Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 3, 2014
    90
    This is a developer that understands and loves their source material, which very evidently comes out in their work. Consequently, Shadowrun: Dragonfall is another home run for the up-and-coming studio.
  2. May 11, 2014
    88
    Shadowrun Returns: Dragonfall hits the target! Very nicely written, and captivating. Needs some chrome, though. When something epic happens, even a static picture would be nice. [Apr 2014]
  3. Mar 13, 2014
    88
    Dragonfall’s fundamentals haven’t changed enough to justify a play if you actively disliked Shadowrun Returns, which is a required purchase before enjoying this new expansion. However, if you were simply hungry for deeper role-playing options, Dragonfall makes major strides, and deserves your attention as a standalone adventure.
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    88
    A very good expansion that betters the original game in every aspect. It's great when developers listen to their fans and give them what they want.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 4 out of 36
  1. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    Awesome story, great characters. It improves the original in every single way. I hope the developers continue to make such great campaigns. There are some bugs, but nothing a patch wont fix. Full Review »
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    8
    A lot of people mention that the game has improved over it's predecessor, I have NOT noticed that. It seems, the game offers very little novelty over the original. It's still a good game, but not a great one.

    The gameplay consists of a set of several runs (less than 10) in different locations, most of which are very linear and really do not require any creative thought to solve. You go through a location, click on white thingies which are either always visible, or are highlighted with ALT. For each one of these interactive points, there can be some "special" option, most likely decking, biology or strength. Corporate and security etiquettes got me through most of the game, haven't really seen the need for others.

    All the fights I've encountered on "Hard" difficulty were much easier than the first game, and the AI to put it bluntly is retarded. AI does not know how to use directional cover, and wastes half (1 out of 2) AP each turn on pointless moving around. This literally halves it's effectiveness, as I can heal the most recent wound easily, and there's little need for medkits. The only really hard fight was a side mission involving ghouls.

    In terms of decking, there appears to be more simultaneous "fight while your decker hacks" encounters, but I found decking to be totally lackluster. Playing as a non-decker, all decking was done for me by an party member who was always high enough to pass all skill checks. Within the matrix, he won every single fight easily, using the same set of 4 skills. Most of the encounters in the matrix involve 3ICs guarding a node. I think the original game had more challenging and diverse decking scenarios with black ICs and more varied special ICs.

    Story was decent, and the amount of dialogue is more than in a typical RPG nowadays, although a lot of this dialogue was predictable and exists only to outline the set and setting. 10 minutes on the shadowrun wiki and you already know most of the things that NPCs will try to tell you about:.

    Overall, a good game, worth 15$, but not much more.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    3
    There is a good game in here somewhere, unfortunately it is one of the most buggy games I've played for a long long time. Of these bugs, many are game breaking. So frustrating reloading old saves to try and get past the bugs, I uninstalled and will not be buying anymore games from them. Shame. Full Review »