Shadow Warrior Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 712 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of itsShadow Warrior is reimagining of 3D Realms' cult classic shooter from developer Flying Wild Hog (Hard Reset) and independent game label Devolver Digital (Serious Sam 3: BFE, Hotline Miami, LUFTRAUSERS) for PC and next-gen consoles. Blending the viciously over-the-top gunplay of its predecessor with the elegant precision of the powerful katana, Shadow Warrior promises to be an imaginative take on the classic arcade-style shooter. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow Warrior - Wangtastic Features
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    Flying Wild Hog has topped their previous game, Hard Reset, in nearly every respect with Shadow Warrior. A myriad of beautiful environments, crazy but balanced and innovative combat, and a smoother difficulty curve prove that the Polish studio has graphical, level and gameplay design talent to spare. Don’t miss this one.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    I haven't had this much unadulterated fun chopping and dropping enemies since the late '90s, and I, for one, am eagerly salivating for a bit more of Flying Wild Hog's Wang.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior won’t win any awards for complexity. It’s a shamelessly self-confident return to the whiplash, blood’n'guts symphony of 90s-era shooters, but it salvages the low concept, and it’s own checkered legacy, with ironclad mechanics and the likable, if oafish, story it tells.
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Shadow Warrior is an unrepentant love poem for all things 90s and plays out as a greatest hits album of the video games and buddy cop movies from that time.
  5. Oct 7, 2013
    75
    Without any doubt, Shadow Warrior, is a great reimagining of the old classic. The game is brutal in many ways, with one-liners reminding us of Duke Nukem. It’s a bit repetitive and some variation wouldn’t kill the mood. Overall it is a good game with a lot of blood and a great fighting system. In the words of Wang: it’s wangtastic!
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    70
    Shadow Warrior is a good shooter that stands out for its humor and fast-paced action, and that's enough to satisfy fans of FPS until something more substantial comes along.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Nov 25, 2013
    50
    No matter which way you slice its solid shooting mechanics, it still doesn't feel like Shadow Warrior. [December 2013, p.90]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 141
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing. Lots of blood, and lots of fun. Great story, EXCELLENT graphics, amazing melee and FPS gameplay, many, manyThis game is simply amazing. Lots of blood, and lots of fun. Great story, EXCELLENT graphics, amazing melee and FPS gameplay, many, many references/easter eggs, and lots of humor. If you haven't played this game yet, do yourself a favor and get it. This is the kind of game I can play FOREVER. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies.Good times and a cheap price. Fun gun/swordplay and fast paced action with exploration elements. Upgradeable weapons and sliceable enemies. Looking forward to more games from this developer. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    This game is extremely good ,however this is not your typical fps. It leans more towards rewarding exploration so if you do not want toThis game is extremely good ,however this is not your typical fps. It leans more towards rewarding exploration so if you do not want to explore and find all the money and secrets...TURN AWAY because you will not last long. Weapons that are not the katana are weak at first but once you get upgrades then you will be able to use the weapons more frequently. Also don't make your rig look more powerful than it is because if you run this game on too high of settings you will get extreme frame drop issues. Not so difficult of a game , ALSO if you treat this game like COD then you are going to die multiple times. It is a very good game but compared to painkiller or Serious Sam this is the inferior game, but for the price on steam it is worth the money. Enjoy and also ignore the negative scores because the issues that are brought up are by: the game runs bad (thinking their computer is better than it is) , Hard difficultly (playing it like its cod on a difficulty for players who have beaten it many times) or the simple fact that they say its gets boring and the guns are not that good which these are both true in the first hour. so don't let that turn you away. I suggest playing the demo to see if its your cup of tea or not because everyone's entitled to their own opinion Unless the opinion is illogical. thought I would clear up these scores. ENJOY! Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    As someone who expected a pile of trash from this game, I have been completely blown away by what is probably one of the year's best games.As someone who expected a pile of trash from this game, I have been completely blown away by what is probably one of the year's best games.

    The game is devastatingly beautiful, filled with memorable and unique characters and corny to the correct degree. This game is BETTER than the original Shadow Warrior could have ever hoped to be, and the sort of remake DUKE 3D deserves.

    I strongly recommend this game, and suggest you buy it immediately.
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2013
    8
    As a hardcore oldschool fan i loved the original shadow warrior.So i had high hopes for the remake and it delivered.The gameplay is fun and isAs a hardcore oldschool fan i loved the original shadow warrior.So i had high hopes for the remake and it delivered.The gameplay is fun and is responsive.The engine feels awesome as every cut decapitates a body part of a demon!There are plenty of upgrades you can get for all the weapons.And there are skills to help you out if you get in trouble.The guns feel nice and are awesome looking.There are few cut scenes so you dont need to worry about the flow. The story is pretty interesting too. I had very few problems with this game,One of which is No map.The game has a bit of backtracking sometimes and is quite confusing at times.Maybe a minimap or something would've helped.And the other problem i had was that the game was sometimes a tad bit repetitive.The game has a nice sense of humor and i liked it.The gameplay felt really satisfying and awesome but i mostly liked the sword play other than the gunplay its just my personal preference. Despite some flaws i think flying wild hog did an excellent job with Shadow Warrior and for the price tag of 25 i think it is 100% worth the price.So if you are an oldschool fan you will love this game. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2018
    8
    Shadow Warrior is a great game when it comes to melee combat, but the gunplay is very weak compared to something like Serious Sam orShadow Warrior is a great game when it comes to melee combat, but the gunplay is very weak compared to something like Serious Sam or Painkiller. Sadly, player is forced to use ranged weapons periodically(e.g. in boss battles) and at those moments are very boring. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2015
    0
    Generic much? This game is extremely forgettable and just takes itself way too seriously. Makes lo wang actually turn in his grave due to howGeneric much? This game is extremely forgettable and just takes itself way too seriously. Makes lo wang actually turn in his grave due to how terrible this one is. Didn't anyone learn anything from Blood Dragon? If a game even has bad modern gameplay mechanics, it still can be good if the style of the game is right this is just another calladoody. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews