Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Nov 8, 2010
    89
    I really enjoyed Shank. It was a somewhat short experience of around four hours, but the entire time I was having fun. The combat and the platforming all flow so smoothly throughout the game.
  2. 80
    Hectic side-scrolling mayhem is something we missed for a long time on our PCs. If you ever wanted to try "Kill Bill" type of action on your own, your wait is over. [Dec 2010]
  3. Oct 28, 2010
    80
    Violent, brutal and fast-paced action, enjoyable platforming, fun bosses and a fresh ambiance that kept my controller glued to my hand from start to finish.
  4. The combination of seamless combos and slick controls could almost make Bayonetta moan with envy, while the decadent violence begs for the Robert Rodriguez treatment. Like a rusty shiv to the throat, Shank catches a few snags going in, but leaves a mark that won't soon be forgotten.
  5. Nov 8, 2010
    75
    Most of the game is actually pretty fun, although the loading times are damned long for a downloadable title. It's a colorful, violent cartoon with some of the best music of any game this year. It's simply that any time a boss shows up, I want to go play something else.
  6. Nov 8, 2010
    70
    However, the fundamental level design issues later in the game, combined with the eventual tedium of the combat it relies on, makes Shank a good game for a particular audience rather than a great game worthy of everyone's attention.
  7. Jan 31, 2011
    69
    Shank may sound like the best game in the world, but in reality all its virtues are undermined by a fatal flaw – it's way too simple.
  8. While Shank can be fun, it is also repetitive, inconsistent, and over far too quickly.
  9. Dec 30, 2010
    60
    Shank - like the hero - is a pleasure to watch, but there's not much going on inside. [Jan 2010, p.64]
  10. Dec 13, 2010
    56
    It rips my heart in a spray of gore to have to say it, since the weapons and animations are wonderful and the attack combos have their moments, but Shank's awkward controls really hold it back from being a more satisfying, edgier game. [Jan 2011, p.81]
  11. Jan 20, 2011
    39
    Shank is a visually attractive but completely shallow excuse for a 2D brawler game. Frustrating combat doesn't help.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    I really love these new animated style 2D side-scrollers KLEI has put out. I would have liked to have seen more artistic detail in theI really love these new animated style 2D side-scrollers KLEI has put out. I would have liked to have seen more artistic detail in the backgrounds and some tweaks to the combat system that they learned from Mark of the Ninja would have bumped this game up a point from me. Full Review »
  2. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    NOTE: This is a PC game intended to be played using a Controller. (Game Pad)

    Reviewers need to stop giving this game a low rating simply
    NOTE: This is a PC game intended to be played using a Controller. (Game Pad)

    Reviewers need to stop giving this game a low rating simply because they can't follow directions to use a Game Pad. This game is intended to be played using a Game controller which can be purchased for $15 bucks almost anyplace. This is a great hack and slash side scrolling game and the closet you can get to being in an action thrash and slash cartoon. Great if you want to let off steam and hack away, or enjoy long play times as well. The cartoon style graphics are a breath of fresh air and very pleasing, and features tons of combos, weapons and moves, but can also be played effectively using one or two moves. So pick your style and have fun!

    Remember, this game is intended for use with a Game PAD! GET ONE! The keyboard is not recommended by me or the developer.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    THis is a great game, full of action, full of weapons and full of blood. Great Beat 'em up like the ones we had in the past, but with newerTHis is a great game, full of action, full of weapons and full of blood. Great Beat 'em up like the ones we had in the past, but with newer graphics.

    Sorry about my english.... i'm a spanish speaker
    Full Review »