Shadow Warrior PC

Shadow Warrior Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 680 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of itsShadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 142
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Lots of blood, and lots of fun. Great story, EXCELLENT graphics, amazing melee and FPS gameplay, many, manyThis game is simply amazing. Lots of blood, and lots of fun. Great story, EXCELLENT graphics, amazing melee and FPS gameplay, many, many references/easter eggs, and lots of humor. If you haven't played this game yet, do yourself a favor and get it. This is the kind of game I can play FOREVER. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies.Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2015
    9
    Shadow Warrior scores in so many ways. It's only let down for me are the tap-tap stuff you have to memorise. I have skill or chi pointsShadow Warrior scores in so many ways. It's only let down for me are the tap-tap stuff you have to memorise. I have skill or chi points unspent because I don't want any more tapping around the keyboard. It means I lack advantages to tackle the game.

    Only other negative is the bosses. They are OK, but just a fraction annoying and difficult. I prefer bosses like Doom 3 final boss. Just hit them until the die. Not target a piece of armour and then change attack when it becomes vulnerable.

    Overall Shadow Warrior is a rich fest of brilliant fun, cartoony graphics, and fairly fast paced shooting. Serious Sam and Doom fans, should buy it. The weapon mods are all good fun, so you get new ways to blast 'em.

    The main character is slick and cool. He delivers his lines perfectly; acting credit too to the ghost. SW is a well set up game, that at first can seem a little over-coloured and difficult to warm to. Just a little game time and think you'll either love it, or it won't be your game type. Since some players seem to have moved away from single player shooters. It's style is sufficiently refreshing to make it really well memorable.

    I am a Hard Reset fan too, so will be looking out for future titles in either series.
    Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    As someone who expected a pile of trash from this game, I have been completely blown away by what is probably one of the year's best games.As someone who expected a pile of trash from this game, I have been completely blown away by what is probably one of the year's best games.

    The game is devastatingly beautiful, filled with memorable and unique characters and corny to the correct degree. This game is BETTER than the original Shadow Warrior could have ever hoped to be, and the sort of remake DUKE 3D deserves.

    I strongly recommend this game, and suggest you buy it immediately.
    Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2016
    8
    A good game overall. Fun and action packed. Solid controls, like the upgrade system. The dialogue can be pretty funny at times. The storyA good game overall. Fun and action packed. Solid controls, like the upgrade system. The dialogue can be pretty funny at times. The story takes a while to get cooking, but is surprisingly good towards the end.

    My only complaint is that the limited enemy selection does make stretches of the game repetitive, which knocks it down to an 8 out of 10 for me.
    Expand
  6. May 31, 2014
    7
    There's no denying that the swordplay is good fun, though I wish the controls could be better. Having to double tap keys in the midst ofThere's no denying that the swordplay is good fun, though I wish the controls could be better. Having to double tap keys in the midst of combat does feel kinda clumsy and there are more intuitive ways of implementing fancy sword attacks. Boss fights were also a bit underwhelming. Using hit and run tactics to slowly destroy weak spots across the span of 10 minutes or more makes for a fight that's not so much difficult, but rather grindy and tedious. The level design and enemy encounters also start to feel a bit formulaic halfway through the game in my opinion. The story was pretty solid though (even if the ending wasn't that sad because it was overshadowed by all the penis jokes), and the graphics and sound design is well done for the most part. It's a nice game I suppose if you're looking for some fast paced bloody violence, It just lacks a little variety and needs some more polish. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2015
    0
    Generic much? This game is extremely forgettable and just takes itself way too seriously. Makes lo wang actually turn in his grave due to howGeneric much? This game is extremely forgettable and just takes itself way too seriously. Makes lo wang actually turn in his grave due to how terrible this one is. Didn't anyone learn anything from Blood Dragon? If a game even has bad modern gameplay mechanics, it still can be good if the style of the game is right this is just another calladoody. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews