Shank 2 PC

Shank 2 Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shank 2 returns with a story of redemption as Shank, a former mob hitman with a dark and vengeful past, is thrust back into action when the lives of those close to him are endangered. Expanding on the original game’s rich and intuitive combat and control system, Shank 2 continuesShank 2 returns with a story of redemption as Shank, a former mob hitman with a dark and vengeful past, is thrust back into action when the lives of those close to him are endangered. Expanding on the original game’s rich and intuitive combat and control system, Shank 2 continues Klei's tradition of making fluid brawling controls and stunningly beautiful visuals that leapfrogs the competition in the 2D side-scrolling genre. The game also introduces an intense new, arcade-style survival co-op mode that has gamers working together to take down their foes, relying on the environment and weapon pick-ups for survival. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    85
    It's a more responsive, faster action title that does away with the damning side of its dazzling animation. This is a smooth brawler with gorgeous spectacle, and its dedication to nailing its second chance makes it one of the best action games in recent memory.
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    When we compare Shank 2 to the previous instalment we see developers eased up a bit and at the same time they stepped up a gear. The outcome is it's still a great bloody action that will please both fans of the series as well as the newcomers.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    This writer is glad that games like Shank 2 still get made. While the nostalgia of the genre is there, the developers were sure to make the combat fun and varied enough so there wasn't a mashable way to charge through the game. No, it's almost a science chainsawing dudes or impaling them with their own machetes.
  4. Feb 19, 2012
    71
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 22, 2012
    70
    Shank 2 is an interesting platformer with a unique visual style, but gets tired pretty quickly. Extreme difficulty will probably discourage many gamers. [March 2012]
  6. Jan 14, 2013
    68
    I would only recommend this game to those who have attached themselves to Shank's story from the first game, or perhaps the hardcore gamer that enjoys a challenge. The art is good, the mayhem is there: too bad it sometimes feels like you're bringing a knife to a gunfight.
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Shank 2 isn't worth its weight as a full sequel. It should have been DLC, since that's what it is. Without building in any way on the original, even, do we receive a game which merits itself as a full-fledged sequel, and lasts no longer than a few hours. There's even an omission of a secondary co-op campaign as the first had. Even with different modes of play to extend its life, badges to earn for unlockable characters, and the thought that it's possible to be the best at any level on the global leaderboards, there's nothing inspiring me to ever go back to Shank 2 past its campaign.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    10
    this game worth a 10 because it shows how a game could change in a good way.the first one is good but shank 2 is a tarantino style and inthis game worth a 10 because it shows how a game could change in a good way.the first one is good but shank 2 is a tarantino style and in revenge genre. i like it in every way Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    This is great as single player game with a distinct B-movie sequel feel to it, which makes it worse than 1st part and at the same time greatThis is great as single player game with a distinct B-movie sequel feel to it, which makes it worse than 1st part and at the same time great because it absolutely fits the theme of the series. The survival mode is king, too bad there's just 3 maps for it, but it will prove worth the price for you and your friend if you have 2 controllers. One of the best local coop game I have ever played. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    Cool 2d shooting game if you're bored
  4. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    I didn't played the first Shank game, so I don't know in which ways the sequel differs. A trailer shows us a bloodbath action gameplay andI didn't played the first Shank game, so I don't know in which ways the sequel differs. A trailer shows us a bloodbath action gameplay and everything seems so awesome, but after you play a few chapters it becomes a very boring, repetitive game. There is small variety of weapons, only three in each category, but the good thing is that every weapon has it's unique combination of hits and finishing moves, so you can choose what you like the most. As for enemies, there are few kinds, they use melee and ranged weapons, also there are "gorillas" - that's how I call these big guys, which are harder to kill. In some point you will have to use a minigun turret to kill incoming enemy and some other things to do, which I don't want to spoil. And the gameplay is based on the story, so it's not just a hit'n'smash game. Graphics are really nice, especially when you slice enemy with chainsaw or do counter-attack. But there is one problem with mouse cursor, somehow it won't disappear to some players and is visible in game, so I think there will be a patch to fix this. Despite that, it's not that bad game, which have a big potential, but in current time it lacks variety of gameplay and length of it. But worth the time to play it. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    6
    Hmm....well, the animation IS worth a glimpse, if only to witness the variations in the characters at the outset. Honestly, if you play theHmm....well, the animation IS worth a glimpse, if only to witness the variations in the characters at the outset. Honestly, if you play the first 20 minutes of the game, you're pretty much done on the mechanics at large. The rest of the game is an amalgamation of all the concepts and challenges developed in the first level or two. The combat is flashy...but not substantial. I would love to see a 2-d arkham asylum/city combat system translated, and i felt as if the developers wanted shank to be that kind of engaging action. As it stands, its a decent, if underwhelming experience. Collapse
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    It felt to me that while trying hard to step it up and out do the first Shank they ended up destroying the feel that I liked about the firstIt felt to me that while trying hard to step it up and out do the first Shank they ended up destroying the feel that I liked about the first game. I felt like instead of playing I new generation game in a classic style that I actually literally stepped back a few generations and was playing a classic game again. I do not feel the scheme needed to be changed so dramatically. They had the feel right before. Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    Shank 1 was a visually stunning 2D beat'em up (not really platformer), with average controls (on PC), bearable difficulty, but a lot of fun,Shank 1 was a visually stunning 2D beat'em up (not really platformer), with average controls (on PC), bearable difficulty, but a lot of fun, over-the-top (violent) action, and a scenario that was pretty much the one of Kill Bill. Shank 2 is still visually stunning, still offers great over-the-top action, and still has a pointless scenario (but that's not important). What it changes are the controls & difficulty, but only to make them worse. Shank 1 required too many keys (half of them being unnecessary), and it's even more broken in Shank 2.
    But it's in the difficulty that it gets very bad. While the game is slightly more difficult & more frustrating during the "normal" parts, the bosses are unnecessarily hard, very hard, and unlike in Shank 1, require no specific strategy, they're just hard, like in a japanese schmup. If you easily throw your monitor through the window, skip this game, you probably won't see more than 1 or 2 levels of it, and it will be better for your health. If however you enjoy dying a hundred times in a row & replaying the same thing the whole day, then go ahead.
    It has an online survival mode but to be honnest I haven't been able to find anyone playing it.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews