Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 90
    Underneath the hood is a well-honed, constantly surprising beast and one that isn’t purely for FPS fans, thanks to a generous degree of auto-aim that places much of the emphasis on tactics and intelligent usage of the tools at your disposal.
  2. 85
    Those able to play Shadowrun with an open mind and invest the time to learn the game will find one of the deeper online FPS games to date.
  3. Shadowrun adds a third dimension to the Counterstrike dominated genre and is very enjoyable due to the variety of builds open to the player.
  4. 80
    The vaunted cross-platform play works mostly as advertised (including Achievements associated with killing/resurrecting users from the alternate platform), but we still have to question whether it's worth the hassle and cost for PC users.
  5. I think it's quite entertaining and does many things just right. However, it's clearly unfinished and was rushed out the door.
  6. There are hidden depths to the game mechanics, but only a dedicated killer will stick with it long enough to plumb them. [Aug 2007, p.50]
  7. A great MP shooter, but overpirced and probably not worth the upgrade to Vista by itself. [Sept 2007, p.54]
  8. On the whole, Shadowrun could’ve been packaged at about $20 cheaper rather than leave gamers wondering where the majority of their paycheck went.
  9. A great game system, a lack of levels. [Aug 2007, p.66]
  10. Offering battles for magical artifacts on nine different battlefields, Microsofts multi-player shooter is the first game to bring PC- and console-gamers together, - driving both of them crazy, while charging for it.
  11. The game is one-dimensional though, and you will become bored quickly. Level design is mediocre and the lack of any single player mode makes the game feel unsatisfying.
  12. This multiplayer-only shooter does absolutely nothing with the Shadowrun name, and its unique strengths are offset by a lack of variety.
  13. Argghhh, the frustration of playing this game wouldn't be so bad if the rest of it stunk. But to have a game with cool devices, an interesting war over who should get magic and some really clever gameplay and then have stinky online play only makes the cut go that much deeper.
  14. Entertaining and fairly original shooter, cursed by too little content and a high price. [Aug 2007, p.76]
  15. Though Shadowrun is a first-person shooter, it still manages to include a lot of the qualities that made the original RPG a hit. At the same time, with just a few multiplayer modes and a paltry nine maps, the fun only lasts for so long.
  16. 68
    Shadowrun has no visible persistent statistics, no way to modify character models, nothing, outside of Achievements, to serve as reward. As gamers, it's rewards we crave, be it of the narrative variety, in-game items, new options or modes, or something entirely different.
  17. Overall Shadowrun is worth the expense as a first person multiplayer game but some extra content would be nice.
  18. Shadowrun is one of those games that you want to like, but that ends up disappointing you in the end.
  19. The nine maps available aren’t nearly enough, the lack of rankings and leaderboards provide no incentive to hone your skills to perfection, and the extremely meager offline options drag everything down.
  20. The action is fast paced, and the level of complexity it will take to become one of the best is astounding. If you're like me, however, you just can't justify a game costing that much money and offering so little in return.
  21. Shadowrun has too many cooks: it’s a heady broth initially, and the possibilities might seem unmatched, but ultimately it turns out to be limited fun. [Aug 2007, p.88]
  22. A well-designed, well-conceived game.
  23. This bland online shooter (no single player element exists) offers only a handful of maps and no map editor. While the game's is based upon an entrenched role-playing game, not a single role-playing element exists.
  24. The biggest disappointment in this otherwise fairly enjoyable shooter is the lack of content once you've finally grasped the formula. There are only nine similar-looking maps to choose from, with more expected down the line via downloadable content.
  25. 60
    The game is definitely over-priced. With that said, this is still one of the most engaging new multiplayer-only games out there.
  26. Wooly, hollow and redundant. [Aug 2007, p.78]
  27. Perfect for anyone who used to pit their G.I. Joes against their Dark Crystal dolls.
  28. Shadowrun’s impressive array of skills and magic gives standard first-person shooters a run for their money, but its lack of game modes or rewards or even a rewarding feeling slows this game to a walk.
  29. The lack of Windows XP support shuts out a legion of potential PC customers, the connection issues are more than a bit annoying, and the single-player bot play is at best uninspired.
  30. 40
    While the abilities are beautifully balanced and the right team can be a near-amazing gameplay experience, the price, the stinginess of the content, and the amateurish lack of polish gives us pause. Maybe a lower price point that doesn't make Shadowrun as much of a ripoff as it is could help down the line. But until then, despite how much I want to like Shadowrun, the good times are not nearly worth all the money, frustration and hassle.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. DuncanM.
    Jul 6, 2008
    4
    Fail. Epic Fail. This game was so much of a letdown, I almost crushed the CD right away. But then I might have hurt my hands... So I didn't. First off, I got it around Christmas 07, THEN I installed it thinking "Oh MAN this is going to be fun." After tearing my hair out (Pics of me bald not included) I got my Xbox live account, anc was ready to jump into some fast paced multiplayer gaming... But nooo "What the hell is that? I have to PAY to play? I didn't know this was an MMO... " So I played singleplayer instead.. And I'm all like.... Hey, this is just a bad version of Counter Strike: Source... With Magic.... and Trolls... On fire... But really now... In singleplayer the rounds are too short... You can only fight for up to six round.. or something like that. And thats not long enough to get all the money for the powers you need. The fact that there is no Deathcam makes for a boring wait for someone to res you. And the maps were just boring. If it was cheaper, and didn't suck so hard in singleplayer... I might recommend you get it, if not, then just get Counter Strike or Counter Strike: Source. (By the way, Steam is free, and better, in my opinion). Full Review »
  2. DaveK.
    Jun 1, 2007
    3
    They did nothing new with the Shadowrun license. Poor/awkward controls (autoaim on a PC game?!) really hurt the accesibility of the game, and that means less enjoyable. Cross platform remains a neat idea, but simply isn't implemented well yet, but we're only 2 games in. Windows Gold remains a ripoff since PC games mp has always been free, but at least the game looks pretty nice. Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2010
    7
    I have played the 360 version and the PC version is by far better (as long as your PC can handle the game). This game takes lots of knowhow and tactics between you and your team. The mix of weapons, magic, and tech makes for a game that you will never be bored of. Only downside is that after this many years, there is now a low playerbase. Full Review »