User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 8 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    After Playing Serious Sam TRE for 20 minutes I must say that I love this game. It´s a must have for anybody!! I got it for less than 1 buck but its more worth than many games I payed 8 or 15 bucks .
    The game is funny timeless. But serious its Sam and not of the cheapest style
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This game reminds me of old final fantasy and this game is funny.this game is one big joke for serious sam.bosses are really bad for everyone.the game is also a good old-fashioned way and rpg players enjoy this game
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    Pretty original title, defiantly deserves a higher rating than it got. Five bucks isn't alot, and I think that most of the reviewers did not take that into account, unless their annual salary makes them think five bucks a big deal.
  4. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Omg, what the heck is this? That was basically my first thought playing this game. But, that said, the game captures the Serious Sam spirit quite perfectly. Too perfectly , really, because it can be quite hard in the end. Original elements, random enemies, 8 bit retro look, it really is a wonder this got only such a low score, knowing how some reviews are made. Perhaps the colors were notOmg, what the heck is this? That was basically my first thought playing this game. But, that said, the game captures the Serious Sam spirit quite perfectly. Too perfectly , really, because it can be quite hard in the end. Original elements, random enemies, 8 bit retro look, it really is a wonder this got only such a low score, knowing how some reviews are made. Perhaps the colors were not bright enough, or maybe this is not a natural progression to the latest ukulele themed colorful block puzzle. Ok this is not the greatest game ever made, but if you ever find that game for $5 please let me know. I believe my expectations were met considering the price, and in that context this gets a good review considering the original bits and retro look, and the original 8 bit arcade music - oh, wait... Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2012
    9
    I find the game really fun and amusing and a steal for it's price. The turn base isn't exactly what you would expect but I like the system anyways it's good for keeping players on their toes.
  6. Dec 29, 2011
    3
    Interesting idea, disappointing result. I was ecstatic when I read that this game was "turn-based." I thought it would like a traditional turn-based RPG. No. You select weapons and point them downrange, then in real-time your characters shoot while enemies advance, leaving you to strafe up and down the screen to avoid incoming fire. As you strafe, your line of fire moves with you. ThisInteresting idea, disappointing result. I was ecstatic when I read that this game was "turn-based." I thought it would like a traditional turn-based RPG. No. You select weapons and point them downrange, then in real-time your characters shoot while enemies advance, leaving you to strafe up and down the screen to avoid incoming fire. As you strafe, your line of fire moves with you. This might be ok if you could time when your character fires, but between dodging incoming fire and trying to keep track of moving enemies there is simply more luck involved in this game than strategy. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    Okay, this is officially an anti-recommendation… The Random Encounter was released to promote Serious Sam 3, fair enough… Unfortunately it’s truly awful… Serious Sam as an RPG should just not have been attempted! He doesn't suit the format; the game isn't fun and of course being a turn based RPG makes game-play rapidly slow, Serious Sam should not be seriously slow… This is a short game ofOkay, this is officially an anti-recommendation… The Random Encounter was released to promote Serious Sam 3, fair enough… Unfortunately it’s truly awful… Serious Sam as an RPG should just not have been attempted! He doesn't suit the format; the game isn't fun and of course being a turn based RPG makes game-play rapidly slow, Serious Sam should not be seriously slow… This is a short game of nine levels, it’s safe to say I didn't (or couldn't) attempt to complete this as it just didn't grab me in any way! People who enjoy RPG’s may perhaps enjoy this title; but it’s pretty much choose a gun pick a direction or distance and select “OK”. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 60
    Interesting retro action with a satirical touch is damaged by rapidly emerging stereotypical playability. [March 2012]
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    58
    While the game itself isn't bad so to speak, it does get repetitive kind of quickly. It's an interesting concept, and I am a huge fan of 16-bit games, especially RPGs, but the short length of the game and the repetitiveness of the battles is kind of a let down for me.
  3. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    The Random Encounter makes for a short game, but an extremely enjoyable one, the two-hour campaign providing you with plenty of hectic victories and glorious defeats. It also leaves you with an Endless Mode, some lovely pixelated memories, and that warm feeling that only comes from seeing something very new built from ideas that are very, very old.