Serious Sam 3: BFE PC

Serious Sam 3: BFE Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 586 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Croteam's Serious Sam 3: BFE is a glorious throwback to the golden age of first-person shooters where men were men, cover was for amateurs and pulling the trigger made things go boom.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    92
    When all is said and done, Serious Sam 3 is just plain refreshing. It's nice to have a game that relies so much on flat-out enemy decimation, and which does it so well, so beautifully, and while providing at least the opportunity to share the experience with friends online.
  2. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    85
    A worthy descendant of the original Serious Sam titles, it's a FPS that deviates from the standards of today's games: its difficulty level is high, it challenges your reflexes, it's utterly addictive and it's honest, as it delivers on what it promises. [February 2012]
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    80
    Punishing some rambunctious horde of carrion eaters was never that entertaining. Serious Sam 3 moves to battle in all his glory, even though he stumbles over a couple of unfinished details and overkill difficulty.
  4. Nov 28, 2011
    75
    Serious Sam 3: BFE is designed primarily for fans and hardcore gamers, with its classic arcade gameplay. The Croteam title deserves to be remembered as one of the best examples of its kind, being tightly tied to the past.
  5. CD-Action
    Dec 27, 2011
    70
    Serious Sam 3 convinced me that somewhere along the way FPS genre lost something but on the other hand the game's old school vibe might become tiring if you overdose it. [January 2012, p.54]
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    68
    After a less than awe-inspiring beginning Serious Sam 3 slowly gathers speed and delivers in its second half the fast-paced fun of shooting things the predecessors introduced. But even in its best moments the game never brings anything new to the table and the few innovations there are like the melee combat are poorly implemented. Furthermore Serious Sam 3 lacks the frivolity of the former games, often taking itself, ironically, too serious.
  7. Nov 30, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 202
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    EVERY MORNING I WAKE UP AND OPEN PALM SLAM A DVD INTO THE SLOT. ITS SERIOUS SAM3 AND RIGHT THEN AND THERE I START DOING THE MOVES ALONGSIDEEVERY MORNING I WAKE UP AND OPEN PALM SLAM A DVD INTO THE SLOT. ITS SERIOUS SAM3 AND RIGHT THEN AND THERE I START DOING THE MOVES ALONGSIDE WITH THE MAIN CHARACTER, SAM. I DO EVERY MOVE AND I DO EVERY MOVE HARD. MAKIN WHOOSHING SOUNDS WHEN I SHOOT DOWN SOME MONSTER BASTARDS OR EVEN WHEN I MESS UP TECHNIQUE. NOT MANY CAN SAY THEY KILLED MENTAL'S MOST DANGEROUS ARMIES. I CAN. I SAY IT AND I SAY IT OUTLOUD EVERYDAY TO PEOPLE IN MY COLLEGE CLASS AND ALL THEY DO IS PROVE PEOPLE IN COLLEGE CLASS CAN STILL BE IMMATURE JEKRS. AND IVE LEARNED ALL THE LINES AND IVE LEARNED HOW TO MAKE MYSELF AND MY APARTMENT LESS LONELY BY SHOUTING EM ALL. 2 HOURS INCLUDING WIND DOWN EVERY MORNIng Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    OMG its amazing! Simply the best 100% pure f**n shooter since Doom3. And Serious Engine 3 is pretty cool too, especially gore and openOMG its amazing! Simply the best 100% pure f**n shooter since Doom3. And Serious Engine 3 is pretty cool too, especially gore and open environment looks very impressive. The only thing bad in this game is 3 multilayer maps! What were they thinking?? (AVGN voice) Deathmatch is really has oldschool, quake style, like to play it, wish they add more in closer future.
    And metascore also is strange, dont look at it, just look at userscore, like COD MW3: which had 2 userscore vs 83 mc
    Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I almost cried blood when i ended this game, seriously.

    FOR ME, it's the best ending i could ask for. It took me by surprise as it is the
    I almost cried blood when i ended this game, seriously.

    FOR ME, it's the best ending i could ask for. It took me by surprise as it is the ending i spect in all hollywood movies. Now i unexpectedly got it in my favourite game...what a combo!

    This is the perfect game from all times, it is the most brutal and it is the funniest SS of the whole series.
    Believe it or not, Serious Sam finally got a story. This game is what i was waiting for years.
    Meelee executions in Serious Sam? Greatly accomplished and goes well with the game.
    The missions are well introduced along with the weapons and enemies, you'll discover a lot of new things while you move on.
    Most achievements are quiet easy to unlock but there are some that require you to take more time.
    You'll love the remake of old enemies and you'll also get to know new ones.

    I loved the work behind the game: All the music is superb as usual, the light and shadows techniques are from another dimension, cool shaders, cool physics, magnificient graphics...the overall game engine is PERFECT and the best of all is that it has been highly optimized to run on all modern/modest computers.

    Thanks Croteam for this piece of art work. I'm a programmer and the Serious Engine is my favourite one since the 1.0 version and i like very much what you've accomplished with it so far. I'm also a big fan of the SS game as many others here. SS3 is what we all wanted for breakfast.

    I no longer say "shotgun" when getting into my friend's car. I now say DEVASTATOR!
    Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    BAM! I don't always create a Metacritic account to write a 10/10 review but when I do, I do it for FORK PARKER. Make his wife happy, buyBAM! I don't always create a Metacritic account to write a 10/10 review but when I do, I do it for FORK PARKER. Make his wife happy, buy this game. In turn I'm sure you'll find we'll ALL be happy. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I heard that Croteam are gonna release Serious Sam 3 in this year I was like "OH MAN! It's awesome!". I was really enjoying the first two games of Sam's adventures, but Serious Sam 2 was just not like it should be. After wasting a couple of hours in Serious Sam HD, I felt that this series can still be alive. So I bought Serious Sam 3 immediately on Steam. When I launched the game, I saw pretty well done intro that explained me whole situation. It appears that Serious Sam 3: BFE is a prequel to the First Encounter, which means I must travel in time and save my planet! Whole idea of making prequel is really cool, but I'll talk about that later. So, after starting a game, I saw Sam, and a couple of soldiers in a helicopter. They were talking that they must secure professor Stain who might know how to run Time Lock. First I was like "WTF!?", then I was like "So they don't even know how to turn it on?", but then I was like "Oh yea, it's prequel! I'll find out!". While we are on topic - story in Serious Sam 3 is really cool! While it's not so important in these games, it's really cool to have some sort of more advanced storyline in that series. During whole game, we are gonna find out a lot of interesting things, like that Sam wasn't the main character who had to go to the Time Lock! There was group of soldier who had to do that, but because of Sam's adventures, situation on our planet is messed up, and he is the only one who can make it. Some people were talking that game can be really bad because of some sort of pieces from modern shooter. I was kinda scared about that too, because I saw a couple videos from beta version of the game - gameplay wasn't really promising. What new we got in here, from these modern shooters? Reloading in most guns, sprinting, and iron sights. Trust me - it's great that game have them! It seems that CroTeam tried to bring some players to their game - I don't know if it worked, but these elements from moder shooters are mixing great with Serious Sam game. I can't believe that too! Reloading just add hardcore, and thanks to that you must switch weapons more often. Sprinting allows you to run faster in areas when you don't need to fight (Sam still walks normal, like he always was), or to take cover (but honestly, in Serious Sam game?). Iron Sights reduces recoil, and it helps you to aim at monsters while they are in big group, or to eliminate one by one. It's also really helpful if you are fighting with group of zombies for example. Excluding it, game didn't change at all for me. We still have some big guns, really cool monsters and a lot of humor! While we are talking about that what did changed - a lot of monsters and weapons are from old, good first Serious Sam games. We will still be able to encounter Biomechanoids, or Arachnoids, or Kleers or Kamikazes (AAAAAAAHHHHHHH!. They slightly did changed, and you will see that, but at least, we got the taste of the past! Of course we got a lot of new enemies, like Scrapjack, Khnum, And what's most important - we still got a big army of monsters heading your way! Only in few moments at beginning of the game I felt alone - not for long of course! Game otherwise have some cool improvements, like melee kills for example. We can twist off Scrapjack head and kiss him while he is weak, or we can rip of Kleer's skull! It's really useful, and makes you fill better (you can also throw the piece you got from each monster!). About weapons... We still got Rocket Launcher, shotguns, minigus, but we got new assault rifle, Devastator, mutilator, and more. There are a lot of tools of destruction! Serious Sam 3 also serves us a good piece of multiplayer. Coop modes up to 16 players can cause head explosion, same as Versus modes. There are not a LOT of servers, but if you can find yourself one, you will have a great time. Game is powered on Serious Engine 3.5, successor to the Serious Engine 3, which was the engine for Serious Sam HD games. It's not Crysis, but game still looks good. Not great, but good. Models are pretty well done, same as animations. Only a few of them are just awfull (like third person ones). The environment is really well done, we can destroy a lot of things as usual! The best part of engine is what allows me to fight 200 enemies at once without freezing. That doesn't means that game can't drop FPSs, but developers are fixing performance in patches. Game sounds as it should like. We got some old sounds, like kamikaze scream, or same Sam's voice (which is GREAT!). Music is not so addictive as it was and I remember only a couple of tracks during maps. We also got a couple of new... you know.... "WWAAAAR!" tracks. These are really cool. To the finish... Serious Sam 3 is good game. It' not the best game of the year, but it's a great successor to the Serious Sam 2, and other titles from series. It's not yet polished, but still good. NO COVER, ALL MEN! Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    Good old Serious Sam gameplay, with impressive graphics! Expect hordes of enemies and loads of co-op fun. For a real challenge, play onGood old Serious Sam gameplay, with impressive graphics! Expect hordes of enemies and loads of co-op fun. For a real challenge, play on Serious Difficulty. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    A piece of absolute barely functioning as a game... it is clear that the creators just wanted money and something that people would buy.A piece of absolute barely functioning as a game... it is clear that the creators just wanted money and something that people would buy. THIS GAME ITS BAD... They think that a boss fight is spamming the most retarded enemy in the game... Do not buy it is a bad choice to spend money on this abortion. Expand

See all 202 User Reviews