Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 516 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 107
  2. Negative: 9 out of 107
  1. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Dunno why so much peoples sayng it is remake of shadow warrior ,for me it is looks like some prequell to original game ,atleast storyline is going untill point where is original shadow warrior start to be ,about game itself i can't say that is an "old scool" shooter ,this game is HOW the shooter should be looks like ,game looks just awesome ,great visuals and really good gameplay which is rare this days,specially the melee fight that is just awesome and i was saw similar just in dark messiah of might and magic ,altho it is not the actual shadow warrior as it was and i may say it is ,because if they gonna realise the actual remake of this game with same gameplay style that will be looks too outdated this days and no one basicly gonna play it ,so i think they make a right choise by making te game how it is looks like now.So if you want some Wang ,you have it Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2014
    9
    Remember playing the original when I was younger and didn't recall much but a fun time. Saw this up during a steam sale, and decided after loving DD's games, I would give it a chance and do not regret it.
    It's over the top freshman humor, with good mechanics both melee and shooting, slightly better than most callbacks to the old shoot em up/level up/shoot em up again fps games of ole.
    As a full price PC game maybe not, but on sale or at a deal, it is most def a worthy pick to your collection.
    Hang out With Wang out, and you can't go wrong!
    Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    Picture this: You are sitting in front of your computer monitor browsing the dozens and dozens of first-person-shooters that have come out over the last few years. You come to the dramatic realization that almost everything is brown, grim, and freaking boring...with very few truly enjoyable experiences to be had.

    If you're a fan of old school, arcadey or arena style shooters, then you are out of luck. Sure, there's a Bulletstorm here...a Serious Sam there...but what else can tide you over?

    Suddenly, out of the shadows comes Shadow Warrior: a pleasant surprise if ever there was one.

    Shadow Warrior, quite frankly, is the most fun I've had with a shooter in a long time. Taking nods from Painkiller and The Darkness, Shadow Warrior comes to the table as an arena style shooter with a ton of charm and wonder behind it's combat. The guns are stylish (and you can hold more than 2 at one time...HOW ABOUT THAT?!) and the melee combat with the katana is like nothing else on the market when it comes to first person games. The combat is just fun, and without experiencing it for yourself the only word that describes it is "kinetic".

    There is some first rate humor here, as well. Decent voice acting along with witty dialogue from our protagonist and his demonic sidekick give this game some great character. There's also a lot of fourth-wall breaking, and the game never takes itself seriously.

    While the level design is mostly linear (and the game does recycle the same set pieces just a tad bit), there are branching paths to explore. You'll definitely want to explore them, too, as not only is it prudent for upgrading your gear...but there are also secrets and easter eggs absolutely everywhere...and some of them are incredibly hilarious with huge amounts of references to other games. If you're a nerd, and have been playing games since the 80s, then you'll get a kick out of some of the awesome stuff there is to find in Shadow Warrior.

    Bottom line: Shadow Warrior deserves your time, your attention, and your cash.
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    The good :

    At first watching the trailers, I was skeptical. But now I'm in chapter 4 and I've never had so much fun with latest FPS games
    like this one. Visceral, gory, beautiful and not taking itself too seriously is how to describe this game.

    Oldskool level designs and just plain, fast actions everywhere. Also the swordplay is very satisfying. Unlike the original Shadow Warrior on Dos, your katana plays bigger role here, and most of the time it's more fun to use than the firearms.

    Character progression, upgrades, etc. Giving you the sense of accomplishment when you upgrade your gear and spells.

    Secrets, secrets everywhere.

    The Bad :

    No multiplayer? Oh well, but what do you expect. This game is pure blast anyway. If it's ended up like Rise of the Triad reboot, which has multiplayer slapped in just to for the sake of having multiplayer mode, then it'll be such a waste too. Besides, nobody plays ROTT reboot now. So it's just minor complain. I figure it would be awesome with the sword dueling and fast paced, quake like deathmatch.

    Lack of optimizations in couple of areas. The framerate got dragged down in several areas. But overall the game is quite smooth. Seems that the particles are very heavy in this game's engine. So I set it to low. Didn't see much difference and the game is still a blast.

    Hopefully they do further optimizations for this game in form of patches.

    No over-the-top racist jokes like the original. No funny exaggeratted asian accent, also no nudity hentai like in the original game. Lo Wang lose some of his charms, the comments aren't as funny as the original, but somehow it's still have light racist humors. They should've kept the original Lo Wang's personality. Don't get me wrong, I'm chinese and I love the original game's humor so much I eve lol'ed lots when I play the game.

    Bottomline is... what are you waiting for? Do yourself a favor... get this game.
    Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    As much fun as Hard Reset in its own way, way better than any Pain Killer game. Fun gory game and for those of a love of katana. Eye Cybermancy gamers and Killing Floor zerkers this might be right up your ally or not. Expand
  7. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    unbalanced as hell on hard. I mean it is nearly unbeatable. whoever designed that close-to-the-end arena with 3 berserkers, 2 warlords and summoner is a scumbag who is not deserved to get paid. I dont even wanna know what other two locked difficulties are. and dont tell me about old-school. bad level design is not old-school. Expand

See all 107 User Reviews