Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    82
    At $5.00, Serious Sam: The Random Encounter is a steal.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    The Random Encounter makes for a short game, but an extremely enjoyable one, the two-hour campaign providing you with plenty of hectic victories and glorious defeats. It also leaves you with an Endless Mode, some lovely pixelated memories, and that warm feeling that only comes from seeing something very new built from ideas that are very, very old.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    70
    Serious Sam: The Random Encounter is a fun, albeit short game that delivers where Serious Sam games try too, with shallow but dumb fun. The humor is great, graphics are nice and the game is fun while it lasts. TRE doesn't do a whole lot, but what it does is fun and I would say that that fun is well worthy of a purchase especially if you're already a fan of Sam.
  4. Nov 3, 2011
    70
    Sure, it's not very deep from an RPG-elements perspective, nor does it have the kind of story that's going to make you go "Hm!", but it will entertain you and help whet your appetite for the monster-stomping extravaganza that will be Serious Sam 3.
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    70
    It's a fun novelty that you'll want to spend an hour with. Yet, at its end, I didn't want any more and I didn't care to revisit the game's Endless Mode. I enjoyed The Random Encounter for the hour or so it lasted, but the fact that I don't want any more pretty much says it all.
  6. 60
    Interesting retro action with a satirical touch is damaged by rapidly emerging stereotypical playability. [March 2012]
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    60
    The transition from polished first-person console shooter to 16-bit RPG is a smooth one on the visual front, thanks to Vlambeer's excellent pixel art and attention to minute details. It's just a bummer that the gameplay itself isn't quite as absorbing past the first world or so.
  8. Dec 7, 2011
    58
    While the game itself isn't bad so to speak, it does get repetitive kind of quickly. It's an interesting concept, and I am a huge fan of 16-bit games, especially RPGs, but the short length of the game and the repetitiveness of the battles is kind of a let down for me.
  9. Oct 28, 2011
    50
    There is some charm to this little indie game. It's bright, it's colorful and it's unique amongst RPG's with a stylized combat system that manages to successfully replicate the series of games it is based on. The foundation, however, is weak, boring and repetitive. The only incentive to survive its repetitive battles is that you won't have to attempt them a second time.
  10. Oct 26, 2011
    50
    Well, I certainly had a better time with it than with Serious Sam: Double D (an indie title, like this one, commissioned by Croteam to help promote Serious Sam 3), but the game doesn't quite live up to the potential of its premise.
  11. Oct 27, 2011
    40
    The Random Encounter is just, well, bad. Seeing our favorite enemies rendered in 16 bits is really just not worth even the very small amount of time or money you'll spend playing this game - particularly when there are other worthwhile demakes or Flash games available for free.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    3
    Interesting idea, disappointing result. I was ecstatic when I read that this game was "turn-based." I thought it would like a traditional turn-based RPG. No. You select weapons and point them downrange, then in real-time your characters shoot while enemies advance, leaving you to strafe up and down the screen to avoid incoming fire. As you strafe, your line of fire moves with you. This might be ok if you could time when your character fires, but between dodging incoming fire and trying to keep track of moving enemies there is simply more luck involved in this game than strategy. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    After Playing Serious Sam TRE for 20 minutes I must say that I love this game. It´s a must have for anybody!! I got it for less than 1 buck but its more worth than many games I payed 8 or 15 bucks .
    The game is funny timeless. But serious its Sam and not of the cheapest style
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Omg, what the heck is this? That was basically my first thought playing this game. But, that said, the game captures the Serious Sam spirit quite perfectly. Too perfectly , really, because it can be quite hard in the end. Original elements, random enemies, 8 bit retro look, it really is a wonder this got only such a low score, knowing how some reviews are made. Perhaps the colors were not bright enough, or maybe this is not a natural progression to the latest ukulele themed colorful block puzzle. Ok this is not the greatest game ever made, but if you ever find that game for $5 please let me know. I believe my expectations were met considering the price, and in that context this gets a good review considering the original bits and retro look, and the original 8 bit arcade music - oh, wait... Full Review »