Shadowrun Returns PC

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 879 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jordan Weisman, the creator of Shadowrun, is back and Shadowrun Returns is the game that Shadowrun fans have been waiting for. A 2D turn-based single player game with deep story interaction, meaningful character development, and highly-contextual tactical combat. According to the MayanJordan Weisman, the creator of Shadowrun, is back and Shadowrun Returns is the game that Shadowrun fans have been waiting for. A 2D turn-based single player game with deep story interaction, meaningful character development, and highly-contextual tactical combat. According to the Mayan Calendar (and lots of tabloids), the world will end on December 21, 2012. Its part a 5,200 year cycle of death and rebirth that, in Shadowrun, actually charts the ebb and flow of magic from the Earth. So, on 12/21/12 magic will return, end this world, and wreak holy havoc while starting the next. Aboriginal cultures, who maintained their mystical traditions, are the first to feel the return of magic and use their newfound power to reshape the political, financial, and physical world around them. As the magic increases, Elf and Dwarf babies are born to very surprised parents who carry the right combination of long-dormant genes. But all of these events pale in comparison to the horror of "goblinization", which painfully reshapes the teenage bodies of those unlucky enough to carry dominant Ork or Troll genes. And then the first Great Dragon rises from its 5,200 yearlong hibernation and circles over Tokyo, signaling that the world has truly AWAKENED.

    Fast forward two generations, to a world transformed not only by the growth of magic but by the acceleration of cyber technologya continual effort to improve upon the gifts that nature gave humanity; by the inevitable maturation of the World Wide Web into the Matrixa network directly accessible by the human brain; and by the near elimination of governments as they are replaced megacorporationsmonolithic entities who see only customers, not citizens.

    And moving through the dark shadows cast by the gleaming towers of the corps, are Shadowrunners disposable assets and corporate pawns scratching out a living using a combination of technology, magic, and street smarts. Shadowrunners live between the cracks and operate outside the law, doing the dirty work that corporate wage-slaves wont soil their hands with and occasionally acting as the only protection the citizenry can turn to.
    Welcome to the world of Shadowrun, where man meets magic and machine.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    90
    This is one of the most satisfying and complete tactical roleplaying experiences to come out of 2013 and realistically the last few years.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    82
    Shadowrun Returns is a bit more simplistic than I had hoped for, but at the same time it is not bad at all. [Sept 2013]
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    Even if Shadowrun Returns can't be compared with the giants of the RPG genre, it has enough character to shine and to show us the storytelling potential of the powerful editor.
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    Shadowrun Returns is an old-style RPG based on a robust and well calculated gameplay, that will entertain all the fans of the genre and a large group of nostalgic. At the same time, this project is also very limited and linear.
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    73
    The bite-sized scope and limited choices available make me more interested to see what Shadowrun Returns will be a year from now, after the community has used the included mod tools to build on it, than in what it is today.
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    70
    Shadowrun Returns is enjoyable while it lasts, thanks in large part to its great writing and enthralling murder mystery.
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    60
    A perfectly capable tactical RPG that's unfortunately light on both the tactics and the RPG. Not really bad in any way, but I suspect this won't really shine until the community get to grips with the editor.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 315
  1. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    An amazing game living up to the Shadowrun name. If you weren't a fan of the series before you should be now. Beautiful artwork and greatAn amazing game living up to the Shadowrun name. If you weren't a fan of the series before you should be now. Beautiful artwork and great tactical strategy elements mixed with true Shadowrun RPG style. Also the ability to create your own complete runs adds INFINITE possibilities.

    This game has SERIOUS superior re-playability
    Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2013
    10
    Shadowrun Returns represents one of the best CRPGs in years. With better writing and more compelling story than skyrim, and a quirky art styleShadowrun Returns represents one of the best CRPGs in years. With better writing and more compelling story than skyrim, and a quirky art style that is informative and pretty, while also being graphically undemanding.

    It is not perfect, and what game is? But its few minor issues are far less common than many would have you believe.

    You should know that there is no voice acting, or manual save function, and if either of these matter a lot to you, it might not be the game for you; but despite this, the game left me feeling more positive about the future and present of gaming than I have felt in a long while. Especially as the first waves of User generated content are already appearing.
    Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Shadowrun Returns is what it says it is. It has taken me back into a universe that I've always loved, it's given me a thoughtful combat systemShadowrun Returns is what it says it is. It has taken me back into a universe that I've always loved, it's given me a thoughtful combat system that will undoubtably get better with user-generated mods, and it's reminded me that one of the best things about Shadowrun is that it requires my imagination. Sure there are things missing a proper loot system, the ability to save when I want to but really, these aren't major gripes. I wonder how many of the people here are complaining about the save feature but love FFVII with *hours* between save points in the first section of the game...
    Harebrained Schemes have created a game that will keep on giving and I, for one, am excited to see where the Internet takes it next.
    Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    Really impressed with this hame considering the budget they had to work with. I was so addicted to the story that I finished it in a two dayReally impressed with this hame considering the budget they had to work with. I was so addicted to the story that I finished it in a two day marathon. Something I have not done in awhile. The writing and atmosphere are top notch. I also really enjoyed the tactical combat. The game becomes really challenging twords the end and it will punish people who fail to strategize. The last mission was the only time that I cursed the lack of a manual save system mainly because a game bug made me loose some progress. Note that the game usually saves everytime you enter a new location so every 15 min or so. So that issue is not as horrible as some people make it out to be. Cant wait for the user generated content and Berlin DLC to come out. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    SR is probably slightly overrated at the moment as we are still coming out of a drought in the oldschool tactical RPG subgenre, leadingSR is probably slightly overrated at the moment as we are still coming out of a drought in the oldschool tactical RPG subgenre, leading reviewers to grade it on a bit of a curve simply because there are very few games like it at the moment. Ultimately, SR is a competent, but as yet unremarkable old-school RPG. Future patches and player content may bring more to the table.

    Hopefully SR's first effort will prove to be just the leading crest of a small wave in isometric oldschool RPGs, because by itself it is somewhat overwhelming.

    Pros:
    -Great user mod tools.
    -Solid combat system, though you probably need to crank up the difficult to experience any challenge.
    -Strong atmosphere, reinforced by the consistent tone of the (generally competent) writing.

    Cons:
    -Far too linear to be a true successor to the isometric RPG classics.
    -Save system can be inconvenient (though I personally was only trivially inconvenienced by it).

    TBD:
    -Unclear if SR's community will be large and creative enough to supply interesting community content.
    -Harebrained Schemes has heard the most common critiques of the game regarding linearity, save system, length, etc., and the next campaign ("Berlin") will attempt to address them.
    Collapse
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    5
    Shadowrun Returns has good ideas, pretty visuals and a great atmosphere, but ultimately falls short.
    It is fun while it lasts, but it is a
    Shadowrun Returns has good ideas, pretty visuals and a great atmosphere, but ultimately falls short.
    It is fun while it lasts, but it is a very short and incredibly linear experience and offers little else other than storytelling that ranges from interesting noir to groan worthy cliches, interspersed with combat that offers little challenge.
    While the game and editor offer potential, I have to judge the game on it's current value, which leaves a lot to be desired.
    Expand
  7. Sep 6, 2014
    0
    Pile of garbage. If I have no stash I cannot buy **** for my characters. My main needs to be able to use what I buy because the stashPile of garbage. If I have no stash I cannot buy **** for my characters. My main needs to be able to use what I buy because the stash disappears when I select another character. The thing is this **** over UGC too. Pistols are **** Oh and the graphics are **** Expand

See all 315 User Reviews

Trailers