Serious Sam: The First Encounter PC

Serious Sam: The First Encounter Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sam "Serious" Stone, Earth?s stud warrior, is sent back to Egypt, 3000 B.C., to fight hordes of alien monsters in this acclaimed "Doom"-sytle, back-to-basics, first-person shooter out of Croatia which is listed, amazingly, at the bargain basement price of 20 bucks!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Daily Radar
    100
    The best $20 computer game we've ever played.
  2. The most fun I have had in a straight shoot'em up FPS in a hell of a long time.
  3. GMR Magazine
    90
    Brainless running and gunning is an underappreciated way to waste a couple of hours with a great-looking game. [Feb 2003, p.94]
  4. Da Gameboyz
    86
    If you like mindlessly shooting things (like me), buy this game! Well worth the bang!
  5. Plays a lot like "Doom," but with more enemies. Way more. Like, the most EVER. And they just keep coming and coming, like roaches to a donut.
  6. Just firing this beast up, and blasting some bad guys without a care in the world feels very refreshing.
  7. I had pretty high hopes for the title, and ultimately, I was let down more than a kid who got socks and underwear for Christmas. If you're in the market for an FPS game, go pick up "Painkiller." Same type of gameplay, much less headaches. [June 2004]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Definitely the one you should start the game series with. A very efficient way to unleash your rage. Don't worry about the plot and graphicsDefinitely the one you should start the game series with. A very efficient way to unleash your rage. Don't worry about the plot and graphics you don't need them. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2014
    10
    The best game of 2001. Excellent gameplay,super enjoyment,outstanding multyplayer, charming environments, great story. Fast,The best game of 2001. Excellent gameplay,super enjoyment,outstanding multyplayer, charming environments, great story. Fast, funny,brutal,devastating game. Serious Sam series games are always my favourite games. Serious sam is my favourite FPS series. Thanks to croteam for this game. I have played SS3. Its now my favourite game.I also want SS4 Soon Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This is a great game made by Croatian Game industry: Croteam, It is fast, funny, totally crazy, I love it. I bloody love it..... hell it isThis is a great game made by Croatian Game industry: Croteam, It is fast, funny, totally crazy, I love it. I bloody love it..... hell it is one of the best games of 21st (so far) Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2015
    9
    An excellent shooter which doesn't take itself too seriously. You are frequently challenged with huge armies of enemies running at you fromAn excellent shooter which doesn't take itself too seriously. You are frequently challenged with huge armies of enemies running at you from all directions. The battles of such large scale and intensity were novel at the time time game came out. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    It never claims to be more than the straight-forward shooter, and it manages that admirably. It fares much better than Duke Nukem, but itIt never claims to be more than the straight-forward shooter, and it manages that admirably. It fares much better than Duke Nukem, but it ain't as memorable as Quake 1. Expand
  6. WelcomeToSportsweek.I'mGilbertMulroneycakes.
    May 29, 2003
    7
    Great engine looking for a game. It's a beautiful thing alright - horizons stretching for lightyears around, and streams of enemies Great engine looking for a game. It's a beautiful thing alright - horizons stretching for lightyears around, and streams of enemies turning from dots on the horizon to huge screaming beasties, and lens flare and everything - but it's very very shallow. It's not that amazing how cheap it is. There's a week of gameplay here, tops, for the season FPSer. Not to say it isn't fun - it really, really is - just so simple it's unworthy of the engine. Expand
  7. JamesS.
    Apr 15, 2006
    1
    this is a poor game gameplay gets boring quick and not much fun i payed £3.99 for it and i still feel like i was robbed stay away seriously.

See all 26 User Reviews