKE UP AND OPEN PALM SLAM A DVD INTO THE SLOT. ITS SERIOUS SAM3 AND RIGHT THEN AND THERE I START DOING THE MOVES ALONGSIDE WITH THE MAIN CHARACTER, SAM. I DO EVERY MOVE AND I DO EVERY MOVE HARD. MAKIN WHOOSHING SOUNDS WHEN I SHOOT DOWN SOME MONSTER BASTARDS OR EVEN WHEN I MESS UP TECHNIQUE. NOT MANY CAN SAY THEY KILLED MENTAL'S MOST DANGEROUS ARMIES. I CAN. I SAY IT AND I SAY IT OUTLOUD EVERYDAY TO PEOPLE IN MY COLLEGE CLASS AND ALL THEY DO IS PROVE PEOPLE IN COLLEGE CLASS CAN STILL BE IMMATURE JEKRS. AND IVE LEARNED ALL THE LINES AND IVE LEARNED HOW TO MAKE MYSELF AND MY APARTMENT LESS LONELY BY SHOUTING EM ALL. 2 HOURS INCLUDING WIND DOWN EVERY MORNIng Collapse
  2. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    I love this game but because of the **** 150 character long rule I cannot say that its just **** awesome in 3 or 4 words I have to elaborate an entire session of asskissing and licking !!! Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Incredible game, amazing good ol' classic FPS gameplay with a small modern twist that in my opinion when I saw the trailers I thought it would ruin the game but no, it only adds to the game a lot.
    The graphics are one of the best I saw in quite a while, seriously, just run this game on max settings, looks **** amazing!
    The game has so many throw backs to the classic Serious Sam games (First and Second Encounter) like secrets, one-liners and much more that just made me so happy.
    The game is so awesome I swear I.. just... SQUEE.
    If you are a fan of the classic Serious Sam games GET THIS GAME, if you love classic FPSs like Doom, Duke Nukem, Quake, Blood, Shadow Warrior, etc, GET THIS GAME, if you are a fan of modern FPSs GET THIS GAME I just recommend this to EVERYONE! It's one of the best games to come out in years, I haven't been this excited in a long time.
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    serious sam is serious, and he comes very serious. Very sick game, if you play this game, you can't leave the pc. The game is very, VERY fun, it comes an hord of enemies that you need to kill it, and thats i call FUN.
    The graphics and very nice, and sound too, with the aiming system is very better to shoot, and a lot of new guns that you can use.
    Buy this game, offers much fun and action than mw3/bf3.
    Yea, Sam is SERIOUS.
    Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    I bought it in sale during Steam sales at reduced price and loving every piece of it.
    - Graphics are very good and I also must raise the
    proper support for eyefinity - good job guys!
    - performance is decent - running it medium/high @ 6048x1080 (eyefinity) with following setup: AMD x6 3,3GHz, 8GB RAM, 2x AMD 6850 1GB. I can imagine in could be optimized a little bit more, but it's more than sufficient (let's say 8/10).
    - Sounds are awesome - guns sound just right and music is really epic.
    - Gameplay is very smooth, movement feels very PC like (no console conversion crap) aimimg is also very good

    Half point down for some passages with turrets (not really a spoiler) and the other half point for no demo and copy protection so customer can't do try before buy.
    Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    9
    -Sam is back, baby!
    -More than dozen deadly weapons causing destruction in both your enemies, and in the environment.
    -No regen-health, no
    weapon limitations, tons of enemies coming at you at once at best!
    -BLOOD AND GORE, and YOU are the reason for all that! If you don't like red syrup, you can change it to something else, like CANDY! No, I'm serious. Check it out. -As implied above, there's a huge list of options settings to tweak around, a real candy store for PC gamers!
    -LONG campaign! Expect to get at least 15h out of SS3 if you play on at least Normal difficulty, and enjoy searching for hidden secrets! (took me 20h!)
    -You think that the first levels were bad or too hard? You have not seen a thing yet! This game really turns up the heat the further you get, trust me. Things get SERIOUS before you know it!

    Refreshing experience in the middle of this dull, "brown & bloom" modern-era military shooter trend! Be it with friends or alone, Serious Sam 3 is one helluva entertaining experience, and definitely one of the best games out in 2011! If it wasn't for the big mainstream releases, SS3 could be GOTY material!
    Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    A piece of absolute barely functioning as a game... it is clear that the creators just wanted money and something that people would buy. THIS GAME ITS BAD... They think that a boss fight is spamming the most retarded enemy in the game... Do not buy it is a bad choice to spend money on this abortion. Expand

See all 193 User Reviews