Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter PC

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 212
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    What a funny game! I've been a great fan of Croteam's Serious Engine and all the Serious Sam sequel since 2001. This HD version rocks!

    I've been in Egypt many times and the new Serious engine 3 makes me believe like i'm back there (but about 4000 years ago and with lots, lots of new friends)...graphics are just amazing! The engine is so lightweight, it supports a vast of actions and
    What a funny game! I've been a great fan of Croteam's Serious Engine and all the Serious Sam sequel since 2001. This HD version rocks!

    I've been in Egypt many times and the new Serious engine 3 makes me believe like i'm back there (but about 4000 years ago and with lots, lots of new friends)...graphics are just amazing! The engine is so lightweight, it supports a vast of actions and enemies simultaneously without problem. The best of all is that it runs on most modern-modest computers.

    The gameplay remains the same kill-a-ton, don't think just shoot and move from place every 3 seconds.
    This game has the best multiplayer coop i've ever played! All players versus thousends of AI enemies.
    It's hard as usual and fun is guaranteed.

    Serious Sam in a word: BUTCHERY.
    Expand
  2. AleksandrV
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Damn-near perfect updating of the original. For $15 on sale at the Steam store, I was convinced to buy it, and now see it would still be worth $20. It runs at a smooth 30FPS on my GeForce 9700GTM w/ Intel Core2 at 2.0Ghz. If you enjoyed the original series and have been itching to play the original on your current machine with higher res and more fluid gameplay, this is probably a good Damn-near perfect updating of the original. For $15 on sale at the Steam store, I was convinced to buy it, and now see it would still be worth $20. It runs at a smooth 30FPS on my GeForce 9700GTM w/ Intel Core2 at 2.0Ghz. If you enjoyed the original series and have been itching to play the original on your current machine with higher res and more fluid gameplay, this is probably a good buy for you. Expand
  3. GordonF
    Jan 7, 2010
    7
    it's exactly the same as the original, the graphics are somewhat up to date, though it's apparent that aspects like lighting and environmental textures haven't changed. I was expecting the graphical scalability to be over the top - the kind that would make use of Crossfire or SLI setups since that's the selling point in this release but no, even the regular graphics it's exactly the same as the original, the graphics are somewhat up to date, though it's apparent that aspects like lighting and environmental textures haven't changed. I was expecting the graphical scalability to be over the top - the kind that would make use of Crossfire or SLI setups since that's the selling point in this release but no, even the regular graphics options need more choices. The biggest difference in this game is the new visuals for the armies of Mental, and the weapon models, but that's about it, Sam Stone's voice overs are a copy and paste from the original, doubt the bit rate even changed. Like the original it will get repetitive and humdrum in one long play, it truly is fun in coop, but that too will get repetitive after an hour or so. Worth it for the price tag though. Expand
  4. MattW
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    Really enjoyable game. It's graphics are considerably improved from the original. But the game play is still just as fun. I'd recommend this game to all who enjoyed the original, as to people who have never played it.
  5. DavidC
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    A fantastic true to form remake of the original, just like every game remake ought to be. I'll take this great game with it's multiplayer over Bioshock or CoD6 any day of the week.
  6. Dalek
    Jan 27, 2010
    7
    Disappointment. I have never played Serious Sam before and I guess the worst thing about it is the sounds. Now I know that its just Serious sam with a few more secrets and better graphics but come on they could had done more. MAJOR lack of maps, although they are VERY long, but the thing is the atmosphere needs to change, it's just sun and inside egypt temples. Fun game, physics are Disappointment. I have never played Serious Sam before and I guess the worst thing about it is the sounds. Now I know that its just Serious sam with a few more secrets and better graphics but come on they could had done more. MAJOR lack of maps, although they are VERY long, but the thing is the atmosphere needs to change, it's just sun and inside egypt temples. Fun game, physics are nice, shiny detail. Expand
  7. LewisP
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This game is simply magnificent, will run brilliantly on most machines and is definetly worth the cash. Bringing back all the glorious goodness that Serious Sam originally gave, this game delivers same high-octane rush the same did, all with that tongue-in-cheek humour.
  8. Cunin
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    An amazing show of how a simple concept can turn into a more satisfactory game experience than super-advanced AI and 300-buttons control FPSs. Just mindless action, lots of incredibly funny secrets and beautiful graphics. If you still play Doom or Duke Nukem because modern games can't give you enough excitement, then this is the game for you. ...and another proof that Gamespot should An amazing show of how a simple concept can turn into a more satisfactory game experience than super-advanced AI and 300-buttons control FPSs. Just mindless action, lots of incredibly funny secrets and beautiful graphics. If you still play Doom or Duke Nukem because modern games can't give you enough excitement, then this is the game for you. ...and another proof that Gamespot should never be listened to... Expand
  9. SteveP
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    What a great way to revive the series! Runs very smooth and looks great without interfering with the very fun and pure gameplay from the original. Don't forget about the 16 player co-op!
  10. GerdB
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    THE Coop game for Lans! Now with up to 16 players with great graphics and awesome animations.
  11. AdrianS
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    This game was simply wonderful. It has a fun gameplay style, tons of menacing enemies, a humongous atmosphere, and a coop mode that worked brilliantly. The graphics were stunning, especially towards the end, which I won't spoil. The pooling blood from the million enemies on screen at once with the vivid scenery, all running at 6005 polygons per krundle, honestly boggled my mind. This game was simply wonderful. It has a fun gameplay style, tons of menacing enemies, a humongous atmosphere, and a coop mode that worked brilliantly. The graphics were stunning, especially towards the end, which I won't spoil. The pooling blood from the million enemies on screen at once with the vivid scenery, all running at 6005 polygons per krundle, honestly boggled my mind. Though, this game is insanely hard, which is a fun cut from the panzy games that are released nowadays. I mean this game is hardcore, almost Ghosts 'n' Goblins hard. Everything about it was fun. Only reason im not giving it 10/10 is that the music sounded midi. Thats my biggest downpoint. Collapse
  12. JonasN
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    This game is SO much fun. While single player may be a bit frustrating at times, it's very hard not to have fun in co-op with 16 people running around spewing different colour projectiles in all directions, or, in boss battles, seeing 16 streams of lasers, rockets, bullets etc. all firing at the same target.
  13. JacobB
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Really good game with good gameplay. The game clearly shows that a game does not need any special good story to be fun to play. Play the game if you enjoy a good FPS game which only aims to shoot monsters without thinking too much about why they are there. Are you ready to be serious?
  14. JeromeH
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    I don't agree with all votes from the experts.. that game makes so incredible much fun and the deathmatch will come too ... i love it... i cant wait for deathmatch :)
  15. GabrielD
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Well, it isn't a graphic prodigy but it has an excelent gameplay and is taste like old shooters.
  16. KennethK
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    Serious Sam HD is extremely recommended if you're the person who doesn't want to "think" strategy, but just wants to shoot lead. This game isn't based off of the newer game styles such as COD5, Modern Warfare2 or others first-person shooters. I've only played the older games in co-op mode and it was a blast, I cannot imagine this being any different. Plus, the Serious Sam HD is extremely recommended if you're the person who doesn't want to "think" strategy, but just wants to shoot lead. This game isn't based off of the newer game styles such as COD5, Modern Warfare2 or others first-person shooters. I've only played the older games in co-op mode and it was a blast, I cannot imagine this being any different. Plus, the additional boost in graphics are a plus; although they need more video setting controls. All in all I'm rating this game a 9 because it has the "fun" factor and cheap price, if it was based off of anything else then it would be lower. Ken. Expand
  17. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Perfect 10! Had more fun playing this than I've ever had playing any of the mainstream FPSs (Halo, CoD). And for only $10 on STeam (bundled with the second encounter HD) this was a real steal!
  18. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    I have had more fun playing this game than other FPS's due to the sheer random nature of the game. Kamikaze Frogs? Check. Spider Scorpions with mini-guns? Check. Random Boulders of Death? Check. Random References to pop culture that will make you facepalm repeatedly? Check. Cheap? yes. Go get the double pack on Steam. Now.
  19. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    A game designed for the old DOOM and Quake players, kill and kill without reason about monsters and mutants of any kind in the form of waves hits with huge amounts of enemies at once. The story has almost no weight, so it's like walking with a variety of powerful weapons to kill bugs. It's really addictive and simple. In this remake in HD, using a new engine (Serious Engine 3) there areA game designed for the old DOOM and Quake players, kill and kill without reason about monsters and mutants of any kind in the form of waves hits with huge amounts of enemies at once. The story has almost no weight, so it's like walking with a variety of powerful weapons to kill bugs. It's really addictive and simple. In this remake in HD, using a new engine (Serious Engine 3) there are times when the game looks great and in others it seems a game a few years ago, the same goes for the sound. And no you can not see so well, not very well optimized, although the game with more plot options vi. The online mode so I could test this fairly empty, but if you find a friend with whom to play is really fun (It lacks, however, only has cooperative campaign mode and deathmatch). In short, for those looking for something simple where you have to kill all day without having to use your head, this game will come in handy. Expand
  20. Apr 25, 2014
    5
    I'm just rating this as a 5 because it's a pretty average game. Not terrible, but not much to recommend it over anything else in your backlog either. I didn't finish the game, but got much of the way through before I just decided I wanted to move on to something else. The good: I thought it had some humorous moments - like when Sam yells at the yelling bombhead guys. Some of the monstersI'm just rating this as a 5 because it's a pretty average game. Not terrible, but not much to recommend it over anything else in your backlog either. I didn't finish the game, but got much of the way through before I just decided I wanted to move on to something else. The good: I thought it had some humorous moments - like when Sam yells at the yelling bombhead guys. Some of the monsters are Huge and it's pretty cool too. The bad: This is a game whose core concept is tripwires that trigger monsters to teleport in around you, often directly behind you. The end result is there's not much point in how you strategically approach an area because even if you clear an area behind you, 3 seconds later you're going to trigger more baddies to teleport in behind you. This is the repeated dynamic of the game. Almost to the point that when you shoot something in front of you your best move is to spin 180 degrees and shoot because something probably coming from your 6 that was clear a moment before. I found this tiresome and not particularly fun.

    Overall, it's not terrible, but not anything special either. My rec: Consider playing something else in your backlog instead. If you really want some frantic running and shooting with no rhyme or reason to where the monsters are coming from - you might like this more.
    Expand
  21. Apr 5, 2012
    9
    Just plain fun. If you're looking for a game where you just want to have fun, mindless fun and nothing but this is it. It also has a ton of funny and interesting easter eggs. I prefer the old graphics though, sorry.
  22. Nov 11, 2011
    4
    A horrible "remake". It improved the graphics to 2005 quality but calls it HD...And the core design wasn't improved at all despite the fact that the original had some really annoying features. If this was included free with SS3, then I'd support it. But to charge us so much, for so little...I actually prefer the original for the nostalgia factor. If you're a diehard Serious Sam fan, thenA horrible "remake". It improved the graphics to 2005 quality but calls it HD...And the core design wasn't improved at all despite the fact that the original had some really annoying features. If this was included free with SS3, then I'd support it. But to charge us so much, for so little...I actually prefer the original for the nostalgia factor. If you're a diehard Serious Sam fan, then you'll enjoy it I'm sure. If you prefer quality FPS games, do not play this. Expand
  23. May 13, 2012
    10
    Lots of weapons, lots of enemies, a decent storyline (this is Serious Sam after all), lots of levels and secrets.
    Explore Egypt with Serious Sam.
    What more do you need?
  24. Dec 10, 2011
    6
    I remember playing a demo version of this game; So far, my memory told me "Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter" was a decent game. The game was like a Duke Nukem styled game where it tries to apprehend the player with weird **** and overpowering guns. Of course it's better than Duke Nukem, but it's really, REALLY hard to beat. Not only that; the game is painfully long with repetitiveI remember playing a demo version of this game; So far, my memory told me "Serious Sam HD: The First Encounter" was a decent game. The game was like a Duke Nukem styled game where it tries to apprehend the player with weird **** and overpowering guns. Of course it's better than Duke Nukem, but it's really, REALLY hard to beat. Not only that; the game is painfully long with repetitive gameplay, which will drop your eyes down to some other game. Overall I would advise you to play the demo; a good, enjoyable 30 minutes and you'll totally forget the game. Trust me. Expand
  25. Oct 11, 2010
    2
    This is an insult to the original, sometimes older games should not be brought up to HD unless you are willing to spend a lot of time redesigning the game. I really hate that I tried this version, it almost ruined the fun memories of the original.
  26. Jan 3, 2013
    2
    An "HD" remake of the original Serious Sam but without any real improvements. The graphics might be higher rez but the models & environments are chunky and texture work is unimpressive. Gameplay is way too finicky and reminds me Duke Nukem where each level has to be played perfectly just to survive. The main reasons I liked Quake & DOOM was because of the great sense of speed and freedomAn "HD" remake of the original Serious Sam but without any real improvements. The graphics might be higher rez but the models & environments are chunky and texture work is unimpressive. Gameplay is way too finicky and reminds me Duke Nukem where each level has to be played perfectly just to survive. The main reasons I liked Quake & DOOM was because of the great sense of speed and freedom of movement. Meanwhile, SS takes the complete opposite approach with you crawling through levels and spending the majority of the game backpedaling while holding down M1. Tedious gameplay, bland graphics and sound, and boring map & game design round out this unnecessary "remake". Nothing new or noteworthy here and not worth picking up for anyone. Expand
  27. Carl
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    It's brainless, almost virtually plotless, ludicrously violent , hammy dialogue- the game revolves around getting from point A to point B and killing everything in your path. And that is why I absolutely love this game. In a world filled with games reaching new heights of complication, plot, depth and originality, Serious Sam is a humorous return to the roots of gaming back in the It's brainless, almost virtually plotless, ludicrously violent , hammy dialogue- the game revolves around getting from point A to point B and killing everything in your path. And that is why I absolutely love this game. In a world filled with games reaching new heights of complication, plot, depth and originality, Serious Sam is a humorous return to the roots of gaming back in the day where I'd try to sneak in and watch my dad play Duke Nukem for awhile. I was never in on Serious Sam when it first came to be, mainly due to being oblivious to that sort of franchise. But The First Encounter HD has made me a member of the new generation of seriously Serious Sam fans. Expand
  28. MikeS
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    It's does nothing new but the old school shooter it did in 2001 it does well .
  29. Collin
    Jan 9, 2010
    7
    It's very fun and enjoyable to many but also takes some customers away cause of its extreme gore.
  30. Jan 20, 2012
    7
    Yes,its a little bit disappointing that the game still use the old thing but they improve the graphics,making it more GORE-FEST! Hell yeah....that was fun.
  31. Dec 29, 2011
    7
    A review on this game would be divided in 2 way's to look at it. If you already played the previous Serious Sam version, you will notice that the ONLY thing that changed is graphic, so it could be good for some and very bad for others. If you haven't played the previous Serious Sam then the way to look at it is a fresh fun great game, with giant monsters and great difficulty levels if youA review on this game would be divided in 2 way's to look at it. If you already played the previous Serious Sam version, you will notice that the ONLY thing that changed is graphic, so it could be good for some and very bad for others. If you haven't played the previous Serious Sam then the way to look at it is a fresh fun great game, with giant monsters and great difficulty levels if you are playing in the harder options. Expand
  32. Oct 26, 2014
    9
    One of the most competitive game, the singleplayer is beautiful, the cooperative is fun, and deathmatch is spectacular. So hectic, fast and competitive at the same time, this is the king of the FPS arena! One of my favorite games ever, it's incredibly nice for those who love challenges!
  33. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    It makes me happy to see great originals re-made for the high quality that gaming has now settled in, so I don't mind supporting such things if they aren't free patches. Playing Serious Sam in HD is engaging and fun, without being even slightly mentally exhaustive as many games are after a couple of hours. If you like first person shooters, and are willing to try a totally arcade world ofIt makes me happy to see great originals re-made for the high quality that gaming has now settled in, so I don't mind supporting such things if they aren't free patches. Playing Serious Sam in HD is engaging and fun, without being even slightly mentally exhaustive as many games are after a couple of hours. If you like first person shooters, and are willing to try a totally arcade world of amusing gameplay, then pick this up in a sale. If you played the original, this does it justice, and will make for a fantastic replay. Expand
  34. Sep 21, 2013
    6
    Standart Seiou Sam with HD resolution and bigger textures. I complete this game at 4 hours. All other components (levels, music, effects) full completely identical with original game. For nostalgia ok. For searching new gameplay features (or something new) no.
  35. Jul 20, 2013
    6
    Not really a whole lot to do except shoot things for 4 hours. There's no real plot and it's basically just hordes of enemies over and over and over again. Mildly entertaining, at best.
  36. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Now this is a hard-core FPS, I have never played a game so challenging in all my days, seriously… Serious Sam is my second favourite First Person Shooter, falling only to the genius (forgotten gem of a) series known as No One Lives Forever. What I love about this game is the fact its old school it’s not about the adventure as such, or the spooky atmosphere or anything like that it’s justNow this is a hard-core FPS, I have never played a game so challenging in all my days, seriously… Serious Sam is my second favourite First Person Shooter, falling only to the genius (forgotten gem of a) series known as No One Lives Forever. What I love about this game is the fact its old school it’s not about the adventure as such, or the spooky atmosphere or anything like that it’s just shooting everything in sight… And it’s fun as hell! In terms of the new HD Graphics, well they’re just stunning the game is the exact same as the original just with major texture upgrades, this is the way a remake of classic should be… Expand
  37. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    A quite fun game, if you like shooting down weird enemies with your friend a story can't really be found though. If it's on sale, you should get it for the ful price probably not.
  38. Aug 2, 2015
    5
    This remake is a beautiful game. The shooting is smoothly and the weapons are ok, although the shotgun should have a faster reload time. However the concept of arena shooter is not my thing. The wave of spawning enemies running at you at high speed is simply too much for me. In the beginning of the game it's still ok, but in the latter levels it's too much. You end up running around inThis remake is a beautiful game. The shooting is smoothly and the weapons are ok, although the shotgun should have a faster reload time. However the concept of arena shooter is not my thing. The wave of spawning enemies running at you at high speed is simply too much for me. In the beginning of the game it's still ok, but in the latter levels it's too much. You end up running around in circles (especially to avoid the horse type and bull type enemy) which has no fun in it. With less enemies or more controlled releases, the emphasis would be more on shooting instead of running avoidance circles. Expand
  39. Nov 1, 2014
    8
    This game is a blast to the past, co- op is fun when you can find a game, and fighting massive hordes of enemy's is fun, secrets are also fun to find, it is a great game. however i find it to be lacking some traits.
  40. Jun 5, 2015
    6
    It's quite a fun game, got in the complete pack when it was 90% off. Couldn't stand playing the classic as it looks too ugly. Whereas the HD version is tolerable in how it looks.

    I like that it's full on fps with plenty of hordes of enemies to kill. I dislike enemy placement way too many are put in a small space or coridor making it hard to avoid attacks at times. Game is way too
    It's quite a fun game, got in the complete pack when it was 90% off. Couldn't stand playing the classic as it looks too ugly. Whereas the HD version is tolerable in how it looks.

    I like that it's full on fps with plenty of hordes of enemies to kill.

    I dislike enemy placement way too many are put in a small space or coridor making it hard to avoid attacks at times.

    Game is way too short, my first play through only took 8 hours to get through all the levels and then kill the final boss.

    Would not recommend buying this game as it's too short. 8 hours of one playthrough is just a day, to complete, not even a weekend. Don't bother with this game if you want a good single player game, I can see you'd get more playability out of this if you do multiplayer.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. As long as you aren’t expecting anything revolutionary, Serious Sam HD will deliver its classic action gameplay with a graphic boost. Just for fans of brainless shooters.
  2. As it is, for all the added beauty and inherited class, I don't think there's enough freshness or sophistication here for that to happen.
  3. What needs to be remembered is that this isn't a brand new Serious Sam game, but the original in new clothes. As such it feels a little dated compared with modern releases. It's undoubtedly fun and relentless in its strive for all-out action, but with a recommended retail price of £18, it feels a bit light.