User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 63
  2. Negative: 9 out of 63

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    This game is Sooooo short its awful, $10 for a game that is 50 minutes to 2 hours long? and it's only 2 hours if you go really really slow, and i mean really slow...
    It is NOT and open world game like alot of us were led on to believe and it is a very linear game that will have you screaming for something more about 30 minutes in. I had great expectations for this game because it looked
    amazing and people on green light were raving about it. But i was left with a very sad and dull experience. If developers all stark taking a page out of Shelters book then the video game industry would be in for a world of hurt.
    IMHO this game is in NO WAY worth $10, maybe 4.99 mmmmmaybe!!!! but 10?? ohhhh nonono
    Expand
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    3
    entirely too short. not worth the money for less than an hour of playtime. if it was extended or had more free roam options this would be at the top of my list though. here's to hoping for more content.
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    3
    this game has potential but in the end its a vary Basic vary Short and a vary Blinding game. all you do is keep the babies safe from only an eagle keep them feed from starvation. did i mention how blinding the game is they could easily adjust the gamma or brightness/contrast settings in a simple patch fix but no.
  4. Feb 6, 2014
    4
    It starts quite nice but ends fast. Linear tunnel art game about badger and nature. It could be nice but it gets quite boring as i don't really find the art so breathtakingly nice and the background tune is quite meh.
    Someone who likes badgers a lot would like it, but for an art game there are better alternatives.
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Jan 5, 2014
    90
    A simple but incredibly powerful experience, that uses interaction to convey well known themes in a different, emotional and bizarrely frightening way.
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    70
    Shelter is a game about being a badger and strange as that may sound it is first and foremost a pleasant and beautiful little adventure. It doesn't really strive to anything majestic but it's still a great game for those who want something different.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    If you found Proteus poignant and Gone Home felt like going home, Shelter will break your heart. [Nov 2013, p.88]