User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 174 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 174

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    What a funny game! I've been a great fan of Croteam's Serious Engine and all the Serious Sam sequel since 2001. This HD version rocks!

    I've been in Egypt many times and the new Serious engine 3 makes me believe like i'm back there (but about 4000 years ago and with lots, lots of new friends)...graphics are just amazing! The engine is so lightweight, it supports a vast of actions and
    enemies simultaneously without problem. The best of all is that it runs on most modern-modest computers.

    The gameplay remains the same kill-a-ton, don't think just shoot and move from place every 3 seconds.
    This game has the best multiplayer coop i've ever played! All players versus thousends of AI enemies.
    It's hard as usual and fun is guaranteed.

    Serious Sam in a word: BUTCHERY.
    Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    A horrible "remake". It improved the graphics to 2005 quality but calls it HD...And the core design wasn't improved at all despite the fact that the original had some really annoying features. If this was included free with SS3, then I'd support it. But to charge us so much, for so little...I actually prefer the original for the nostalgia factor. If you're a diehard Serious Sam fan, then you'll enjoy it I'm sure. If you prefer quality FPS games, do not play this. Collapse
  3. Oct 11, 2010
    2
    This is an insult to the original, sometimes older games should not be brought up to HD unless you are willing to spend a lot of time redesigning the game. I really hate that I tried this version, it almost ruined the fun memories of the original.
  4. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    I remember playing a demo version of this game; So far, my memory told me "Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter" was a decent game. The game was like a Duke Nukem styled game where it tries to apprehend the player with weird **** and overpowering guns. Of course it's better than Duke Nukem, but it's really, REALLY hard to beat. Not only that; the game is painfully long with repetitive gameplay, which will drop your eyes down to some other game. Overall I would advise you to play the demo; a good, enjoyable 30 minutes and you'll totally forget the game. Trust me. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    One of the most competitive game, the singleplayer is beautiful, the cooperative is fun, and deathmatch is spectacular. So hectic, fast and competitive at the same time, this is the king of the FPS arena! One of my favorite games ever, it's incredibly nice for those who love challenges!
    But if you are a n00b who love camping, and buy **** DLC, I don't recommend this to you.
  6. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Perfect 10! Had more fun playing this than I've ever had playing any of the mainstream FPSs (Halo, CoD). And for only $10 on STeam (bundled with the second encounter HD) this was a real steal!
  7. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    I have had more fun playing this game than other FPS's due to the sheer random nature of the game. Kamikaze Frogs? Check. Spider Scorpions with mini-guns? Check. Random Boulders of Death? Check. Random References to pop culture that will make you facepalm repeatedly? Check. Cheap? yes. Go get the double pack on Steam. Now.
  8. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    A game designed for the old DOOM and Quake players, kill and kill without reason about monsters and mutants of any kind in the form of waves hits with huge amounts of enemies at once. The story has almost no weight, so it's like walking with a variety of powerful weapons to kill bugs. It's really addictive and simple. In this remake in HD, using a new engine (Serious Engine 3) there are times when the game looks great and in others it seems a game a few years ago, the same goes for the sound. And no you can not see so well, not very well optimized, although the game with more plot options vi. The online mode so I could test this fairly empty, but if you find a friend with whom to play is really fun (It lacks, however, only has cooperative campaign mode and deathmatch). In short, for those looking for something simple where you have to kill all day without having to use your head, this game will come in handy. Expand
  9. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    Just plain fun. If you're looking for a game where you just want to have fun, mindless fun and nothing but this is it. It also has a ton of funny and interesting easter eggs. I prefer the old graphics though, sorry.
  10. May 13, 2012
    10
    Lots of weapons, lots of enemies, a decent storyline (this is Serious Sam after all), lots of levels and secrets.
    Explore Egypt with Serious Sam.
    What more do you need?
  11. Jan 3, 2013
    2
    An "HD" remake of the original Serious Sam but without any real improvements. The graphics might be higher rez but the models & environments are chunky and texture work is unimpressive. Gameplay is way too finicky and reminds me Duke Nukem where each level has to be played perfectly just to survive. The main reasons I liked Quake & DOOM was because of the great sense of speed and freedom of movement. Meanwhile, SS takes the complete opposite approach with you crawling through levels and spending the majority of the game backpedaling while holding down M1. Tedious gameplay, bland graphics and sound, and boring map & game design round out this unnecessary "remake". Nothing new or noteworthy here and not worth picking up for anyone. Expand
  12. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Yes,its a little bit disappointing that the game still use the old thing but they improve the graphics,making it more GORE-FEST! Hell yeah....that was fun.
  13. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    A review on this game would be divided in 2 way's to look at it. If you already played the previous Serious Sam version, you will notice that the ONLY thing that changed is graphic, so it could be good for some and very bad for others. If you haven't played the previous Serious Sam then the way to look at it is a fresh fun great game, with giant monsters and great difficulty levels if you are playing in the harder options. Expand
  14. Jan 5, 2014
    5
    Experiencing the whole collection due to a recent purchase for the first time. Yeah the HD version got eye candy and full gamepad support, over the old version but thats about it for the noticeable changes. These SS games seem to follow a similar pattern shoot, retreat and retreat some more. Plus the last level always seems to be a grind followed by a boring final boss fight.
  15. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    It makes me happy to see great originals re-made for the high quality that gaming has now settled in, so I don't mind supporting such things if they aren't free patches. Playing Serious Sam in HD is engaging and fun, without being even slightly mentally exhaustive as many games are after a couple of hours. If you like first person shooters, and are willing to try a totally arcade world of amusing gameplay, then pick this up in a sale. If you played the original, this does it justice, and will make for a fantastic replay. Expand
  16. Sep 21, 2013
    6
    Standart Seiou Sam with HD resolution and bigger textures. I complete this game at 4 hours. All other components (levels, music, effects) full completely identical with original game. For nostalgia ok. For searching new gameplay features (or something new) no.
  17. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    Not really a whole lot to do except shoot things for 4 hours. There's no real plot and it's basically just hordes of enemies over and over and over again. Mildly entertaining, at best.
  18. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Now this is a hard-core FPS, I have never played a game so challenging in all my days, seriously… Serious Sam is my second favourite First Person Shooter, falling only to the genius (forgotten gem of a) series known as No One Lives Forever. What I love about this game is the fact its old school it’s not about the adventure as such, or the spooky atmosphere or anything like that it’s just shooting everything in sight… And it’s fun as hell! In terms of the new HD Graphics, well they’re just stunning the game is the exact same as the original just with major texture upgrades, this is the way a remake of classic should be… Expand
  19. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    A quite fun game, if you like shooting down weird enemies with your friend a story can't really be found though. If it's on sale, you should get it for the ful price probably not.
  20. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    A horrible "remake". It improved the graphics to 2005 quality but calls it HD...And the core design wasn't improved at all despite the fact that the original had some really annoying features. If this was included free with SS3, then I'd support it. But to charge us so much, for so little...I actually prefer the original for the nostalgia factor. If you're a diehard Serious Sam fan, then you'll enjoy it I'm sure. If you prefer quality FPS games, do not play this. Collapse
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. As long as you aren’t expecting anything revolutionary, Serious Sam HD will deliver its classic action gameplay with a graphic boost. Just for fans of brainless shooters.
  2. As it is, for all the added beauty and inherited class, I don't think there's enough freshness or sophistication here for that to happen.
  3. What needs to be remembered is that this isn't a brand new Serious Sam game, but the original in new clothes. As such it feels a little dated compared with modern releases. It's undoubtedly fun and relentless in its strive for all-out action, but with a recommended retail price of £18, it feels a bit light.