Shadow Warrior Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 709 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of itsShadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow Warrior - Wangtastic Features
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 140
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies.Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Lots of blood, and lots of fun. Great story, EXCELLENT graphics, amazing melee and FPS gameplay, many, manyThis game is simply amazing. Lots of blood, and lots of fun. Great story, EXCELLENT graphics, amazing melee and FPS gameplay, many, many references/easter eggs, and lots of humor. If you haven't played this game yet, do yourself a favor and get it. This is the kind of game I can play FOREVER. Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    As someone who expected a pile of trash from this game, I have been completely blown away by what is probably one of the year's best games.As someone who expected a pile of trash from this game, I have been completely blown away by what is probably one of the year's best games.

    The game is devastatingly beautiful, filled with memorable and unique characters and corny to the correct degree. This game is BETTER than the original Shadow Warrior could have ever hoped to be, and the sort of remake DUKE 3D deserves.

    I strongly recommend this game, and suggest you buy it immediately.
    Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2017
    8
    Analysis: Shadow Warrior

    Shadow Warrior is a game that surprised me. I won a Humble Bundle promotion for free and great was my surprise to
    Analysis: Shadow Warrior

    Shadow Warrior is a game that surprised me. I won a Humble Bundle promotion for free and great was my surprise to start the game. One word perfectly defines: T-H-R-I-L-L-I-N-G.

    Gameplay: Excellent! Game in first person, with plenty of action and excellent gameplay. The way the developer found to facilitate the use of the most varied abilities was very interesting, since they were able to add a variety of skill in simple commands. The game is fluid and without any bug;

    Note: 9.5

    Graphics: Good. Nothing impressive. Fits well with the role.

    Note: 8.0

    History: Complicated. I particularly had a hard time understanding the story behind each character and the main reason why the main character is behind gathering the parts of the katana. I found all the characters very superficial, except the main one, in which, due to the narrative, you begin to identify.

    Note: 7.0

    Final grade: 8.2

    Summary: It's a game that surprised me and held me for many hours. It's a lot of fun and makes you want to play more and more. Worth buying the game.
    Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    Shadow Warrior You get what you expected

    Blood? Yes! Stupid Humor? Yes! Feels a bit like Kill Bill the Movie when you hunt those enemies
    Shadow Warrior You get what you expected

    Blood? Yes! Stupid Humor? Yes! Feels a bit like Kill Bill the Movie when you hunt those enemies with the Katana Sword.

    After more than 10 Years, we´re getting the reboot of the Classic Shadow Warrior. Awesome! I was expecting this like Duke Nukem Forever back then. Except that Shadow Warrior 2013 did live up to my expectations, unlike DN Forever.

    Gameplay feels very smooth, instantly get the SW feeling back, graphics looking great, enemys and the environment are "destructible", secrets can be found just like in SW1997 (behind waterfalls) many weapons upgrades

    This reboot is exactly what you expect from an Classic SW1997. If you care more about "fun gameplay" then an interesting gamestory then SW.exe will satisfy you. I woudn´t buy it directly from Steam though, better prices are to be found elsewhere.
    Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    7
    Not a bad game. Looks very nice maxed out, gameplay is pretty spot on I feel not being able to jump while sprinting hinders the game and alsoNot a bad game. Looks very nice maxed out, gameplay is pretty spot on I feel not being able to jump while sprinting hinders the game and also how jumping is implemented just feels weird for me). Using the katana is very satisfying once unlocking more moves. Although not expensive, I still feel it is more a game worth a lower price. It does have a few humorous comments (some not so funny). If you just want a run and gun, simplistic game this is great. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2015
    0
    Generic much? This game is extremely forgettable and just takes itself way too seriously. Makes lo wang actually turn in his grave due to howGeneric much? This game is extremely forgettable and just takes itself way too seriously. Makes lo wang actually turn in his grave due to how terrible this one is. Didn't anyone learn anything from Blood Dragon? If a game even has bad modern gameplay mechanics, it still can be good if the style of the game is right this is just another calladoody. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews