Shadowrun PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 14 out of 36
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2010
    7
    I have played the 360 version and the PC version is by far better (as long as your PC can handle the game). This game takes lots of knowhow and tactics between you and your team. The mix of weapons, magic, and tech makes for a game that you will never be bored of. Only downside is that after this many years, there is now a low playerbase.
  2. DuncanM.
    Jul 6, 2008
    4
    Fail. Epic Fail. This game was so much of a letdown, I almost crushed the CD right away. But then I might have hurt my hands... So I didn't. First off, I got it around Christmas 07, THEN I installed it thinking "Oh MAN this is going to be fun." After tearing my hair out (Pics of me bald not included) I got my Xbox live account, anc was ready to jump into some fast paced multiplayer Fail. Epic Fail. This game was so much of a letdown, I almost crushed the CD right away. But then I might have hurt my hands... So I didn't. First off, I got it around Christmas 07, THEN I installed it thinking "Oh MAN this is going to be fun." After tearing my hair out (Pics of me bald not included) I got my Xbox live account, anc was ready to jump into some fast paced multiplayer gaming... But nooo "What the hell is that? I have to PAY to play? I didn't know this was an MMO... " So I played singleplayer instead.. And I'm all like.... Hey, this is just a bad version of Counter Strike: Source... With Magic.... and Trolls... On fire... But really now... In singleplayer the rounds are too short... You can only fight for up to six round.. or something like that. And thats not long enough to get all the money for the powers you need. The fact that there is no Deathcam makes for a boring wait for someone to res you. And the maps were just boring. If it was cheaper, and didn't suck so hard in singleplayer... I might recommend you get it, if not, then just get Counter Strike or Counter Strike: Source. (By the way, Steam is free, and better, in my opinion). Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I am just pointing out something. For one, this game takes a lot of team coordination. If you team doesn't work-as a team- then you lose. Thats just how it is. I absolutely love the lack of guns, it makes you pick your equipment very carefully. Each weapon almost always wins in a certain situation, your goal is to pick that situation and play that role. Each class plays completely I am just pointing out something. For one, this game takes a lot of team coordination. If you team doesn't work-as a team- then you lose. Thats just how it is. I absolutely love the lack of guns, it makes you pick your equipment very carefully. Each weapon almost always wins in a certain situation, your goal is to pick that situation and play that role. Each class plays completely different, and different strategies are essential for playing with any of them. For example, Trolls, are powerhouses, but dwarves are the anti-troll. Everything seems to have its place and its use. This game reminds me of halo in the sense of I have about as much fun while playing it as I did in halo 1. Really, I think its more like Counterstrike done right. I for one don't like coutnterstrike, although I see where its a good game, it just isn't fun for me to play. This iis deffinatley fun for my style of play. I especially like that the sniper rifle needs to be zoomed in to fire. Expand
  4. MikeS.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    While far from perfect, Shadowrun's unique blend of FPS action keeps your attention far longer than the "Will someone PLEASE play something other than Casino" types of online gaming fare. Every match feels fresh, every ability feels useful, and there's just something inherently awesome about being able to teleport through solid objects at will. The map selection is a bit sparse, While far from perfect, Shadowrun's unique blend of FPS action keeps your attention far longer than the "Will someone PLEASE play something other than Casino" types of online gaming fare. Every match feels fresh, every ability feels useful, and there's just something inherently awesome about being able to teleport through solid objects at will. The map selection is a bit sparse, but I find that most people online aren't even using the maps to their full potential, and the only people who won't enjoy this game are people who assume that Shadowrun is just another FPS clone. Expand
  5. ChrisW.
    Jun 19, 2007
    0
    this game is a horrible sin against god try it i dare you, you will feel like your playing some free game only its not free, you pay premium price like everything else, any hope you had that this was counter strike with magic will be destoryed.
  6. RobinB.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    Fast paced gaming fun. A great FPS if a little limited. Lots of frantic fast paced action that if you use your head can be totaly engroseing. Compared to other PC titles it can be seen as limited and lack luster. But as a cross platform game its great and truley beats down other console FPS. thankfully i have this on Vista and tend to crush the other console players. Worth a look and a Fast paced gaming fun. A great FPS if a little limited. Lots of frantic fast paced action that if you use your head can be totaly engroseing. Compared to other PC titles it can be seen as limited and lack luster. But as a cross platform game its great and truley beats down other console FPS. thankfully i have this on Vista and tend to crush the other console players. Worth a look and a bargin at the £20 asking price. Expand
  7. ThomasJ.
    Jun 1, 2007
    10
    The game is simply amazing. I bought it at Day 1 and haven't put it down since.
  8. DaveK.
    Jun 1, 2007
    3
    They did nothing new with the Shadowrun license. Poor/awkward controls (autoaim on a PC game?!) really hurt the accesibility of the game, and that means less enjoyable. Cross platform remains a neat idea, but simply isn't implemented well yet, but we're only 2 games in. Windows Gold remains a ripoff since PC games mp has always been free, but at least the game looks pretty nice.
  9. HoenirA.
    Jun 1, 2007
    0
    First, looking at this game purely from the gameplay and content stand point even leaves you wanting. While mildly entertaining, this game feels like a glorified Counter-Strike mod. The game offers a whole 3 game modes, 4 classes, a lackluster 8 avatar skins, 9 maps, and a handful of gear/spells. The graphics are muddy at best and to top it all off the game is an online-only multiplayer First, looking at this game purely from the gameplay and content stand point even leaves you wanting. While mildly entertaining, this game feels like a glorified Counter-Strike mod. The game offers a whole 3 game modes, 4 classes, a lackluster 8 avatar skins, 9 maps, and a handful of gear/spells. The graphics are muddy at best and to top it all off the game is an online-only multiplayer game with no splitscreen option. Second, as for the original fans, this game is Shadowrun in name only. Almost every ability included in this game stands in direct contradiction to the canon of the established IP, meaning every one of the restricted/prohibitted or otherwise impossible aspects in the original universe are standard fare in this game. So in conclusion if your a FPS fan pass this one up and wait for something better such as; The Darkness, Quake Wars, Crysis, Halo 3, Team Fortress 2 or any of the plethora of FPS on the horizon. Expand
  10. ScottH.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    The above poster is wrong. This game isn't like Halo, but more like Counter-strike in cheats mode. The game is VERY fast especially in comparison to the slower Halo gameplay. Great game.
  11. CharlesR.
    May 31, 2007
    9
    This Game is a new take on the old halo style of gameplay. Alot of it does remind me of halo, but there are 3 added bonuses. 1. Tech. new toys to play with and help you stay alive. 2. Magic. Abilities to help you kill your enemies. 3. Cross platform play. Now we PC gamers can show console fanboys how much better the mouse and keyboard REALLY are.
  12. Sep 22, 2010
    0
    I have played the 360 version and the PC version is by far better (as long as your PC can handle the game). This game takes lots of knowhow and tactics between you and your team. The mix of weapons, magic, and tech makes for a game that you will never be bored of. Only downside is that after this many years, there is now a low playerbase.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. The biggest disappointment in this otherwise fairly enjoyable shooter is the lack of content once you've finally grasped the formula. There are only nine similar-looking maps to choose from, with more expected down the line via downloadable content.
  2. A well-designed, well-conceived game.
  3. This multiplayer-only shooter does absolutely nothing with the Shadowrun name, and its unique strengths are offset by a lack of variety.